Why Jake’s jolly
19 Apr 2006
Jake White is not suicidal after round 10 of the Vodacom Super 14. And he does not share Graham Henry’s sentiments that the standard of the tournament has suffered because of the inclusion of two franchises.
Speaking to Keo.co.za, White said it was a South African weakness to always sell our teams short and to focus entirely on the negative. He said there was plenty to encourage him in the first 10 rounds, especially the performance of the Sharks and the Cheetahs.
“The Sharks have won four from their nine matches and with a bit of luck they could have beaten the Crusaders and Brumbies away from home. They’ve played good rugby and they have had some very good results. At the start of the season there were predictions they would not win a game. Their form has to be a positive. The Cheetahs are the new boys to the competition, but they scored a fantastic win against the Hurricanes and have also won four matches. They have struggled in the last two matches on tour, but for a first up effort they’ve done very well and they’ll do even better once they get home.
“No one is denying the Cats and Stormers have been poor, but the Bulls have been competitive and with a bit of luck the four wins could have been eight wins. They lost to the Brumbies in the last minute, lost to the Canes in the last minute and were a conversion kick from beating the Reds in Brisbane. They also got a draw in Hamilton. You’ve got to keep some perspective. The line between success and failure in this tournament is a point, a missed kick or a charge down. There are five teams in the pack chasing the Brumbies and two of those teams are South African.
“There weren’t many who were predicting two SA teams would be in the hunt with four rounds to play. It isn’t all bad news.”
White said the Cheetahs had shown themselves worthy of a place in the competition and that the Force were not as bad as their league position suggests.
“Again you go and analyse the Force’sr performances and there has been some very good matches. Their defeat on Saturday was their worst this season and I’ve seen plenty of the established sides take 50 points in this competition. Go and see what the Crusaders did in 1996. Who back then would have backed them to win five titles, play in seven finals and have an 80 percent win record?
“I see Graham being quoted about the decline in standard, but it is not the way I see it. The Crusaders, Canes, Waratahs and Brumbies have played as well as they’ve ever played in Super 12, the Bulls have been as effective as last year but the rub of the green has not favoured them and the Sharks have started to produce quality games. I think the rugby has been good, but there has to be an appreciation for the improvement in defences and the improvement of teams all-round.”
When asked how he would rate his Boks’ performances, White said team circumstance dictated form and that some had delivered more consistency than others.
“I go back to what I said this time last year when everyone was questioning whether I was going to pick half my Bok squad. I know what I have got and I know they are the best players in the country. The same players who looked out of form in last year’s Super 12, combined to beat the All Blacks in Cape Town a few months later. I know where the backbone of my Bok team is and nothing has changed in my thinking. I also know that Schalk Burger would be more imposing if he operated behind the Bulls tight five or that Jean de Villiers may be more effective outside of Tony Brown and with his team playing good attacking rugby. These are all things you factor in.
“The thing I am the most depressed about is the injury situation. I have lost Gurthro Steenkamp and Ashwin Willemse for the season. They would be definites in my squad and it is a huge blow. Ashwin’s was particulary painful when you consider how hard he has worked to get back. He looked superb against the Sharks and it was cruel that his season was ended with another knee injury,” said White, who this season will pick a Bok squad of 45 to prepare for the first three test matches.

70 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
19 Apr 2006, 06:31 am
Jake you just hang on to your perspective!
This man is just so wise to keep a cool and calm head. SA just don’t realise how incredibly lucky we are to have him as our coach. It could quite easily have been Chester, can’t even remember the other dude who was in the race, Joubert or even Gert Smal. In fact I firmly believe that if Jake had not been appointed coach when he was we would probably have fired 2 coaches by now and be about to appoint another!!
19 Apr 2006, 06:44 am
Go back to the Super 10. Have THREE SA teams, three Oz teams and four NZ teams.
That’s a good reflection on the overall strength of the game of rugby union in the SANZAR nations.
19 Apr 2006, 06:50 am
The usual Jake White spin. He slipt up when suggesting that the form fly half is Tony Brown. Not one SA fly half to speak about. The problem is not in the pack. We have enough talent to compete with a pack, it’s the backline that worries me. Last year the Boks got the rub of the green and scored most of their tries from defensive pressure. Without any real attacking presence, it’s going to be a long Tri-Nations.
19 Apr 2006, 06:59 am
And when Jake’s 2006 Bok team gets hammered home and away by both the Wobblies and the All Blacks, his head is going to be absolutely screamed for. And the next RWC is just around the corner. No time for a change! SA rugby is going to be stuck with Snake Bite!
19 Apr 2006, 07:19 am
Congrats tackler on all the names you come up like Ludicrous etc.This shows that for a 41 year old man you are pathetic.Triumphantly claiming a feat like that.Then again you got no friends so what else are you supose to do.
19 Apr 2006, 07:28 am
Strange world,
Jake is impressed by the best SA team, the Sharks. Not many Sharks are going to be in the Bok starting 15. BJ Botha should be in the team with CJ and Bands out with injuries. Ruan Pienaar is excellent and must be in the WC squad in 2007. FDP and January did not impressive in the S14. Kiwi Tony Brown is better than Pretorius, Hougaard, Bosman and Olivier. Pity he can not play for the Boks. Lets be honest in the S14 so far Henno Mentz is superior to Bryan Habana who is pretty useless, even more on defense. Jacques Botes is very impressive too, he is fast and very busy, surely better than Tim Dlulane and anything the Cats have available. Jake should have another look at Luke Watson. He is exellent this season, pity he is not playing for the Bulls!!
19 Apr 2006, 07:30 am
With the sa sides doing so poorly its unrealistic for us 2 expect jake 2 do miracales.Its good that he keeps it positive,hopefully it’ll pay off 4 him&the boks.
This will surely b the make or break year 4 him.People will forget how well he has done so far lifting the boks from nr6 to nr2.
19 Apr 2006, 07:37 am
Some great points Mclaren!!
I have to agree it will be sad to see plonkers like Sephaka and Andrews keeping BJ Botha out. He has been without doubt the form tighthead this year and has been growing steadily in stature for the last few seasons.Jacques Botes is into another great season and is far superior to Jacques Cronje and Tim Dlulane,wether as no. 6,7 or 8.I feel for those players that have held their heads high in Super 14 that know the plonkers like Julies,Joubert,Shimange,Cronje and Sephaka will most likely be selected ahead of them.This faith in the fringe players is what worries me and will cause us to add to the lists of overseas based players.I hope that Jake’s faith pays off when the hammer comes down.
19 Apr 2006, 07:41 am
bliksem
tackler is lonely. i bet if every one ignores his comments for more than a month he will not post any more. ok, maybe two months for he is thick, but he will eventaully get the message. tackler we will talk again after 3N, and you have already written of the boks,
wonder if he is related somehow to siener van Rensburg?
19 Apr 2006, 07:41 am
I see that “Comical Ali’ aka TheTackler is having a field day
19 Apr 2006, 07:42 am
or must I say night?
19 Apr 2006, 07:43 am
Luck,luck,luck,rub of the green. Ja, if our teams were lucky then we would be 1 – 5 on the log. It’s not about luck. It’s the sad fact that our teams are utterly useless. There is nothing to be positive about,even the Sharks. Everyone is talking up the Sharks. The Sharks are useless and pathetic. And they are our best team. That is a nightmare, when your best team is a bunch of losers who are nowhere near championship material. No Shark deserves to be a Bok, let alone any other player in a S14 team. Our best flyhalf is an import!
How long before we are like soccer where you can play wherever you get a contract?
Jake has to pull off a miracle this year. I don’t know how he is going to do it. With the imbeciles plodding around the field these days, I’d be suprised if we beat Scotland.
Jake has to be positive. I mean the guy gets paid enough for it, but he must walk on water this season.
19 Apr 2006, 07:45 am
“Well into the early morning” kapie.green he is very lonely.just comes here looking for attention.Talks the talk doesnt walk the walk.
19 Apr 2006, 07:47 am
Rastafox,
Jacques Cronje has dissapointed thus far, but I believe that he is much better at 7 than 8, however, Botes seems like the better player. Can SA afford not to play Schalk Brtis in the 2007 WC? He is a brilliant player that can change a match quickly. This guy can be a superstar. Percy is past his best, Jaco at 15 couls also add something on the attack. SA needs to identify and select the players who have the natural talent and oomph to win the WC.
19 Apr 2006, 07:49 am
blikskottel, jou sommetjies is nie lekker nie; dis nou so 17h45 in nz.
19 Apr 2006, 07:52 am
GCC jy is reg ons is GMT+2 hulle is GMT+10.Verskoning.
19 Apr 2006, 07:57 am
Somebody throw me a flipopin bone here, can you imagine if Jake wasnt positive?
19 Apr 2006, 08:00 am
BlueBlood
Don’t be all that negative. There is light at the end of the tunnel. I beleive that we have sufficient talent to put forward a Bok team that will be able to compete with the best in the World. One of the reasons I beleive we are struggling in the S14 is something Nick Mallet keeps harping on. We just don’t have enough talent to outfit 5 teams. Our Bok players are supposed to fly with the eagles but are being dragged down by the weasels that surround them. Sure there are some Boks who are weasels but if you take even them and put them between other good players they get lifted.
I know we say that the guys are profesionals and should play like that but we have to face the facts that even if they get paid the are not neccisarily good players. There are some plonkers out there who are better suited to the kitchen than the rugby field.
When Jake picks his team he will pick some plonkers and players out of form like he did last year. Joe repaid his faith, De Wet Barry and Marius Joubert did not. That is why he dropped them. We can go on and on about he must select the best players but we have to remember that the best players are not always the best team. In the days of Rudolf the terrible we were all screaming for consistency, now that we have consistency we are all screaming for Jake to pick the form players. Remember the old cricket saying, “Form is temporary but class is permanent.”
So Blueblood, cheer up and have a little faith.
19 Apr 2006, 08:02 am
I’ll be back shortly, I have to go to the loo to squeeze out a big fat tackler.
19 Apr 2006, 08:03 am
Got to agree on Percy,the old warhorse has looked a touch long in the tooth at times.As far as Schalk Britz goes I feel he is the perfect back-up to Smit.Smit as captain will play if fit
and can switch to prop late in a game if needed. The current crop of back-up hookers are not performing.Gary Botha looks a little off the pace as he finds his fit after a lay-off, Shimange is unfortunately not good enough and I fear can only be selected as a quota.These players can develop their games and not collect splinters as Shimmie has.It has been to the detriment of Shimnage that he never plays any rugby.
19 Apr 2006, 08:06 am
I hope he leaves the bulls players alone
19 Apr 2006, 08:08 am
I think Jake should get David Campese or Carel du Plessis involved with the backline as soon as possible. Allistair Coetzee is not going to win the World Cup for you. It seems he might just be a dress up coaching member as evident in the Cats’ backline play.
A guy like Morne du Plessis or Alan Solomons can also be pulled in, in some capacity.
If I was SA Rugby I’d do the following:
1.) Assemble the following Bok Management and Coaching team:
Manager: Morne du Plessis or Alan Solomons
Head Coach: Jake White
Forwards Coach: Balie Swart
Backline Coach: Carel Du Plessis
Skills Coach: David Campese
Defensive Coach: ?
Kicking Coach: Naas Botha
The manager would manage and evaluate the Coaching team and players performance and giving advice of areas of concern.
The Head coach would be solely in charge of picking teams and picking game plans.
19 Apr 2006, 08:09 am
Edwill Id get Rob Fleck involved with that backline before those old farts!
19 Apr 2006, 08:11 am
Edwill
Not a bad team there. Add Rassie Erasmus to the Forwards and get someone else to coach the kicking. Naas doesn’t beleive in kicking coaches. Defensive coach – Get some one from overseas a Australian Leuge defense coach or a NFL blocking\tackling coach.
19 Apr 2006, 08:19 am
edwill
Naas wants to be head coach or nothing at all. He will not get involved for why get into the firing line if you can sit on the outside and criticize. Tim lane can be defense coach!!
gt tackler contracted to do the spinning with the media i.e. media liason and then he can also be used as a tackle bag.
we have enough players from 5 regions to get a good 22. problem is we have to pick good combo’s, and you might not see the best 22 individuals, not to mention all the selections to keep the minister of sport happy.
19 Apr 2006, 08:38 am
aaaagh the calming influence of JW! So he will pick a Bok squad 45 players. If guys like Luke Watson and Schalk Brits don’t make it they will never see the green jersey while JW is in charge.
19 Apr 2006, 08:38 am
Methos,
The Ausie league deense coach was tried and it dind;t work. rather get somebody like ray Mordt in.
Will also like to see rassie as either forwards coach or tecnical analyst.
19 Apr 2006, 08:44 am
Ja Jake, and if you try hard enough, you can put a positive spin on just about anything. The simple fact is that this is another year that none of our teams will even come close to winning the thing. The Bulls play boring, stupid rugby. The Stormers play headless chicken stupid rugby. The Cats – well they can’t even play rugby. The Cheetahs give the impression of a team that is in way over its head and hanging on for dear life. The Sharks are the only team that has managed to play anything approaching decent rugby and is the only team whose Boks are performing. Now put a spin on that… It’s going to be a long, hard season for Bok fans.
19 Apr 2006, 08:50 am
the next best 15 uncapped players only:
15.JP Pietersen
14.G.Pieters
13.R.Cooke
12.W.Olivier
11.A.Ndungane or his brother
10.M.Steyn
9.R.Pienaar
8.R.v/d Merwe
7.J.Botes
6.L.Watson (c)
5.J.Muller
4.R.Skeate
3.BJ.Botha
2.S.Brits
1.J.Engels
Bench: JD Moller,C.Ralepele,A.Bekker,K.Floors
P.Delport,N.Olivier,JP.Nel
19 Apr 2006, 08:51 am
One has give credit to Jake. He took players 2 seasons back when there was no sa teams in the semis and won Tri-nations. Last year 2 of sa teams were playing for woodenspoon of the competition – the boks did o.k. He seams to know how to get better perfomance out of the players.
19 Apr 2006, 08:52 am
Rastafox,
not a bad team to my liking.
19 Apr 2006, 08:54 am
I would love to see a trial match between that team and current boks. Could be fun.
19 Apr 2006, 08:54 am
Ek sien Tackler is alweer besig om n klomp kak uit te braak… Die game kannie groei as die kompetisie nie groei nie.
19 Apr 2006, 08:57 am
Wouldn’t it be great to see the old North vs South match again.A bok trial if ever there was one!!!
19 Apr 2006, 08:58 am
uncapped bok side
1.jd moller
2.s.brits
3.bj botha
4.ross skeate/johan muller
5.andries bekker
6.luke watson (c)
7.baywatch
8.pierre spies
9.ruan pienaar
10.steyn
11.ondugane
12.barret
13.cooke
14.ondugane
15.jp pietersen
16.(HOOKER FROM CHEETAHS)liebenbergh
17.neil fullard
18.skeate/muller
19.g.vosloo
20.paul delport
21.joe pieterson
22.n.oliver
19 Apr 2006, 09:03 am
The Grizzled XV:
1.Os
2.Ollie
3.Visagie
4.Ackerman
5.v/d Bergh
6.Britz
7.Gerber
8.AJ
9.Davidson
10.Greef
11.Hall
12.Barry
13.Snyman
14.Breytie
15.Percy
19 Apr 2006, 09:09 am
ciccino
2 years back the stormers was in the semis
19 Apr 2006, 09:16 am
…
… Is there any hope left….???
19 Apr 2006, 09:20 am
Jake White, Jake White. You old kidder you!
Come on, tell it the way it really is. I dare you! Don’t be so shy, just admit you need as much time as possible to do your magic and whip the boys into some sort of form before the international season takes over.
The last thing you need is an unexpected fly in the ointment like having some of your first choice guys involved in the S14 finals.
Sure, if there was a chance of winning the damned thing, but really!
So I agree with you Jake, it will be so much easier when the Bulls or the Sharks do the right thing and confirm their failure to make the semi’s. Leave the problem of player fatigue and probable injury to Aus and NZ.
Which means of course, it will be best for SA Rugby if no SA team makes the Semi’s.
Question though? How does that sit with the average SA supporter wearing a Bokke hat?
19 Apr 2006, 09:25 am
Grrr – Why are out Stormers & Cats doing so badly?? It’s just to depressing to watch. sniff sniff
19 Apr 2006, 09:31 am
bigg
I Agree.
This is a serious question that needs an answer.
On an equivelent regional level, it would be like Auckland (read Blues) and Crusaders (read Canterbury) being equally dire!
19 Apr 2006, 09:34 am
bigg
hmm Auck – Blues, Crusaders – Canter… I should really amend that line.
Nah, I think you should get the point.
19 Apr 2006, 09:36 am
Cats should start looking at their school and junior levels like the sharks and the bulls… You never hear anything about a Lions Academy being so great, or that Great Rugby players emerge from the lions academy…
19 Apr 2006, 09:48 am
Methos
You guys in the Cape have a club coach who both played and coached NFL as a defensive specialist for years before returning to SA like a good patriot to apply his knowledge in rugby.
He’s tried to contact ALL the franchises to help out but nobody wants to telk to him.
ps. I actually think the idea of making Super 14 smaller to Super 10 again is a brilliant idea.
19 Apr 2006, 09:49 am
Gentlemen – in your respective corportate environments , make use of what works . If there was an apppopriate playing track record to speak of , coupled with a string of games where that influence is clearly visible , USE IT . The Aussies had the wrong attitude about Campo , and Natal have used it to good effect . Natal were just lucky they had the added attraction of a former Rhodesian cricketer with a rather attractive daughter , who bowled Campo middle wicket – no pun intended . **** Muir moved to the WC and won the CC for WP after some lean years . The picture must be abundantly clear – let White Jake build a management team around himself and its clear he has the ability to win RWC 2007 . The worst thing for SA is for politicians to become involved – look at de Lille , Holomisa – neither had a good team and have vanished / will soon vanish , like the morning mist in the rising sun . Go White Jake and get your best management team around you and consider the inclusion of players including Habana , Jaques Botes , Floors and Watson . Admittedly Habana is currently poor , but when he sees more ball , he will blossom .
19 Apr 2006, 09:49 am
Brads – I am a SA rugby fan, hell I even have a tattoo of the springbok emblem on my upper leg. I used to get so excited about watching rugby but now I really couldn’t care. I actually dont watch anymore as it is not good my blood pressure even though I am 31. I don’t think it is good for any SA supporter. However I think that the Boks will do well as we do have 1 of the best coaches around in Jake White.
19 Apr 2006, 09:50 am
Dotdan
The Lions Academy is the RAU Sport Centre
Ever hear of Francois Pienaar, Hennie Le Roux, Ian MacDonald, Japie Mulder?
All products of RAU…
For the moment though I agree – the cupboard is pretty damned threadbare although Hugo Van As is working on it at UJ at the moment without the support of the GLRU.
19 Apr 2006, 10:02 am
Tackler (NO:2) your posting from a NZ perspective makes sense. If I where a SARU admin the first question I would ask is, is this good for SA rugby. I would see that your suggestion does not favour SA teams due to logistics (no matter how small the advantage) and would not consider it.
But I’m not an SARU admin. Those positions are for brainless *******.
19 Apr 2006, 10:24 am
I reckon that for positions 1-8, SA have worldclass players. As many have said, our problems lie in our backline.
9 – plenty of quality options
10 – big problems
11 & 14 – lack of ball has limited ability to shine, but there are a few options
12 – JdV – world class
13 – Jacque Fourie – world class
15 – Percy, but it’s “changing of the guard” time. Need to start introducing Fortuin or JP Pietersen
Reserves
Plenty for the pack
Backs
10 – God help us
11 & 14 – we have a few
12 – Like the look of Cooke and Olivier
13 – Both Natal and FS have some quility options
15 – Fortuin and Petersen
10 is the big problem and has been since Henry retired. Hopefully he has been put out to stud.
Come back Butchie… all is forgiven.
19 Apr 2006, 10:55 am
dont know about new sprinboks being chosen this year, perhaps Peter Jooste had one thing in mind, but JW certainly has another.
Intersting article, I like hearing from Jake and he is right about Schalk Burger.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All