Fiji fever hits Cape Town
19 Apr 2006
Western Province Director of Rugby Nick Mallett is in Fiji on a shopping expedition, confident of luring talented Fijian players to Cape Town.
Mallett confirmed to the Fiji Times that the province was looking at six players, between the age of 17 and 20, to relocate to the Western Province Academy and hopefully to play for Western Province, the Stormers and Springboks.
The Fijian factor is something Mallett has focused on for the past year and he also believes that if Auckland and the like can lure Fijian, Tongan and Samoan players then why can’t Cape Town?
It is an action that will no doubt be seen negatively by some, but it is one that should be applauded. It is long overdue and finally someone has done more than talk about it.
Australia and New Zealand have for years tapped into the Island resources, why not South Africa?
Mallett returns to South Africa at the weekend and he expressed confidence that there was enough talent to identify six promising players, who in three to five years could be playing for the Boks.

520 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
19 Apr 2006, 12:40 pm
saffa_guy,
Explain the Chavanga situation then, does he or doesn’t he qualify as quota.
If he doesn’t, Stomers should be paying a fine of some sort for not having enough players of colour in the 22 man squad for a game or 2.
His has a dark complexion, not a South African and not previously disadvantaged in the old-South African, he only moved here 4/5 years ago and struggled to understand the Afrikaans calls at the Free State practices.
Richie,
So then who or how would this mindset change be brought about?
I could tell you I live in Khandallah, Wellington. But I would be absolutely lying through my teeth.
19 Apr 2006, 12:41 pm
Tackler doesn’t know what suburd he lives IN.
A man was found Dead in a suitcase in Auckland 2 days ago . Where was he from?
we should be looking to africa, how much pace and talent must there be in all the countries that play rugby in this continent?
hehehe saffa. i am just kidding. i wont support the bulle. i have learnt to actually accept all the bulls supporters, hell even stan and jondood.
seriously though, rugby isnt everything…i dont even get upset when saffa teams lose in the S14. as long as liverpool is doing fine i am OK…
“Tackler I **** on your wife’s chest.”
Bigg, not the most eloquent barb, but the sheer unadulterated passion had me in stitches.
19 Apr 2006, 12:42 pm
Hmmm,
Read post #100. Not in the mood …
you working google hard tackler?
Hmmmm
SA Rugby has already payed a fine for Chavangha.
R100k to be exact.
But that was under Chester about 2 years ago.
I might also tell you I live in Fendalton in Christchurch. Or in Remuera or in Epsom in Auckland.
But I would be lying through my teeth also!
19 Apr 2006, 12:43 pm
at least his record is better than the cats and stormers coaches. Look at what meyer the drol achieved thus far.
19 Apr 2006, 12:43 pm
saffa_guy 213,
All that explains is that you have not developed fully as yet.
You Michael Jackson
19 Apr 2006, 12:44 pm
Tackler
Send me an email
jondood@gmail.com
precisely toughguy, look at nyanga, betsen, if the frogs can do it who live on a different continent, why cant we?
In fact, Nyanga said SA is his favourite country, imagine he, Schalk and AJ together..mofo.
Wpw,
True. Have begun to feel the same way … not on the Liverpool bit tho
19 Apr 2006, 12:45 pm
The dead young guy in the suitcase was from China. found floating on the Waitamata harbour in Auckland.
19 Apr 2006, 12:46 pm
wpw,
wtf is liverpool? Do they play in the southern suburbs league?
19 Apr 2006, 12:47 pm
go google
19 Apr 2006, 12:48 pm
Remember that Impi a while back, 7 footer dude that blocked out the sun? 15 of him in my team and i’m happy camper.
so what did you do to him tackler?
Nope. I wont be e-mailing anybody, sorry!
19 Apr 2006, 12:50 pm
Notice to all Bloggers,
It is conceivable I may have been wrong about Tackles not living in NZ .
I await confirmation from Jonwood that tacklers E-mail address is a Nz one.
Good Tackles and et al and keep up the postings. You may not always be right but you are not always wrong either.
Heh heh heh !!!
My Mafia names list grows:
Cousin Vinnie
Mr Bigg
Yoda The Gun
Zinto Fast Finger
Toughguy
Cane Boy
Hitman Stan
Tackler The Doos
nick mallet always has been an ***
he deserves a tomato to the head
19 Apr 2006, 12:51 pm
I read about him and his unfortunate fate in the local newspaper, the “Dominion Post”, McSpyker.
19 Apr 2006, 12:51 pm
Nick The Mullet
19 Apr 2006, 12:52 pm
porra, what are freestate’s chances like this weekend?
cane
he is however a doos all of the time
cane
He wont email me.
I will be able to trace to his local exchange.
He knows that.
Plonker
Score.
Tackler 1——Cane 0.
Goodnight.
19 Apr 2006, 12:53 pm
Firstly, I seriously doubt the Fijian government and rugby board would let WP get away with something like this. One look at what Fester, Mallet and co. are capable of doing with a rugby team should be enough to convince them to protect their players from the inevitable province slide.
Secondly, I agree with 3rd here: we shouldn’t try to import them, but rather breed them. We need to send some of those sturdy Loftus tannies over to the islands to get knocked up by some huge, unpronouncable blokes. The result, 20 years down the line, will be frightening.
19 Apr 2006, 12:53 pm
Not a bad idea these okes have the genes required for the sport why shouldnt sa benefit as well. Dont think it will cause a political storm though.
19 Apr 2006, 12:54 pm
Delek 84,
Wakker word?
19 Apr 2006, 12:54 pm
tackler, i reckon you googled it, but whatever you say champ…
19 Apr 2006, 12:55 pm
rudebud
ha ha
19 Apr 2006, 12:57 pm
Nope, Cane!
Actually I AM always right. But sometimes some of you dumb pineapples are just too bloody slow to realise this at the time.
I really can’t be held to blame for this.
19 Apr 2006, 12:57 pm
Cane:
Die Dominion Post is ‘n oggend koerant in Wellington NZ.
Ek haal aan vanaf hulle website: “Wellington is more than New Zealand’s capital city. It is a vibrant and dynamic economic, cultural and social community. This concentration of energy is reflected in Wellington’s morning newspaper, The Dominion Post.”
Tackler is dus in Wellington. NZ Maori sal hom in die plaaslike karavaanpark kry !
19 Apr 2006, 12:58 pm
Vinnie agree with ur post (no 140) its this ossewa attitude thats keeping our rugby back For example were still using this kick the ball into the corners tactic which only worked back in the days when lifting wasnt allowed in the lineouts and each lineout was a fifty/fifty i wish some coaches would just wake up lifting is now allowed and lineouts arent as much of a lottery as they were before so by kicking as much as we do were just giving the ball away.
19 Apr 2006, 12:59 pm
i hope they win
i know they wont
ill supply free vegetables if they do
19 Apr 2006, 13:00 pm
Rudebud 274,
19 Apr 2006, 13:01 pm
Yes, and the good old “DomPost” is circulated across all of the mid-to-lower North Island and the Upper South Island…
19 Apr 2006, 13:05 pm
Rudebud, put whatever spin you want on it. The players were taken. TAKEN. Actually Russel even wanted to come back, poor little thing.
Tackler – Go phone Wynberg Boys High School and ask if Basil Bay coached there! I know for **** sakes – when I left school I used to go watch Wynberg regulary. I used to speak to him at the games. He is also friends with my father. Get your facts straight tackler!!!! DOOS
Tackler eat the peanuts out of my ****!
Rudebud,
post 215.
Should read boyfriend…
Hey hoekom al die stormers threads,
Speel die Bulls no so pateties dat hulle nie gemention mag word nie?
19 Apr 2006, 13:09 pm
Omdat die Bergdwerg n ********* ondersteuner is, Staal.
bigg, you sound like a true thespian, ha ha, so much for Ig’s request to clean things up, there is poep being flung all over this site.
Maak ook nie saak nie. Ons kaap net die thread!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All