The laugh’s on Lardy

The international imposter who screamed racism when the Stormers showed him the door has been kicked into touch by English club Gloucester.

Muppits on Keo.co.za (where else would they be you are probably asking) alerted the site to the small business of Quinton Davids being booted after just one season with the English Premiership side.

Davids, who milked the quota system for every drop in Cape Town, was sent on his way a year ago because he was not good enough as a player. But the player accused the Stormers management of being racist. He said the new environment would give him an opportunity not available in Cape Town. The claim and accusation was laughable and now we have seen Davids’s worth. He has been booted after just six first team appearances in 12 months!

Sportinglife.com reported that Gloucester would not take up the option to retain Davids.

In a patronising club release Director of Rugby Dean Ryan said: “I would like to thank him for his contribution to Gloucester this season and for the effort and dedication he gave the team that played in the Guinness A League. He was fundamental in their efforts in a highly successful campaign.”

To compound the embarrassment for Lardy Davids, he played second fiddle to three club locks this season, who are not international players.

230 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.Redox: Reply to this comment

Ant227

Perhaps i was being optimistic their :)

• 152.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Stormer,

and then what?

• 153.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Ant I beleive that he had a point in mentioning that there were racial issues with the province camp. If you go back to what he said he wasn’t specific about his own case (being dropped) but about what was going on. Why did the Roses not feel they were gonna be happy at province? Why was De Kok made captain so that bolla got no game time and then had his salary halved for underperforming? Why was gus getting on the field before Seconds? Mallet has shown in the past that he doesn’t have confidince in players of colour. Not the right guy for Province.

• 154.Ant227: Reply to this comment

Stormer

Firstly, back to your post 144 – do you believe QD should have kept his place, on merit, when he wqs dropped by the Stormers??

• 155.Bamber: Reply to this comment

Keo,

The quote you attribute to Dean Richards was actually made by Dean Ryan. Dean Richards is Director of Rugby at Harlequins. But then I’m not surprised by your error, because most of your “European” information is obviously second hand and often devoid of fact, like Breyton Paulse not taking up the option of a second year in France…was he ever offered one?

• 156.gecko: Reply to this comment

Schoolboy error Keo – the club director of rugby is Dean Ryan. Dean Richards is now with Harlequins.

• 157.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Judging from some of the comments on here there are a few Quota posters from all sides of the colour spectrum. :grin:

• 158.Cape Town's Finest: Reply to this comment

mark,

i heard quinton was injured during the season.

did you even bother checking up on this, or did sir just tell you to go out and bury him?

• 159.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

there is no denying QD was pure quota towards the end, and was never good enough to play for the boks. He battled with his fitness and piggybacked on his skin colour to stay in the team longer than form allowed.

but the article does him a total disservice in that in 2004 he was the form lock for the Stormers and was instrumental in the Stormers pack that dismantled the much vaunted bulls juggernaut at Newlands. He totally overshadowed both Bakkies and Big Vic. He fully deserved his squad place for a number of seasons – and if he had had the apptitude to stay fit and act as a professional rugby player should, he would not be getting the criticism he’s getting now.

Yes, he was fat and lazy, but underneath those rolls of flab was a decent enough rugby player. He’d have been better suited to the amateur era when fatties like Kobus Wiese and Rudi Visage could get away with being lardasses.

• 160.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Stormer

Firstly, back to your post 144 – what should happen when Davids meet Keo in that dark alley?

• 161.Cape Town's Finest: Reply to this comment

he’d add him to his masala steak gatsby and eat him up, katsesnor.

why are you making such a big deal about what stormer said?

• 162.Tsotsi: Reply to this comment

Long Live TGHM QD ….

Like a Great White Shark Launching Seals into The Air … Thats The Great one and his Bunker Busting Ruck Clean Out !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 163.capebull: Reply to this comment

Maybe lardy should go and work for the Mayor of Bobbejane ( sorry Tswane ), he’s just bought a official car of almost R 1 mil. instead of using the sponsered BMW. Mooi man spend more we are a rich country

• 164.paincity: Reply to this comment

I would like to know whether you guys think that QD could potentially have a future at the SPEARS – or do they already have 2 locks?

• 165.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

CTF,

I’m curious …

• 166.capebull: Reply to this comment

paincity

What makes you think QD is a lock ?

• 167.paincity: Reply to this comment

CapeBull,
    I may be mistaken!LOL

• 168.cab: Reply to this comment

yessus, this a hit generator, its beena while since the right-wingers had something to sink their teeth into and scream “i told you so”, “quotas” and “reverse racism”.

In fairness i dont think he was a bad player when committed, but if he’s unfit, he cant complain. In his prime, he did do a certain job for WP in cleaning the rucks that they’ve never really been able to replace.

• 169.scotth: Reply to this comment

Is it just me or what? or does SKY sports favour teams from New Zealand and Auss as games involving SA teams are rarely televised?

• 170.Coach: Reply to this comment

Need I say more…
    Where’s WPW now…
    He always said QD was the best lock in SA

• 171.green blood: Reply to this comment

WILFRED = WPW = one eyed ****!!!

you can only ride the discrimination wave so far. and if he had a good agent he would have moved from one club to the other and still keep on earning english pounds. the problem is every one saw that he is sjite!!!

and that QD is the truth,

• 172.gecko: Reply to this comment

scotth – Sky sports shows live games during UK AM hours – so will always be from Oz/NZ – but they have been showing live games as well from SA during UK PM hours – if no UK rugby on at that time.

• 173.rednik: Reply to this comment

Cant speak for Aus and NZ Keo, but your reporting on the NH Rugby scene is dire. At least you make the effort to on the odd occasiopn look beyond the Cape, albeit in your particular style. You could always check with uk muppits for more accurate info on which to base your sensationalist hyperbole.

• 174.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

Strange – i thought Dean Richards was director of rugby at Harlequins?

Keo??

• 175.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Well it’s not like he’s the only player from SA to under perform. Why the special attention?

How many white guys under perform. Are they ridiculed like this? Racism is a problem at Province and he just said it. Guess he should have watched his mouth hey. This will set an example for the others who think they have a right to speak.

• 176.Coach: Reply to this comment

Special attention because he claimed he was the best lock in WP and was benched because of his colour

• 177.rednik: Reply to this comment

Dean Richards is rugby director at Harlequins.
    Dean Ryan is the GLOUCESTER man.
    Both are called Dean, both are English, but are in fact completely different people.
    Your investigative skills are impeccable Keo.

• 178.farmer: Reply to this comment

To think we where forced to make him a springbok.

• 179.kapie: Reply to this comment

Keo

Don’t you have better things to do?

I mean mustn’t you attend to the 21 mags as well??

I’m surprised that you beaten Simon in writing this piece.

Now that would have made for an interesting read.

Keep up the OBJECTIVITY.

• 180.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

farmer,

he should be called a Protea. He was a Protea, Habana is a Springbok. There are some Proteas amongst the Springboks.

• 181.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

farmer,

just like we had to watch hundreds of kak whities playing…

• 182.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

katsesnor,

springbok is still the word that defines everything that is wrong with transformation…

• 183.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

I agree Mc Spyker – the name Springbok should not be used. They should be called Proteas. A Springsbok should be selected on merit only. Proteas are selected on colour demographics. It hurts me too.

• 184.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Sorry, that should have read “Springbok”. A Springsbok is a red-light-district professional who achieved the top of her profession – on merit :-)

• 185.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

katsnor…

shows how little you know about your country.Springbok is derogatory to many south africans…

• 186.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

If it was so “derogatory” why isn’t your democratically elected government doing something about it? I’m sure they would have it was as offensive as you imply (like the K word). If everything in this country – and the world – is to be taken down that is offensive to someone somewhere there will be nothing left.

• 187.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

We live in a world where political correctness is the new mass religion. No-one may offend any other. Offending someone is completely taboo. Human rights centred constitutions are placed above religious texts. But … in this same world everything is believed to be relative, meaning what is wrong/false/offensive for the one guy may be right/true/acceptable for another – and this right to one’s own moral opinion is also placed above all. Confused? Me too.

• 188.cab: Reply to this comment

LMAO at tsotsi 162,

“Like a Great White Shark Launching Seals into The Air … Thats The Great one and his Bunker Busting Ruck Clean Out !!!!!!!!!!!!! ”

Mate, what happened to Giscard? he seems to have been rogered in a tackle by Sivivatu.

• 189.mascot: Reply to this comment

Katsesnor, Bill of Rights thankfully protects us from unthinking fanatics like Kenneth Meshoe.

• 190.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Mascot,

Fighting over politics on this site is one thing but religion is another matter. I wouldn’t dare to go there.

• 191.mascot: Reply to this comment

Katsesnor, you started it; did you want to go unchallenged?

• 192.Tsotsi: Reply to this comment

Cab

Giscard was fine he’s rumoured to be harder than the Great one in his Prime !

The problem was with the 2 piiliks , messers Dutwat and Olsmchmuck !

• 193.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Only 3 seasons ago, QD was called ‘The Enforcers’ by most of SA Rugby writers included Gavin Rich, Mike Greenway and I think Keo too!
    I replayed endless times the few and far between moments in each game that QD was involved, I learned a lot from it on how to watch my gardener boy working, same tricks: both looked busy but nothing was being done

• 194.mascot: Reply to this comment

gardener boy? Onlooker, you’re a lost cause.

• 195.pierre: Reply to this comment

keo, with all due respect, you are talking ****. I do not buy into the mindset that says that an in-form black player is there on merit, but when the same player loses form he is somehow mutated into a quota with retrospective effect (idiots like Stan and Onlooker start shouting that he was a quota all along). There are many examples. Eddie Andrews – nobody called him a quota in 2004, because he was scrumming the **** out of everyone, including Os du Randt in the Super 12, and the rock-solid Bok scrum helped us win the Tri-Nations. Eddie has subsequently suffered a slump in form, and now suddenly we have to hear that he was actually just a “quota” all along. Bullshit. He’s just out of form. Same deal with Solly Tyibilika. In his first season of Currie Cup, my verkrampte Afrikaner father-in-law maintained that Solly was a better no.6 than Corne Krige. Praises were heaped upon him when he excelled against Argentina and Australia. No-one called him a quota. Now he has apparently lost form (so we’re told – maybe if ******** Muir would give him a chance we could actually see it for ourselves), and, hey presto, suddenly he finds that his history has been re-written: it was actually just a “quota” player who scored against Scotland and poached loads of ball against Aus.

Same deal with Lardy. Once upon a time, he was quite good. He and Hottie Louw were considered the “form” SA lock combo one year. The only time he came face to face with Geo in a post-race-scandal match, he dominated. Everyone acknowledged it. Unfortunately, the fat ******* lost (or rather, gave up) the battle with his cellulite, with the result that he now can’t play rugby for ****. Is that a good enough reason to dishonestly deny that he was ever any good? I don’t think so.

• 196.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Pierre,

We all know that great players can do it year in and year out. The thing is with all the televised sport is that the opposition can look for that “chink in the armour”.

I think that it is not just a question of losing form but rather a weakness being found out and exploited and the player not adapting or changing tactics.

That distinguishes good from average, but a relatively fair point on the quota thing.

• 197.wilfred: Reply to this comment

pierre
    spot on.
    i think keo is doing mallet’s dirty work.

as for stan and onlooker( ithink they the same person) it must be so painfull yo see how well the country is doing.

• 198.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

Mascot,

I did not talk religion and I’m happy to debate relgion on a site that’s appropriate for such a debate. Politics and rugby go hand-in-hand in SA, but religion not. To call Meshoe an “unthinking fanatic” is anyway not a good start to a debate between us as I respect him as person and many of his views.

• 199.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

QD= PLANK!!!! A big qouta plank!!! It’s an insult to the Bok jersey that he ever put it on.

• 200.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

QD = Quota Doos

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.