Fiji fever hits Cape Town
19 Apr 2006
Western Province Director of Rugby Nick Mallett is in Fiji on a shopping expedition, confident of luring talented Fijian players to Cape Town.
Mallett confirmed to the Fiji Times that the province was looking at six players, between the age of 17 and 20, to relocate to the Western Province Academy and hopefully to play for Western Province, the Stormers and Springboks.
The Fijian factor is something Mallett has focused on for the past year and he also believes that if Auckland and the like can lure Fijian, Tongan and Samoan players then why can’t Cape Town?
It is an action that will no doubt be seen negatively by some, but it is one that should be applauded. It is long overdue and finally someone has done more than talk about it.
Australia and New Zealand have for years tapped into the Island resources, why not South Africa?
Mallett returns to South Africa at the weekend and he expressed confidence that there was enough talent to identify six promising players, who in three to five years could be playing for the Boks.

520 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All
19 Apr 2006, 15:20 pm
Ahaha bliksem.. bang on with spelling and bang on with our wahine – they are beautiful, as beatiful as yours when seen in the flesh. oh and they are good…..
19 Apr 2006, 15:24 pm
true NZMaori, but you’d be hard pressed to keep a player like Ryder out of any test sides backline, cripes imagine him taking a gap at centre or even down the wong. PLayers like Vuninbaka are more difficult to work with since they’d only really fit in at 8th man, sort of halfway been fetchers and enforcers. as you say different game, more unstructured. Some superb centers and wings tho.
19 Apr 2006, 15:24 pm
bliksem
ja he full name is Dawn Emmett
19 Apr 2006, 15:25 pm
Okay night nights for me this time. Ive talked enough **** for one night…i end with this
Mallet can and will do what he likes. in my opinion and from the record 451 post above me ithink he is better off putting his time and effort elsewhere.
The SA born player will play for the All Blacks before you think any of those fijians are half good enough for your team. You will be begging for the quota to return when you see the melt downs they can have.
At school Rocococo scored the matchwinning try in the the Aucklnd schools final only to be denied because he dived one of his big dives and dived over the dead ball line. Nice one Joe. Thank god he got that out early in his career.
Nite Lads…Its been a plesure
19 Apr 2006, 15:25 pm
wpw,NZMoari s answering your question.My mate Rapeha use to live in Hastings down Flaxmere way.he helped me with that one.You seem to com across as someone with heaps of manna.Had shark and greasies in Roturua and were really dissapointed.The wahine are truly sweet as.
19 Apr 2006, 15:27 pm
thanks bliksem
Kia Kaha
19 Apr 2006, 15:28 pm
500 is naby
19 Apr 2006, 15:29 pm
Vodacom Bulls side announced
Posted on Wednesday, April 19, 2006 – 13:57
The Vodacom Bulls side to face the Cats in a Vodacom Super 14 fixture at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday was announced on Wednesday.
Vodacom Bulls
15 Jaco van der Westhuyzen
14 Frikkie Welsh
13 JP Nel
12 Wynand Olivier
11 Bryan Habana
10 Morné Steyn
9 Fourie du Preez
8 Pedrie Wannenburg
7 Tim Dlulane
6 Jacques Cronje
5 Victor Matfield
4 Bakkies Botha
3 Danie Thiart
2 Gary Botha
1 Wessel Roux
16 Adriaan Strauss
17 Jaco Engels
18 Danie Rossouw
19 Francois van Schouwenburg
20 Pierre Spies
21 Heini Adams
22 Akona Ndungane
Baie naby…
?
19 Apr 2006, 15:31 pm
WPW – I am well thanks and you? What’s it like been a bulls supporter? You sure they allow colourdes to support them? LOL Hey Stan?
39 meer
Staal hoe gaan dit?In kort wat is jou idee van Mallet se plan?
19 Apr 2006, 15:33 pm
Bliksem when are you in CPT again?
19 Apr 2006, 15:33 pm
Well here is my two cents worth. Bring them over let them play currie cup, super 14 but don’t let them play for the Boks.
I personally think we have loads of good no great talent in SA. The problem is they are not being taught the same skills as the P.I.’s are being taught.
What we need is coaches that can coach.
19 Apr 2006, 15:34 pm
If you okes want to see what I look like go to http://www.actionphoto.net go to race selection and choose two oceans marathon. Type my race number 53295, click on half marathon and WALA…
19 Apr 2006, 15:34 pm
Why do WP battle to get coloured players of quality.I remember long ago when I was a lightie that Province had so many coloureds in a team they didnt pick a captain to lead the side but a foreman.I hope those days will return soon.The Linees,Paarwaters etc
19 Apr 2006, 15:35 pm
does anybody know of a former u/19 u/21 blue bulls flanker called Carel Hoffman… I heard he was an up and coming blue bulls he played vodacom cup last year and 2004?
19 Apr 2006, 15:43 pm
Bigg
Thanks nice to put a face to the name.
19 Apr 2006, 15:43 pm
Bigg
Eish ! If i were you i wouldn’t advertise that ! However, your mughsot looks way better than Keo’s !
Only joking. Congrats with your first race and medal.
19 Apr 2006, 15:46 pm
Please people remember its his first 21k and the oke has had a couple of clicks behind him at that time.I think Dawn did the fun walk but they couldnt organize a Cessna to take the aerial photo of her.
19 Apr 2006, 15:48 pm
bigg nice one mate, now for the next one…which is?
19 Apr 2006, 15:58 pm
Cheers manne,geniet haar.
19 Apr 2006, 15:59 pm
bliksem van waars jy?
19 Apr 2006, 16:02 pm
Rudebud – thanks, I don’t really mind if anyone knows what I look like. It’s not as if I am a criminal or a fugitive.
Coffee – I am doing the Safari half marathon in Wellington on the 1st May.
19 Apr 2006, 16:04 pm
Bliksem jou mal vark witmens.
Soek jy alweer vir my.
Survivor Hanover Park is coming broer and you are the first contestant.
19 Apr 2006, 16:05 pm
See you guys in Wellington, I say stuff the Fijians, Nick the Mallet should get Geo, he only broke a few ribs after the tractor fell on him.
19 Apr 2006, 16:24 pm
I can’t find fockol pictures on that 2 Oceans site. All I get is some arb stuff about buying frames and ****.
19 Apr 2006, 16:27 pm
jay not looking proper pre.
19 Apr 2006, 16:28 pm
bigg, i’m cool. just been busy as hell at work…
as for supporting the bulls, i’m just talking shite but i have sort of changed whereby i dont hate them or thier supporters…
Maak die Titans almal Proteas!!!
19 Apr 2006, 16:31 pm
Yes Dawn look properly! Read my post again!
Must go ladies & gents. Chat tomorrow(-:
19 Apr 2006, 16:33 pm
Okay I had it all along. Holy cow, check those legs ekse.
19 Apr 2006, 16:35 pm
Are they gonna count against the QUOTA numbers?
19 Apr 2006, 16:35 pm
nice polly shots
19 Apr 2006, 16:36 pm
bigg,
i just had a look at you pictures.
Are you the ouk with the white t shirt and splitpin legs?
19 Apr 2006, 16:36 pm
Onlooker scroll up that has been discussed to death already…to answer your Q? I think
not
19 Apr 2006, 16:37 pm
When are you heading out Coffee?
19 Apr 2006, 16:38 pm
Jeez predawn,
If CSB can find it anyone can.
You are not a former oinker are you?
19 Apr 2006, 16:42 pm
May the 4th be with you…
You have any SA contact details maybe we can catch a game at Loftus?
19 Apr 2006, 16:47 pm
Cant really blame you guys as you dont have Rugby League players to poach.
19 Apr 2006, 16:48 pm
Ja nee. Pop me a UN mail. I will be in Jhb then and heading back here on 6th unfortunately.
19 Apr 2006, 16:49 pm
Rugby League is kak anyway..artificial rugby. Might as well watch baseball.
19 Apr 2006, 16:54 pm
Die groot vraag nou is: Gaan die thread 500 maak ???
19 Apr 2006, 16:55 pm
AAhh that sucks, I was suppose to get a earlier flight but have to visit Dad in France that weekend.
I’ll drop you a mail.
19 Apr 2006, 16:56 pm
predawn, are you going back? how long you ben dodging dog turds in the Hague?
19 Apr 2006, 16:58 pm
I would rather watch paint dry, a Stormers game, checkers,bowls or a stripshow by Rosie o Donnel before i would watch league.
19 Apr 2006, 17:00 pm
Stan
Jussus, a Stormers game ? Nee fokkit man, nou daal jou aansien darem kwaai.
19 Apr 2006, 17:05 pm
cab it is the most baffling thing here , I can’t understand why they just don’t make it DA LAW to pick up your pooches poo after them.
It’s even worse in winter cause people are to lazy to take the dogs to the park so the side walk becomes a walking mine field.
19 Apr 2006, 17:06 pm
The stormers are so ****, I’m almost ashamed to say Christina Storm pinched my butt.
19 Apr 2006, 17:07 pm
Omdat die Hollanders die mentaliteit van hondestront het. Klomp sleg moere.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All