Wildebeest on course in Vodacom Cup

The Wildebeest entrenched themselves at the top of the Vodacom Cup log with a 49-8 victory over the Border Bulldogs in East London on Friday night. Michael Vlismas reports

The visitors ran in seven tries, with man of the match Steve Meyer converting every one, including his own try. The Wildebeest went into the halftime break with a 21-8 lead and were never troubled by their opponents as they moved closer to a place in the final on May 20.

The win was the Wildebeest’s seventh from eight games and took them to 35 points overall, four clear of the Vodacom Blue Bulls who came away with a narrow win against the Eagles in George.

Jaco van der Westhuyzen marked his return to South African rugby fields with a 21-18 victory for the Blue Bulls over the hapless Eagles. But the Eagles came close to forcing a draw against their more illustrious opponents.

A last-gasp penalty from Jacques-Louis Potgieter sealed the win for the Pretoria team and kept their trophy hopes alive. Eagles flyhalf Rynhard van As was once again the mainstay of his team, scoring all 18 of their points with the boot.

In Kimberley, Griquas scored a narrow 19-15 victory over the Pumas.

While the win could help defending Vodacom Cup champions Griquas salvage some pride from a dismal season, defeat was a big blow to the Pumas’ hopes of making the final. The men from Witbank were still in with an outside chance of a place in the final
before this match, but have now dropped to sixth place on the log.


Eagles 18 (9)
Penalties: Rynhard van As (6).

Vodacom Blue Bulls 21 (14)
Tries: Emile Verster, Neil Powell. Conversion: Len Olivier. Penalties: Jacques-Louis
Potgieter (3).

Border Bulldogs 8 (8)
Try: Josh Fowles. Penalty: Oliver Fowles.

Wildebeest 49 (21)
Tries: Brent Russell (2), Craig Burden, Grant Rees, Jaco Gouws, Sandile Nxumalo,
Steve Meyer. Conversions: Steve Meyer (7).

Griquas 19 (9)
Try: MJ Mentz. Conversion: Zane Kirchner. Penalties: Zane Kirchner (4).

Pumas 15 (8)
Tries: Neil Visagie, Sam Gerber. Conversion: Jeandre Fourie. Penalty: Fourie.