Boks advance despite losing

Paul Treu’s Sevens Springboks slumped to a 19-17 defeat to Argentina in their last pool match at the Singapore Sevens on Saturday but still advanced to the quarter-finals as the top team from Pool C.

Earlier they thumped Scotland 33-14, before smashing Hong Kong 36-0 to leap to the top of the Pool C standings and in pole position for a Sunday quarter-final berth, however, Scotland threw the race wide open when they defeated Argentina 19-14 to draw level on two wins with the Boks.

The win by Argentina in the late game meant all three – South Africa, Argentina and Scotland – finished level on points, but SA and Argentina advanced courtesy of superior points differences.

Following the two wins over Scotland and Hong Kong the Boks were never really in danger of failing to make the Cup quarters – only a highly unlikely 32-point reverse would have seen Treu’s men stumble in the opening round. Instead they live to fight another day albeit having suffered a morale-sapping loss to the nuggety Pumas outfit.

Sarel Potgieter had came to the fore with a hat-trick of tries in the second of the two games -against Hong Kong – but the Boks could not reproduce their free-scoring feats in the late game.

The talk on day one, however, was all about the surprise wins for Scotland as well as Kenya. After Scotland’s earlier heroics, Kenya shocked fancied Samoa 21-19 in pool B.

Overall series leaders Fiji though marched imperiously through to the quarters and were joined by England and New Zealand who were also winners in all three pool games on Saturday.

In the quarters, the South Africans will face France who also qualified on points difference over Canada in Pool D after the two teams had played to a 12-12 draw.


New Zealand 26 Canada 10
France 45 China 0
South Africa 33 Scotland 14
Argentina 38 Hong Kong 5
England 26 Kenya 12
Samoa 33 Korea 14
Fiji 54 Japan 0
Australia 33 Singapore 0
New Zealand 48 China 12
France 12 Canada 12
South Africa 36 Hong Kong 0
Argentina 14 Scotland 19
England 47 Korea 5
Samoa 19 Kenya 21
Fiji 61 Singapore 0
Australia 45 Japan 0
Canada 29 China 10
Scotland 40 Hong Kong 7
Kenya 17 Korea 14
Japan 54 Singapore 0
New Zealand 31 France 5
South Africa 17 Argentina 19
England 14 Samoa 12
Fiji 38 Australia 7