The laugh’s on Lardy

The international imposter who screamed racism when the Stormers showed him the door has been kicked into touch by English club Gloucester.

Muppits on Keo.co.za (where else would they be you are probably asking) alerted the site to the small business of Quinton Davids being booted after just one season with the English Premiership side.

Davids, who milked the quota system for every drop in Cape Town, was sent on his way a year ago because he was not good enough as a player. But the player accused the Stormers management of being racist. He said the new environment would give him an opportunity not available in Cape Town. The claim and accusation was laughable and now we have seen Davids’s worth. He has been booted after just six first team appearances in 12 months!

Sportinglife.com reported that Gloucester would not take up the option to retain Davids.

In a patronising club release Director of Rugby Dean Ryan said: “I would like to thank him for his contribution to Gloucester this season and for the effort and dedication he gave the team that played in the Guinness A League. He was fundamental in their efforts in a highly successful campaign.”

To compound the embarrassment for Lardy Davids, he played second fiddle to three club locks this season, who are not international players.

230 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Let me relate a story to you.
    Last year when I returned home from a visit to the UK, I was sitting at the airport and observed something which brought a smile to my face.
    There was this young boy, working at one of the kiosks at the airport, going about doing his job. Suddenly I saw a big mamma come out and give him a tongue lashing. All he did was look at her and apologise profusely.
    The 1st thought that went through my head was this is so cool. That it probably was a privilidged white laitie from SA doing a job only black does in SA being told what to do by a black woman. I really felt proud of that mamma at that moment.

• 52.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Koos, Percy used racism when he left SA. He was pissed off that Harry Viljoen selected Jantjes ahead of him.

• 53.Staal: Reply to this comment

Lem,

“Waas jou tanne” – best chirp for a long time!!!!!

• 54.Koos: Reply to this comment

And how did he do overseas capeflats…?

• 55.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

He battled at first. He even got suspended for fighting with a linesman.
    But I respect his work ethic. He realised he needed to work and he did that. Something Quinton did not do.
    Hope you realise what I’m trying to get across to you thick Dutchmen.

• 56.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Exactly Koos! Capeflats has already said on this forum that he does not support the Boks because there is too many whites in it. Need I say more …

Racists comes in all coloures.

• 57.Koos: Reply to this comment

If you stop for a while and actually read what the ‘thick Dutchmen’ is trying to say you may also learn something, but I am not holding my breath!

• 58.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Katsesnor your dumb arse.
    I said I don’t support the Boks because people like you don’t respect the blacks in the Bok team. I said even if the Bok team contain 15 whites but if there is respect and unity then I will support the Boks.
    You are even more stupid then I thought

• 59.Koos: Reply to this comment

Anyway, if we are going to revert to name calling I am out of here, got better things to do!

• 60.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Koos, it is my mission in life to educate you thick Dutchmen.
    But I think you are too thick and stupid to be educated. Just like your rugby coaches.

• 61.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Ja Koos gaan ploeg die land en gaan melk die koeie

• 62.GCC: Reply to this comment

capeflatsboy, the pot calling the kettle black. do you really think you’re winning arguments by childishly calling people names? grow up, mate.

• 63.boeja: Reply to this comment

QD had a few good games,but after the geo/davids thing he was never the same.gert smal gave him more than enough game time and he actually believed in him,until he didnt come to practise/meetings etc.his health and all his girlfriends and baby stories in the newspaper!
    stormers must keep the 2 currenet locks (bekker$skeate) we dont want quintin back!

• 64.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Good comments Capeflatsboy

• 65.Koos: Reply to this comment

GCC not worth it mate!

• 66.katman: Reply to this comment

Lem, your attempt at a joke fell flat on so many levels.

Firstly, it assumes that everyone criticising QD’s treatment on this thread is coloured.

Secondly, it assumes that all coloured people have no teeth.

Thirdly, it assumes that I’m coloured.

Fourthly, it assumes that you’re funny.

Wrong on all four counts (except for the likes of Staal, who predictably snort with laughter at the drop of a KKK hood)

• 67.GCC: Reply to this comment

absolutely, koos. ek sien ons gaan een van die dae plante natgooi met emmers?

• 68.Koos: Reply to this comment

Yip, al die reen val op die verkeerde plekke! Gaan ons span dit maak vannaand, dink daaraan om bietjie by the pub in te loop na werk…!

• 69.Reserve Naartjie: Reply to this comment

Capeflatschina,

Fleck broke his leg in his second game at Bath, then 6 games into his comeback he tore his calf muscle irreparably. He and Davids’ situations are helluva different. Yes, Davids had some talent, but did not work at it, rode the quota buffer and got into the vetkoek. It doesn’t help a team if you only get 20 mins of power play and big hits from your lock until he’s buggered. He was also too fat to be lifted in the lineout.
    That said, don’t be surprised if he’s revived somewhere à la that fat, penalty-causing tick Dale Santon to make up Rainbow numbers for the World Cup.

• 70.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

If you guys look at rugby objectively, you will realise how many **** players are out there. You will also realise how SA rugby have gone backwards. And no it is not because of the quota system. But because of professionalism.
    Today’s players are just pampered too much. Quinton Davids is a prime example. They don’t know what its like to struggle. Only when that return, where pllayers are paid for performance and not because of contracts will excellence return to SA rugby.

• 71.GCC: Reply to this comment

yip, ek dink hulle gaan dit maak met so 5 punte.

• 72.bliksem: Reply to this comment

capeflats jy moet maar laagle en mooi notch as jy rondloop.ek sien daar is deesdae baie driveby shootings.hoekom stop daai manne nie hulle kak nie.

• 73.Langman: Reply to this comment

More more more dames!!!!

• 74.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ahh you see capeflats, you can talk sense if you try AND without name calling. Well done!

As for the statement, agree 100%, to many primadonnas only interested in the paycheque and how they look and not playing rugby. The Stormers/weepee are prime examples, the Bulls to a certain extend…except for the looks.

At the other end we have the Cheetahs and Sharks who appear to be playing for their team and both punching well above their weight.

• 75.Langman: Reply to this comment

capeflats
    Very good point!
    I agree 100%

• 76.GCC: Reply to this comment

i don’t think there is somebody on this site that won’t acknowledge that there are lots of crappy white players as well. there are just some guys that really get their panties in a knot when somebody dare critisizing a palyer of colour. nothing is ever said when the likes of tiaan snyman, gus theron, etc. are taken out by the “muppets”. makes you think who are racists really are, hey.

• 77.Langman: Reply to this comment

I agree, Koos the doos!!!!

• 78.Koos: Reply to this comment

**** GCC, hope it is more than 5!!!

• 79.katman: Reply to this comment

Cheetah’s punching above their weight? It is scientifically impossible for Ollie to punch above his weight.

• 80.Reserve Naartjie: Reply to this comment

Capeflats
    ‘I don’t support the Boks because people like you don’t respect the blacks in the Bok team. I said even if the Bok team contain 15 whites but if there is respect and unity then I will support the Boks.’

How will you know there’s respect and unity? When will you be able to tell through all the murky sh*t going on in SA rugby that ‘Ah, it’s clear, now is the time to pull out my vuvuzela.’ We all though the ’95 team was wonderfully unified, but that turned out to be bollocks.
    How about starting some respect and unity from your couch and supporting the boks, your countrymen (and a team that has already changed immensely) regardless? You will always have people who don’t respect black players (until a Habana or Willemse wins a game for them) just as you will always have people who want a bok team more representative of the country (with basically no whites). However, not supporting your country because some other backward tonsils bait you, is pretty pointless.

• 81.Koos: Reply to this comment

Hey Langman, wat is pienk en hop in Knysna se bos rond?

• 82.bliksem: Reply to this comment

katman ollie has a better chance to punch above his weight compared to the chance of the cats winning a game.

• 83.GCC: Reply to this comment

i’ll take 20 anytime!

• 84.boeja: Reply to this comment

naartjie
    thank you and well said!
    why do you people want to talk QD up to this great player,you will always remember the way he played in his last game and the way he left cape town. GO STORMERS

• 85.Langman: Reply to this comment

He he Kat – good one.

The Cheetahs face a bit of a dilema. They are trying to play creative, attacking rugby, but in the process leaving their defensive lines a little exposed.

Hence, when they lose, they lose big. I fancy them to lose to another 4 try team in the Chiefs today.

But I reckon the attitude is there and they need to give it a year or two.

• 86.katman: Reply to this comment

bliksem, that was totally uncalled for. The wounds are still fresh and already you’re picking at them.

• 87.Langman: Reply to this comment

Koos – wat???

• 88.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Send QD to Bloem

Like Telemachus

He will be fit- playing with us dumb ********- but whether he will be good enough to make the Cheetah side- even when fit?

At some stages he played with fire in his belly-

anyway – pro rugby is tuff- according to Frik Du Preez there is only one pro player in the world

and sadly he is not a saffa- black brown white or pink

So gentlemen- it seems that we are due to dwell in the bottom – wasting our time on racist remarks

• 89.Ant227: Reply to this comment

Capeflats.

I agree with your first posting about QD. This article is about his claiming racism when dropped, but being dropped again at his next employer. That is all it is about.

I am pretty sure if a white guy shouted racism and THEN ALSO failed at another employer the same would be said.

However, Capeflats, your argument about not supporting the Boks because of other supporters’ attitudes is laughable. There will ALWAYS be moaning and bitching supporters who will not respect certain players in the team. The message I get from you is clearly that you will never support the Boks unless every single guy and comment you encounter does not support every decision made… wake up and smell the coffee.

You are basing your decisions upon the actions and attitudes of others, rather than just deciding for yourself. That in itself is a cop-out.

• 90.bliksem: Reply to this comment

katman still fresh?its still freakin bleeding.i am going to make a point to visit ellispark this year still.just to laugh and sample the local delacacies

• 91.the milkman: Reply to this comment

Congrats Keo,

Another fantastic, objective article in which you obviously put a lot of thought and spent considerable time researching.

This website has come a long way since you started it a couple of years ago. It used to contain well thought out, researched and informative pieces and now it’s pretty much tabloid trash with only the (incresingly) odd exception.

• 92.Langman: Reply to this comment

kat
    Them wounds are going to be a lot deeper and more painful before the S14 is ove mate…

Bliksem is just preparing you for the pain…

• 93.Stan: Reply to this comment

Ek sê fokkol….

• 94.bliksem: Reply to this comment

kat ek sal jou laat weet as ek ellispark toe kom.ek gaan net hoog in die stands sit,netnou sien hulle my en vra my om tespeel.

• 95.katman: Reply to this comment

Fitness and conditioning are not prerequisites for Cheetah’s selection. Ollie? Leota? Quinton will fit in nicely. Then they just need to lure Bandsie away from Tshwane…

• 96.bliksem: Reply to this comment

stan wat fokkol se is vreemd.wats verkeerd is jy nugter?

• 97.bliksem: Reply to this comment

katman leota se broer Junior is n moerse goeie speler.

• 98.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

Hehehe Katman

Good point – but has it occurred to you that props handle a season better if they have a bit of lard to protect them from the continious low speed battering that they take?

Bet you Ollie will beat a lot of backrow pretenders in a fitness test

Fair comment on Leota

• 99.Lem: Reply to this comment

Katman, read what I posted then use a dictionary to find the meaning of the word “generalise”.

You must be the product of Outcomes Based Education?

Toe soos ‘n klei os se gat.

• 100.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

At least Ollie run straight with the ball

Something that the superfit South african backs- and I am not just fingering the Cats- :lol: – cannot seem to grasp

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.