Fiji fever hits Cape Town

Western Province Director of Rugby Nick Mallett is in Fiji on a shopping expedition, confident of luring talented Fijian players to Cape Town.

Mallett confirmed to the Fiji Times that the province was looking at six players, between the age of 17 and 20, to relocate to the Western Province Academy and hopefully to play for Western Province, the Stormers and Springboks.

The Fijian factor is something Mallett has focused on for the past year and he also believes that if Auckland and the like can lure Fijian, Tongan and Samoan players then why can’t Cape Town?

It is an action that will no doubt be seen negatively by some, but it is one that should be applauded. It is long overdue and finally someone has done more than talk about it.

Australia and New Zealand have for years tapped into the Island resources, why not South Africa?

Mallett returns to South Africa at the weekend and he expressed confidence that there was enough talent to identify six promising players, who in three to five years could be playing for the Boks.

520 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 301.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

in the professional era I guess this is just a reality. it happens in football where teenagers move accross continents to join big clubs youth academies, but to be honest I think we’re better than this.

I like the idea that every single major union on the planet imports players from SA, whilst we play nothing but africans in the bok team.

• 302.Stan: Reply to this comment

cab,
    be nice to bigg. Although you are a Cats man yourself, you will not understand his pain being a ******** supporter.

and do not use the word poep so liberally. In some parts of the colony it is called aftershave…

• 303.bigg: Reply to this comment

Tackler – I used to respect some of your views as they were true. Now you come with this kuk that Kallie, Kriel & Polden were good school coaches he he he LOL. what a load of rubbish – were you a teacher’s pet boy? Did Gary Eva play with your genitals in the Geography room?

• 304.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Stan

Excuse the pun: “Ons Kaap net die thread”. Spoken like a true thespian. Alhoewel, as ek ‘n haaslip gehad het en wou Lesbian uitspreek sou dit thespian gewees het.

• 305.Delek: Reply to this comment

Jeeez Bigg. Has Tackler perhaps annoyed you somehow?? ;-)

• 306.cab: Reply to this comment

PS: who coigned the phrase “poison dwarf”? apparantly it was goebbels’ nickname.

• 307.Stan: Reply to this comment

munki,
    South Africans you mean?

• 308.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Cab

Poison Dwarf = Wouter Basson kwalifiseer ook.

• 309.wpw: Reply to this comment

cab, the team in Pommieland.

• 310.Predawn: Reply to this comment

“..whilst we play nothing africans in the bok team..”

munkiboi it’s called affirmative action. Get used to it…it’s the Bosnia of South African business/sports..our little selective genocide.

• 311.cab: Reply to this comment

stan,

actually had a bit of a laugh at Bigg’s passionate turn of phrase, that sort of imagery is quite bracing.

are your responsilbe for bergdwerg and poison dwarf?

• 312.Staal: Reply to this comment

En wragtag is die WET nou weer die kaptein???? Moet maar oor die stormers praat?

• 313.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

cab I think it was Robdylan that coined the phrase.

• 314.Staal: Reply to this comment

Rudebud, 308

Golf gespeel saam met W Basson….. die man is nie ‘n te sleg ou nie ****.

• 315.Stan: Reply to this comment

cab,
    bergdwerg en bonzai is myne.
    poison dwarf not mine.

rudebud,
    Los vir Wouter uit.
    Hy is ook nie n dwerg nie.

• 316.cab: Reply to this comment

lol rudebud,

wpw, hope you dont mean the roundball game, horrendous, irrespective of how bad our S14 rugby is, you cant honestly watch that rubbish.

• 317.Delek: Reply to this comment

Dan Retief’s article posted @168 is utter ****. Dan does it again. Dan is to rugby writing what Straueli and co. are to coaching.

• 318.bigg: Reply to this comment

Delek – Yes he has, I must take some time out to calm down…

BOKKE 2007 WORLD CHAMPIONS

• 319.cab: Reply to this comment

Coffee

ha ha, that makes sense.

• 320.DotDan: Reply to this comment

Geez isnt there any more news to be posted today??????

• 321.3rdday: Reply to this comment

Delek,

I think you made a spelling mistake. Its not Dan Retief, but Hand Relief.

• 322.bigg: Reply to this comment

Delek – Can’t agree with you more about Dan R. He is such a ***.

• 323.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Staal / Stan

Moet my nie verkeerd verstaan nie. Met sy intelektuele vermoens skort daar niks. Hy is moer slim en ‘n briljante kardioloog. Boonop het hy by Unisa sy B.Com graad ge-*** tydens sy verhoor, en die Kanseliersprys ontvang daarvoor. Het net vinnig aan die konnotasie gedink: Dr Death / Poison Dwarf. Ek het niks teen die man nie fok.

• 324.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

There are some funny ouens out there…keep it up!

One thing though why do South Africans rip into each other so badly?

• 325.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

DotDan yea there is Tom Cruise had placenta for breakfast.

• 326.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Tackler is, or was, a school teacher. He wanted to go to Aus, but could only hack NZ.

So now he finds himself living in a small, mean wooden hut on one of the Earth’s major fault lines, on a freezing cold, muddy island in the back of beyondsville.

He is surrounded by a pile of backward hobbits, who talk funny and have strange facial hair. He finds himself having to support a team full of men who wear make-up and alice bands.

Ergo, Tackler feels lonely. He feels marginalised. He feels ANGRY. He feels resentment. He is cracking. Ssssnap.

But he can construct a sentence.

• 327.DotDan: Reply to this comment

… Thanx coffeeshopbok… throwing away lunch now

• 328.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Coffee it’s an age old thing. Sommige van die wit ouens kan nie saam staan nie. Look at the Nats.

• 329.DotDan: Reply to this comment

What i want to know… did Tackler ever play sports when he was younger?????

• 330.Stan: Reply to this comment

rudebud,
    ons **** jou.
    dis net die dwerg gedeelte wat my aan Keo laat dink…..

• 331.wpw: Reply to this comment

cab, i know you dont dig football/soccer but i do. Seeing as SA S14 teams are not going to win the competition in the next 10 yrs, why torture yourself. For you its even worse, you support the kitties… at least i support the BULLE!!!

• 332.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

no stan, there are a few africans too.
    chavangha, krige, montgomery to name a few.

although to be fair krige and monty were developed in the cape. i got nothing against someone who has come through the development sytem of a country and playing for them.

i.e. most of the PI’s playing for Aus and NZ are developed by their systems from a young age.

its guys like Rathbone, Matt Stevens, Stu Abbott etc who are prodcuts of one countries development system, who end up playing for another – thats true poaching and I hope something SA try to avoid.

• 333.cab: Reply to this comment

Pussycat,

you raise an interesting point, the kiwis are obviously a tough bunch, but can anyone explain that alice band rubbish. Looks ridiculous, first Doug Howlett and then the other day i saw a kiwi fullback in the local pomppom league with his hair up. strange.

• 334.Staal: Reply to this comment

Rudebud, 323

No problemo, ek verstaan wat jy bedoel.

• 335.Delek: Reply to this comment

3rrday Lol

Bigg if my AB’s choke agaIN in ’2007 then let it be SA

• 336.Stan: Reply to this comment

DotDan,
    Ek stem.
    Hierdie thread is nou so vervelig en voorspelbaar soos n Stormers wedstryd.
    Net meer hits, dis al.

• 337.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

DotDan – I think he used to do the rugby and cricket scoreboards.

Does that count?

• 338.jondood: Reply to this comment

cab

Duiwel was the 1st poster I saw use the term poison dwarf.

• 339.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

I reckon the kitties are gonna do very well in the currie cup.

• 340.DotDan: Reply to this comment

That would be an achievement for Tackler….

• 341.cab: Reply to this comment

wpw, fair enough, its a kak game tho, too many prima donnas and okes that carry on, stick with the rugby. As for the Bulle, there’s no accounting for bad taste.

• 342.Staal: Reply to this comment

Dotdan 329,

sports yes – sport no.

• 343.3rdday: Reply to this comment

Poison Dwarf was coined by Nancy in reference to Keo many a moon ago.

• 344.Predawn: Reply to this comment

I heard it’s all the rage in Nieuw Zaeland mate. The women apparently can’t wear alice bands because their wool is too course to keep the bands in place.

• 345.jondood: Reply to this comment

3rd

When does Nancy get parole?

• 346.jondood: Reply to this comment

Predawn

• 347.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Come Gents can we give discussing Tacklers whereabouts and goings on a rest.

• 348.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Predawn

Lol !

• 349.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Hey wpw you gonna watch Arsenal kick some arse tonight. CL final here they come.

• 350.OCO: Reply to this comment

Hmm,

Stormers/WP to be the ‘Arsenal’ of Africa?

Expect it to blow up in Mullets face.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.