Pick ‘Ackers’ for the Boks
25 Apr 2006
Sharks hard man AJ Venter has urged the national selectors to pick veteran lock Johan Ackermann and not hold his age against him.
Venter, speaking to Keo.co.za, said Ackermann had been a revelation in the Sharks pack and had added grunt and granite to the unit.
“We call him the jaws of life when it comes to protecting or winning the ball in a maul. If he wraps his arms around an opponent that bugger is going nowhere and when he’s got the ball in contact, no one is going to wrestle it from him,” said Venter. “His presence also means guys like Britzie and I feel like youngsters. We are no longer veterans.”
Venter said Ackermann was playing as well as he has ever seen the big guy perform and added that the match-up with Bakkies Botha in Saturday’s Vodacom Super 14 showdown would be worth the admission fee alone.
“Ackers has added a dimension to our pack. He really gives us solidity and he has stabilized our tight five. His calmness and presence is also a great boost for the team. He is in great shape and his performances this season again show how important experience is and why we should never discard the so-called older brigade too soon.”
Ackermann, after a fine season with Griquas in 2005, was drafted into Dick Muir’s Sharks for the Super 14.
Venter, adding to captain John Smit’s sentiments of Monday, said the Sharks had changed their approach for all the South African matches.
“In the past we have been guilty of turning every South African match into a derby and losing focus. We have worried too much about the other SA team and forgot to focus on our own strengths. Our approach on Saturday is that we prepare for the Bulls as we would any other team in the competition. If they want to motivate themselves on the derby element that’s their issue. We don’t see it as a Bok trial. We don’t see it as individuals having to prove a point against another Bulls individual. We know we have to win to stay alive in the competition and that is our motivation, to be successful and still be in a position to challenge for the play-offs.”
Venter said it was obvious that the Sharks would physically have to be on top of their game to beat the Bulls, but stressed there was so much more to the Sharks game plan than a physical presence.
“I’d like to think we have more to offer and I think people who have watched the Sharks this season would agree. We have played some very good rugby and there has been a balance in our approach. We have concentrated on patience when we have the ball and not rushing things. We know it will be physical, but that is the least of my concerns. I know physically what our pack and the team, collectively, is capable of. More importantly, this season we have seen how our players can attack space and play from depth. If we play like we train, we should be alright.”
The Sharks have injury concerns around halfbacks Ruan Pienaar and Tony Brown, but Venter said any Sharks starting XV would be capable of leaving Loftus with a win.
“If we do the basics well and play as we have this season we will win. Obviously Ruan and Tony have been very instrumental to our success, but credit must be given to those guys who have also played at 9 and 10. They have been very good and the depth the coaches have built in the squad this season is a strength.”

147 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
25 Apr 2006, 09:43 am
Ackerman would be a dragon for the boks
25 Apr 2006, 09:48 am
If Bakkies is only going to play 60min each game, then let Ackermann play the other 20. It’s out of Ackermann’s own stupidity that he only got 8 caps – getting banned for drugs etc. But he did well to get back in the Bok side, although always second best to Andrews. But now, maybe he could be the guy to spark some grunt in the pack, especially on the odd day Bakkies goes walkabout.
25 Apr 2006, 09:48 am
While you at it look at getting Mark Andrews back too.
25 Apr 2006, 09:49 am
if i was jake,i would pick the following locks for the bok squad of 45:
Victor (merrit and bok no.1 lock)
Young player he could help,Bekker,Skeate
Bakkies (merriet and bok no.1 lock)
Ackerman for expeirence and leader of the pack.
Young players,Bekker,skeate,muller.
Locks for squad: Matfield,Bakkies,Bekker,Skeate,Ackerman. Muller/Rossouw.
Good combo of youth experience and consitacny.
keeping the old players breeding new ones for the future!
25 Apr 2006, 09:53 am
yeah gecko, imagining facing bakkies for 40-60 min and then this oke comes on, eina man.
25 Apr 2006, 09:55 am
I would play Ackerman and a youngster (ie Skeate, etc) for the so called lesser games, like Scotland. That way Matfield and Bakkies wont get burnout and the youngster has the advantage of playing next to an experienced senior player to help him along.
25 Apr 2006, 10:00 am
On the button Gimp
gimps
i agree!
Keo
Any news on whether the Sharks will or have signed Brown for the remainder of the season. Intially he was only here for the S14, but I think he would be really good for our team if he stayed for the CC.
Reading this article I think the difference between the two teams on saturday will be their mental approach. The Sharks seem to have the right frame of mind for the game, i’m not so sure about the bully boys tho.
25 Apr 2006, 10:04 am
I would definately take Ackerman to the World Cup. We cannot do without someone of his experience and ability. He always looks so focused on the field and he looks extremely strong and fit, he looks fitter than most locks around.
25 Apr 2006, 10:07 am
boeja
you a stormer?
25 Apr 2006, 10:08 am
no way ackerman will be picked
25 Apr 2006, 10:11 am
ackers is the perfect player to take over if bakkies cant play. together with vic and albert we’ll have a lot of experince at lock
25 Apr 2006, 10:16 am
yoda
you a shark?
yes im stormer supporter.
25 Apr 2006, 10:18 am
Jake said in an earlier article a few weeks back that we should be prepared for a few surprises this year. He’s going to rest the core players so that they are not overplayed. He was going to do it at the end of last year on tour but was pressurised into picking his best team. He needs to do a Graham Henry and have a very good experienced B team. Not only to rest key players but to have a team worthy of playing the midweek games for the boks during the world cup. Expect a few new or reselected boks this year.
25 Apr 2006, 10:20 am
well done Frans Ludicorus, Ackerman was supposed to be in the cats squad.
Naas Oliver from the stormers was in the cats pre-season squad, but of course we didn’t need him we had Tiaan Snyman.
If Frans has got a 5 year plan looks like we gonna loose all our players cause he hasnt got an eye for talent thats for sure.
wait!!! another example Jorrie Muller
25 Apr 2006, 10:24 am
I’ve lost count of the number of “hard men” that have arrived at Loftus with big reputations and even bigger expectations, only to limp off the field dejectedly halfway through the second half.
Victims that spring to mind are Richie Mccaw in the Crusaders match last year, and half the Polynesian giants from the Chiefs team in last year’s Loftus clash with the Bulls.
And Schulk “the Hulk” Burger was famously flattened by a Jacques Cronje steamroller in the Stormers visit to hell (known as Loftus in their dialect) last season.
Away from home, the Bulls don’t always rise to the occassion, true, but at Loftus they are bruisers of note.
All this speculation about Ackerman being in the Bok side may as well be put to rest now. He will most likely go off injured sometime during Saturday’s match. And add AJ Venter to that list while you’re at it. Jake might need a replacement for him after this weekend.
Jacques Cronje, Bakkies Botha and Danie Roussouw love nothing better than pummelling visiting wannabe’s into submission.
This weekend won’t be a party, surferboys. Better prepare for war. The Reaper is comin, and he is clad in Blue…
25 Apr 2006, 10:31 am
So wat Aj eintlik wil noem as dat as Akkies nie te oud is nie dan is hy ook nie????
25 Apr 2006, 10:31 am
just for that cocky attitude i will cheer fot sharks on sat!
25 Apr 2006, 10:32 am
Think Jake should pick this oke who cares if he is old, the wc is next year not in 10 yrs time and the poms won the world cup with a bunch of old foggies anyway. As the gimp rightly points out this would allow jake to give bakkies a rest, the fact that ackerman has a bok cap may count in his favour as jake rightly doesnt like to hand out new bok caps.
gavin
Good point, i cant believe that Frans had the likes of Naas Olivier,Ackerman and there are a few more weve missed im sure and he let them leave All frans needs to do now is sign Gus Theron on a 5 yr contract and he’ll have done everything a s14 coach could possibly do wrong :0
25 Apr 2006, 10:35 am
And the backs better not expect any mercy either. Frikkie Welsch and JP Nel don’t tackle to stop you from going forward, they tackle to knock you senseless.
I really hope that Andries Human plays on Saturday. His scrumming may be average, but his 30m running-start clean-outs at the rucks really add that little “extra” to a good, clean rugby confrontation, don’t you think…
But don’t sweat it, Sharkies, at least you have guys like Percy Montgomery and Adrian Jacobs to add some physicality and a hard edge to your line up…
25 Apr 2006, 10:40 am
The line has been cast…now the wait…
25 Apr 2006, 10:41 am
Danie Rossouw pummels no-one…
Too slow, can’t tackle and goes to ground straight away in the tackle.
He’s a mule.
25 Apr 2006, 10:45 am
tacitus,
and not to forget Browneye..
25 Apr 2006, 10:48 am
Tacitus
JP Nel certainly knocked the air senseless against the blues
thats probably why heyneke dropped him after that game.
25 Apr 2006, 10:50 am
France 07 …First south african to leave world cup for taking drugs…..
25 Apr 2006, 10:52 am
Taciturn
I used to like Jacques Cronje about 3 or 4 years ago. He must wear a Harry Potter dissappearance cloak when he’s on the field,I never see him. I guess he’ll throw in 2 big hits ,but hell that guy is the 1st i’d drop for a loosies squad of Vic,Bak,Ak,Hulk,AJ,Juan,big Joe and maybe Watson.Just no space for along for the ride Cronje anymore.
25 Apr 2006, 10:58 am
Stan
And how could I leave out Brent “the Beast” Russell. Sharkies, you sure you can’t get Stephen Brink to come out of retirment for just one game. He is like a rock on defence compared to the blond banana boy.
Redox
Did you see the Blues at Loftus last year?
25 Apr 2006, 11:00 am
Tacitus
Want to hear from you on Monay. One rule – No complaining about the ref. JP Nel, if his eyes were any closer together we could call him cyclops. that must explain his lack of periphial vision.
25 Apr 2006, 11:01 am
Jeeez,
aren’t we shouting “maak die Sharks almal Bokke” a little to soon?
25 Apr 2006, 11:04 am
Big Quinton D will donner them all!!
25 Apr 2006, 11:06 am
Smash this, smash that. When will Bulls supporters learn that rugby is not just a game of force and brute strentgh? It’s a game of skill and vision.
When you’re beaten you’ll go home shaking your heads thinking “How could we lose? JP Nel is so much bigger than Brent Russel”
25 Apr 2006, 11:07 am
Dik Davids sal niemand moer nie. Hy sal die een helfte opvreet en die ander helfte spyker.
25 Apr 2006, 11:08 am
Stormer,
Is dit dieselfde JP wat nou in die laaste 3 wedstyde vir JDV ore aangesit het?
25 Apr 2006, 11:10 am
boeja
no, im a bull, but anyone willing to choose bekker must be a stormer…
25 Apr 2006, 11:12 am
What Ollie Le Roux used to be for the Spur Burgers, my man Quinton D will become for Spur Steaks. Like he’ll vreet up those Spur Beef Steaks, he’ll also vreet up and spit out those Loftus Blue Cows … BRING ON THE RETURN OF QUINTON THE ANNIHALITOR!!!
25 Apr 2006, 11:12 am
No Stan that must be a completely different JP that you’re talking about.
25 Apr 2006, 11:13 am
Ja Stormer
And your namesakes have neither skill or brute strengh.
Me thinks you okes are faarked:grin:
25 Apr 2006, 11:17 am
Faarked yes we are. No argument there. But with 3 games to go the faarked stormers could still possibly finish above you guys. Wouldn’t that be great?
25 Apr 2006, 11:17 am
Stormer
“When will Bulls supports learn that rugby is not just a game of force and brute strength” – as a bulls supporter a agree with you fully.
But then it pisses me off that evertime the Bulls play Stormers, they totally destroy the so called “clever” players with brute strength with scores like 75-10 and 54-11 whatever.
Then they (Bulls) think they can carry on with that style of play!
So I blame the Stormers (and the Cats this year) for allowing the Bulls to beat them with a stupid game plan that can’t beat any team overseas!
25 Apr 2006, 11:18 am
Stan
Miskien is dit n ander JP want JP Nel het nie eens in al van die laaste 3 s14 wedstryde gespeel nie.
25 Apr 2006, 11:21 am
bryce
“Danie Rossouw pummels no-one…
Too slow, can’t tackle and goes to ground straight away in the tackle.
He’s a mule. ”
Did you watch Bulls vs Brumbies? Poor Rathbone got flattened.
25 Apr 2006, 11:23 am
Zaber. We apologise.
25 Apr 2006, 11:24 am
Stormer
I like it when you are sorry ahead of Bulls vs Stormers clash.
25 Apr 2006, 11:27 am
Maybe it was all part of a plan to lull you into a false sense of security and faith in your ‘game-plan’.
25 Apr 2006, 11:29 am
Redox,
Die laaste 3 wedstryde tussen die Bulle en die Stormers/WP…
25 Apr 2006, 11:31 am
Stan you don’t really think that JP Nel is better than JDV do you? Do you?
25 Apr 2006, 11:35 am
Stormer and Zaber (Condescendingly to the former, and arm-around-the shoulder for the latter)
We are talking about rugby here. If you want to rely only on skill and vision, you can choose any 1 of a number of sports: tennis, soccer, cricket, hockey – whatever.
Rugby is first and foremost about physical domination. The Bulls success of the last few seasons was not built solely around physical supremacy, but it was built PRIMARILY around it.
However, once the opposition was demolished in the physical confrontation, opportunities with loose balls, counterattacks and quick balls out wide opened up.
This year, with Hougaard back, that part of their game was neglected. Now, with Steyn, Jaco and Frikkie Welsch back in the mix, and with Pedrie at 8thman and Spies coming on in the second half, the REAL Bulls team has appeared.
So to the Sharkies. Prepare to be dominated, oh yes, but along with that, prepare to gather around in a circle behind your posts at least times during the match.
Habana, Jaco and Frikkie are going to have a field day.
The problem with the Sharks is that they now believe their own hype. My advice, keep your perspective. You are way ahead of the Stormers and Cats, roughly on a par with the Cheetahs, but not yet ready to stand toe to toe with the Bulls on a consistent basis. And before you rake up the old Currie Cup final example, note the reference to “consistent basis”. If that final was played ten times, the Bulls would win it nine and a half times.
So there you have it. In my books, the Bulls have 95% chance of beating the Sharks on Saturday.
To be honest, I would be disappointed with just a win. I want a hammering.
25 Apr 2006, 11:36 am
Nee Stormer, en ek het nooit so gesê nie.
JP is egter glad nie so kak soos wat jy hom probeer afmaak nie.
Is JDV dalk ook nie n bietjie overrated nie?
25 Apr 2006, 11:40 am
prepare to be dissapointed then.
“We are talking about rugby here. If you want to rely only on skill and vision, you can choose any 1 of a number of sports: tennis, soccer, cricket, hockey – whatever.”
Shouldn’t you be watching boxing or fighting then if brute force gets you excited. This is a ball game. And I think that you’re getting carried away with your recent ‘success’. One super12 semi final is nothing that other SA teams haven’t achived.
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All