Pick ‘Ackers’ for the Boks

Sharks hard man AJ Venter has urged the national selectors to pick veteran lock Johan Ackermann and not hold his age against him.

Venter, speaking to Keo.co.za, said Ackermann had been a revelation in the Sharks pack and had added grunt and granite to the unit.

“We call him the jaws of life when it comes to protecting or winning the ball in a maul. If he wraps his arms around an opponent that bugger is going nowhere and when he’s got the ball in contact, no one is going to wrestle it from him,” said Venter. “His presence also means guys like Britzie and I feel like youngsters. We are no longer veterans.”

Venter said Ackermann was playing as well as he has ever seen the big guy perform and added that the match-up with Bakkies Botha in Saturday’s Vodacom Super 14 showdown would be worth the admission fee alone.

“Ackers has added a dimension to our pack. He really gives us solidity and he has stabilized our tight five. His calmness and presence is also a great boost for the team. He is in great shape and his performances this season again show how important experience is and why we should never discard the so-called older brigade too soon.”

Ackermann, after a fine season with Griquas in 2005, was drafted into Dick Muir’s Sharks for the Super 14.

Venter, adding to captain John Smit’s sentiments of Monday, said the Sharks had changed their approach for all the South African matches.

“In the past we have been guilty of turning every South African match into a derby and losing focus. We have worried too much about the other SA team and forgot to focus on our own strengths. Our approach on Saturday is that we prepare for the Bulls as we would any other team in the competition. If they want to motivate themselves on the derby element that’s their issue. We don’t see it as a Bok trial. We don’t see it as individuals having to prove a point against another Bulls individual. We know we have to win to stay alive in the competition and that is our motivation, to be successful and still be in a position to challenge for the play-offs.”

Venter said it was obvious that the Sharks would physically have to be on top of their game to beat the Bulls, but stressed there was so much more to the Sharks game plan than a physical presence.

“I’d like to think we have more to offer and I think people who have watched the Sharks this season would agree. We have played some very good rugby and there has been a balance in our approach. We have concentrated on patience when we have the ball and not rushing things. We know it will be physical, but that is the least of my concerns. I know physically what our pack and the team, collectively, is capable of. More importantly, this season we have seen how our players can attack space and play from depth. If we play like we train, we should be alright.”

The Sharks have injury concerns around halfbacks Ruan Pienaar and Tony Brown, but Venter said any Sharks starting XV would be capable of leaving Loftus with a win.

“If we do the basics well and play as we have this season we will win. Obviously Ruan and Tony have been very instrumental to our success, but credit must be given to those guys who have also played at 9 and 10. They have been very good and the depth the coaches have built in the squad this season is a strength.”

147 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.Ant227: Reply to this comment

Sometimes it is fun to laugh at the utterly
    f$%&ing stupid guys on this site……. only sometimes.

• 102.Stan: Reply to this comment

I am out of you?
    Ek dink Ig se vrou of meisie gaan baie bly wees om dit te ****!
    Bwahahahaaaaa!!!!!!!
    LMFGA!

Anyway, dont make promises.Show us that you are a man of your word by not returning.

• 103.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Ping-Pong..Lekker!

• 104.Ig: Reply to this comment

Sometimes….but flaming wars piss on my battery

• 105.Stan: Reply to this comment

ant227,
    i will introduce you to my good friend Doom…

• 106.jondood: Reply to this comment

mascot

Thanks for playing.

nou fokoff

• 107.Stan: Reply to this comment

Stan 1
    mascot 0

• 108.Stan: Reply to this comment

Next victim?

• 109.Ant227: Reply to this comment

With you IG

I wonder why it is always the most idiotic of the posters who get into these wars???

Must be something about their specific mentalities.

• 110.carcass: Reply to this comment

Gloves are off, minds are dulled..zzzzz

• 111.jondood: Reply to this comment

Ant227

Give us some info on your nick?

• 112.Stan: Reply to this comment

karkas,
    wil jy n geraamte word?

• 113.pierre: Reply to this comment

Stan, do you want to be a catamite?

• 114.Stan: Reply to this comment

jondood,
    ek dink dit hou verband met sy breinkapasiteit of grootte van sy bonganer.

• 115.carcass: Reply to this comment

Stannetjie
    nee , ek het genoeg vleis aan my dankie.wil jy ?

• 116.pierre: Reply to this comment

Ig, how is Jake gonna justify picking Ackermann ahead of Danie Rossouw as backup for Bakkies? Surely continuity means something, and Danie hasn’t done much wrong. I do however agree that Ackers is awesome at the moment.

• 117.Stan: Reply to this comment

pierre,
    nou watse ding sal n catamite wees?
    dit klink soos die jonger broer van marmite…

• 118.pierre: Reply to this comment

…and there goes Stan talking about male genitalia again. How predictable. The most homophobic guy on the site, and all that comes out of his mouth is just ****, ****, ****. Probably all that goes into his mouth, too. Methinks the lady doth protest too much…

• 119.jondood: Reply to this comment

pierre

Ackers has a Green jersey, so we might be suprised.

Lets just hope he does not put Danie on flank again.

• 120.Stan: Reply to this comment

Ja, sy doen!

• 121.pierre: Reply to this comment

Hehe Stan, that’s quite funny dude. You’re a good sport.

• 122.pierre: Reply to this comment

jondood, good point, didn’t think of that. Jake is only averse to handing out new jersies, not to re-calling guys from the Viljoen/Straeuli era whenever he can use them.

• 123.yoda: Reply to this comment

Stan

Ek sien jy en mascot het mekaar biekie beter leer ken.Ha Ha

• 124.Stan: Reply to this comment

Persoonlik het ek geen probleem as Ackerman weer vir die Bokke speel nie, maar ek kan nie sien dat JW Danie sal drop nie.

• 125.Stan: Reply to this comment

yoda,
    Nou sal ons sien of hy n man van sy woord is.

• 126.carcass: Reply to this comment

Wat het gebeur dat Mascot so naat getrek het.? Dis maar net chit chat.

• 127.jondood: Reply to this comment

carcass

Wat het gebeur dat Mascot so naat getrek het.? Dis maar net chit chat.”

Dit is ok wat sy pa gese het.

• 128.carcass: Reply to this comment

Jondood
    sies man LOL

• 129.Reserve Naartjie: Reply to this comment

Ackermann’s playing well, but he will always have a poo-cloud hovering of his ginger crew cut for past indiscretions (as Ben Tune should have). How long did Ackermann sit out for his steroid bust (it was him wasn’t it)? Does anyone know if strength and muscle gained from steroids is long lasting or is it like creatine and something that fades if you’re inactive.
    You see my guns are looking a shade skinny and well… some work in the off season might just pay off. Hell, i could play for the Cats next year.

• 130.Stan: Reply to this comment

karkas,
    Hy reken Ig is n huigelaar.
    As hy grappies maak, dan moet ons dit aanvaar, maar as ons hom terugbyt dan skree hy soos n vark.

• 131.Stan: Reply to this comment

reserve naartjie,
    al is jy so maer soos n splitpin, sal jy nou kwalifiseer om vir die sharks te speel!

Ja, dit was Ackerman.

• 132.carcass: Reply to this comment

Wel, as mascot dit wil gee en nie wil vat nie ,dan moet hy maar cruise.

• 133.cab: Reply to this comment

Hang on Gecko and Gimp, but is there not some truth to the fact that our u19 lot got moered and smashed all over the park. I thought the other packs destroyed ours. sure smart rugby is the best, but you still need the strngth to win the ball.

• 134.spokie: Reply to this comment

Ja die Bulls en Sharks gaan mekaar opsmash….Sleg vir ons Springbokspan wat dan vol Stormers gaan wees…..net n gedagte moet nou nie weer kop verloor nie…Of miskien is ons sbringbokspan in elke geval vol stormeres.Ek vergeet Jake besef mens moet n ik he om te kan rugby speel.

• 135.sarky: Reply to this comment

I’ll lay odds that Bakkies hands Ackers a fat smack.

If sharks have learnt anything, Ackers will turn the other cheeck.

• 136.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Dink AJ moet eerder sy bek hou en oor homself worry i.p.v. om homself aan te stel as een of ander raadgewer

• 137.banana man: Reply to this comment

Speaking about old men – Andre Snyman is back in the green and gold, does anyone have inside info on that logic, is it because of his experience here in England.

If I remember correctly one of his greatest tries came at Twickenham, and despite Leeds relegation, he scored some good tries and generally played well, whether well enough to be a Bok again….What do you guys think?

Regards, Ackers, if a bloke is playing well, surely he must play regardless of age?

• 138.cab: Reply to this comment

banana man,

ya, i think snyman is one of JW’s suprises, why all the interest otherwise? Its a good seelction, he’s a quality centre and wing, with experience of NH conditions.

• 139.banana man: Reply to this comment

While I never like to see us loose against Australia, I am almost glad that Jake has put a focus on winning over in the UK against England, above the tri nations.

• 140.Bluestripe: Reply to this comment

Tacitus – your post 17… lol! And you’re one of the guys accusing Luke of being arrogant on another thread…what a joke!

Bulls forwards will be overshadowed by the Sharks forwards on Saturday. And their all round game this season has been much more impressive than the Bulls. Watch the Bulls get humbled on Saturday.

• 141.Viper6: Reply to this comment

I agree with AJ! Ackerman should be in the Bok squad and so should Venter!

• 142.Futurebok: Reply to this comment

We have a world cup in two years, i think the only thing Ackerman can do for the boks is teach, tell the guys about the negatives of drugs early in your career. Maybe he deserves a Jersey for that purpose. seeing him paired with young Andries Bekker in order to rest the Bulls Boys could be useful. as the time grows on More guys are gonna get Bok Jerseys in order to build a strong squad and Ackerman isnt a bad choice, as he could be very useful in building up a strong core for RWC 2007.

• 143.Vatso: Reply to this comment

WHY DONT YOU RATHER BRING BACK YOUR OUPA GROOTJIE I THINK HE WILL PLAY BETTER BECAURES HE IS PROPALY DEAD BY NOW

• 144.ddrek: Reply to this comment

The bakleiers must have all gone to bed. Entertaining awaking this morning (on the other side of the world from virtuually all of you) and reading what transpired after my last post 76 ,i think.
    YODA
    I always joke if im not talking about players and game plan.Im as *** as a brick ,but it bugs me as little as it bugs a brick too.
    Im one of us unfortunate souls who was raised at Newlands eating peanuts with my dad on the railway stand and smelling cigar smoke (I still love it when I go there and the old memories come back through the air)The rest of thetime I was with the lighties behind the poles running on the field patting huge guys on the lower back at the end of the game and then tackling the **** out of each other till we were exhausted.The odd dust up with a kid from the Boland would occur sometimes. What memories.
    Now I follow the Stormers coz i love seing the ground,that kuck shadow that makes it hard to see and maybe i’ll see a kid in the crowd i remember or better still a babe.
    The team drives me mad most of the time and I support every bok franchise ,but when the storms or WP have a purple patch I loose my voice like its the Boks.
    Having said that I enjoyed Skinstad for his skill ,his attitude(positiveness) and his unpredictabilty that was nothing like Slaptjips’.

I just think we’d get more female babes suporters at the games and on the tele if our boys were a bit prettyer,hence 15 Skinstads as the team of the future(Harry viljoens words I am told)and some of his flair too would not go amiss.

Keep up the entertainment guys.Sheez,seems Mascot got a bit hot with Stan there.

Ig,
    What is ‘capish ‘ in english ? Is it like Kapow ,you’re outta here,the smoke thing that makes things dissappear?

• 145.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Angry little man mascot….losing your rag like that doesn’t look very good.

Surely there is more to your life than fighting people on a Rugby forum????

• 146.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

It’s “capisce” — wopspeak, of course. Vaguely pronounced “capeesh”

Capisce?

• 147.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Ja,Tackler what does it mean though? Am I about to be educated by the great ? Tackler.
    No holier than though **** now,just shed some light if you know it.
    Who is your kiwi team??

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.