Jake’s Boks start to fire
3 Apr 2006
Jake White’s senior Springboks are running into form at the right time. However, there’s not much secondary ammunition firing in the Vodacom Super 14.
In a weekend when the bones finally hit the jackpot in calling six from six (yup we knew the Bulls in New Zealand are more putty than concrete), several of the seasoned Boks of the last two years showed themselves to be the leaders in their positions.
One or two are still battling for form, among them Sharks fullback Percy Montgomery. However, Montgomery started the season brilliantly and tailored off in his last game before returning home. He was ordinary against the Reds, but he is a big game player and he remains the best option for the international season.
In the midfield Jean de Villiers showed the touches that make him the best No 12 in the country, while the biggest positives continue to emerge in the Sharks pack where AJ Venter and John Smit showed their value to the region and to the national equation.
Venter, in tandem with Schalk Burger and Joe van Niekerk, helped shape a destructive loose-trio in 2004. Injury robbed White of Venter’s services last year, especially on the end of year tour. But with Venter on fire and Shaun Sowerby to add to the loose-forward depth, White will pick a loose-trio that won’t have to stand back to the All Blacks. Physically, it will be as effective and imposing.
The key, obviously, is the back-up depth and none has been consistently good. Luke Watson enjoyed his best game for two seasons agains the Force, Wikus van Heerden has dabbled with the very good and the ordinary and Pedrie Wannenburg has also been a mixture. Jacques Cronje also seems to deliver too infrequently on his talent. Warren Britz is another who blossomed against the Reds, but has not done it with enough regularity, while Juan Smith is injured. Hopefully he will be back by June because he certainly has a role to play with the Boks and a fit Smith currently would be picked ahead of a fit Joe van Niekerk.
Flyhalf has given White few answers. Meyer Bosman has been the best of an average South African lot, with Derick Hougaard again letting himself down in the match that was always going to be crucial to him. Hougaard has kicked brilliantly at home and against an average Force side was also very good. The moment he played in New Zealand he looked half the player and some of his misses were simply unbelievable.
Jaco van der Westhuyzen and Andre Pretorius have enhanced their reputations, purely by not playing.
Scrumhalf is an area where Ruan Pienaar has added to his growing support base and Bolla Conradie has shown signs of better form, while Ross Skeate, BJ Botha and Wynand Olivier have been the most prominent of the emerging players.
The Ndungane twins have also had their moments on the wing, but I’d still pick Breyton Paulse to partner Bryan Habana on his return from France in June.
Fitness permitting, this is the the team I’d like to see start the international season against Scotland.
15. Monty
14. Paulse
13. Fourie
12. De Villiers
11. Habana
10. Van der Westhuyzen
9. Januarie
8. Smith
7. Venter
6. Burger
5. Matfield
4. Botha
3. Van der Linde
2. Smit
1. Du Randt
Incumbent national squad players who have not done their international status justice so far in the competition include Eddie Andrews, Hanyani Shimange, De Wet Barry, Marius Joubert, Solly Tyibilika and Jacques Cronje. They have five weeks to get it right.
White currently has 22 test players who can go toe to toe with the All Blacks. They, in turn have 44, who can battle South Africa. And over a period of two months, that will be the difference in winning the Vodacom Tri Nations.
It is this depth that White has to develop this year once the first team has given the international season momentum with a two-nil series win against Scotland.
PS: The Bones … climbing, climbing and soaring!
Week one: 4/7
Week two: 4/7
Week three: 4/7
Week four: 5/6
Week five: 5/6
Week six: 5/6
Week seven: 5/6
Week eight: 6/6
38/51 = 74.5 percent

91 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
3 Apr 2006, 06:18 am
Steenkamp?? Updates please?
3 Apr 2006, 06:42 am
Keo, no need to crow about your 6/6 weekend. Not the hardest thing to do given the obvious disparities of teams this year. All we did was beat the worst two teams in the tournament. The hardest game to call was the Stormers and they almost blew it but for the heroics of Watson and Burger. Unfortunately, you are right about White’s choices. While the form of the incumbents has been disappointing, there aren’t too many players putting up their hands as alternative selections. In particular, there are few players who are having any consistency with great games followed by poor ones. The depth of the Springbok team will obviuosly be a concern and on current form, I can’t see them beating the All Blacks this winter.
3 Apr 2006, 07:21 am
I am encouraged by your attention given to AJ – he’s been HOT this season .
3 Apr 2006, 07:36 am
Never mind AJ being hot, what about BJ BOTHA, what does this guy ahve to do to impress JW. We have a dearth of genuine tightheads in SA but JW WILL PESIST with playing people out of position & then wonder why our scrums dont dominate.
The battle is won up front & unfortunately the BOKS have not set the world alight with their’supposed” awesom destructive scrumming — yes~! the media write us up and I recall SCOTLAND, Wales, giving us a hard time? — wake up JW
3 Apr 2006, 07:38 am
BJ Botha has been the pick of the emerging talent his season. He has been on the rise for about two years now.
Steenkamp is out until after June, at last prognosis.
3 Apr 2006, 07:41 am
injuries aside i wonder who will be our starting back row between AJ, smith, joe and burger?
agree when is steenkamp due back. that kid has got to be in the picture. think jake would look at some young guys like skeate to go through the tests and training camps, possibly pick up some game time. the backs is worrying to say the least….ruan pienaar has to be considered, if jake leaves him out, the oke mite wonder whats wrong with his game. midfield and outside backs need to start proving themselves more consistently.
3 Apr 2006, 07:52 am
I agree with your team 100%. Our B team will not beat the All Blacks in NZ, but they might give them a go at home. How about this B team:
1. Shepaka/Steenkamp
2. Gary Botha
3. BJ Botha
4. Danie Rossouw
5. Albert vd Berg/Ross Skeate
6. Pedrie/Kabamba
7. Wikus v Heerden (C)
8. Joe
9. Fourie
10. Pretorius
11. Gaffie/Ashwin
12. Wayne Julies/De Wet
13. Marius Joubert
14. Henno Mentz/Ndungane/Brent Russell
15. Jantjies
3 Apr 2006, 08:01 am
Blackbrerry … that B team will struggle to beat Scotland mate.
3 Apr 2006, 08:05 am
How can Percy still be in the Bok squad.
3 Apr 2006, 08:06 am
Keo,
Am I mistaken, didn’t you say the Highlanders would beat the Chiefs?
3 Apr 2006, 08:08 am
Keo,
Sorry, just went back to have a look, my mistake.
3 Apr 2006, 08:42 am
Heno Mentz is a very under-rated player, should give him a go, he maynot be an x-factor player, but you don’t need 15 x-factor players, all you need is a guy like Mentz who can finish great plays from the inside. Just look at Caleb Ralph and the Crusaders team.
3 Apr 2006, 08:43 am
blackberry
The Stormers would beat that team…
3 Apr 2006, 08:45 am
CSI
I agree. Henno only played one test, and it unfair to judge a man after one game. It took Smit 2 years to become the best hooker and Percy has at least 30 average to bad tests.
3 Apr 2006, 08:45 am
Good analysis but I don’t think FdP or Ricky Januarie have looked that good. Ruaan Pienaar’s charged down kick on Saturday has been some time coming.
Tragedy would be if Jaco was put into a Bulls squad under Meyer’s pattern of play.
Thought the Cheetahs showed good form for most of the game, despite the loss.
Bulls lose trio don’t look that good on the road.
3 Apr 2006, 08:48 am
sarky,
Jaco would do well. He is just what we need.
This loose trio is the wrong one.
3 Apr 2006, 08:50 am
I would pick Pretorius over VDW anyday.
3 Apr 2006, 08:55 am
SA ‘A’ Side:
15.Russell
14.Mentz
13.Joubert
12.Barry
11.Pietersen
10.Olivier
9.Pienaar
8.Cronje
7.Big Joe
6.Watson
5.Roussouw
4.Stoltz
3.Sephaka
2.Botha
1.Bands
Just an idea of having a youngish backline and an experienced forward pack. Youth and experience.
3 Apr 2006, 08:56 am
Ek haat dit om op Loftus tegaan rugby kyk.Hulle ondersteuners se gesamentlike kennis van rugby is “Maak die Bulle alamal Bokke”.Pateties.
3 Apr 2006, 08:58 am
Keo, good team. A little worrying that, apart from January, you stuck with the 2-black-wings recipe. And I don’t mean to stir the whole racial issue here – in fact, I reckon your team is pretty much spot-on – but I don’t think your selection would sit too well with the Gubment.
My only concern is van der Westhyuzen – on what strength does he crack the nod at 10?
3 Apr 2006, 08:59 am
bliksem
Jy veralgemeen mos nou?
Jy sal dowwerts by enige stadion kry..
3 Apr 2006, 09:02 am
Bliksem, waar val jy nou uit???
3 Apr 2006, 09:05 am
Stan ek was nog nooit by nuweland nie maar ek reken dit lyk soos n *** Pride Parade.Stan as mense se maak die bulle almal bokke iriteer dit my.n dronkgat met n horinghoed op is nie my idee van n rugby kenner nie.Kingspark is darem beter al was hulle rugby laasjaar diabolies gewees.
3 Apr 2006, 09:07 am
6 / 6 nice going Keo
Dont have a problem with the team you have here. Experience is vital and we need that. Habana is a problem , he’s trying to hard to go for intercept tries and always open a gap when he’s out of position. Fourie at no nine , January didn’t impress so far.
But overall a very good team.
3 Apr 2006, 09:08 am
I wouldn’t rave too much about the form, it was against some of the weeker teams. Its almost like saying Tiaan Snyman is a good flyhalf because he had good games against the minnows.
3 Apr 2006, 09:08 am
Blackberry, The Soweto string quartet could beat that team.
3 Apr 2006, 09:09 am
When you look at the SA Super 14 franchises, they don’t threaten to break out a winning streak and storm into the play-offs, but take a close look at the Core strengths of all those teams. du Randt and v.d.Linde are playing very well for the Cheetahs, Bakkies and Matfield for the Bulls are still IMO the best locking duo in world rugby, Stormers Burger and JDV are as world class as ever, and so, if you know what I mean. The SA springboks will be a force again, as for the Franchise teams in the S14, maybe not.
3 Apr 2006, 09:10 am
cheers manne ek moet gaan,praat later.Stan as jy my ooit sien op Loftus asb moenie my kop af horings vorentoe storm loop en my probeer gaffel nie.
Monty is hardly world class anymore but I suppose he is the best we have got.
And these people still selecting Paulse I take it you haven’t watched much French Top 14 or you would see he is but a pale shadow of the player he was before, give Henno Mentz or Akona Ndugane a shot.
It is a dangerous prescedent that Jake White is setting when players like Andre Snyman, Breyton Paulse and Shaun Sowerby can go play overseas and then comeback to SA and walk into the boks.
Ek was al by al die groot stadions in die land en oral is daar dronkgatte.
3 Apr 2006, 09:12 am
Stan ek like die bloubuldronkgatte.drink altyd hulle girls mis na die tyd.En dan sal sy nog terug gaan na haar kerel toe asof niks gebeur het nie.hehehe.
3 Apr 2006, 09:13 am
As ek loftus toe gaan, kyk ek net in n losie…
3 Apr 2006, 09:15 am
Stan ek het al in n losie daar gaan kyk.Dolle is net moerse moreel ewe skielik as hulle in n losie sit.sit daai selle dolla daar oorkant op die blom en sy is n ander girl.strange.
3 Apr 2006, 09:52 am
Hello Boys
How you all this morning? Good win for the Sharks this weekend hey? I think AJ had a brilliant game. How are you Stan??
3 Apr 2006, 09:59 am
Feeling threatened Stan ?
3 Apr 2006, 10:00 am
I have been on all the major stadiums in SA and Loftus are by far the worst!
3 Apr 2006, 10:02 am
36 – Loftus IS …
3 Apr 2006, 10:03 am
Ig, by what?
3 Apr 2006, 10:04 am
Gee Gas – i have only been to Loftus once and i thought it was a pretty cool place – great staduim good atmosphere – Ellis has to be the worst
Stan – your comment held by your poor use of language indicates you don’t like one of your fellow supporters !
3 Apr 2006, 10:06 am
I agree with most of what Keo says above, but… no Monty please!!
In my opinion he has had his time in a Bok jersey and you can have a better player there, although at this stage unsure of who has stepped up.
Breyten also not the right one. From what I have heard Andre Snyman would be a better choice.
Steel Shark – do not entirely agree with the overseas player viewpoint you have. This is professional sport. If you are good enough for a Bok contract, then you should get a Bok contract. A player may not quite make it in SA, then spends some time overseas and improves tremendously to the extent that he may be the best in the position. It would only be best for the Boks to get such a player in the fold and in so doing maybe get him playing rugby outside of the Bok squad in SA as well, ala Jaco.
3 Apr 2006, 10:13 am
Feeling threatend Stan?Thats pretty rich coming from a guy who asks “How high?”,when told to jup by the poisen dwarf
3 Apr 2006, 10:15 am
Bliksem and Stan
You are both correct. Every rugby stadium in SA contains a lot of thick dutchmen who know nothing about rugby and a lot about wifebeating, but Loftus just has a much higher percentage.
3 Apr 2006, 10:16 am
Mole I suppose you are English?
3 Apr 2006, 10:18 am
Mole – Thick ******** is derogotory you *****. My partner is Afrikaans from Pretoria – Arsehole… With a name like that
3 Apr 2006, 10:22 am
Mole – Why the thick ********? You big DOOS… Climb back into you hole and go eat dirt!!! Prick
3 Apr 2006, 10:27 am
Sorry Gaybull, didn’t mean to be personal old bean, just an innocent little sweaping generalisation. I’m sure your partner doesn’t beat you, unless of course you ask him to.
3 Apr 2006, 10:39 am
By the way, nice rugby team you selected Keo! Can’t find much fault with that.
3 Apr 2006, 10:50 am
Mole,
Kom drink n dop op Loftus en dan ons sien hoe braaf jy is.
Ig,
Dit gaan baie meer as jy en die bergdrwerg gespuis vat om my bedreig te laat voel…
3 Apr 2006, 10:51 am
Mole: Happy monday, enjoy the **** storm coming your way.
3 Apr 2006, 10:53 am
yip, keo’s team is probably about right, but Paulse is too old now, need to look for a starter at RWC2007.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All