Bulls looking for redemption

Nothing less than a five-point haul against the Calamity Cats will suffice for the Bulls in their Vodacom Super 14 clash at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

Bulls captain Victor Matfield has said if his team cannot beat the Cats at Loftus on Saturday, they certainly don’t deserve a shot at the Super 14 semifinals.

And defeat will see that dream reduced to tatters for another year.

Matfield was also expressing his and the teams need to look for redemption as they try to keep alive their slim chances of making the playoffs.

Their task is quite clear – they need to win their next four games with a bonus point to get to 43 points which should book their place in the semifinals.

Talk of redemption has been widespread at Loftus this week. The Bulls are disappointed with their loss to the Reds last week – had they won that game they would have been in a far more favourable position in the race to the semifinals than they are now.

“We have lost a number of games that we should and could have won and now is the time to lift our game and play like we should. We haven’t played to our potential this year,” Matfield told the Pretoria News.

Bulls coach Heyneke Meyer has made a number of interesting changes to the side in order to rest players on the one hand and give the team a more solid look.

Frikkie Welsh, who has been on the bench since returning from Bath, is back on the wing meaning that the dreadlocked Akona Ndungane gets a well-deserved rest. But it is this move, coupled with the return to outside centre of JP Nel, which has given the defensive line a nice solid look. Nel usually revels in having another defensive enforcer in the backline. And Welsh certainly fits the bill.

Morne Steyn stays at flyhalf by virtue of the continued injury problems Derick Hougaard is experiencing while Johan Roets also gets a rest giving Springbok flyhalf Jaco van der Westhuyzen a start in the number 15 jersey this weekend.

The front row shifts around with veteran Wessel Roux coming in for Jaco Engels at loosehead while Danie Thiart replaces Andries Human at tighthead.

Bulls Team: Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Frikkie Welsh, JP Nel, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Pedrie Wannenburg, Tim Dlulane, Jacques Cronje, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Danie Thiart, Gary Botha, Wessel Roux.
Replacements: Adriaan Strauss, Jaco Engels, Danie Rossouw, Francois van Schouwenburg, Pierre Spies, Heini Adams, Akona Ndungane.

36 Comments

• 1.superBul: Reply to this comment

Ek wil net aanhou vra Hoekom, Hoekom het ons dit so laat slip. Nou moet ons met die rug teen die muur veg vir n uiters skraal kans on nog iewers te kom. Wat n seisoen met die beste draw was en ons gehoop het vir n home semi lyk nou na een waar na grashalms gegryp word.
    Uiters teleurstelend
    Maar miskien kan ons nou met die rug teen die muur terug veg, wel ek hoop so.
    Van n teleurgestelde Bul suporter , manne maak hierdie volgende 6 weke reg en julle is vergewe.Ek mag seker droom…….

• 2.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Superbul sien die blink kant ou bul. Ons het so “sleg gespeel” en kyk waar is ons nog bo die ander suid-afrikaanse spanne dis net goeie nuus dit beteken currie cup. Nog in ding is ons kan net better speel imagin as ons goed begin speel. ;]

• 3.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Ja Superbul, it is unfortunate what has happened. This was the year where we had our chance. It was ours for the taking and we slipped up. We can only blame ourselves.

We are utterly useless this year. I hate it when Matfield makes comments like ‘we haven’t played to our potential’. Every single rugby supporter knows that. If you can’t beat the Reds at home you don’t deserve to be in the S14, let alone any semi-final.

There is no doubt in my mind that the Bulls threw the game against the Reds. There is no other explanation for what happened. Before I can support the Bulls again I must first find out the truth. Another Hansiegate ? I am not beyond believing that the Bulls were payed to lose that game, or a few players in the team. I mean, what with all the gambling syndicates and the odds against the Reds being so huge.

Why was Dlulane out drinking after the game ? After such a crushing defeat surely you would regroup at the hotel and work on the way foward?

Or maybe we are just that ****. Maybe we are so useless that we can not even beat the Reds.

The Bulls speak of redemption. It’s going to take more than 5 points against the Cats for that.

• 4.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

Agreed, redemption is getting to the semi’s not beating the useless cats.
    The team looks good, I think Jaco might just spark something in the backline..

Also, the rest of the backline is solid on defence. The problem is still in the front row. The guys have to step up and ensure good ball going to the back.

If we get on the front foot we are going to hammer the cats.

• 5.blue balls: Reply to this comment

I’m glad too see Frikkie Welsh back in action. It’s what the backline needs.

• 6.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey,

Sorry to burst your bubble, pal, but being ahead of the other SA teams doesn’t say much and the way you looking at it, is ver narrow-minded. Look at it in the context of SA Rugby. The Bulls, having the draw they had, were suppose to be ( if they were a world-class team that is )in the top 4 already. To say that at least they are above the other SA teams, is being very “bulls-minded”. Carefull the Cats don’t do the unthinkable this weekend.

Kudu

• 7.The King: Reply to this comment

blue balls

Ek dink die backline het vir Hougaard ook nodig.
    Sy hardloop rugby lyk die jaar weer gevaarlik en soos gewoonlik is sy skopskoen dodelik.
    Dis waar dat Ndungane ook bietjie moet rus, maar ek sou verjies het as hy op vleul kon bly met Frikkie op buite senter. JP het vir my te stadig geword deesdae. Ek sal ook vir J.Cronje op bank gesit het en met Spies begin het.

• 8.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Kudu,sad part is I won’t be shocked or even mildly surprised if the Cats beat the Bulls.

I will just knock back another double brannewyn to ease the pain.

• 9.capebull: Reply to this comment

Meyer moet die praatjie voor die tyd vergeet, ‘n rottang sal die werk doen, net om hulle wakker te kry veral Steyn.( Dit lyk partykeer of hy in sy slaap speel )

Moet se Vickus wat nie speel nie maak die taak baie makliker , maar so was Reds, Force ens….

• 10.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

Good luck guys. I am a Sharks supporter, but would still like to see the bulls back in form. Hopefully one of the two teams can make it to the semi’s, SA rugby needs it…

• 11.green blood: Reply to this comment

HM, VM yawn……… bla bla bla same sjite different week. ‘we need to do better, play to our potential etc’ what a load of ****, come of the field for once and say we have played to our potential, we have managed 4 tries, we are not disappointed in our performance.

tell you what, if the cats ever favored a win in this tournament it is Saturdays game.

if the bulls loose on sat it will only be full again when Robby Williams have a concert there again.

so tired of hearing the same mushroom stories week in and week out!! FFS!!!!

• 12.green blood: Reply to this comment

victor

take our comments and read them to the players as part of your captains practice session. you never know, it might bring back the passion to win, and better even …… dit mag dalk net vuur in die ouens se gatte sit om rugby te wil speel en dalk hulle te laat wakker skrik!!

• 13.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

Spitting venom Green Blood?! Wrong side of the wrong bed ehh!

• 14.green blood: Reply to this comment

not really. would have made these comments if the thread was posted yesterday. i agree with your previous comment (#10) but i’m sure if we go to archives of the last 10 weeks we will see the same comments made over and over only different spelling.

must admit the tjarks are the only team bringing a little light to the darkness.

• 15.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

Only ’cause we didn’t expect anything good from them…

• 16.yoda: Reply to this comment

Al wen die bulle al hulle games voorentoe, insluitende die crusaders is ek nogsteeds ****** teleurgesteld. Met ons draw moes ons nie een game verloor het hierdie jaar nie en top of the log geeindig het die beker loftus toe gebring het. As die ouens net biekie guts gewys het hierdie jaar…

Nou moet ons mar kyk volgende jaar as ons 10 teen 1 n kak draw het.

Dis seker waar dat die geluk nie aan ons kant was hierdie jaar nie, mar n man moet sy eie geluk maak, veral in hierdie kompitisie

• 17.yoda: Reply to this comment

Sampioen(15)

Right on the button!

• 18.The King: Reply to this comment

Yes Yoda, guts. Dis presies wat die Bulle al 4 games gekos het die jaar.

• 19.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Blueblood,

I hear what you saying. I’m a Stormers supporter and they’ve made me an alcoholic !

At least you guys should beat the Stormers, even if it’s at Newlands. We’ve made a habit of losing at our beloved Newlands lately..

Kudu

• 20.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ag ok, let me already congradutale you lot! Man, this season can’t get over any sooner… What a nightmare… So congrads Bully Boys… :(

• 21.jondood: Reply to this comment

Grrr

There is nothing to congratulate.

• 22.cab: Reply to this comment

Good team, could do with Andries Human back, but that team should still put 30 past the cats. Reckon the Cats forwards might go hell for leather in this one to unsettle the bulle forwards, but as the bulle put it, its going to be a PK.

• 23.green blood: Reply to this comment

cab

disagree…….. it is a local derby. i say we wait and see, as one of the biggest bull supporters i think we have lost faith in our own ability to close the win.

• 24.cab: Reply to this comment

green blood, true it is an SA derby, but the bulls back at home, might want to make an example of the cats. i think its going to hurt.

• 25.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

I really would have liked to see Jaco at 10. But Roets naeeds the rest so I think HM has made the right choice.

• 26.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

Damn!!! I always thought of Frikkie Welsh as the Bulls answer to Gus Theron and jorrie Muller…

“Does not apply himself”

I dont think JP Nel is fast enough for outside centre – his shortcomings were exposed against teh chiefs and the Blues. He should be an inside centre and Habana should be an outside centre.

• 27.Jester: Reply to this comment

Grr I concur with Jondood there is nothing to congratulate. By that I don’t mean a win over the Cats would be expected it is that the way the Bulls have played this super 14 its hard as a Bulls supporter to be charitable.
    I reckon HM should pick Anton Leonard in his normal position and have one of the wingers (who never see the ball) wheel him around the park in a supermarket trolley so he can bellow apropriate captain worrds and stuff to rouse the guys.
    We really have missed him a stack……
    In my posting last weekend I stated that I thought that both of the Bulls and Reds teams need to publically apologise for what they served up as a top flight game between two supposedly battle hardened highly paid proffessionals.
    The Bulls were lucky that day that they were only playing the Reds.
    So Redemption I guess is the word I wish there was a stronger word but I can’t think of it at the moment.
    I hope that HM has sat the guys down and made them watch all their games one after another but if he didn’t Vic and crew here’s a potted history of 2006 s14 as far as you are concerned…

Bulls and Stormers get the best draw possible as far as the SA sides are concerned but not as good as the Australasian sides who spend only a max of 3 weeks in SA.
    Cheetahs have a similar draw but a bit harder with their away opponents of a better standard than the Stmrs and the Bulls.
    Cats and Sharks seemingly on a hiding of 6 away games against the cream get their passports ready….
    Opening game Bulls beat the Cheetahs 30 – 18 which is classed a s agood away win seeing as its a repeat of the CC final.
    Wk 2 They let the Brumbies in at the death 27 – 21 having not really played well. Guys you need to keep your heads in front in the dying seconds. Oh well never mind its only 1 Fk up.
    Wk 3 Beat the Waratahs 26 – 17 A good result considering how the Tahs have done up to now. They are my dark horses to go all the way…
    Wk.4 A Bye Nice braai at Bronkelspruit dam etc.
    Wk.5 23 – 16 Win against the H’landers. A unspectacular affair but only 4 points. Are these bonus pts going to bug us later….(Yes).
    Wk. 6 And enter Liston Manuel for the Mother of all TMO fk-ups but the Bulls should have still beaten the Canes if they had the Balls of last year. lost 23 – 26
    Wk. 7 Away to the Farce and we go for poles to secure 4 pts when the bonus try was begging. Hence my request for Mr leonard.. win 30 – 21
    Wk. 8 Comprehensively beaten by the Blues 30 – 17.. A low but we will go lower as we all know now.
    Wk. 9 26 – 26 draw against a hard but dour Chiefs side. The bulls had the bonus try tee’d up at half time. Let the Chiefs back in. Tch Tch..
    Wk. 10 The reds were diabolical which tells you how badly I thought my Bulls played losing 20 – 19…..
    So where from here…Oh yes Redemption against the Cats, Guts against a vastly improving Sharks side before unleashing Bandsy once more on Richie..Have we got the Mr McCraw a booked bed in HF vervoed.
    And then believe it or not the old North v South Onion Stormers v Bulls… But by this time the Brumbies will have sneaked the points they need for the 4th place.
    If the bulls had played to their ability with anton L in his supermarket trolley I reckon 12 points went missing (Not considering games we weren’t in a shout for). That would have put the Bulls in 3rd place…
    Shows what must be done to do a Crusader…
    Redmption here we come…or if not can we take something else out of the game rather than being positive about something.
    Well here goes one more shout of “Go Bulls Go”.

• 28.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

The Bulls have about as much imagination as their supporters. What a gathering of low(ing) bovines.

Bloubul, Capebull, Blueballs, Blueblood, Bulldozer, Bullfrog, Bluebelle, Bluebottle, Bulhoring, Bluecap, Bulldog, Bulldust, Bullshit, Horribull, Terribull….

Not a bluechip in sight.

• 29.cab: Reply to this comment

what about BlouHoringHelmet? thats a good one?

• 30.Kudu: Reply to this comment

It’s that Ge Korsten song “Liefling” that gets to me. And Steve Mofeier’s Bloubul-song. The funny thing is, that Bloubul long has been aroung for years, but when Steve first released it, they were super-kak and you never heard the song. Which shows, Steve and the whole lot are good-weather supporters.

Kudu

• 31.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Grief, and that from something calling itself Pussycat.

• 32.capebull: Reply to this comment

Op watter deel lê jy die klem in jou naam pussycat

• 33.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Capebull, I don’t think iIt’s advanced enough to have a klem.

• 34.wls: Reply to this comment

BlueBlood the bottom line is i also think something is up. The only games the Bulls have lost this season are the ones they threw away.
    They are a formidable team and yet they seem to make the oddest fuckups. Perhaps its a leadership thing.

• 35.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The Bulls throw nothing away. They are just too easy to beat to be serious contenders. Even Loftus is not the impregnable fortress it ought to be! Foreign teams come and routinely kick these Bulls sorry rump steaks around in their very own back yard! It’s not good enough!

Even the mighty Boks just can’t do that at the infamous “house of pain” of Carisbrook, Dunedin!

• 36.Viper6: Reply to this comment

Matfield you guys don’t deserve to be in the semi’s after losing to the Rubble Reds.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.