Cats target Bulls pack
19 Apr 2006
Cats coach Frans Ludeke says his side must compete with the Bulls forwards in Saturday’s Vodacom Super 14 derby at Loftus.
Speaking to Beeld newspaper, Ludeke acknowledged the massive task facing his side.
“The Bulls have a formidable pack,” he said. “You just have to watch their matches. They drive from the line-outs about 80% of the time, gain metres of ground and no-one has been able to stop them dead. That’s why they do it.
“Then their strong runners take over. And when the forwards gather momentum, the Bulls attack with their backline. It’s been working for them for the past four or five years.”
Ludeke said the Cats would have to get their hands on the ball – and keep it.
“The challenge for our forwards on Saturday will be to get enough possession to play quickly, to place the Bulls forwards under pressure, to stop their driving mauls and also stop their strong runners in their tracks.”
Ludeke has cracked the whip and has informed the players that if they do not perform, they will be dropped. However, he did not say whether the same principle applied to the Cats coaching staff.

26 Comments
19 Apr 2006, 06:56 am
Poor old Ludicrous! One is almost tempted to feel sorry for him!
Almost but not quite!
19 Apr 2006, 06:58 am
Yawn.
19 Apr 2006, 07:14 am
The Bulls will probably set new records against the Cats. This is the one and only game of the season where the Cats might spring a surprise by doing better than expected (as they usually do against the Bulls) but as a Cats fan I’m preparing for the worst. I’m going deep undercover – very deep.
19 Apr 2006, 07:24 am
great plan Ludicrous, well thought out !!
Lets use the weakest pack in the super14 (cats) to take on one of the strongest packes (bulls)
Excellent planning and strategizing, CLOWN!!
19 Apr 2006, 07:25 am
Frans sees more in the Bulls this year than they have proven themselves to be capable of.
Maybe he was watchings last years tapes, mmm, maybe that is why the Cats are doing to badly!
19 Apr 2006, 07:43 am
gavin
have a look at what the reds did against the bulls last saturday. the fact is that if you can contain the bulls’ pack, you’re halfway there. heck the reds even shoved them off the ball once. (not that i’m suggesting that the cats will be able to do so, though) we’ve seen that what goes on in frans’ head and what gets delivered on game day, are way different things!
19 Apr 2006, 07:49 am
Frans is a amoeba. If the plan has been working for the last 4 -5 years why are we totally useless ? I don’t get it. Where were the Bulls on the S12 log a few years ago ?
What a idiot.
19 Apr 2006, 07:57 am
“They drive from the line-outs 80% of the time” – Yes so predictable and yes why they can not win on regular basis. And from what I’ve seen their drives do not work so well. On Saturday they were too much in upright position. Watch the tape, VM was ‘driving’ forward standing bloody upright. No power in legs, no momentum.
19 Apr 2006, 08:10 am
yeah Bulls been playing soooo poorly lost couple games by point but they still the top team on the log. Just imagin they play like 10% better we be unstopable.
Cant wait for the bulls to peak!!
19 Apr 2006, 08:11 am
Ert
They wrestle, like most SA sides, rather than drive.
Watching the English u19 pack was a revelation as even at that age they’ve been taught to pump their legs, same with the Kiwis.
Our guys just seem to want to use brute strength to heave their way forward.
19 Apr 2006, 08:20 am
Fransie werk net aan julle lineouts ook… ****!
19 Apr 2006, 08:28 am
Look forward to a bUlls side that can play decent rugby. Cats stand no chance
The Bulls are also makeing me gatvoel. they come so close on potential yet unlike the crusaders they cant deliver game in game out.
19 Apr 2006, 08:52 am
The Bulls need a scrummie, flyhalf and 12 that can get the backline on fire. When they have that they will be (almost) unstopable. I know the Bulls love Du Preez but what if Januarie played for them? A player like Ricky is exactly what the Bulls need.
19 Apr 2006, 08:59 am
GCC
The bulls are known as poor travellers, whenever they have the voortrekker monument in site they suddenly become a different team .
The bulls pack will destroy the cats.
Ludicrous’s plan will work for the first half, wait until the last half an hour.
19 Apr 2006, 09:04 am
Fransie makes me laugh… Howzit guys!! How are those Cats of mine??? Man, the Tuna’s gave us a right old snotting last weekend!
19 Apr 2006, 09:22 am
Katsensor,
Pleeeeaze keep January for the cats. His passing is poor, he knocks the ball regularly and while he is fast and nippy he runs away from support. Bulls have a lot of good young scrumhalfs, I just can not believe they let Matie go to Sharks. He was very impressing as a youngster, way better than Nel powel they aquiered last year.
19 Apr 2006, 09:36 am
GO CATS! WHIP THEM FATTY COWS
19 Apr 2006, 09:49 am
I am sad to say a Cats fan, but how the hell do they want to take the Bulls on upfront???? they pick dinkytoys like Gerhard Mostert, what is this going to do, Bakkies will have him for lunch, this will do the young player more bad than good. Hell everybody are saying poor old Wickus! se gat man when it comes to knocking on balls he is the best
19 Apr 2006, 09:52 am
Fransie is living in a dream world. Maybe we Cats supporters should just make peace with the fact that we will only manage one win a season… Man, I hope they relegate these Cats…
19 Apr 2006, 10:09 am
Ludicrious you couldn’t hit a Target even it walked up to you and slapped you on the forehead.
19 Apr 2006, 11:06 am
aha ahahahahah bwahhahaha
“Cats target the Bulls Pack”, this is the funniest headline in ages.
19 Apr 2006, 11:15 am
the cats dont have a full strength pack.. the sharks destroyed them.. they had a bloody fullback in the pack last week.
19 Apr 2006, 11:45 am
The game is at Loftus what the feck is this oke thinking!
The Stormers record defeat of 75 – 14 will be broken this weekend.
19 Apr 2006, 11:54 am
Don’t know whether to laugh or cry
19 Apr 2006, 12:48 pm
anyone with half a brain would put money on the bulls. to say the cats pack(half injured) will dominate is stupid. i recon all they will do is disrupt the bulls pack with unconstructive play. thats why that idiot van niekerk is playing.
19 Apr 2006, 13:28 pm
What? The only pack they can target succesfully is if one of the Bulls players drop a pack of smokes.