‘No guarantees’ warns Bok selector
18 Apr 2006
The catalogue of underperforming Springboks in the Vodacom Super 14 should not think that selection for Jake White’s squad of 2006 will be automatic, chairman of selectors Peter Jooste has warned.
Speaking to Volksblad, Jooste expressed his view that a year out from World Cup duty, new combinations need be tested.
“We want to give some new combinations a chance this year. We want to see how they perform under pressure in important matches with a view to next year’s Rugby World Cup tournament,” Jooste said.
“There will be a couple of surprises in the squad. We won’t however, use two different teams like the All Blacks did this year.
“It’s not a case of us not having enough reserves, but rather that we’ve decided to follow this route.”
Jooste did state that he was disappointed that more players weren’t putting up their hands.
“We’re not happy with what’s happening. Some guys are not producing the goods and this makes our task much more difficult. Some guys are not performing as we expected.”

46 Comments
18 Apr 2006, 06:13 am
No selections should be automatic, the current Boks who have not had a good year so far should raise their games – they would all know who they are. No player should feel they don’t need to perform just because they are a current Bok. If they are out of from, this needs to be looked at because it’s not good enough. There are non Bok players out there that deserve the chance if current Boks are under performing. Playing for the Springboks should be a huge honour, not a comfort zone.
18 Apr 2006, 07:00 am
At this rate they can barely field one team, let alone two different ones
18 Apr 2006, 07:26 am
Another contradiction. White has already issued the guarantees and with a few soft tests to shine, the incumbents are anything but stressed.
Just another example of the erratci communication that plagues Jake’s team management!
18 Apr 2006, 07:44 am
Agreed Lang Giel – it amazes me the mis-communication in the upper echelons of our rugby. Besides its not like anyone else is performing. I would like to see one or two added to the current mix – but i suspect Jake will get more from the players than Frans, Fester, **** , Rassie and HM
18 Apr 2006, 07:59 am
Sharks vs Cats. The amount of errors was scary. Did **** and Frans train those guys to do that?
Bulls vs Reds, Did Meyer train his guys to choke? Stormers vs Chiefs, same story.
18 Apr 2006, 08:03 am
Sharks vs Cats
Didn’t Jake White ‘help’ out the Cats? Seems like the Cats are helpless or is Jake White’s advice getting old?!
18 Apr 2006, 08:04 am
Or is **** Muir’s coaching team better than Jake’s?
18 Apr 2006, 08:18 am
Pieter Jooste – who he?
18 Apr 2006, 08:18 am
Cats got helped – Ok?
18 Apr 2006, 08:24 am
Edwill (7), natuurlik! Deel van die cats coaching team help JW met die bokke!
18 Apr 2006, 08:24 am
MY SA Team would be:
Manager: Morne Du Plessis
Head Coach: Jake White
Forwards Coach: Balie Swart
Backs Coach: David Campese
Defensive Coach: Corne Krige
Kicking Coach: Louis Koen
Technical Analyst: Rassie Erasmus
15.) Percy Montgomery/Conrad Jantjies
14.) Tonderai Chavanga/Odwa Ndungane
13.) Jacque Fourie/Marius Joubert
12.) Jean de Villiers/De Wet Barry
11.) Bryan Habana/Jongi Nokwe
10.) Jaco van der Westhuysen/Andre Pretorius
9.) Ruan Pienaar/Fourie Du Preez
8.) AJ Venter/Joe van Niekerk
7.) Juan Smith/Luke Watson
6.) Schalk Burger/Wikus van Heerden
5.) Victor Matfield/Ross Skeate
4.) Bakkies Botha/Danie Rossouw
3.) CJ van der Linde/BJ Botha
2.) John Smit/Gary Botha/Schalk Brits
1.) Guthro Steenkamp/Os du Randt
18 Apr 2006, 08:42 am
Edwill, is jy blind of het jy nie die naweek gekyk nie! Chavanga en Nokwe, kan nie tackle, pass of vang nie. Dit is ‘n redelik basiese verwagting van die bok span!
18 Apr 2006, 08:49 am
edwill, too many stormers in your team bru. chavanga & nokwe dont deserve to be there… Ruan Pienaar on form maybe 3rd choice. MJ and DWB not on form either… I would rather have JDV, Cooke and Olivier as the centres as well as JF. Bosman instead of AP. P3 instead of JVN, Steenkamp injured so i would put in Sephaka or Andrews…
18 Apr 2006, 08:49 am
Sampioen ek stem saam.Nokwe lyk soos n onder 16 in n Toets wedstryd.
18 Apr 2006, 08:56 am
wpw
Agree with you about Edwils, preponderance of Stormers. Personally, I’d look at bringing Snyman back from the UK, together with Ronnie Cook and Frikkie Welsh as backline cover. Pitersen from the Sharks would also provide cover at FB and wing.
18 Apr 2006, 09:02 am
Graham Henry and his All Black inner-circle are quietly going about building nicely, and selecting any number of alternative teams to win some very important Grand Slam tests…
All meticulously and carefully prepared some 18 months out of the ultimate goal — the next Rugby World Cup.
Their whole plan is coming together rather sweetly.
18 Apr 2006, 09:06 am
Corne Krige as defensive coach? What the F*^%!!! Why not rather bring in Mike Tyson? The man is a tosser, who has no rugby brain. For to long we have been putting these old Boks into coaching positions, when they are the least qualified person for the job.
Balie Swart up front great, but why not look at someone like Carrel du Plessis as backs coach? The Province backline looked like they knew where the try line was with him at the helm.
18 Apr 2006, 09:28 am
When will SA realise that JDV is not a 12. Play the boy at 13 and see him shine on attack and be stable on defense
15. J Fourie
14. O Ngugane
13. J De Villiers
12. A Snyman
11. B Habanna
10. A Pretorius
9. R Pienaar
8. AJ Venter
7. J Smith
6. S Burger
5. V. Matfield
4. B Botha
3. BJ Botha
2. J Smit
1. O Du Randt
18 Apr 2006, 09:30 am
Edwill
Its clear you have’nt seen any S14 this year
18 Apr 2006, 09:36 am
Edwil……
the gangster rap blog is somewhere else.
18 Apr 2006, 09:43 am
interesting this.
first of right on the money giel, jake says no new caps, jooste says no guarrantees…
strange
anyhow, looking at the first choice players, who has really put their hand up to take over from the current boks?
15. still percy sorry, jantjes hasn’t really proved anything and roets seems to have gone of the boil a bit, i know he is carrieng an injury so that might be the reason why. maybe jaco – he looked full of life last saturday.
14. couple maybe, henno looked good so far, ndungane had one bad game this year, benjamin from stormers is 10 times better than nokwe/chavanga so maybe, haven’t been following breytie’s games over in france, toughie.
13. none other than JF
12. the centers from the cheetahs and sharks look decent this year, but they haven’t really shown me that they can do more than JDV, although JDV hasn’t really shown much either, might be an opportunity for a cook, bosman (at 12 not 10) or strauss.
11. no-one has done anything to suggest they are better than habana.
10. toughie, most were injured so far, AP looked good in 2 games, bosman average, hougaard better, but not quite there yet, steyn, second year syndrome it seems, jaco, too few games, olivier impressed in the little opportunity he had so far and barrit seems to be one for the future, i’d stick with AP.
9. both FDP and january had poor starts, bolla and ruan had good runs in the opening games. FDP picked up some steam, january still kak. ruan has been the in-form halfback so if there is any change there it should be him, but i’d stick with FDP with ruan 2nd or 3rd choice.
8. cronje was average, van niekerk hasn’t played much, AJ impressed a **** lot, pedrie has played good rugby so far.
7. barr injury it has to be juan, other blindsider that impressed was botes from sharks.
6. he was kak to start off with but improved a lot, can’t see anyone but schalk at 6. luke was very good as-well, bu last week anonymous again.
5 & 4. vic and bakkies, no question.
3. has to be BJ
2. still smit
1. os
like ig said, no-one has really put their hands up apart from one or two players.
18 Apr 2006, 09:53 am
JW team Perfomance team Upcoming
15 Percy JP Pietersen JP Pietersen
14 Breyten Giscard P ???
13 J.Fourie Ronnie Cooke cooke
12 Jean Jean wynand o
11 Habana Habana hollenbach
10 Jaco vd W Derick naas olivier
9 Fourie Ruan ruan
8 Joe AJ ???
7 Juan J.Botes botes
6 Schalk Watson watson
5 Victor Victor/bekker bekker
4 Bakkies bakkies/skeate skeate
3 sepaka bj botha neil f
2 Smit smit/brits brits
1 Os os moller
18 Apr 2006, 09:56 am
PA
The more I see of Pietersen from the Sharks the more I feel he needs inclusion. If only on the bench.
Naas Olivier also looks like a serious candidate for the future.
Remember, we can still call on some of our overseas players if needed.
18 Apr 2006, 09:59 am
Or the incumbent boks only Bakies, John Smith, Jaque Furrie, Juan Smith (before injury) have not damaged their reputation ah, and Jaco cose he was not playing.
Matfield, Habana, Russow (just when he played lock not flank), JDV, FDP, Percy more or less satisfying.
Os and other props, Albert wd bergh not good enough.
De wet, Marius, January, Cronie shoking slide of the form.
18 Apr 2006, 10:00 am
15 Monty is the logical choice with few challengers,no doubt Pietersen(JP) is one to watch,difficult for Jantjes in a woeful team.
14.Henno Mentz is in great form,the Ndungane twins have good solid seasons,but there is little else.
13.Jacque Fourie stands out in a poor team and few outside centres have impressed.Ronni Cooke is a serious talent and will challenge in the near future.
12.J de Villiers although he needs to pick up his form somewhat,Olivier has potential and Strauss has been good,but let’s too many tackles go by.Julies has struggled in a poor team.
11.Habana is still the shoe-in,Chavangha,Nokwe and Benjamin are just not good enough.
10.Jaco and AP need to hammer down the spot and Bosman,Steyn and Hougaard need to do a lot better.
9.Fourie and Ruan have stood tall and Januarie is unlucky to have the Cats as his team.Conradie is solid but not spectacular.
8.AJ,Pedrie and Jacques Botes have put their hands up.AJ at 8 or even better at 7.Big Joe is nowhere and can’t seriously be considered.
7.AJ,Juan Smith and the workhorse Van Heerden are all solid.Jacques Cronje needs to raise his game.
6.Burger is statistically nowhere as he has played a more blindside role.Watson is over-hyped.Jacques Botes and Ryno v/d Merwe have performed well in this position.
5.Matfield by a long stride with the reliable v/d Bergh.van Schouwenburg and Bekker could do more to stake claims as back-ups
4.Bakkies,Bakkies and Bakkies.Danie Rousoouw is a good replacement and Skeate,Muller and Corniel van Zyl could develop to challenge.
3.CJ and BJ are a two-horse race with Steady Eddie in the wings.
2.Smit is a class above with Botha,Brits and Shimange needing to up their games.
1.Os is the man,Carstens has been a solid bet for the Sharks and Gurthro when recovered.
18 Apr 2006, 10:11 am
david,
if there is a challenger it will be pietersen, he is just erratic at times but invite him to the training camp, get them involved from early one even if he is not going to play this year.
18 Apr 2006, 10:14 am
Ratafox
Remember that Andre Snyman and Sowerby are also in the mix according to Jake. The one player who’s really impressed, this year, is Giscard Pieters.
18 Apr 2006, 10:20 am
Forgot about Pieters he has played well and Sowerby has always been under-rated.Snyman is desperately needed to shore up our under-performing centres.I believe Jake Boer might get a look-in too.
18 Apr 2006, 10:20 am
Guys lets just face it! SA Rugby is KUK…
18 Apr 2006, 10:24 am
Talking of overseas based players how is this line-up:
P.Barnard
D.Coetzee
C.Visagie
Q.Davids
S.Boome
J.Boer
A.Vos
S.Sowerby
J.Viljoen
J.v/d Westhysen
T.Delport
C.Stoltz
A.Snyman
????????
B.Paulse
18 Apr 2006, 10:42 am
Rasta
Q. Davids!?
18 Apr 2006, 10:54 am
yip, wonder what they’re thinking:
3. BJ Botha 8. P3/Sauwerby 9. Pienaar 10.? 14. Snyman 15. JP Pietersen.
18 Apr 2006, 11:01 am
David
Scratching the bottom of the overseas barrel for that one!!!
I think there is still the former Natal lock Strudwig playing in the UK,a better choice!!!
18 Apr 2006, 11:02 am
cab
OVERSEAS based players!!!!!
18 Apr 2006, 11:31 am
rasta, not a bad squad you’ve assmebled, also think Hottie Louw went to play overseas.
Some good SA centers in Luscombe (Wales) and Abbott (Poms).
18 Apr 2006, 11:55 am
Cab
I think we’re looking for players who are eligible for the Boks otherwise we could include Vickerman and Rawlinson.
18 Apr 2006, 12:26 pm
true David, just picking a theoretical team, anyway think we have better in SA, just talent is spread a bit thin.
Sauwerby and Vos are very good, but we have plenty of very good loosies. The current bok squad lacks depth at 3, 4 and 10. what u reckon?
18 Apr 2006, 12:26 pm
also a powerful wing to complement Habana would not go amiss, especially with the loss of Willemse.
18 Apr 2006, 12:56 pm
Cab
I agree with you there although we should stop trying to convert traditional looseheads into tightheads so late in their career.
10 is also a problem that’s made worse by the CC sides being unable to decide what they require in a flyhalf.
At least AJ has shown that he can provide cover for Bakkies whilst Skeate was developing well until his injury.
18 Apr 2006, 13:06 pm
10 is crucial and as you point out David if we can’t settle on a player at CC level and what pattern they should play,how on earth will we have a top international player by the WC.It seems we have a lot of wunder-kind players in the mix,but none stamping their authority.
18 Apr 2006, 13:20 pm
Our S14 flyhalf situation is a total mess with only the Sharks and Cats having a player that’s their first choice and Brown isn’t even a South African.
The other teams can’t seem to make up their minds who their first choice is.
It’s all very well talking about rotating players but do the Cheetahs, Bulls and Stormers really believe that they’ve got 2 number 10s of equal quality?
Until these sides decide what sort of rugby they want to play as a team we’ll continue to create flyhalfs who’ll be more focussed on trying to be what the coach wants them to be than on developing their own unique talents.
18 Apr 2006, 13:39 pm
David,
yip the 3 best 10′s seem to be JW’s current pick, but certainly nothing inspiring. dont think hougie, grant, de waal, steyn, olivier are even close. quite a worry. also agree that 1′s cnnot be converted to 3′s, other way around maybe, but cant compromise on a scrumaging 3.
you rate Skeate then? prefer becker myself?
18 Apr 2006, 14:07 pm
Cab
Bekker’s beginning to remind me a bit of his old man who tended to drift in and out of games. I was very impressed last year when he seemed to be a lot more aggressive and enthusiastic.
Naas Olivier interests me. He has the talent but he also has the confidence to back himself on attack. At the moment he seems to be someone to invest in.
18 Apr 2006, 14:57 pm
david
ill take bekker before skeate buddie.very tight player skeate not doing any agressive work only getting his own ball thats about it.
i think marius didnt play well against chiefs because jean did not play well.he did not create anything for his partner and his defence still leaves a ?
18 Apr 2006, 15:16 pm
Piet Visagie as defence coach and Campese as Backs coach.
Here’s my team:
15. Greef
14. Akona Ndugane
13. Jaques Fourie
12. Jean De Villiers
11. Habana
10. Pretoruis
9. Januarie
8. AJ Venter
7. Juan Smith
6. Schala
5. Matfield
4. Bakkies
3. CJ
2. Gary
1. OS
16.Guthro
17.Schalk Brits
18.Skeate/Danie Rossouw
19.Pedrie Wannenburg
20.Ruan Pienaar
21.Jakes Van der Westhuizen
22.Jantjies/Giscard Pieters/Snyman
As well as guys like Sowerby/Jaques Cronje/Solly/John Smit/Corniel van Zyl/BJ Botha ect ect.
19 Apr 2006, 07:49 am
You guys make like Jake White is really going to shock the world by throwing out all the players his been sticking with. Yes, there’s a lot of Stormers but those are all Jakes Boks. If memory serves me correct, Tonderai Chavanga has an impeccable record under Jake and Nokwe was cited exclusively by Jake, so yes he’d pick him. Also, they are 2 of the 3 fastest men in the country. Jake did say he needs speed out wide.
Why not try Corne, we certainly can do with a fresh, strong approach. Rassie’s not doing too bad. For a man you guys ridicule, Corne Krige has been the one guy New Zealand commentators always talk about. Him and Anton Leonard.