Sharks can’t slip up
16 Apr 2006
The Sharks need at least 40 log points in order to qualify for the Vodacom Super 14 semi-finals, according to coach Dick Muir.
The Natalians are currently in sixth position with 22 points and play the Blues in Durban on Saturday. They then finish the regular season with matches against the Bulls (away), Stormers and Force (both at home).
That means the Sharks need 18 points from four matches – i.e. four wins with at least two bonus points.
Muir admitted it would be a tough ask. “I think we’re a few points short,” he said. “We didn’t earn enough points overseas and our defeat against the Cheetahs at home could come back to haunt us.”
The Sharks came away from Ellis Park on Saturday with a valuable five points, despite failing to hit top gear.
“Yes, it was not a good performance, but I hope the poor rugby didn’t chase everyone away,” said Muir. “We expected a tough match and if you had told me earlier in the week that we would win by at least 20 points, I would have taken it with both hands.
“In saying that, we were too hasty and missed many opportunities. Maybe I’m too hard on the players, but I think they could do better. We must eliminate the small basic errors if we want to be a good team.”

37 Comments
16 Apr 2006, 23:21 pm
Sharks are awseome this season…they will definitely do it!
16 Apr 2006, 23:38 pm
Blues vs. Sharks is going to be a cracker. A win is absolutely vital for both teams. Both are tough and talented and traditionally matches between them have been close.
16 Apr 2006, 23:40 pm
I rate them purely for their attitude, listening to John Smit and **** after the game portrayed the ethos that exists within their system. Very level headed.
17 Apr 2006, 00:52 am
Campese for Boks skills coach !!!!!!
17 Apr 2006, 01:22 am
From an ex-Capey, go Sharks!
17 Apr 2006, 02:18 am
monketbrass u right campo’s kids are skooling in durbs so would be nice to drop the skool fees a bit!!
17 Apr 2006, 03:45 am
Looks like once again my ISP number is being blocked, and I have to post here via a different tactic.
Come on, unblock my original ISP number asap. There’s really no point in all this petty spitefulness, is there?
For the record, I’ll put my money on the Shorks! Here’s saying that Tony Brown’s boot will eventually decide the match. It will be close but the Durbanites will go home happy.
(And to think that some dumb Jaaps were calling them “clownfish” as the Super 14 season kicked off, hey?)
17 Apr 2006, 03:56 am
Tackler, it should be obvious.
Nobody wants you here.Nobody likes you and certainly nobody wants to exchange pearls of wisdom with you.
Maybe the sheep will be provide a better audience mate.So Piss off!
17 Apr 2006, 04:37 am
meh
17 Apr 2006, 05:14 am
Hahahaha Tackler is banned! I didn’t see that one coming…
17 Apr 2006, 05:19 am
Hey, but how good is a ban when you can stroll through the back door and say all the same old same old stuff? Like I am doing right now?
(It’s almost like back in the sixties when SABC banned The Beatles and LM Radio enjoyed an unprecedented upsurge in listenership! )
17 Apr 2006, 06:28 am
Tackler,
Shows how desparate you are to access the good stuff thats SA rugga.Also shows what a crapshit media they have in NZ as well.
17 Apr 2006, 06:44 am
Hey, Anvil…. I can always find a way in somehow and somewhere to have my supposedly piss-poor but somehow tremendously ban-worthingly offensive tuppenceworth.
So what, hey?
There’s no “desperate” anywhere!
17 Apr 2006, 06:49 am
Nevermind.
17 Apr 2006, 07:02 am
Blow smoke out my ***. As if the Sharks have a hope of a semi final. Let’s not got carried away ****. The Chiefs in week 1, the Highlanders, the Reds and the Cats aren’t quite quality. Not as bad as some other SA **** but don’t get carried away.
17 Apr 2006, 07:25 am
Really hope the Sharks pull through. Always liked Muir’s modus operandi. Have now given up on Stormers.
Tackler….there’s no doubt you’re pretty lonely mate, take up reading, or sign up for dancing lessons, join the local chess club. Buy someone a beer. C’mon dude, you gotta have friends somewhere hey.
17 Apr 2006, 07:26 am
I hope one side from SA make the semi. Unfortunately Bulls and Cats still play each other. The winner of that game must not come unstuck regardless of other opposition. I think the Sharks have the right attitude and game plan while the Bulls have the muscle.
Anvil and viper6, you should look at the poor quality of your language and posts or you too may need a new isp.
17 Apr 2006, 08:20 am
TheTackler is just like a toilet nugget. You keep flushing, and flushing, and flushing, but the little piece of s**t just won’t go away.
17 Apr 2006, 08:24 am
It is such a joy as long-suffering Shark’s fan to enjoy this season.
17 Apr 2006, 08:52 am
couldn’t agree more rastafox, even my Bulls mates are calling them their second side now! Looks like the wheelchair bound clownfish have rolled right over their critics!
I have this feeling that the Cats will piss on the Bulls parade and the stormers do the same to the Sharks. You play to win and if that happens then so be it.
Come on guys, don’t ban Tackler – he has no life outside of this site. And anyway, anybody with half a brain ignores him anyway!
17 Apr 2006, 09:22 am
Nope. I appear to be unbanned again!
Looks like the big boffins whop run this blog like to make The Tackler go and stand in the corner every now and then for being a bit of a naughty boy?
17 Apr 2006, 09:23 am
Nope. I appear to be unbanned again!
Looks like the big boffins who run this blog like to make The Tackler go and stand in the corner every now and then for being a bit of a naughty boy?
17 Apr 2006, 11:04 am
Why cant the guys who run this , just make it so if the person who logs on doesent want to read Tackldoos comments they can block him? So when you look on the thread you cant see his posts? errm oh sorry that means they might aswell just remove him because no one wants to see the posts lol.
17 Apr 2006, 11:05 am
I have always known that **** will get the Sharks back up. Was in the Sunninghill (I think its called) hotel in Parktown just after the Tuks won the National Club Champs. The team walked in with **** for a few beers and not once did any of them (varsity students!) get loud or out of hand. Instead they clubbed around **** while he told stories and shared wisdom.
He is a real rugby man. I mean where do you find a centre that lacks real pace masterminding a Bok backline to record amount wins on the trot? He has a brain to match any Ozzie strategist which I guess explains his appointment of Campo. Personally I dont think anyone will touch the Sharks in this years CC and that from a Cheetah fan.
Tackler when you dont mention quotas and melanin (like a sctached record) you are not too bad and you obviously know the SA game. Point is its easy for you who have run away to shout from the stands whereas us blokes who stay behind have to work on the problem as opposed to just ***** about it. You can be of help in finding a solution but you prefer to be a part of the problem. Thats you choice. Fair enough.
17 Apr 2006, 13:22 pm
Can someone just ask JW not to interfere with the super 14 players. I heard from various reliable sources that JW has phoned various players this year and request them Not to injure themselves and NOT give a 100% in the super 14 as they do not have to prove themselves, because they are already chosen for the world cup!!! He also did that last year with the BULLS in the currie cup final. Hence the bad performance of most boks, excluding Bakkies &Juan Smit,”wat hulle gatte aan agterbaksheid afvee” One for Mr Keo, the sharks are not doing so bad after all with Strauli somehwhere in the background.Find out from **** Muir how much he really appreciates Rudolf. One for JAKE WHITE. Sir, as jy met die leeu se B.. speel of gespeel het, moet jy die leeu se BAAS wees. Jy gaan “gefaks” word. Markies, DIE GROOT LEEU, is honger en Lus vir WHITE MEAT!!! I do not think JW will take the boks to the world cup.To much laundry will be washed in the open.
17 Apr 2006, 13:35 pm
Jakethesnake that type of opionion will not even get an answer around a braai leave alone on this site. Then again, whatever blows your hair back….
17 Apr 2006, 13:58 pm
shieldstheband, i am sure that you feel a little bit emotional about the opinion. Fair enough. My concern is that if i hear this comment too many times from various sources around the boardroom table, it is concerning. I hope I am wrong but if what i hear is correct, we at least know where one of our problems resides. Why do we not ask JW himself. I would love to know if he has ever requested a Bokplayer to take it “EASY” in either currie cup or super 12/14 games due to the players commitment for the boks. Let he be subjected to a polygraph test!!
17 Apr 2006, 15:02 pm
was it good or what to see JP Petersen’s goose step on Saturday on his way to set up a try – now “where did he learn that” lol
17 Apr 2006, 15:38 pm
Jp’s a natural.He is playing for something
17 Apr 2006, 18:18 pm
Jake the fool!
There is no way that I would believe this, unless I heard it from JW himself. Even then, I would struggle.
SA rugby needs professionalism like never before. If the bokke lose & JW has selected these players in awful form this year, then his job will be the one on the line.
All we ever need is everyone giving 100%, no matter what their possision in rugby.
17 Apr 2006, 18:40 pm
Jakethetrousersnake
Try selling your conspiracy theories elsewhere, coz no-one’s biting here, no matter how many threads you post them on.
Tackler you are an irrelevant waste of space, so I would be quite happy for you to be banned from the site. Please go away and try and make friends elsewhere.
17 Apr 2006, 19:13 pm
Yebo yes!!!
17 Apr 2006, 19:48 pm
jonnow, be warned, you are in for a huge surprise re our national coach. Just wait, father time will tell it all. How about a side bet. A case of Johnny Walker Blue, if JW is the coach for the world cup?
17 Apr 2006, 19:53 pm
The Bill, Einstein once said: It is easier to split an atom than to eradicate the notion to be prejudiced, (this in a 1925 context, when it was really difficult to split atoms. Look at what you have just said” that you will not believe it unless you heard it from JW himself, AND THEN YOU WOULD FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE!! but never the less, time/ this year , will tell. Just be prepared not to be to dissapointed
17 Apr 2006, 23:46 pm
Jakethesnake=man who registered just to write a post on one subject.
Lets say for one instant that your “info” is correct. It would be a very poor person who’d let his team, province, and fans down on the off chance that he might get injured. The province would be better off without him, and I believe he would not get work elsewhere once found out.
JW’s mouth might run away at times but he’s not an idiot. Could you imagine the ruccus that would ensue if the provincial coaches heard of such a plan?
Nah Boitjie, you’re fishing in the dark.
18 Apr 2006, 08:53 am
they wont reach the semi this year, but I reckon next year they have a good chance of doing it
18 Apr 2006, 08:54 am
Jakesnakeshitheadfuckwadidiotdick- Druk jou kop in jou hol, jy praat kak. JW het meer integriteit as wat jy dink.