The laugh’s on Lardy
21 Apr 2006
The international imposter who screamed racism when the Stormers showed him the door has been kicked into touch by English club Gloucester.
Muppits on Keo.co.za (where else would they be you are probably asking) alerted the site to the small business of Quinton Davids being booted after just one season with the English Premiership side.
Davids, who milked the quota system for every drop in Cape Town, was sent on his way a year ago because he was not good enough as a player. But the player accused the Stormers management of being racist. He said the new environment would give him an opportunity not available in Cape Town. The claim and accusation was laughable and now we have seen Davids’s worth. He has been booted after just six first team appearances in 12 months!
Sportinglife.com reported that Gloucester would not take up the option to retain Davids.
In a patronising club release Director of Rugby Dean Ryan said: “I would like to thank him for his contribution to Gloucester this season and for the effort and dedication he gave the team that played in the Guinness A League. He was fundamental in their efforts in a highly successful campaign.”
To compound the embarrassment for Lardy Davids, he played second fiddle to three club locks this season, who are not international players.

230 Comments
20 Apr 2006, 21:43 pm
The funniest name for a lock pairing in history must be QD and Rob Linde who were called by this website: Lanky and Lard…. I still laugh at that one Keo!
20 Apr 2006, 21:45 pm
pair of locks?
20 Apr 2006, 21:56 pm
Lanky and Lardy … and Gert Smal wanted to win the Super 12 with that. Geez.
20 Apr 2006, 21:58 pm
keo
did you ever try and get QD side of the story.
20 Apr 2006, 22:00 pm
Ha ha ha. Al lankal geweet ou Dikkes sal dit nie maak nie. Laat die ouens rugby speel wat kan en wil rugby speel. Die game is in jou bloed, dit is nie iets wat mens kan aanleer nie, en hoe vinniger die politicians dit agterkom, hoe beter, anders gaan rugby in die land ‘n stadige dood sterf.
20 Apr 2006, 22:07 pm
kingpaul
die wittes speel net so kak soos die swartes
dis hoekom ons spanne so swak doen
20 Apr 2006, 22:10 pm
keo
not one of the stormers locks will make gloucester 1st team.
so what is your point?
20 Apr 2006, 22:12 pm
keo
master mallet will be pleased with you
20 Apr 2006, 22:17 pm
Wilfred, asseblief, ek het nooit gese wittes of swartes of wie ook al speel beter of kakker as ‘n ander nie. Al wat ek wil sien is dat ouns wat die game kan speel, gekies word, en ouens wat net vir die lekkerte speel eerder klubrugby speel. In die laaste kategorie val ouens soos QD, Werner Greeff, Gus en ‘n hele paar wit, bruin en swart super 14 spelers. Almal is kak, dit is hoekom ek tot beter dae kom vir dir Crusaders skree. Daai manne speel nou mooi rugby.
20 Apr 2006, 22:23 pm
Lardy will return to SA and be given a big job , a massive desk and a huge salary to do nothing. AA
20 Apr 2006, 22:25 pm
Its a shame that Geo is injured, would have love to see the 2 of them pair up for Krige’s team against the world team. lol
20 Apr 2006, 22:34 pm
Can we now have an update on Tybilika the Tiger?
20 Apr 2006, 22:59 pm
I agree with wilfred, no stormers lock will make the Gloucester first team. Maybe he’ll sign with the spears!!!
20 Apr 2006, 23:00 pm
Don’t get carried away
Quentin Davids will play for wp this CC season and possibly regains his ‘Sprinbok’ status
WHO WANTS TO TAKE A WAGER?
If you haven’t understood the meaning of the quota by now than just don’t bother!
20 Apr 2006, 23:07 pm
onlooker
call it transformation, call it quotas , call it what you want it will be with us for years to come.
take it or leave it the choice is yours.
AMANDLA to quotas
20 Apr 2006, 23:10 pm
Wilfred, you miss the point along the lines of race. Lardy screamed racism when he was given the boot in Cape Town, but he was only in the Stormers squad because of colour. When he was in an environment where merit was the only criteria, he could only make the club first team six out of a possible 40 times.
The point is he had to leave this country for people to see he was never good enough as a player in the first place.
20 Apr 2006, 23:20 pm
keo
you criticised QD based on what appeared in the VOICE a paper you called thrash.
all i want to know is, did you try to speak to QD?
20 Apr 2006, 23:33 pm
Sorry gotta agree with Wilfred, it’s harsh for you to blatantly say that he was only picked due to his colour, sure QD isnt a great player. but he’s better then Ross Skeate, and performance say’s it all. at the end of the day he attempted something new and didnt achieve it. but i bet you next year when the stormers are running short on locks QD will be the first guy reinstated.
20 Apr 2006, 23:38 pm
wilfred….
you seem to be missing the point.
go back and read what keo has actually written, don’t read between the lines and make up your own story.
20 Apr 2006, 23:46 pm
Pray tell, what is Keo saying ebay?
20 Apr 2006, 23:47 pm
that lardy was just not good enough
20 Apr 2006, 23:53 pm
futurebok
skeat has potential, but not good enough to play super14.
keo
why was rob linde picked for stormers?
he was worse than QD.
20 Apr 2006, 23:54 pm
I see ebay. I suppose I’ve been spoilt by the journalistic sophistication and wit of a Tom Eaton.
21 Apr 2006, 00:03 am
if qd is sooooooo good then why were his services not required at gloucester
again why did qd go over to england a month early to work on his fitness in the middle of the south african rugby season…..he was badly out of shape and gloucester needed to get him into shape
he could have been good, but he is lazy and has not fulfilled his potential
if qd was so good then why were club locks being picked as first choice???
21 Apr 2006, 00:09 am
ebay
you seem to be missing the point.
don’t read between the lines.
nobody said QD is good, but also not the worst.
21 Apr 2006, 00:13 am
wilfred, just one word for you: shame
21 Apr 2006, 00:24 am
QD sux….it’s not even debatable
21 Apr 2006, 00:37 am
And this is typically where the quota bunnies fall over – when they have to go out in the big wide world and get caught out for the fraudsters they are.
Bloody Racist Poms!!!
21 Apr 2006, 00:54 am
Too right Lem, the acid test is the great leveler
21 Apr 2006, 01:38 am
There yeah go, Problems tight 5 issue solved, welcome home QD!
21 Apr 2006, 01:44 am
I don’t think the Lardster would ever survive a close encounter with a Massey-Ferguson, that’s for sure!
21 Apr 2006, 01:53 am
maybe lardy “speared” experience will stay away from the “gatby’s” of cape town and move to the millie pap of PE…
21 Apr 2006, 01:56 am
Blokkies,
How about calling them Dikkes & Tribbes…
(where Tribbes = net tril en ribbes)
21 Apr 2006, 01:59 am
this is the same man who has won the currie cup and added bite to the stormers. you guys are laughable. geo didn’t hack it in england either and at no time was their a comment made about his unsuccesful stint.
21 Apr 2006, 03:07 am
“Won the Currie Cup”? Is that very much harder than ordering a latte from your nearest coffee shop?
“Adding bite” to the Stormers? The whole point about the Stormers is that they have as much bite as an nonagenarian who has absent-mindedly flushed his false teeth down the lavatory!
Geo unfortunately carried a chronic career-ending irrecoverable injury to the UK, unlike Lardy who merely carried a chronic career-ending irrecoverable attitude of typically new South African gimmeist entitlement to the UK.
Lardy has, on record, no fewer than eight accredited quota tests in the Springbok jumper.
Imagine how legendary Springbok players like Jan Boland Coetzee and so on ought to feel about this flabby quota pretender overtaking them?
21 Apr 2006, 03:44 am
Davids would probably get shafted by the Spares as well. Let’s see him cry “racist” then.
21 Apr 2006, 04:09 am
How is Davids different from Shimange, Dulane, Chavanga, Nokwe, Sephaka, Tybilika?
The only players of colour that deserve to be international players are Habana, Willemsa (when he is fit) Steenkamp, Januarie.
I am not racist just realist.
21 Apr 2006, 05:35 am
Tackler & Viper6….the clarity of what you say is inspiring…..we need a rugby Truth and Reconciliation…whereby bad/counterfeit players get weeded out and justice in our rugby system prevails. We also need more whites & indians playing for the National Soccer team!
21 Apr 2006, 06:04 am
Nope, you don’t. Just get all the players with nothing but the necessary sporting merit into whatever job they are needed to do to play for their country and be embraced and applauded.
If they are good enough, they are in. If not they are out. Doesn’t matter what colour they are.
21 Apr 2006, 06:57 am
Keo, Quinton was a failure in England just like Pieter Rossouw. Pieter came back and still went on to captain the Stormers.
QD had 2 good S12 seasons. He could have been a great lock. Gert Smal invested in him. However he only has himself to blame. He wasted the opportunity he got. If he was dedicated like many of the black sportsmen who never got the opportunity due to apartheid, he would have been a great.
I think of a guy like Vincent Barnes. If ever there was a dedicated sportsmen, he was it. Even today in his 40′s he is much fitter then many of the Protea players. Unfortunately he never got the opportunities QD did.
QD took his selection for granted and never sweated in the gym to work on his conditioning. So Quinton if you want to play for WP again work on your fitness and you need heart too, something you don’t have, and you might realise your potential.
21 Apr 2006, 07:06 am
Keo, please answer Wilfred’s question. have you ever attempted to speak to Davids and get his side of the storie. Or do you just prefer to sit back and call him names?
No he was never the greatest lock to play the game, but at the beggining of his career he and Hottie Louw made a very effective pair for Province and the Stormers.
21 Apr 2006, 07:17 am
MC Spyker you idiot, Geo was injured the whole bloody time. He barely played over there. Wise up b4 you lash out.
21 Apr 2006, 07:23 am
Johnny7 and Pieter Rossouw what was wrong with him over there.
21 Apr 2006, 07:25 am
QD was never worth ****. The only time the selection of QD could be vindicated was:
-when he was not too out of shape
-and used to add a bit of beef to
rucks and mauls.
Don’t get me wrong, when fit(in QD terms) he was quite good for half a game of such use. But a lazy lumberjack lock who can’t jump higher than the grass on a cricket pitch and plays rugby with such stupidity… Need I say more
21 Apr 2006, 07:27 am
I expect that every white player who gets dropped from an overseas club will get the same ridicule? Just fair.
Also, many of you tossers who gleefully jump up and down at QD’s coming home are the same tossers who’s only experience of “making it” in the UK refers to some room with 7 others in some smelly dive in Golders Green, working as a barman or store security or flower picker for minimum wage, only to ***** about it in some homogenous, lilly white “antipodean” pub with a bunch of equally sad tossers. The good old days, eh?
No, this isn’t about QD’s rugby pedigree or lack thereof. This is just your chance to gloat about how right you think you were about others trying to play the white man’s game.
21 Apr 2006, 07:29 am
Johnny7 – The legen Robbie Fleck was also more on the bench then the starting XV over in the UK. So this situation is not unique to Quinton.
Like I said in a previous comment, QD had the potential but never realised it. There are many stories like his. Tiaan Snyman is another who comes to mind. Tiaan had a mmental problem, whereas Quinton was just plain lazy.
21 Apr 2006, 07:33 am
Muppets like wilfred, mc spyker, gretep and capeflatsboy will support Lardy because his not white – and specifically “coloured”. Their support has nothing to do with rugby abilities. No matter what proofs are put in front of them for them it is a race thing. Now please spot the racists here. To whom is race more important than the clear evidence? If Lardy was white these same Muppetrs would have been his biggest critics.
21 Apr 2006, 07:38 am
Katsesnor, if you read my comments you will notice what I am on about.
I believe in fairness and objectivity. Give the same stick to others who get cut by not maaking it in the UK.
I for 1 am very dissapointed in Quinton. Like I said he got the opportunity others before him never got. And what did he do with that opportunity. He bloody wasted it. Whites have always had those opportunities. There are many of them, who also wasted it. The others were just not good enough.
So before you try to interpret the comments of others, please think. Or are you one of those whites who are just not good enough. No intelligence hey?
21 Apr 2006, 07:44 am
Katman are you still sore because immigration at Heathrow turned your sorry arse around?
Seeing as you are in a generalising mood today, may I ask you the following?
“Waas jou tanne?”
21 Apr 2006, 07:46 am
Katsesnor, they are also missing keo’s point! OK lets be fair, most of the time he does not have one but in this case he actually does!
Lardy left the weepee shouting racism for not being selected, a year later and his non-racist new buddies up north came to the same conclusion as the racist pigs down south, funny that!
Any of the other names being bandied around is irrelevant, some made it in SA and not in the UK, some were poor in SA and similar in the UK but none used racism as an excuse for not being selected in SA. Why do the comparison except for fuelling further racism…
21 Apr 2006, 07:49 am
Let me relate a story to you.
Last year when I returned home from a visit to the UK, I was sitting at the airport and observed something which brought a smile to my face.
There was this young boy, working at one of the kiosks at the airport, going about doing his job. Suddenly I saw a big mamma come out and give him a tongue lashing. All he did was look at her and apologise profusely.
The 1st thought that went through my head was this is so cool. That it probably was a privilidged white laitie from SA doing a job only black does in SA being told what to do by a black woman. I really felt proud of that mamma at that moment.
21 Apr 2006, 07:50 am
Koos, Percy used racism when he left SA. He was pissed off that Harry Viljoen selected Jantjes ahead of him.
21 Apr 2006, 07:52 am
Lem,
“Waas jou tanne” – best chirp for a long time!!!!!
21 Apr 2006, 07:55 am
And how did he do overseas capeflats…?
21 Apr 2006, 07:57 am
He battled at first. He even got suspended for fighting with a linesman.
But I respect his work ethic. He realised he needed to work and he did that. Something Quinton did not do.
Hope you realise what I’m trying to get across to you thick Dutchmen.
21 Apr 2006, 08:00 am
Exactly Koos! Capeflats has already said on this forum that he does not support the Boks because there is too many whites in it. Need I say more …
Racists comes in all coloures.
21 Apr 2006, 08:01 am
If you stop for a while and actually read what the ‘thick Dutchmen’ is trying to say you may also learn something, but I am not holding my breath!
21 Apr 2006, 08:03 am
Katsesnor your dumb arse.
I said I don’t support the Boks because people like you don’t respect the blacks in the Bok team. I said even if the Bok team contain 15 whites but if there is respect and unity then I will support the Boks.
You are even more stupid then I thought
21 Apr 2006, 08:03 am
Anyway, if we are going to revert to name calling I am out of here, got better things to do!
21 Apr 2006, 08:05 am
Koos, it is my mission in life to educate you thick Dutchmen.
But I think you are too thick and stupid to be educated. Just like your rugby coaches.
21 Apr 2006, 08:06 am
Ja Koos gaan ploeg die land en gaan melk die koeie
capeflatsboy, the pot calling the kettle black. do you really think you’re winning arguments by childishly calling people names? grow up, mate.
QD had a few good games,but after the geo/davids thing he was never the same.gert smal gave him more than enough game time and he actually believed in him,until he didnt come to practise/meetings etc.his health and all his girlfriends and baby stories in the newspaper!
stormers must keep the 2 currenet locks (bekker$skeate) we dont want quintin back!
21 Apr 2006, 08:08 am
Good comments Capeflatsboy
21 Apr 2006, 08:08 am
GCC not worth it mate!
21 Apr 2006, 08:10 am
Lem, your attempt at a joke fell flat on so many levels.
Firstly, it assumes that everyone criticising QD’s treatment on this thread is coloured.
Secondly, it assumes that all coloured people have no teeth.
Thirdly, it assumes that I’m coloured.
Fourthly, it assumes that you’re funny.
Wrong on all four counts (except for the likes of Staal, who predictably snort with laughter at the drop of a KKK hood)
21 Apr 2006, 08:10 am
absolutely, koos. ek sien ons gaan een van die dae plante natgooi met emmers?
21 Apr 2006, 08:13 am
Yip, al die reen val op die verkeerde plekke! Gaan ons span dit maak vannaand, dink daaraan om bietjie by the pub in te loop na werk…!
21 Apr 2006, 08:13 am
Capeflatschina,
Fleck broke his leg in his second game at Bath, then 6 games into his comeback he tore his calf muscle irreparably. He and Davids’ situations are helluva different. Yes, Davids had some talent, but did not work at it, rode the quota buffer and got into the vetkoek. It doesn’t help a team if you only get 20 mins of power play and big hits from your lock until he’s buggered. He was also too fat to be lifted in the lineout.
That said, don’t be surprised if he’s revived somewhere à la that fat, penalty-causing tick Dale Santon to make up Rainbow numbers for the World Cup.
21 Apr 2006, 08:14 am
If you guys look at rugby objectively, you will realise how many **** players are out there. You will also realise how SA rugby have gone backwards. And no it is not because of the quota system. But because of professionalism.
Today’s players are just pampered too much. Quinton Davids is a prime example. They don’t know what its like to struggle. Only when that return, where pllayers are paid for performance and not because of contracts will excellence return to SA rugby.
21 Apr 2006, 08:16 am
yip, ek dink hulle gaan dit maak met so 5 punte.
21 Apr 2006, 08:17 am
capeflats jy moet maar laagle en mooi notch as jy rondloop.ek sien daar is deesdae baie driveby shootings.hoekom stop daai manne nie hulle kak nie.
21 Apr 2006, 08:19 am
More more more dames!!!!
21 Apr 2006, 08:20 am
Ahh you see capeflats, you can talk sense if you try AND without name calling. Well done!
As for the statement, agree 100%, to many primadonnas only interested in the paycheque and how they look and not playing rugby. The Stormers/weepee are prime examples, the Bulls to a certain extend…except for the looks.
At the other end we have the Cheetahs and Sharks who appear to be playing for their team and both punching well above their weight.
21 Apr 2006, 08:21 am
capeflats
Very good point!
I agree 100%
21 Apr 2006, 08:22 am
i don’t think there is somebody on this site that won’t acknowledge that there are lots of crappy white players as well. there are just some guys that really get their panties in a knot when somebody dare critisizing a palyer of colour. nothing is ever said when the likes of tiaan snyman, gus theron, etc. are taken out by the “muppets”. makes you think who are racists really are, hey.
I agree, Koos the doos!!!!
**** GCC, hope it is more than 5!!!
21 Apr 2006, 08:23 am
Cheetah’s punching above their weight? It is scientifically impossible for Ollie to punch above his weight.
21 Apr 2006, 08:24 am
Capeflats
‘I don’t support the Boks because people like you don’t respect the blacks in the Bok team. I said even if the Bok team contain 15 whites but if there is respect and unity then I will support the Boks.’
How will you know there’s respect and unity? When will you be able to tell through all the murky sh*t going on in SA rugby that ‘Ah, it’s clear, now is the time to pull out my vuvuzela.’ We all though the ’95 team was wonderfully unified, but that turned out to be bollocks.
How about starting some respect and unity from your couch and supporting the boks, your countrymen (and a team that has already changed immensely) regardless? You will always have people who don’t respect black players (until a Habana or Willemse wins a game for them) just as you will always have people who want a bok team more representative of the country (with basically no whites). However, not supporting your country because some other backward tonsils bait you, is pretty pointless.
Hey Langman, wat is pienk en hop in Knysna se bos rond?
katman ollie has a better chance to punch above his weight compared to the chance of the cats winning a game.
21 Apr 2006, 08:25 am
i’ll take 20 anytime!
21 Apr 2006, 08:25 am
naartjie
thank you and well said!
why do you people want to talk QD up to this great player,you will always remember the way he played in his last game and the way he left cape town. GO STORMERS
21 Apr 2006, 08:26 am
He he Kat – good one.
The Cheetahs face a bit of a dilema. They are trying to play creative, attacking rugby, but in the process leaving their defensive lines a little exposed.
Hence, when they lose, they lose big. I fancy them to lose to another 4 try team in the Chiefs today.
But I reckon the attitude is there and they need to give it a year or two.
21 Apr 2006, 08:27 am
bliksem, that was totally uncalled for. The wounds are still fresh and already you’re picking at them.
Koos – wat???
Send QD to Bloem
Like Telemachus
He will be fit- playing with us dumb ********- but whether he will be good enough to make the Cheetah side- even when fit?
At some stages he played with fire in his belly-
anyway – pro rugby is tuff- according to Frik Du Preez there is only one pro player in the world
and sadly he is not a saffa- black brown white or pink
So gentlemen- it seems that we are due to dwell in the bottom – wasting our time on racist remarks
21 Apr 2006, 08:28 am
Capeflats.
I agree with your first posting about QD. This article is about his claiming racism when dropped, but being dropped again at his next employer. That is all it is about.
I am pretty sure if a white guy shouted racism and THEN ALSO failed at another employer the same would be said.
However, Capeflats, your argument about not supporting the Boks because of other supporters’ attitudes is laughable. There will ALWAYS be moaning and bitching supporters who will not respect certain players in the team. The message I get from you is clearly that you will never support the Boks unless every single guy and comment you encounter does not support every decision made… wake up and smell the coffee.
You are basing your decisions upon the actions and attitudes of others, rather than just deciding for yourself. That in itself is a cop-out.
21 Apr 2006, 08:29 am
katman still fresh?its still freakin bleeding.i am going to make a point to visit ellispark this year still.just to laugh and sample the local delacacies
21 Apr 2006, 08:30 am
Congrats Keo,
Another fantastic, objective article in which you obviously put a lot of thought and spent considerable time researching.
This website has come a long way since you started it a couple of years ago. It used to contain well thought out, researched and informative pieces and now it’s pretty much tabloid trash with only the (incresingly) odd exception.
21 Apr 2006, 08:31 am
kat
Them wounds are going to be a lot deeper and more painful before the S14 is ove mate…
Bliksem is just preparing you for the pain…
21 Apr 2006, 08:31 am
Ek sê fokkol….
21 Apr 2006, 08:32 am
kat ek sal jou laat weet as ek ellispark toe kom.ek gaan net hoog in die stands sit,netnou sien hulle my en vra my om tespeel.
21 Apr 2006, 08:33 am
Fitness and conditioning are not prerequisites for Cheetah’s selection. Ollie? Leota? Quinton will fit in nicely. Then they just need to lure Bandsie away from Tshwane…
21 Apr 2006, 08:34 am
stan wat fokkol se is vreemd.wats verkeerd is jy nugter?
21 Apr 2006, 08:37 am
katman leota se broer Junior is n moerse goeie speler.
21 Apr 2006, 08:37 am
Hehehe Katman
Good point – but has it occurred to you that props handle a season better if they have a bit of lard to protect them from the continious low speed battering that they take?
Bet you Ollie will beat a lot of backrow pretenders in a fitness test
Fair comment on Leota
21 Apr 2006, 08:38 am
Katman, read what I posted then use a dictionary to find the meaning of the word “generalise”.
You must be the product of Outcomes Based Education?
Toe soos ‘n klei os se gat.
21 Apr 2006, 08:39 am
At least Ollie run straight with the ball
Something that the superfit South african backs- and I am not just fingering the Cats-
– cannot seem to grasp
21 Apr 2006, 08:40 am
milkman
WHo pissed in your battery this morning, you tosser?!!!!
21 Apr 2006, 08:40 am
Clockwork Naartjie (post 80) and Ant227(post 89)- you will never understand or appreciate the abuse and violence we endured under aparthied. hence, you will never undestand the anger some of the comments on this site evoke in chaps like capeflatsboy boy and, as a result, his decison to reject the Springboks because of ongoing racism.
21 Apr 2006, 08:41 am
Lem… yawn, whatever etc.
p.s. once again, unfunny. Keep trying though.
21 Apr 2006, 08:41 am
Langman, a very old one and for some reason stuck with me for many years, no idea why I thought about it now either or even why I asked you!
Anyway…Fiela se ****!
Right, I am out of here…!
21 Apr 2006, 08:42 am
Anybody ever consider that perhaps Geo, knew that Lardy didn’t have 100% commitment and wanted to rely on a gravy train selection for the WC and rather wanted to share a room with somebody who had the same focus as himself?
If it were me I would also not want to share a room with a slapgat.
21 Apr 2006, 08:43 am
STOP WITH ALL THIS RASCIST *&%$^%$ WHEN FAAN WAS OVER WEIGHT AND LAZY THEY SEND HIM PACKING THE SAME THING THEY DID WITH QUINTON! NOW QUINTON IS STILL (&(%& DID NOT PICK UP HIS GAME,AND FAAN IS COOKING OVERSEAS!!
21 Apr 2006, 08:44 am
Shame Katman. Dont cry please, I love you long time.
21 Apr 2006, 08:45 am
Faan is cooking overseas? Is he flipping patties in Leicester Square McDonalds?
21 Apr 2006, 08:47 am
Langman,
Good morning to you too.
Just thinking about the good old days when the articles were actually worth reading and you could post comments without having obscenities hurled at you.
boeja,
Hou op skree.
mascot I just want to apologise to you for me doing national service which included riots and kicking down doors in the wee hours.It still was better than facing jail which was my other option.I am also a victim,I was brainwashed so just suck it up and get over yourself.
21 Apr 2006, 08:48 am
Good one Koos. Lekker dag verder!!!
21 Apr 2006, 08:49 am
Milkman (post109), Keo is squarely to blame for this situation. The lack of moderation suggests he actually enjoys all the abuse going down on his site.
Wlifred buy Corne Kriges book & get the inside story, it is all there
Stan, sterkte met jou span die naweek, julle moet nou nie gaan k@k aanjaag omdat dit die Cats is nie. Julle Bulle hou mos daarvan om harde werk van die Cats te maak.
21 Apr 2006, 08:50 am
milk mascot its all about the hits.quantity not quality
21 Apr 2006, 08:50 am
Yeah bliksem, agree.
21 Apr 2006, 08:52 am
mascot
how old are you???????? you are saying “we” so that meanse you were part of the apartheid erea at what age?
21 Apr 2006, 08:52 am
Agree bliksem, mascot
it’s unfortunate though – and the same can be applied to the press in general
21 Apr 2006, 08:53 am
boeja, I’m 37
21 Apr 2006, 08:53 am
Dont we love kicking a man when he’s down.
21 Apr 2006, 08:55 am
Mascot (102)
I agree i will never understand many of the things endured by many parties in the past.
However, 1 thing I do understand…. if I base my actions and thinking upon the attitudes of others, I will be a failure.
There will ALWAYS be racists – everywhere and on both sides of the colour spectrum. But if non-support of the Boks is based on the fact that some racists also support them, that is not acceptable according to me.
Do you base your support for a soccer team based on who supports it??? Bullshit.
Either you decide to support a team or you do not. It should not be based on who supports that team…..
21 Apr 2006, 08:55 am
milkman
Top of the morning to you too.
Articles? Still worth reading.
Post without obscenities? You get what you give…
21 Apr 2006, 08:58 am
Rednik, unfortunately, whether he liked it or not, QD had a responsibility not to embarrass us. I feel ashes for him. I never rated him and always thought he was just plain lazy. I work my heart and soul out to uphold the good reputation of black professionals everywhere.
21 Apr 2006, 09:00 am
cant we all just get along? stan, i’m with you on this one… ek se ook niks!
21 Apr 2006, 09:00 am
Ant227 – I understand your point but you must realise that rugby is a special case – it was always an expression of afrikaner nationalism, unlike tennis, soccer, etc. Anyway, i do support the boks and I have tried to support the bulle on the basis that Pretoria has been so good to me.
21 Apr 2006, 09:02 am
so who wants to make a bet with me re: stormers vs reds game? R10 000 bet the reds will whipp them!
21 Apr 2006, 09:03 am
Hehehe Wes
For you to say nothing
Hoping for rain in the fairest cape?
21 Apr 2006, 09:03 am
Nou kyk net nou wen die blerrie poofters! ek meen mofgatte, jammer, ek bedoel die ********!!!
bwahahahahahhahahaaa
stormers dont have a rugby team, they got a bunch of ******!!!
21 Apr 2006, 09:04 am
WPW, the stormers might just see your bet and engage in some match fixing! LoL!
21 Apr 2006, 09:05 am
Agh junne WPW, do you have to be so homophobic? Don’t cry if someone calls you names later hey!
21 Apr 2006, 09:05 am
Saying nothing but stirring the pot
21 Apr 2006, 09:07 am
Mascot (126)
Tried to support the Bulls??????
Nee F@K, nou gaan jy te ver!!!
21 Apr 2006, 09:08 am
Think they might do it this weekend finally… I’ve bet on them for the first time in 6 matches…
21 Apr 2006, 09:08 am
Ja, i’m just fed up with this okes. They earn so much every month, have hero status here in CT but they dont seem to be giving their all. Let’s not talk about the coach.
mascot, not really homophobic… just fed up with okes who wanna look pretty on the rugby field instead of giving 100%.
QD for Bok captain. hehehe
21 Apr 2006, 09:10 am
Ant227, when you live in Pretoria you realise that the Blue Bulls are about a lot more than just rugby. They have time for their supporters, theew is a great atmosphere of camaraderie and fun in the city and you feel part of a community, the exact opposite of my individualistic hometown, Cape Town.
21 Apr 2006, 09:14 am
Mascot (124),
that’s why you are not on my “blacklist” (p 47)
I so wish we can all move on and let the race things be left in the past but I guess it’s more difficult for some than others (for understandable reasons).
21 Apr 2006, 09:16 am
wes, you ok mate?
21 Apr 2006, 09:16 am
Stormers & Cats for S14 final!!!!
21 Apr 2006, 09:18 am
Kat
Very hard for some, clearly.
You know how I hate racism, but these people that read it into things are almost as bad as the rasists on this blog
21 Apr 2006, 09:21 am
i’m cool red card…just venting…
21 Apr 2006, 09:22 am
red
surely that final will be in 2010. fester and ludicris are building for the future.
21 Apr 2006, 09:24 am
QD was ****. Does that make every non-white player a quota? No, but its true that he never deserved a Bok call-up, but then did Gus or Jorrie? Hell, Im a Sharks man myself but I’ll admit that Stefan should never have been there at the end. So are they all quotas or maybe just stupid selections? I wonder were all the champions of non-racism and equality, currently decrying quotas and AA, were during Apartheid. God bless you all for your comittment to democracy and social welfare.
21 Apr 2006, 09:33 am
Whatever, this is so lame. Currie Cup Champ and super12 semi-finalist. Not bad. Not bad at all. Just goes to show how you make yourself a target by speaking out. Mallets gets Keo his cronie to publically try and shame him. Do we know if he had any injuries during his failed season? ‘Only there because of his colour’ Pray tell Keo… and there is no need to go ask Nick for the answer. Who should have been playing in his place at the time? Who was knocking down the door? When he was injured they had to draft in Stoltz from another franchise.
I hope davids runs into you in a dark alley when he’s back home.
21 Apr 2006, 09:37 am
Quinton was good once, but he let it slip big time.
When he was dropped he did not deserve any better. That is what the article is about.. and now being dropped again.
Stormer, do you believe he should have stayed, on merit, when the Stormers dropped him??
Aah feel the love in the chat room feel the love guys ,So heres a summary of what has been said Funny thing is that the capeflatsboy and okes trying to kill him on this blog actually agree on alot of points. They both agree that
1. QD wasted his opportunities when selected for stormers and the boks,
2. QD didnt work hard enough.
3. QD didnt make it overseas.
4. QD didnt deserve to be a bok (I agree , but all im going to say is that jorrie,deon de kock and gus theron are also springboks,while guys like seconds and daniels with unmatched cc tryscroring ratios arent so to scream quotas because qd is a bok is more than laughable)
On the one hand capeflatsboy sees it as unfair to single out quinton because as he rightly point out there are numerous white okes who went over to the uk and made even less of an impact than qd. Pieter Rossouw and even Geo before anyone tells me that geo was injured i suggest u go to the gloucester website i think youll see that QD was injured for large part of this season as well but as usual keo never lets facts get in the way of a good story.But Koos also makes an good pt when geo and rossouw left they didnt scream racism so perhaps the criticism is justified.
… and then what Stormer?
21 Apr 2006, 09:40 am
Stormer
If QD ran into keo him in a well lit alley he wouldnt see the midget LOL!
21 Apr 2006, 09:42 am
Redox
QD run??? or more like lumber.
21 Apr 2006, 09:46 am
Katman
Sorry but i gotta ask
is being able to play rugby a prerequisite for cats players ? Doesnt look like it
21 Apr 2006, 09:46 am
Ant227
Perhaps i was being optimistic their
21 Apr 2006, 09:51 am
Stormer,
and then what?
21 Apr 2006, 09:53 am
Ant I beleive that he had a point in mentioning that there were racial issues with the province camp. If you go back to what he said he wasn’t specific about his own case (being dropped) but about what was going on. Why did the Roses not feel they were gonna be happy at province? Why was De Kok made captain so that bolla got no game time and then had his salary halved for underperforming? Why was gus getting on the field before Seconds? Mallet has shown in the past that he doesn’t have confidince in players of colour. Not the right guy for Province.
21 Apr 2006, 09:55 am
Stormer
Firstly, back to your post 144 – do you believe QD should have kept his place, on merit, when he wqs dropped by the Stormers??
21 Apr 2006, 09:59 am
Keo,
The quote you attribute to Dean Richards was actually made by Dean Ryan. Dean Richards is Director of Rugby at Harlequins. But then I’m not surprised by your error, because most of your “European” information is obviously second hand and often devoid of fact, like Breyton Paulse not taking up the option of a second year in France…was he ever offered one?
21 Apr 2006, 09:59 am
Schoolboy error Keo – the club director of rugby is Dean Ryan. Dean Richards is now with Harlequins.
21 Apr 2006, 10:00 am
Judging from some of the comments on here there are a few Quota posters from all sides of the colour spectrum.
21 Apr 2006, 10:01 am
mark,
i heard quinton was injured during the season.
did you even bother checking up on this, or did sir just tell you to go out and bury him?
21 Apr 2006, 10:02 am
there is no denying QD was pure quota towards the end, and was never good enough to play for the boks. He battled with his fitness and piggybacked on his skin colour to stay in the team longer than form allowed.
but the article does him a total disservice in that in 2004 he was the form lock for the Stormers and was instrumental in the Stormers pack that dismantled the much vaunted bulls juggernaut at Newlands. He totally overshadowed both Bakkies and Big Vic. He fully deserved his squad place for a number of seasons – and if he had had the apptitude to stay fit and act as a professional rugby player should, he would not be getting the criticism he’s getting now.
Yes, he was fat and lazy, but underneath those rolls of flab was a decent enough rugby player. He’d have been better suited to the amateur era when fatties like Kobus Wiese and Rudi Visage could get away with being lardasses.
21 Apr 2006, 10:03 am
Stormer
Firstly, back to your post 144 – what should happen when Davids meet Keo in that dark alley?
21 Apr 2006, 10:06 am
he’d add him to his masala steak gatsby and eat him up, katsesnor.
why are you making such a big deal about what stormer said?
21 Apr 2006, 10:08 am
Long Live TGHM QD ….
Like a Great White Shark Launching Seals into The Air … Thats The Great one and his Bunker Busting Ruck Clean Out !!!!!!!!!!!!!
21 Apr 2006, 10:19 am
Maybe lardy should go and work for the Mayor of Bobbejane ( sorry Tswane ), he’s just bought a official car of almost R 1 mil. instead of using the sponsered BMW. Mooi man spend more we are a rich country
21 Apr 2006, 10:22 am
I would like to know whether you guys think that QD could potentially have a future at the SPEARS – or do they already have 2 locks?
21 Apr 2006, 10:24 am
CTF,
I’m curious …
21 Apr 2006, 10:27 am
paincity
What makes you think QD is a lock ?
21 Apr 2006, 10:29 am
CapeBull,
I may be mistaken!LOL
21 Apr 2006, 11:02 am
yessus, this a hit generator, its beena while since the right-wingers had something to sink their teeth into and scream “i told you so”, “quotas” and “reverse racism”.
In fairness i dont think he was a bad player when committed, but if he’s unfit, he cant complain. In his prime, he did do a certain job for WP in cleaning the rucks that they’ve never really been able to replace.
21 Apr 2006, 11:07 am
Is it just me or what? or does SKY sports favour teams from New Zealand and Auss as games involving SA teams are rarely televised?
21 Apr 2006, 11:10 am
Need I say more…
Where’s WPW now…
He always said QD was the best lock in SA
21 Apr 2006, 11:19 am
WILFRED = WPW = one eyed ****!!!
you can only ride the discrimination wave so far. and if he had a good agent he would have moved from one club to the other and still keep on earning english pounds. the problem is every one saw that he is sjite!!!
and that QD is the truth,
21 Apr 2006, 11:23 am
scotth – Sky sports shows live games during UK AM hours – so will always be from Oz/NZ – but they have been showing live games as well from SA during UK PM hours – if no UK rugby on at that time.
21 Apr 2006, 11:27 am
Cant speak for Aus and NZ Keo, but your reporting on the NH Rugby scene is dire. At least you make the effort to on the odd occasiopn look beyond the Cape, albeit in your particular style. You could always check with uk muppits for more accurate info on which to base your sensationalist hyperbole.
21 Apr 2006, 11:29 am
Strange – i thought Dean Richards was director of rugby at Harlequins?
Keo??
21 Apr 2006, 11:30 am
Well it’s not like he’s the only player from SA to under perform. Why the special attention?
How many white guys under perform. Are they ridiculed like this? Racism is a problem at Province and he just said it. Guess he should have watched his mouth hey. This will set an example for the others who think they have a right to speak.
21 Apr 2006, 11:39 am
Special attention because he claimed he was the best lock in WP and was benched because of his colour
21 Apr 2006, 11:42 am
Dean Richards is rugby director at Harlequins.
Dean Ryan is the GLOUCESTER man.
Both are called Dean, both are English, but are in fact completely different people.
Your investigative skills are impeccable Keo.
21 Apr 2006, 11:49 am
To think we where forced to make him a springbok.
21 Apr 2006, 11:57 am
Keo
Don’t you have better things to do?
I mean mustn’t you attend to the 21 mags as well??
I’m surprised that you beaten Simon in writing this piece.
Now that would have made for an interesting read.
Keep up the OBJECTIVITY.
21 Apr 2006, 12:02 pm
farmer,
he should be called a Protea. He was a Protea, Habana is a Springbok. There are some Proteas amongst the Springboks.
21 Apr 2006, 12:02 pm
farmer,
just like we had to watch hundreds of kak whities playing…
21 Apr 2006, 12:04 pm
katsesnor,
springbok is still the word that defines everything that is wrong with transformation…
21 Apr 2006, 12:15 pm
I agree Mc Spyker – the name Springbok should not be used. They should be called Proteas. A Springsbok should be selected on merit only. Proteas are selected on colour demographics. It hurts me too.
21 Apr 2006, 12:18 pm
Sorry, that should have read “Springbok”. A Springsbok is a red-light-district professional who achieved the top of her profession – on merit
21 Apr 2006, 12:32 pm
katsnor…
shows how little you know about your country.Springbok is derogatory to many south africans…
21 Apr 2006, 12:39 pm
If it was so “derogatory” why isn’t your democratically elected government doing something about it? I’m sure they would have it was as offensive as you imply (like the K word). If everything in this country – and the world – is to be taken down that is offensive to someone somewhere there will be nothing left.
21 Apr 2006, 12:59 pm
We live in a world where political correctness is the new mass religion. No-one may offend any other. Offending someone is completely taboo. Human rights centred constitutions are placed above religious texts. But … in this same world everything is believed to be relative, meaning what is wrong/false/offensive for the one guy may be right/true/acceptable for another – and this right to one’s own moral opinion is also placed above all. Confused? Me too.
21 Apr 2006, 13:39 pm
LMAO at tsotsi 162,
“Like a Great White Shark Launching Seals into The Air … Thats The Great one and his Bunker Busting Ruck Clean Out !!!!!!!!!!!!! ”
Mate, what happened to Giscard? he seems to have been rogered in a tackle by Sivivatu.
21 Apr 2006, 13:44 pm
Katsesnor, Bill of Rights thankfully protects us from unthinking fanatics like Kenneth Meshoe.
21 Apr 2006, 13:49 pm
Mascot,
Fighting over politics on this site is one thing but religion is another matter. I wouldn’t dare to go there.
21 Apr 2006, 13:52 pm
Katsesnor, you started it; did you want to go unchallenged?
21 Apr 2006, 14:05 pm
Cab
Giscard was fine he’s rumoured to be harder than the Great one in his Prime !
The problem was with the 2 piiliks , messers Dutwat and Olsmchmuck !
21 Apr 2006, 15:55 pm
Only 3 seasons ago, QD was called ‘The Enforcers’ by most of SA Rugby writers included Gavin Rich, Mike Greenway and I think Keo too!
I replayed endless times the few and far between moments in each game that QD was involved, I learned a lot from it on how to watch my gardener boy working, same tricks: both looked busy but nothing was being done
21 Apr 2006, 16:09 pm
gardener boy? Onlooker, you’re a lost cause.
21 Apr 2006, 17:08 pm
keo, with all due respect, you are talking ****. I do not buy into the mindset that says that an in-form black player is there on merit, but when the same player loses form he is somehow mutated into a quota with retrospective effect (idiots like Stan and Onlooker start shouting that he was a quota all along). There are many examples. Eddie Andrews – nobody called him a quota in 2004, because he was scrumming the **** out of everyone, including Os du Randt in the Super 12, and the rock-solid Bok scrum helped us win the Tri-Nations. Eddie has subsequently suffered a slump in form, and now suddenly we have to hear that he was actually just a “quota” all along. Bullshit. He’s just out of form. Same deal with Solly Tyibilika. In his first season of Currie Cup, my verkrampte Afrikaner father-in-law maintained that Solly was a better no.6 than Corne Krige. Praises were heaped upon him when he excelled against Argentina and Australia. No-one called him a quota. Now he has apparently lost form (so we’re told – maybe if ******** Muir would give him a chance we could actually see it for ourselves), and, hey presto, suddenly he finds that his history has been re-written: it was actually just a “quota” player who scored against Scotland and poached loads of ball against Aus.
Same deal with Lardy. Once upon a time, he was quite good. He and Hottie Louw were considered the “form” SA lock combo one year. The only time he came face to face with Geo in a post-race-scandal match, he dominated. Everyone acknowledged it. Unfortunately, the fat ******* lost (or rather, gave up) the battle with his cellulite, with the result that he now can’t play rugby for ****. Is that a good enough reason to dishonestly deny that he was ever any good? I don’t think so.
21 Apr 2006, 17:30 pm
Pierre,
We all know that great players can do it year in and year out. The thing is with all the televised sport is that the opposition can look for that “chink in the armour”.
I think that it is not just a question of losing form but rather a weakness being found out and exploited and the player not adapting or changing tactics.
That distinguishes good from average, but a relatively fair point on the quota thing.
21 Apr 2006, 17:33 pm
pierre
spot on.
i think keo is doing mallet’s dirty work.
as for stan and onlooker( ithink they the same person) it must be so painfull yo see how well the country is doing.
21 Apr 2006, 18:37 pm
Mascot,
I did not talk religion and I’m happy to debate relgion on a site that’s appropriate for such a debate. Politics and rugby go hand-in-hand in SA, but religion not. To call Meshoe an “unthinking fanatic” is anyway not a good start to a debate between us as I respect him as person and many of his views.
21 Apr 2006, 19:31 pm
QD= PLANK!!!! A big qouta plank!!! It’s an insult to the Bok jersey that he ever put it on.
21 Apr 2006, 19:37 pm
QD = Quota Doos
21 Apr 2006, 19:42 pm
Katsesnor, please , “Human rights centred constitutions are placed above religious texts.” What is that if not a religious dig at secular humanism? I am a reborn Christian but, as for Kenneth, not even the racist comments on this site raise my ire as much as that gentleman, so, yes, maybe we should just leave it; and as for me, I’ll quietly get on with reaching out to folk on the margins of society who Kenneth will NEVER reach. Shoo, blood pressure moment there. Let’s just leave it. Shalom.
21 Apr 2006, 19:47 pm
the racist verkramptes can’t deal with the fact that QD exposed GEO as a racist.
21 Apr 2006, 19:52 pm
Wilfred, the “racist verkramptes” are irrelevenat in South Africa 2006. Let them vent their anger over their political impotence on this site. What does it really matter at the end of the day? Nothing.
21 Apr 2006, 20:45 pm
Katsesnor
You tal about a democraticalle elected government. What a joke. Our rights were negotiated away at Kempton Park. The ANC made too many concessions. Like your beloved Stem. It sickens me that a wonderful hymn like NkosiSikeleli iAfrika is being degraded by die stem. You know the so called democratically elected government is not in power in this country. They are a joke. But mark my words the revolution will come. The masses will not be prepared to wait forever.
21 Apr 2006, 21:03 pm
the Revolution is already here…and as a result South Africa is well on it’s way to joining the rest of the rubbish heap that is Africa….
21 Apr 2006, 21:20 pm
besides who cares about GEO ‘the bearded venom’that he is…..he’s also useless to mankind …..we only care about people performing for the money they are paid ….and that’s across the board, not just rugby…
21 Apr 2006, 21:49 pm
capeflatsboy the communist. Geez but you are a complex individual. Didn’t you do the MBA? Isn’t that too capitalistic?
The revolution … man are you in for a dissappointment. Do you think that “joke of a government” as you describe it is fast asleep and not aware of what’s going on on the ground? Do you think it will be a one sided afair? Have you dug your tunnels already? Tip: Cape Flats sand doesn’t make for good tunnels.
You should move to Zim. You probably already have Mugabe on your wall. Shame man.
Fact is capeflatsboy, even China is moving on and embracing capitalism my china. And those days when the rest of the world cared about the poor South African masses are over. You either play by the rules (democracy, good governance, etc) or you get isolated and starve to death. Go ask your buddy Mugabe.
Some people are utterly stuck in the past. But at least your true colours are evident now. As I said before racists come in all colours.
21 Apr 2006, 21:50 pm
couchrugga
you welcome to leave our beloved country.
i am not an A.N.C supporter ,but have to take my hat off for a job welldone.
21 Apr 2006, 21:54 pm
Who said anything about leaving Winifred…in fact I will stick around just to piss you off…if that’s a job well done then you have NO expectations and fit in very well.
21 Apr 2006, 22:30 pm
Katsesnor, China does not “play by the rules” (what with communism, questionable governance, over-valued currency, etc.) yet that country is prospering. Why? Because “money goes where money grows”. Finish and klaar!
21 Apr 2006, 22:41 pm
CouchRugga, when the ANC took over, this country was busy de-industrialising due to the mismanagement (import substitution) and racial capitalism of the Nationalists. The ANC, on the other hand, risked a potential popular insurrection when they adopted GEAR, a self-inflicted structural adjustment policy, in order to stabilise the economy and ready it for growth. All for the good of capitalism and neo-liberalism.
Now, on crime. As we all know, the Nationalists created the conditions for crime when they forcibly removed people into the hopeless slums that are Manenberg, Bonteheuwel, etc. To solve the problem, would you support the “right of return” of these families to Higgovale, Camps Bay, Tamboerskloof, Vredehoek, etc., to be financed by a once-off wealth tax? I doubt it.
21 Apr 2006, 22:43 pm
over-valued should be under-valued currency
21 Apr 2006, 23:05 pm
Consider this:
The Stormers dropped Andrews and suddenly they won, albeit against the lowly Reds
Both Paulse and Davids lasted only few rugby games in Europe and then were blown out, what does it mean?
21 Apr 2006, 23:07 pm
Onlooker, are you 12? You seem to reason like a child.
21 Apr 2006, 23:12 pm
onlooker
(213)just confirmed what an ******* you are.
21 Apr 2006, 23:19 pm
BTW, Katsesnor, in his book, “A History of Inequality of SA: 1652-2002″, Prof Sampie Terreblanche of Maties supports CapneFlatsBoys’ thesis (post 204). Well, if not in his book, I certainly heard him say it at a Harold Wolpe lecture, in a debate with Dr Rob Davies.
21 Apr 2006, 23:23 pm
Terreblanche, Sampie (2003), “A History of Inequality in South Africa: 1652-2002″, University of Kwazulu-Natal Press.
Synopsis
“This work is an anlaysis of economic relations in South Africa. It analyses the work of numerous historians on inequality and exploitation in South Africa around a single theme: the systematic and progressive economic exploitation of indigenous people by settler groups. Second, the author argues that, despite South Africa’s transition to democracy, its society is as unequal – if not more so – than before. He claims that in the early 1990s, parallel to the constitutional negotations, a series of informal negotations and interchanges took place behind the scenes during which the local corporate sector, backed by powerful international financial institutions, made a concerted effort to “sell” unfettered capitalism to ANC leaders. This attempt succeeded, resulting in the ANC replacing the RDP with GEAR. The situation of the vast majority of blacks has in fact worsened since the transition to democracy. For this reason, he considers that South Africa’s transformation is incomplete. Sampie Terreblanche criticizes the corporate sector for its ruthless pursuit and protection of its own interests, to the detriment of broader South African society. He also criticizes the “new black elite” for its materialism and apparent indifference to the plight of the poor. In a final chapter, he argues that the current system of “neo-liberal democratic capitalism” is inappropriate to a developing country such as South Africa. He calls for a policy shift towards social democracy in which the state should play a more active role in alleviating poverty, redistributing wealth, and attending to social welfare.”
Source: http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1869140222/026-5150657-7942012#product-details
21 Apr 2006, 23:26 pm
Mr Manuel has slowly been making ths shift as evidenced by the plaudits he received from the progressive media for this year’s budget
22 Apr 2006, 00:00 am
Exactly Mascot. Then the government is aware of the problem and doing something about it – in a somewhat slow but responsible manner. Changes – as required in a very unbalanced SA – cannot be done in haste to address the unrealistic expectations of the undereducated unemployed masses. Originally the ANC also thought an “explosive” revolution will bring about the wished changes but they quickly realised it will only cause much more harm than good to go to fast. So they changed gears (GEAR). It’s was the correct approach. The same western democracies that supported the ANC during apartheid would not approve the type of revolution the ANC had in mind originally – and for the ANC to do so at the time would thus have been international political and economical suicide. What SA has thus achieved is a miracle. That corporations/banks would have done their bit to get the new ANC government on their side is understandable – and in the end probably to the countries long term benefit. No revolution – as supported by capeflatsboy – will solve anything Mascot. It wil destroy SA and leave everybody as loosers. No country can have such revolutions and be prosperous.
Then I want to ask you this (no debate intended please) … with so many Christians in SA (like yourself) will God allow his sheep to be slaughtered by a mindless mass of revolutionaries? Don’t you think God allows things to be as they are at present – moving at the pace it is? And then this … did not ***** say his father will take care of those who puts his kingdom first (Mt 6)? So Mascot the answer then should be … poverty is only solved by putting God’s kingdom first. No world government will EVER succeed in doing so as long as they shun God. No revolution like capeflatsboy is suggesting will ever bring true lasting equality and prosperity.
22 Apr 2006, 00:10 am
Katsesnor, you are assuming that CapeFlatsBoy is calling for a socialist revolution. What I hear him saying is that, if the ANC does not attend to the needs of the poor, they wil not be able to prevent a popular uprising by an increasingly impatient populace. Many people, on the left and centre-right, have said this.
Like African-Americans during slavery and the civil rights movement, black Christinas in South Africa never ceased calling upon G-d for their freedom. What amazes me, is that people on this site do not grasp that G-d is not mocked – they expect to get off scot-free from their forefathers’ sins even though they have not asked for forgiveness.
22 Apr 2006, 00:21 am
Then again, Katsnesnor, yes, we can “stand in the gap” and ask for forgiveness on each others’ behalf and potentially rescue this country through prayer. But, that will require G-d’s love in my heart, because I cannot do it in my own strength. I am too scarred by my past and therefore sometimes too easily offended.
22 Apr 2006, 00:23 am
And with that, Katsesnor, I’m signing out. You’re welcome to mail me at: havtacha1@yahoo.com “Havtacha” is hebrew for “promise” Shalom. Salaam.
22 Apr 2006, 09:42 am
I suppose the main point of this whole issue is the “Quota” players DON’T pick themselves in the team. It is UNFAIR to label them “FRAUDS” because the coaches pick “POOR QUALITY” players. I have played top flight club rugby, but consider myself merely an average club player, but if I had to be picked to play for a Super 14 team, by golly I would take the chance! Who wouldn’t? I mean if I get presented opportunities I take them, wouldn’t I look the fool saying “No Thanks”????????????? Some players play better whan in better company, some don’t, you will never know who these are unless you give them a shot – sure the quota system gave preference to certain players, but THEY DIDN’T INVENT THE QUOTA SYSTEM – NOR DID THEY PICK THEMSELVES!!!!!!!!
22 Apr 2006, 17:33 pm
Mascot can you explain the mess in Israel and the inequality afforded the Palestinians….you are a hypocrite….all for the underpriveleged in SA while the poor Palestinians get beaten into submission & without a land which is rightfully theirs. Tool!
22 Apr 2006, 20:21 pm
CouchRugga, what are you on about? Oh, I see, all Jews are right-wing Zionists and, to be consistent, all Muslims are Jihadists. And Jews, especially, don’t deserve friends or people who appreciate their culture or recognise the Jewish heritage of Christianity or that ***** was Jewish. You obviously cannot hold up a debate based on well-constructed arguments so you resort to baseless, abusive attacks. So, I am a Jew-loving *******, which also makes me a Zionist. Shame. Go and educate yourself by reading http://www.zmag.org or http://www.commondreams.org and, as soon as you can spell Noam Chomsky, Edward Said or Amos Oz, you can make another attempt at an informed opinion.
22 Apr 2006, 20:31 pm
And for all you foreigners out there who support anything to do with white South African culture, like Springbok rugby, for instance, beware! According to CouchRugga’s logic, you have unwittingly (or even consciously by his/her logic) aligned yourself with the people who, through apartheid, perpetrated one of the greatest crimes against humanity. They don’t deserve friends, they don’t deserve forgiveness and they don’t deserve understanding. For an exposition of the implicit logic, contact CouchRugga.
23 Apr 2006, 02:57 am
Mascot your waffling on amounts to nothing….why so defensive?
Maybe you just look really silly bashing white South Africans and then being exposed for double standards in your closet support of Israel’s under hand tactics. The whole problem facing the Middle East is very connected to Israel’s gross discrimination against the Palesitinians……you are the last person that should be lecturing us on this site.
23 Apr 2006, 12:15 pm
heh heh heh
23 Apr 2006, 23:32 pm
Howzat!
Just another stumped fool!
24 Apr 2006, 01:09 am
yes, couchrugga, you win.