Chiliboy is Jake’s Bok bolter

Blue Bulls Vodacom Cup hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle will be the shock inclusion in the enlarged Springbok squad announced on 13 May.

Bok coach Jake White told Die Burger’s Herbert Pretorius that he wants to invite the 19-year-old hooker to the Boks’ training camp in Bloemfontein. He is even considering including Ralepelle for the Bok team to play against Scotland.

Ralepelle’s inclusion means that neither Gary Botha nor Schalk Brits will be in the extended squad. John Smit and Hanyani Shimange are White’s top two hookers at the moment.

“I have no say in the compilation of South Africa’s Super 14 teams and that’s why it’s not my fault that he isn’t playing for the Bulls,” said the coach. “Chiliboy has proven himself at U19 and U21 level and I believe he’s good enough to repeat his performance at senior level. Remember that the hooker he played against in last year’s U21 World Cup final is the Australian Tatafu Polota-Nau, who has already played Test rugby for the Wallabies.”

Ralepelle played in both the U19 and the U21 World Championship victories. He was also named SA Rugby’s U19 player of the year.

“I’d like to see how he performs in a team with big locks, for example, Bakkies Botha and Johan Ackermann behind him and big props like Os du Randt and CJ van der Linde alongside him in the scrums. I’m sure he’ll cope,” White said.

White said Brits, who has been the Stormers first-choice hooker this year, would have to work harder on his scrumming technique and line-out throw-ins.

“At Test level you want a hooker who excels in those two facets and not as much someone who can run well with the ball in hand,” he said. “I must experiment with several new players and combinations, because I can’t possibly select my strongest possible team for all 12 Tests.”

270 Comments

• 1.stucky: Reply to this comment

i can already hear Britz packing his bags!

• 2.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

note how jake mentions ackermann, interesting.

• 3.gecko: Reply to this comment

Stucky – Britz can pack – but can never play against the Boks as he has pleyd for SA A

What Jake also said:

“I’d like to see how he performs in a team with big locks, for example, Bakkies Botha and Johan Ackermann behind him and big props like Os du Randt and CJ van der Linde alongside him in the scrums. I’m sure he’ll cope,” White said.

By saying this, the Bok coach hinted that a veteran like Ackermann (the 35-year-old lock who last played Test rugby in 2001) has a good chance to be included in the Bok squad.

“I will give serious consideration to include Johan Ackermann and BJ Botha (the Sharks tighthead). The Sharks have, as far as I’m concerned, the best tight five in the Super 14 at present. They made the Blues tight five, comprising several incumbent All Blacks, look quite ordinary on Saturday.”

White says he is looking for one or two players with attitude in his squad and that is why Andre Snyman will be given a chance to show what he can do.

“My message to Andre is going to be quite clear. I’m looking for an experienced guy with an attitude. He can add a lot of value to a team.

“We’ve seen it with Monty (Percy Montgomery) and Os. Perhaps they’re not playing the best rugby of their careers, but they still succeed in getting the best out of players around them.”

With Ralepelle on White’s short-list, it does not seem as if the Stormers first-choice hooker, Schalk Brits, forms part of White’s plans.

When White was asked what he thought of the on-form Brits, he said the mobile hooker should work even harder on his scrumming technique and lineout throw-ins.

“At Test level you want a hooker who excels in those two facets and not as much someone who can run well with the ball in hand.”

White emphasised that this year would be decisive to determine whether the Boks would do well at next year’s Rugby World Cup.

“I must experiment with several new players and combinations, because I can’t possibly select my strongest possible team for all 12 Tests.

“If I do that, all our best players will suffer from burn-out in 2007 and then we can forget about winning the World Cup. Hopefully the rugby public will understand this.”

• 4.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

white wants to select a bull !

• 5.Stan: Reply to this comment

White is going to ruin his future.
    He is far too young and already has a bad knee.

• 6.Ig: Reply to this comment

Not a bad bolter to pick !

• 7.Derek Noble: Reply to this comment

I still think 19 is too young for an international front row forward.

• 8.boeja: Reply to this comment

i rate chilibooi!and i also think ackerman could ad great value to the tight 5!

def a player for the future.
    what JW is doing,his got his players for 2007,his taking in very young talent to grow them into the future for 2011 and after!

• 9.pale_toe: Reply to this comment

britz can’t complain. there are definite shortcomings with his [hooker] game. if he really ever wants to play for boks he must prove he can do the basics-there is till plenty of time for him to work on this.

• 10.boeja: Reply to this comment

burger was 19,the year after that he was player of the world!!

• 11.gecko: Reply to this comment

Well Stan – if he has a bad knee they can just as well get the best out of him while he can still run.

Anyway, with Smit being captain, and 1st choice hooker – for a few years he might just do what Shimagne did – accumulate caps at the same rates of minutes on the field – 9 caps – 9 minutes in total?

• 12.stucky: Reply to this comment

To be honest i have not seen enough of Ralepelle to formulate my own opinion. Grooming the next captain maybe!

• 13.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Man, to be H Shimangi, what a life that guy has.

• 14.stucky: Reply to this comment

Does this mean Shimagne is out of the picture. Was he just a quota!

• 15.gecko: Reply to this comment

Ja Londonsark – it’s Jorrie-esque!

• 16.boeja: Reply to this comment

think they want chilibooi to get into the set up!
    think its a great idea!

• 17.londonshark: Reply to this comment

I doubt White will play him (CR), he’s too young for an international rows. He just wants give him Bok exposure.

• 18.Staal: Reply to this comment

stucky,

that “zipper-sound” is Britz zipping his carry-on for Flight BA 12454 to London.

But i can’t see him leaving – he’s got much to offer and he will become a bok this year.

On the other thread i’ve already posted about CB’s bad knee and i think he’s still to young to take on the forwards in the big league.
    He’s not a wing he’s the middle man of all the pressure.

And now he’s injured again! So we’ll definately have to be very selective with him because he’ll become a great player in future.

I think i can see Jakes problem because Shimange is utterly to big a carthorse to make the side.

Maybe he must call back the man mountain – Dale Stanton. I think Dale will consider a good offer – but only if it’s very good.

• 19.boeja: Reply to this comment

we have got enough hookers in bok side now JW is looking for the future!
    maybe he must do this in all positions! take young players into the squad and some more expiercend ones

• 20.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

this reminds me of when Harry Viljoen picked Fracois Swart for a training camp and the whole country blew their nut with his audacity.

Personally I think its great. Everyone has noted Chilliboys potential, and the fact he will become a bok regular in years to come. So why not introduce him to the culture, the team and some of the best players in the country who can only further help develop him.

I’d be very worried if Jake started him in the tri-nations, but would welcome any inclusion in an expanded 45 man squad. Perhaps Jake could also look at a youngster like Pierre Spies who will undoubteduly be a bok one day too. I am convinced he’s going to pick Pienaar, and would be very disapointed if he does not.

I think Jake has a problem with Britz, much like he has with Watson. These okes will never be good enough for him, and that is quite good for WP.

• 21.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

chiliboy will be captain one day … i have no doubt

• 22.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Post #13 & #15,

Or possibly Greef-esque or even more possibly Gus-esque?

• 23.boeja: Reply to this comment

i would also go with spies for a loosie!
    maybe jd moller for tight!

• 24.gecko: Reply to this comment

Saffa-guy – ja, maybe Gusque – but Greeff showed his worth – even if only for one season.

• 25.Anvil: Reply to this comment

If you good enough your old enough.

Chilliboy clears figures in JW’s post RWC plans.I doubt he will be given game time before that.

This is something like Nowke being picked for the EPYT 2004.The lad is being given the chance to wet his legs before being pushed to the deep end in test level.

Yes, he needs more expereince at S14 and CC level and pay his dues before he gets the call.BUT,what better way to learn than from the likes of Os,Smit and CJ ?

• 26.ciccino: Reply to this comment

Now I am realy confused. When Meyer played Chillyboy at the beginning of the S14 everyone was crying fault that HM ruining younr boy’s carriere. Now he is accused of not giving him enough game time. May be he would have got more if not injured. But people I really can not understand what bulls must do to sutisfy Bok’s management. Jacke White is so anti-bulls.

• 27.gecko: Reply to this comment

munkiboi – we shouldn’t get carried away with picking the youngsters – but if we are – Hilton Lobberts – he surely must be the next Andre Venter.

• 28.londonshark: Reply to this comment

As long as Ruan Pienaar is in, I’m happy.

The fact that he can play 10 will be the deciding factor because Jake WILL NOT drop a quota (Bolla) for a white player, nor will he drop the two Boks starters (Ricky and FDP).

• 29.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

White’s motives are rather easy to explain.

He has copped a lot of flack for all the splinters that have gathered in Shimange’s arse.

White wants Smit on the field, yet he needs an extra black player on the bench. If he keeps Shimange there, however, the pressure piles up for him to give Shimange some game time.

By replacing Shimange with Ralapele, White solves both problems. He now has his extra quota on the bench, but he also has the perfect excuse to give the guy only a few minutes per game – he is “blooding the younster gradually” or “grooming him for future captaincy”.

In SA rugby it is never as simple as this guy is the best, so he gets the Bok spot. The politicians are to be thanked for that.

• 30.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Ciccino, Jake won’t play him unless the Scotish front row consists of 3 blind Scotish hamsters.

He just wants to give him Bok exposure.

• 31.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Tacitus, well said mate.

• 32.Coach: Reply to this comment

Jake must get his words in order. He says he will not select players who have not proved themselves at Super 14 for at least 2 seasons.
    Now he picks Chilliboy.
    I am not disputing the talents of Chilliboy but Jake cannot send out say 1 thing and do another

• 33.gecko: Reply to this comment

Scotland may have beaten England and France in the 6 Nations – but they didn’t do it in the scrums – they just tackled their hearts out (and spoiling ball in the wet). So the Scotland front row is not to fear that much.

• 34.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

We good enough good front row players
    question: who would we like to see as the centers

• 35.boeja: Reply to this comment

coach,
    jake actually also said that he is not picking the super14 sides so if he ‘could’ pick the teams it would be a diffrent team running on the field,not his fault HM is not picking him for super rugby.so he obviously watched his vodacom games!

• 36.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

wow dit was goeie english

• 37.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Drunk ******, JDV and JF are our long term centers.

• 38.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

gecko – I am not suggesting pick them to play, or even pck them to the 30 man 3n squad. But Jake has proven his ability to recongnise the most talented players in the country, and comnine them with the odd form player here and there.

he knows which of the ‘form’ player are not good enough for test match rugby, and he wont pick them. in the same way pcik the youngsters to introduce them to the culture.

NZ and OZ do it ever year for their end of year tours. They pick kids (not always to play) we’ve never even seen or heard of in S12 and it clearly gives them an endge as it exposes them to top class rugby gently.

• 39.boeja: Reply to this comment

j.fourie
    m.joubert
    barry
    jean
    julies

young players:
    cooke
    barrit
    olivier

dont know which one of the youngster will make it

• 40.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Tacitus – only in SA would someone cosider criticising a coach for not picking a player who is 2nd choice to the captain.

Do you think the AB coach used to get criticised for leaving poor old Norm Hewitt on the bench and playing Sean Fitzpatrick all the time?

Shimmie is not the first hooker to get splinters, and he will not be the last. Jake should feel no good reason to give him game time, other than to rest his captain. National interests come first. Simple.

• 41.gecko: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey – JdV at 12, Schalk Britz at 13, JF at wing with Habana. Long term – Conrad Jantjes at 15. Hell, while I’m at it, my backline:

9 Pienaar
    10 No wiat, I’ll play Pienaar at ten, till a better 10 comes along, then move Pienaar to 9.
    So:

9: Januarie
    10: Pienaar
    11: Habana
    12: JdV
    13: Schalk Britz (ja slate me – but he can step and tackle)
    14: Fourie
    15: Jantjes

• 42.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Coach. Coach? Jake CAN send out say 1 thing and do another.

He just did. Maybe he changed his mind.

• 43.gecko: Reply to this comment

A Poms called Graham Dawe sat on the bench for something like 8 season – only got 4 caps during time – as he couldn’t lift Brian Moore from the hooking spot. Why? Moore was better 0 simple as that.

Bit like Whittaker for Oz

• 44.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Chilli is not being used properly. He is good enough to be getting game time in any of the S14 squads and he should be seeing more time on the park. JW is forward thinking enough to realise how good this kid could be, but must be frustrated that he isn’t being given the opportunity to play.

I’d rather he was included in the Bok squad and got limited game time against the “weaker” sides than just have him warming the bench or playing Vodacom cup. The WC is a year and a bit away and he needs to start mixing it up with the big boys. Nobody is suggesting he play every Tri Nations match. 19 year olds in NZ and Aus are called up when they are good enough, not when they are old enough.

• 45.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Gecko, I will Slate you.

Keo also had the moronic idea to play him at 12/13. The guy is a HOOKER!! He’s a special hooker because of his pace and great skills, but move him into the midfield and he becomes an average sized center with ‘good’ skills.

• 46.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Anybody got a list of the player selected ?

• 47.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

boeja – Cooke looks good, but I dont think hes big enough for Jake to pick at centre. Maybe wing, but politics dictate we’re likely to see black wingers only. I’d like him to pick Olivier though.

Otherwise no centres have had enough of an impact to dislodge the incumbents, despite their relatively poor form.

• 48.londonshark: Reply to this comment

On form and/or experience.

9 Ruan
    10 Jaco
    11 Habana
    12 JDV
    13 JF
    14 Chavanga (we need 2 quick wings)
    15 Percy

• 49.gecko: Reply to this comment

Londonshark – from your name I gather you live in the UK as well – so you must have the same problem as me – we don’t see all the games – therefor we only hear about Britz when he breaks the line etc.

But if you read the match reports, or the online papers, or listen to RSG to the Stormers games, you realise the guy can’t hit his jumpers in the lineout, and can’t scrum (remember – he will be up against strong scrummaging hookers like Meulamu and Thompson). I agree, the guy is a talent, but not at hooker. Maybe flank, but more likely centre.

• 50.RedCard: Reply to this comment

I’m confused, I know Keo didn’t write the article but someone at Keo came up with the headline. On News24, Keo says Pierre Spies, should be Jake’s Bolter?

• 51.BMM: Reply to this comment

I have always defended Jake and I will defend his decision to select Chiliboy now expose him to the Bok culture and structures BUT he really does need to be carefule about the messages he sends out. Last year with Schalk Britz he clearly sent a message out that he must play CC and S14 and prove himself before being selected. While U19 and U21 world cups are tough I really think that S14 is a big step up and of course Test rugby is another leap up.

Final word of caution do not underestimate the Scottish scrum. Those Jocks can scrum when they want to – especially when they are underdogs!!

• 52.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

I’m a Brits fan, but his line-out throws need a lot of work. is brilliant in the loose, but because of his unpredictability be can get isolated. If Jake picked him and we lost lineouts against the AB’s with their backline, it will cost us dearly. I think it is merely a coaching thing and can be rectified, Throwing is not easy, but its not quantum physics either. He would have done much better at a union like the Bulls or Cheetahs, even the Sharks, with dominant jumpers and decent forward coaches. same goes for scrumming. I’d have liked to see him packing in the Sharks front-row in a decent unit. How much confidence can he have having played in the Stormers puff pastry pack?
    Having said that, Chiliboy will still go very far and will be Captain eventually. And if his past performances are anything to go by it will be deservedly so.

• 53.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Gecko, fair enough. Flank could be an option though (as you said).

• 54.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

bluebarb – you’re behind the times there mate.

the stormers actually have a half decent pack these days. its the backs that cant catch or pass that are the prroblem….

But if you’re gonna suggest a better union for Britz, there could be no better than the Cheetas. Springbok props, and a superbly gifted coach. Sharks have Smit. Why would he go there?

• 55.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

Londonshark,
    Please keep your comments about what you perserve to be quota players to your ten a room flat in bethnal green with like minded f@%$£ups who couldn’t hack it in SA.

• 56.gecko: Reply to this comment

LondonShark – by the way, I stupidly put up a few beers against jondood that the Stormers will beat the Bulls – payable at the East Dulwich Tavern – do join when I have to pay up.

• 57.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Cicinno ,

Cant see how jake can be lablled anti Bulls. I mean he just picked their hooker in the bok squad. Beside Chillie-boy is without a doubt the future bok captain , now is the time for him to familiarise himself with the setup , It will do wonders for him to experience a WC at this early age , and for him to go t the WC he has got to get some experience under his belt. Ollie made his test debut in the front row at the tendet age of 19 , A While ago a 19 year old from WP went to the WC in 2003 , the next year he was the rugby player of the year……Schalk Burger. If he is ready then age should not matter, and i think he is for at least a few mins against Scotland , how else are we going to know ? Jake has proven in the past that he knows a hell of a lot more of player abilities than the rest of the pretenders that call them coaches in SA. Remember Habana ? remember the reaction when he was selected , funny how when a black 19 year old gets selected its a problem. In any event , my personal opinion , if he is good enough , play him , at least for a few mins to test , whether he is black , coloured , white or pink as long as he is South African !!!

In Jake I trust

• 58.gecko: Reply to this comment

Sparticus – I agree – Jake includes pretty much the whole Bulls pack (and a few reserve frowards from the Bulls) in all his squad – so to call him anti-Bulls does seem harse.

• 59.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Schalk Brits – whats the value of having a hooker who can side step and dummy pass but not find his jumpers or scrum in a test match???? The TEAM ain’t never get any quality ball.

• 60.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Sparticus, Perhaps. Ever asked Schalk Burger how gatvol he is for rugby?

• 61.sarky: Reply to this comment

Reckon if Oz / AB can play schoolboys, why not us. FFS against Scotland he’d at least get a good workout in the scrum.

Schalk Brits / Brent Russell re not going anywhere whilst JW is coach. Pity, but test rugby is more demanding.

• 62.Redox: Reply to this comment

munkiboi

Talk about a storm in a teamcup , the press and some supporters really threw their toys outa the cot when F Swart was invited to the bok camp. Because he is a black kid id imagine the uproar would be twice as bad if white did the same with chilliboy.

saffa_guy

I dont know about Gus-esque , unlike shimmie, the gusman usually plays its just that we wish he didnt , i wish we could call him Gus “Splinters” Theron

• 63.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Guys, had a chat with Jake last night at the Castle Locker Room function at Loftus.

Brought a new lihght to his selection policy in my eyes! Have a whole lot more respect for him after last night!

He is picking an extended squad as we all now this year. The main reason being, he needs to get some of the guys in the gym for a 6 month period to bulk up and become a little bigger. Reason being, that a lot of the guys performing quite well for us these days are between 22 nad 24 years old.

If you take the england squad for instance, they are mostly between 27 and 28. Now he says if these two teams stand nect yto each other in the tunnel and the Pommy boys look us over, they think to themselves, **** we can beat these boys! He also says that a guy being 27/28 is stronger than a guy being 22/24 – physically. The older guy had more time in the gym!

Tha is also why he is bringing back guys like Andre Snyman, he wants – as he pu it- ‘n paar Menere – in the team, that when the other guys look us over they think to themselves, ****, these guys are going to donner us!

• 64.cab: Reply to this comment

bloody hell, schalk brits is wasted. chilliboy is good but he’s 19 FFS. A test hooker? He’ll get muched. Think Brits might make a move, can’t really blame him can you.

• 65.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Redoz,

I’m actually hoping for Gus “Retired” Theron ;-)

• 66.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

JW is a moron.

So…had he had a say in the starting 15′s of the S14 Chilli would have been starting?

What about Gary Botha…..a capped Bok already?
    What about Bothas backup….the previous U21Bok hooker?

Hell, what about the Cheetahs hooker who has been playing bladdy well?

Why doesn’t he make the right decision and ask Shimage to injure himself?

The oke can’t hold down a starting spot in any side he has ever played in?

Anyway, this is only the start of his bizarre selections for the season.

Expect to see Solly T selected ahead of Watson…and just about any other opensider in the country even though he can’t make the Wildebeest starting 15 at the moment.

Gecko

Britz is a bloody good hooker and although is play in the loose phases of the game are exceptional…his throwing in and scrummaging are no worse than Shimage(who apparently also couldn’t throw last season according to Gert Smal).Last season there where no concerns over his line out throwing or scrummaging….possibly it is the fact that he is new at the franchise,with a new locking combo(who are both very green) and the fact that his tight head is pants and his loosehead is green as well.

Had to laugh at JW’s….”Tatu Pau-Laufa(who the frak is he?), Chilli’s U19 opponent for Australia has already played test rugby,blahblahblah”……..probably one of the reasons their scrum was a bloody joke last season and possibly why ours will be this season.

• 67.Redox: Reply to this comment

ciccino

Your right dont know what the fuss was about there either heyneke has 3 hookers injured and he selects chilliboy on the bench and chris turns it into this big drama, as simon points out above ralepele’s oponent in the u21 wc final polota-nau has already played test rugby.

• 68.gecko: Reply to this comment

I remember Kitch Christie calling Bennie Nortje up to his World Caup training squad – and at that time Nortje did not even have a game from Transvaal behind him, just Tvl u/21. And the uproar that followed that.

• 69.Reserve Naartjie: Reply to this comment

Chiliboy’s good and I’m all for him being groomed/blooded for the boks, but then drop Shimange who has been kept on his provincial bench by Brits and who also has deficiencies in his game (if everyone is pointing at Brits’ lineout and scrumming failings, which personally I’m not convinced about).
    What no other hooker in SA has and what Brits does have at hooker or any other bloody position you choose to train him at (re Post 45 Londonshark and the centre/flank thing) is gamebreaking ability. It sparks every now and then in **** teams like the Cats and the current Stormers, but with quality players he will shine in both the glory boy sense and also in that he will make others look good if he gets extra marking (he’s got excellent hands, vision and a better pass than most flyhalves).
    Yes, he was windgat or his words were twisted by journos, but the guy is supremely talented and other national sides would kill for a payer like him. Jake’s being stubborn is not going to help anyone and leaving Brits to rot on the shelf while he is in his prime (wait for the inevitable injury years) is stupid.
    Get over the personal issues Jake, same with Luke Watson. Bravo, you da man, now use the in-form/game breaking players even if it means changing your mind and catching a chirp in the press.
    PLEASE!

• 70.Redox: Reply to this comment

St.Petersburgbok

Polota-Nau is the irb u21 player of the year and he plays for the waratahs havent u watched any of the tah games this season ? i think he is a real talent.

• 71.Anvil: Reply to this comment

stinkvinger, The flip side to that is that size means squat in modern test rugby.Professional rugby players have the responsibility of keeping themselves well conditioned and fit.

• 72.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Just to clarify my stance on the situation….

I have no problem with JW taking a 19 year old(who obviously has massive potential)along to the WC to experience the ride.

but,

then your first 2 hookers need to be the business….and Shimange is pants and has done nothing ever to justify his selection.

• 73.gecko: Reply to this comment

StP – read saffa-guy post #59 – says it all. (and as you well know, I’m a Capetionian – so should be talking up Britz)

Gary Botha turned out a damp squid. Great provincial players – so-so Super rugby player

• 74.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Anvil, its not only about size, but more about strenght. Our guys are def weaker in the upperbody department than any of NZ Aus or Eng

• 75.David: Reply to this comment

Chiliboy is a good example of why we need a stricter draft system at S14 level. Even though there’s a limit on S14 squads, the unions are using their contracts to prevent players being used by other franchises. It appears that franchises are reluctant to recruit players from other regions for the S14 unless they can also sign them at CC union level as well.

• 76.Redox: Reply to this comment

saffa_guy

LOL! How about Gus “got a real job” Theron.

• 77.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Jake also talked about what the presence of the older guys do for the team spirit, especially in the locker room before a game.

He says you can see how the younger guys spirits are lifted just by seeing that Os is sitting in his corner, slowly putting on his kit. You can see how the guys start believing in themselves

• 78.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Stinkvinger,

Man, does anybody really wanna see OS in his jock strap??? Kinda like an Afrikaaner Sumo Wrestler … ;-)

• 79.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Munki,
    The Stormers have only been adequate in the front in the last three games. And their loosies are carrying the tight forwards. Before that they were shocking. how many jumpers has Britzie missed this season? and I’m not talking about contested line-outs either-just plain misses. J.Smit will be on Springbok duty for the rest of they year, and if Schalk is not in the Bok squad, where better than the Sharks for him to get some good coaching and gametime? I agree that the Cheetahs would also be a good option for him, but anywhere would be better than the Stormers.

• 80.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Gecko

Why is it when Skeate takes 7 out of 7 throws in a game Britz’s throwing is not mentioned?

Hasn’t the Stormers tight 5 been performing far better this season than last.

Why is Britz given no credit for any of this?

When did Gary Botha become a damp squid?

Me thinks you need to watch him some more, although still very young he is quietly settling into his role of elder statesman in the Bulls frontrow.

And there is not a harder working hooker in the country.

• 81.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

But the most interesting fact, was when we asked him about Andre Snyman. He said that he phoned ANdre and told him he wanted him for the boks, andre immediately said yes. He was on a 1.5 Mill a yer contrac at Leads and Jake offered him R486 000. He said yes.

Jake also told him that he doesn’t get any garuantees that he will play. He said it’s fine! At the end of the year Jake will phone him and tell him that he is either in the world cup squad or not and he made no promises.

• 82.sparticus: Reply to this comment

redcard ,

yes must admit schalk does look a tad bit jaded. But its because of the amount of games he is playing , moral is down in the stormers camp (I dont care what they say , no one likes losing) , plus he is not playing in his prefered position. I dont think the reason is because he made his debut at the age of 19. besides , cant see Chillie Boy playing week in and week out , If Smit should get injured dont be suprise to see Gary Botha called up ahead of Chillie. Jake said , Chillie is being groomed , getting a few mins here and there and getting into the swing of things , by the next WC in 2011 Chillie would have already been part of the bok setup for 5 years and would have (hopefully) experienced a WC. I laugh whenever I read all the negative comments about Jake , he has proven to be by far the best coach we had since Kitch. Show me another coach who could have pulled SA out of the RUT they were in 3 years ago , this he did with all the **** politics in the background. Remember Maakraaf ? Straulli ? Van Rooyen ? Camp Staalgraad ? Look where we are now………

• 83.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Yup, Saffa_guy, i think seeing Os in his jock strap are either gonna motivate or scare the **** outa you, anyway, youa re gonna play the game of your life

• 84.gecko: Reply to this comment

StP -the law of averages says G Botha should have produced a few match winning performances by now. But you never hear him get that high praise.

But, talking about average – well, that bring me back to the Stormers … look, I like Britz, but on a cold July eve in Dunedin, or a November afternoon at Twickers or in Paris – when you need your first phase ball – I’d rather have Smit (or Botha for that matter).

But playing a test in May on the highveld – different story – but those test are not the important ones. As to the Skeate example – it’s the other two throws to other players that was missed and lead to tries for Hurricans, Brumbies, ………. (fill in the blank)

• 85.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Maybe you should take your finger out of Jake’s arse. He is like a chameleon and changes everytime we hear him. I think it is also very unprofessional of him to discuss others remuneration with you if he in fact did.

I am happy for Chilliboy as long as it is a gradual proccess, but Snyman has seen his best days when he left SA and I rated him then.Hopefully he can hack it in an international setup. I am sure we

• 86.cab: Reply to this comment

stinkvinger,

pretty interesting about the rappore between JW and Snyman, any truth in it?

• 87.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Funny how 19 is too young for a black man. But Hougaard, Schalk Burger, Joe van Niekerk and Juan Smith were not too young.
    It’s time you racist biggots wake up.

• 88.cab: Reply to this comment

But does Chilliboi bring any more physicality to he frontrow than Brits? Cant believe he does. The reasoning is not consistent.

• 89.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Xkreni-Wp

He ctually said that infront of a big audience. All he tried to prove was the commitment from Andre’s side.

I thinki you are more of a chameleon thyan him, he stuck with his guns and will do the same again this year, don’t expect to many surprises for his 1st choice team, is gonna look the same

• 90.gecko: Reply to this comment

flatsboy – i think the issue being discussed is 19 being to young for a front row forward.

Remember Paulse, Willemse, Jantjes etc where all very young when first called up.

• 91.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Cab, Yup it’s true, can ask anyone in the audience

• 92.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

Gecko

I will slate you too mate – Brits is slower than JP Nel, and he cant even hack it against fast outside centres. The Chiefs ran him ragged by rounding him on the outside.

WHy does everyone persist in wanting Habana at wing? FFSS!!! He can pass, offload in the tackle, has made some brillint tackles this season,and would always draw two defenders leaving space for his wing. In fact, his kicking is shite, and for that reason alone should not be on wing.

Fourie is the natural successor to Percy. Tall, can kick, can defend, is fast and can join the line. Perfect!

• 93.gecko: Reply to this comment

Cab – Rugbyworld South Africa – the new mag in SA has a piece on Chilli – and talks specifically about him cleaning out Ackermann in the Super 14 warm-up game – this guy is a brute – for a 19-year-old.

• 94.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

its not the bulls jake is biased against, it is clearly the stormers.

how else can you describe his apparent refusal to pick schalk brits and luke watson…..?

• 95.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

WWW,

Puts a smile on the face that we’re trying to find places for quality players :-)

• 96.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Since we are speculating about fullbacks.

How abour Ruan Pienaar. He is fast, he can kick, he defencds well, he reads the game well and he had some of his best run when he ran from the back after collect a kick.

• 97.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Maybe because Britz is from Mosselbay and played for the Lions and Watson the sharks Munki

• 98.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

About the hooker thing.

White is prepared to give Cilliboy a chance with 2 big locks behind him(clearly acknoledging the fact that Chilly might strugle in the scrum), but he is not prepared to give Schalk a chance. Hypocryt if you ask me.

• 99.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

I think Jake is biased against The Cats, The Bulls, The Sharks, The Stormers, The Cheetahs, The Spears, The Valke, The Bulldogs, The Elephants and the local U13 team … it all depends on what jersey i’m wearing for the day

• 100.yoda: Reply to this comment

Our (SA) forwards always look ok during the S14

When the currie cup starts, you’ll see that wp tight 5 going backwards again…And everybody will say “skeate is KAK” and “brits cant scrum”.

They didnt struggle during the S14 last year, they wer only found wanting during the CC.

So i’ll say it now, skeate is kak, so is bekker
    and old brits should not even be in contention for the springbok team until he can do the basics right. It doesnt help when you’ve got the best jumper in the world, but the hooker cant hit the target!

Provice need selbourne boome back. Asap.

And that flashy brits should start practising his throw in in stead of his stepping. Only then will he be taken seriously

• 101.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Brickwall,

Chilli-boy is getting the big locks due to his age. At 19 he still has physical development to undergo.

Schalk is at his prime so aint gonna get much stronger and cannot throw straight.

• 102.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Brickwall,
    it makes sense, but JW has body types that he chooses positions from, and maybe RP will be a little on the small side. I also think he needs to be a bit closer to the action.

• 103.cab: Reply to this comment

gecko, *****, cleaning out ackerman, no mean feet.

i watched him play in the u19 world cup and he looked brilliant, tough and mature beyond his years, but i cant believe he can raise the massive leap to test level? Anyway, maybe Jake has a point, if he’s surrounded by props like Os, CJ, Bakkies and Ackers.

Who gets dropped Shimage or Botha?

• 104.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Bluebarb

I don’t think Pienaar is as small as you think. He is taller than Percy and he probably weigh the same. I do however agree that one should have him involved in the game. At the mo it looks like January and Du preez will be the top choices. Therefore I would try him at 15 to get him involved rather than not at all.

• 105.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

I reckon Chilli-Boy’s inclusion is more of a gradual introduction process more than anything else. Will get a few minutes here and there against the weaker nations but doubt whether he’ll be thrown in against the big guns.

• 106.jondood: Reply to this comment

cab

Surely both get dropped as Smit is our Captain and hooker.

• 107.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Thats the problem Stink. It’s not that I want him to stick to his guns but to pick form players across the board, not because they played for him at age group level or last year.

Even worse stating it to a crowded room. If I had a boss and he told everybody what I earn, I’d be pissed.

• 108.gecko: Reply to this comment

Cab – get hold of the mag -1st issue – April I think – also drove BJ Botha back a mile according to article.

• 109.gecko: Reply to this comment

Cab – Shimange – no doubt. Botha is a lot younger – building for future.

• 110.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Xkreni,

Consistency in selection is intergral to success. Form is temporary, class is permanent.

• 111.ciccino: Reply to this comment

Spartacus,
    I’m very happy for Chillyboy as I believe he is going to be a legend. He has to choose bulls players as they are the best in SA specially those comming trough bulls junior teams. My point is that JW hates bulls as a union he takes on them and HM every time possible. On sunday he was slamming HM for selecting BH on the wrong wing, but habana played at 11 the whole competition and once he is chosen at 14 in the team’s interest it was seen by JW as the bigges crime. But he never sais anything about Jaque furie playing wing or JDW playing our of his bok position for example. Again when chilyboi was playing for bulls in fabruary they were saying that it is wrong and this could ruin young boy. Now he is slaming HM for not giving enough time to Chilliboy. I really don’t anderstand this. Firs of all someone tell JW that Chilliboy is injured at the moment. Second, please tell him to be consistent in what he is saying.

• 112.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Like Barry Saffa?

• 113.cab: Reply to this comment

jondood, yeah but current squad has 3 hookers, if chilli comes in thats 4, surely got to drop 1?

gecko, yip, Botha offers something else, would prefer Chilli to Shimange. Yes, will try and get a hold of that publication, how do you buy that stuff in the UK? i went looking for SA rugby the other day, but the shops i went to, even the suposed suppliers, didn’t have it.

• 114.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Xkreni,

If you do that, you will have a new Bok team every year, how do you want to win the world cup if you don’t have the guys play together for a couple of years?

When Jake took over, Strauli made 85 guys Boks. that’s ridiculous! Nobody can build on that!

In any case, wa all know that Jake doesn’t have any say in the S14. How can he drop a guy if he is playing ut of position in the S14? Take Schalk for instance, not a very good S14, but he is still our best bet at 6, although Fester is using him at 7. That’s not his game

• 115.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Britz should just go now and play a few seasons in Europe and comeback when a new bok coach is appointed, cause it is clear he ain’t getting near a green jersey with Jake White as coach.

Stuff like lineouts, scrumagging and the like can be improved with pratice but pure ability cannot. In fact I recall a similar situation with a player by the name of Kevin Mealamu but in that case instead of writing him off he was helped to improve his weaknesses and is now probably the best hooker in the world, go figure.

• 116.gecko: Reply to this comment

Cab – I got it through the editor. They are still trying to sort their overseas subscription rate. Send me your e-mail and I can provide you with their subscription lady-s mail.

SA Rugby you can subscribe to from this site.

• 117.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Mc Spyker, the truth hurts!

Gecko,sounds good. Where abouts is it?

• 118.boeja: Reply to this comment

st.petersburgbok,

i am a stormers supporter,but 1 of the reasons why they dont praise brits for his 7/7 throws is because skeate is a FRONT jumper the easiest throw in the line out,he cant reach bekker who is 2.08cm how is that possible?

i to like s.brits but he will ad no value to the boks because he does not fit in the game plan.we have enough hookers and chillibooi is picked fot the future!

• 119.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

London,

But remember, the truth you refer to is a is verrrrry subjective truth …

• 120.gecko: Reply to this comment

londonshark – East Dulwich – but be warned – jondood will probably have a lot to say – i just picked it as it’s close to home

http://www.streetmap.co.uk/newmap.srf?x=533811&y=175125&z=0&ar=Y

• 121.cab: Reply to this comment

gecko, ya problem is i’d prefer to go buy at a shop, since i’m likely to move from the current address. You dont know any shops in London that stock those mags, even at a premium?

• 122.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Xkreni,

Stink replied before i could. Refer to post #114

• 123.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Saffa_guy,maybe, but one cannot deny the fact that Bolla has ridden the crest of the quota wave for the past couple years.

IMO

• 124.gecko: Reply to this comment

cab – the SA shop in Embankment always had it

As for the SA rugby subscription – a guy called Keith sends it out from his Specsaver shop in Southfields/Wimbledon – I’ll bring his number in – maybe you can pick it up from his shop.

• 125.londonshark: Reply to this comment

He was brilliant in 2002 but has fallen away ever since.

• 126.gecko: Reply to this comment

L-shark – that’s a bit harse – Bolla has been one of the better performers when in a Bok jersey. Not always in a WP jersey, but done well when picked for the Boks.

• 127.welshbok: Reply to this comment

Everybody is going on as if he is a bok already. He has only been invited to the camp, that says nothing! Richard bands and Marius Hurter were also at last years training camp. If he gets selected for a test it’s a different case.

• 128.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

who says Botha or Shimange need to be dropped. You all miss the point completely and it astounds me.

Yes the article suggests it, but dont believe it for a second. Jake is picking 45 players. Not all 45 will get bok game time. This is not a difficult concept to grasp surely?

• 129.Ig: Reply to this comment

cab – you can subscribe and then change address if needs be – mail me details and i whip the subs dept in to shape !

• 130.cab: Reply to this comment

cheers gecko, that shop in embankment is close, i’ll go along. that magazine “Rugbyworld South Africa”, also sounds good. Cant understand why the suppliers dont make these more available, got to be a decent market in London.

• 131.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Stink
    Iam not saying change the whole squad. Surely in positions where it is as clear as day you pick form players with class. Pienaar, Bj springs to mind. I am not saying if someone like Greef, Russel or Fortuin have a good game to pick them. I agree with consistency in seletion. But then the guys who consistently perform over a season and consistently outperform the incumbent also needs to come into the equation.

• 132.Langman: Reply to this comment

Anyone called Chiliboy gets the Langman vote…

Imagine him hooking between Knoffel du Randt and Kerrie Sephaka.

NOW THAT’S WHAT I WOULD CALL A SPICEY FRONT ROW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 133.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Gecko, you right, he has never let the Boks down but besides for 2002 he has never really added much either.

Having said that,he should have played against France last year (MC was aweful!!).

• 134.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Further to post #126.

Aside from FPD and Januarie, I cannot think of any scrummies between 2002 – 2005 that were knocking down the door for Bok inclusion. They were all pretty average at best. Can’t even remember the name of that Falcons fella that got selected for the end of year tour.

• 135.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Saffa guy, I though Craig Davidson was.

He was far and away the best scrummie in 2003 and right up there with FDP in 2004.

• 136.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Xkreni,

To put your argument in clearer context and for my understanding, whom are the form players deserving of selection you believe have been overlooked?

PS: Asking this in a non-confrontational manner

• 137.gecko: Reply to this comment

saffa-guy – Deon de Kock – it was 2001 – I think Harry got it wrong, forgot Neil de Kock’s first name.

Of course every Natalian will say Davidson.

• 138.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

London,

Fair enuff. Craig was playing well and our opinions all differ.

• 139.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

Londonshark,

What about barry,joubert,gus,greef, joe,tiaan,jean devilliers etc? are they riding the wave at the top for the past few seasons? if your “whities”(seeing that you always refer to black players as quotas) are so brilliant why has Sa not cleaned out the 3 nations and world cups? maybe it is because they are kak! And I suppose Ntini is also a quota in your eyes? and gibbs and prince?

• 140.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Gecko, Davidson was playing some brilliant rugga.

• 141.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Gecko,

Yep, thats the fella. Quite a few strange selections in that period. Lotta “flash in the pan” players that just dissappeared. There was also a flank that WP bought (post his bok selection). Did not do anything special in a WP jersey tho …

• 142.cab: Reply to this comment

Ig, can you redirect the mag to France? Will email.

• 143.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Xkreni re 131

true, but take for instance CJ is there with 20 tests. by worldcup time he will have 40 tests. If you bring in BJ now and play him all the time he will have 20 test WC time. Then you sit with 2 props both having 20 test, playing agianst a guy who have 40 or 50 tests. That is a no win situation.

• 144.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Mc Spyker.

You got a serious chip on your shoulder mate.

• 145.gecko: Reply to this comment

Saffa-guy – Pierre Uys – let’s not go there. Right up there with bizarre Bok selections like Botha Rossouw, Piet Pretorius, Phillip Schutte, Gus Theron (and more)

• 146.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Being a retired left wing militant, reckon i’m well placed to officiate this match. In the left corner we have “MC Spyker” and in the right corner we have “London Shark”. Ring the bell!!!

PS: Pun intended …

• 147.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Gecko, don’t forget some of Andre Margraaf’s selections. Who was that 12 he played (Eric Lubber or something)??

• 148.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Saffa
    Pienaar, Liebenberg, Bj Botha, Roets,Van Heerden,Ndugane brothers,Watson
    Just think a backline of:
    Jaco vd W/roets
    O Ndugane
    Brian Habanna
    Jaque Fourie
    A Ndugane
    Pretorius/Jaco VdW
    Pienaar

**** no Stormers?

• 149.Ig: Reply to this comment

Yip – shouldn’t be a problem !

• 150.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Gecko,

Uuuugh, we’re re-awaking deeply suppressed bad, bad memories. SUBJECT CHANGE!

• 151.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Saffa_guy, juuuuuuusst bring it!

Guys like Mc Spyker aren’t even worth my time.

• 152.Langman: Reply to this comment

stinkvinger

Cracks me up everytime I see your name boet!!!

Bwaaaaaaahahahahahaha!!!!!

• 153.gecko: Reply to this comment

Edrich Lubbe – that was Carel du Plessis.

Markgraaff’s biggest f.. up was Tobie Oosthuizen

• 154.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Tobie Oosthuizen? Who the heck is that? What pozzie did he play?

• 155.Langman: Reply to this comment

I agree…

mc spyker – stop being such a self righteous prick, you doos!!!!

• 156.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Saffa
    Tht backline should give Mc Spyker a hard on. contains three blacks. Add Guthro and Chilli boy to the pack and we have 5, JW problems solved for now.

• 157.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Xkreni, he just messed all over his keyboard, the dirty boy!

• 158.cane: Reply to this comment

You Saffa’s need a break from all this rugby.

A hobby is what you guys need.

Try to expand your minds.

The Battle of “M&Ms”

Whenever I get a packet of M&Ms, I make it my duty to continue
    the strength and robustness of the candy as a species. To this
    end, I hold M&M duels.

Taking two candies between my thumb and forefinger, I apply
    pressure, squeezing them together until one of them cracks
    and splinters. That is the “loser,” and I eat the inferior one
    immediately. The winner gets to go another round.

I have found that, in general, the brown and red M&Ms are
    tougher, and the newer blue ones are genetically inferior. I
    have hypothesised that the blue M&Ms as a race cannot survive
    long in the intense theatre of competition that is the modern
    candy and snack-food world.

Occasionally I will get a mutation, a candy that is misshapen,
    or pointier, or flatter than the rest. Almost invariably this
    proves to be a weakness, but on very rare occasions it gives
    the candy extra strength. In this way, the species continues to
    adapt to its environment.

When I reach the end of the pack, I am left with one M&M, the
    strongest of the herd. Since it would make no sense to eat this
    one as well, I pack it neatly in an envelope and send it to M&M
    Mars, A Division of Mars, Inc., along with a 3×5 card reading,
    “Please use this M&M for breeding purposes.”

This week they wrote back to thank me, and sent me a coupon
    for a free 1/2 pound bag of M&Ms. I consider this “grant money.”
    I have set aside the weekend for a grand tournament. From a field
    of hundreds, we will discover the true champion.

There can be only one!

• 159.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Xkreni, only prob with that backline is Odwa. I would go for Nokwe or Chavanga to get some real gas in the side.

• 160.gecko: Reply to this comment

LS – some 30-something Wahl Bartman look-alike, but 20 times slower – picked in place of Francios Pienaar

• 161.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Cane, nice one boet. That post just made my day!

• 162.jonnow: Reply to this comment

gecko are you thinking of theo oosthuizen

• 163.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

They need to learn to catch a ball first. We can even have JP Pietersen, January and the 8th man from the leopards as substitues. That is 8 in a squad of 22.

• 164.gecko: Reply to this comment

Yip, just the guy – Theo

• 165.rockpile: Reply to this comment

This is at least the third time that Mr White has had a go at Schalk Brits in public…..and I don’t think he has a clue about how Brits scrummages, unless he has been to a Stormers practice and opposed Schalk, or slipped on to the field during a game, in the jersey of the opposing hooker.
    Nice one ,White.

• 166.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Xkreni, true. I forgot about JP. He’s got real class that boy!! I wouldn’t be suprised if Jake took him on tour later in the year.

• 167.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

:lol: @ cane

Long may the battle of the M&M’s continue..

• 168.gecko: Reply to this comment

Rockpile

We can all see the Stormers scrum go backwards on telly

• 169.cane: Reply to this comment

Thanks Londonshark and Coffee,
    It’s a pathetic little world sometimes and we all got to follow our calling.

• 170.jonnow: Reply to this comment

gecko Theo is now coaching the Sharks forwards with Balie Swart if I’m not mistaken, and doing a helluva job it seems.

• 171.gecko: Reply to this comment

Nor begruding his coaching ability, just his Bok selection (above Pienaar).

• 172.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Xkreni,

Post #148

You do realise the rather clear Bulls bias in the players you mention ;-)

Of those players you mention, i struggle to see how they were unjustifiably overlooked in previous Bok selections. Note, we have to look retrospectively to place your argument into context.

* Pienaar – Was competing with FDP and Januarie. He will probably make the Bok squad this year.

* BJ Botha – Bok incumbents were delivering last year. Will definitely make the Bok squad this year.

* Roets – With all due respect, outside of Bulls land, nothing spectacular. Percy is a quality senior player. Jaco / Jantjes were both quality backup. JP Peterson is probably the future before Roets – offers way more in potential.

* Ndugane – Habana, Jean De Villiers and Breyton were definitely better last year. One of the Nduganes could make it this year tho …

* Watson – Was competing with Schalk as an opensider last year.

* Wikus Van Heerden – Was competing with Juan Smith and Joe Van Niekerk.

So struggling to understand how those players you mentioned were unjustifiably overlooked in previous Bok selection …

What you other guys think?

• 173.jonnow: Reply to this comment

Gecko
    I know you are not, was a shock to all when he was selecyed ahead of Francois. Remember feeling a bit sorry for Theo at the time, he did not select himself.

• 174.gecko: Reply to this comment

sg- ja, makes sense

• 175.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Saffa guy, spot on with Roets.

I have sneaky feeling that Jake will not pick Ruan, and if he does he will be a untility back.

• 176.yoda: Reply to this comment

cane

thats the funniest **** ever!

• 177.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Ruan Pienaar is an interesting selection. He is competing with two quality players (FDP and Januarie) both of whom offer completely different styles of play … something any coach would love in his match 22.

I see him in the squad of 28, getting the odd match against the weaker nations and a chance against the stronger nations should FDP or Januarie get injured.

Two experienced, quality scrummies and an exciting young gun with tons of ability. Aaah, life is looking good in Bok land.

• 178.Langman: Reply to this comment

Cane
    Good one!!! I’ve been practising too, if you guys are interested in my attempt at Mills and Boone???

• 179.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Saffa guy

With all due respect…Jantjies is pants.He has done nothing anywhere to justify Bok selection.
    A good season in 2001? Some Scottish twat somewhere rated him as the best natural kicker? So bloody what? Doesn’t take much to look good at the Cats does it? Me thinks the only reason he got to tour with the Boks last season was because he was already capped previously.

Roets has been Mr.Consistant, granted….not spectacular or Brazilian like, but with him you know exactly what you get. Every team needs those sort of players.

Also, your logic is flawed.Just because a player won’t make it into the initial starting 15, why should he not be considered as a tourist? Surely there must be some reward for players who have done well?
    I’m sure if you asked any SA rugby player they would tell you that they would rather go on tour,sit on the bench and carry tackle bags than not have gone at all.

Anyway….the BJ Botha selection aspect is going to get interesting.Sephaka was one of the few players that looked interested last weekend.

JW will stick with him before he selects BJ at tighthead.Andrews or CJ will need to go.
    Maybe a CJ injury will make the decision for Jake or maybe he will stay with Andrews anyway as he is able to cover loosehead as well given the fact that Steenkamp will be out for a while.

Whatever he does….just don’t put J.Smit at prop(unless of course it is the Sharks,then I would welcome it).

• 180.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Saffa
    Percy has had he’s best and I cannot see him being competitie in 2007. Roets adds stability. Jantjies is exciting but we have not seen much of him. Remember, we are going on form and this year as well as last Roets was the better of a mediocre lot. Man where is Joubert or Heunis when you need them.

Obviously I have a biased leaning towards the Bulls. The only Stormer I would include is Watson. Burger was a revelation in his first year at international level but has lost his head completely since then. He has thus become a liability. Constantly conceding penalties is not something you can afford in tests.

If it would make you feel better lets leave out Roets.

The team:
    Van Der westhuysen
    Pietersen
    Habanna
    Fourie
    Ndugane
    Pretorius (injuries aside)
    Pienaar
    wannenburg
    Watson
    Van Heerden
    Botha
    Matfield/Ackerman
    Botha/
    smit/
    Steenkamp/

I’ll put some money on this side.

• 181.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

St Pete,

The Lions were playing well in the Currie Cup 2005 and Jantjes was performing well when selected for the end of year tour 2005. Hence, he was deserving of his place of last year’s end of year tour.

As for the early season Bok props:
    * Sephaka – Selected due to utility value/cover
    * BJ – Selected. Great performances.
    * Eddie – Dropped, form to poor (will only make get selected if CJ is out injured).

• 182.schalla: Reply to this comment

jake mentioned johan ackerman and bakkies..does this mean that victor is now out of favour??

• 183.cab: Reply to this comment

StP,

thats one thing for sure, there is no way Smit should be playing prop no matter what stage of the game it is.

• 184.AWOL: Reply to this comment

Jake should pick Pamela Anderson, she’ll look great with two big locks behind her. Jake’s a joke!

• 185.jondood: Reply to this comment

schalla

They will play for the same position.

• 186.BinLaden: Reply to this comment

Ja, Jakes a joke, Bring back Dolfie or Harry.

Idiot!!

• 187.Langman: Reply to this comment

BinLaden
    What rock in the Afgan mountains did you crawl out from under…

Don’t you think using that name as your persona is somewhat distasteful?

• 188.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Langes not as distasteful as “The Tackler”

• 189.AWOL: Reply to this comment

BinLaden, you idiot, Jake will only be the rugby god untill we loose the first two test matches with his stupid theories and Stormer backline. He’s just been lucky till now!

• 190.Langman: Reply to this comment

What’s wrong with “The Tackler”???

• 191.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Langes,
    Nothing I thought I was being funny, but obviously not.

• 192.Viper6: Reply to this comment

This is quota selection for sure. Which other U19 player has Jake ever invited?

Oh well hopefully Chilliboy is better than #########

• 193.slaapsak: Reply to this comment

I think this one might not be a good choice Jake. But we all know why he has picked him

• 194.cab: Reply to this comment

Viper6, no need for the ****** chirps. this is not an AWB rally, tho sometimes one does wonder.

• 195.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Slaapsak,

Please enlighten …

• 196.Futurebok: Reply to this comment

Viper6
    i dont think you truly appreciate how talented chilliboy is, i’ve played numerous games against since U13 level, i played him at craven week, and have become rather good friends with him.

he’s a humble guy, completely focused and does things right, you have to watch him play in ordeer to see his quality. this is a great selection as Jake is building him up to become a test match great.

When Graeme Smith was picked as SA Cricket captain people were sceptical, but they couldn have been a better decision, he’s just a great Captain, and gets better with Age. the same applies for Chilli, he’ll be a legend. Wether he’s black or white isnt really important, the facts are he’s the best for the job, and will captain the 2011 RWC squad.

• 197.gecko: Reply to this comment

Ja cab – I wonder what the Viper will do when this bloke eventually become bok captain?

Viper – the answer to your question is Derrick Hougaard

• 198.Langman: Reply to this comment

cab

Keep your panties on… Goddamit!!!!

• 199.cab: Reply to this comment

gecko – ag man there’s only so much you can do with the bloubul supporters, this guy is a great talent, anyone can see that. One thing to reckon he’s too young, but the true colours are revealed with supposedly funny plays on words with ******, disgraceful ****.

• 200.cab: Reply to this comment

Langman, then tell your china’s to behave like normal folk, not some reprobate throwback from the dark ages.

• 201.tokolosi: Reply to this comment

jake wants brits to play in the backline,ill support that cos he aint getting no chance to play in the scrum

• 202.gecko: Reply to this comment

Viper is a Bulls fan? But then he should know everything about this bloke. Got offered scholarshipship by both Affies & PBH as a laaitie (playing centre!!). Two year Bulls Craven week (captain second year wasn’t he?). Two years SA Schools, two years SA u/19 and SA u/21 – both team that won the WC.

• 203.gecko: Reply to this comment

Jake can’t pick Britz – he hang around in the backline all game – that spot already allocated to Matfield.

• 204.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

cab maybe just maybe there will come a day when people like old Viper may wake up from that lengthy slumber.

• 205.jondood: Reply to this comment

I have been awake for a while now.

So what is happening with SA Rugby?

• 206.cab: Reply to this comment

ya, the oke makes some good comments and then comes up with that rubbish. i’ll never understand.

• 207.Gentlebreeze: Reply to this comment

Quote: White said Brits, who has been the Stormers first-choice hooker this year, would have to work harder on his scrumming technique and line-out throw-ins.

Then WHAT THE F*** is Shimange doing there? Holy F***ING ****!!

• 208.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

lol jondood, the post wasn’t directed at you…unless

• 209.Cape Town's Finest: Reply to this comment

gentlebreeze

shimange totally owns britz when it comes to scrumming and line-out throwing. fact.

• 210.jondood: Reply to this comment

CSB

I know, but it just feels I must of been asleep at some stage.

Cause **** me I dont know what is going on.

• 211.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Gentle,

Brits is the better flair player however Shimange’s tight play is probably better. Good defense around the fringes, decent scrummaging and decent line outs. Flair does not compare tho …

• 212.jondood: Reply to this comment

CSB

I am not Viper6.

I dont post under another alias.

Ig will confirm.

• 213.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

dood,

Difficult to fathom it all especially after some shut eye.

• 214.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Dood I know that, Gotta watch that paranoia it’s a *******.

• 215.Langman: Reply to this comment

A hooker that has to work on scrumming technique and line-out throwing?!!!!

Sounds more like an outside centre…

• 216.Cape Town's Finest: Reply to this comment

schalk brits also sports a mullet, which is another reason why he shouldn’t be selected for the boks.

• 217.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Well that Viper was not very dangerous. Stupid yes, dangerous no. More like a tuin slang. Just slithered away quietly with his legs oops i meant scales, oooops uuuhm between his uuuuhm … HELP

• 218.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Schalk definitely brought that mullet with with from Jozi’s ;-)

• 219.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Futurebok embodies the qualities that keep me hopeful about the future of SA. Young people who arent weighed down by our past, and dont have the prejudices we all have to a certain degree. I see it with my kids at school. They dont see what colour their mate is, they see people. with abilities, and limitations. i feel things will eventually work because of them and despite us.

• 220.carcass: Reply to this comment

Chiliboy… cool name. Just imagine:

Bakkies taking it up,off loads to Venter who gains a few yards.Chiliboy picks up and is over under the sticks!
    Chili! Chili!Chili!

• 221.The Gimp's Out: Reply to this comment

Jakes argument falls flat. Dont get me wrong, I think he’s a brilliant coach, but sometimes I dont understand him.
    One of the things he says is Brits must work on his scrumming. But then in the next comment he says he would like to see Chilliboy with 2 big locks behind him and a huge prop either side. Why not give Brits that chance???
    Brits can always improve his lineout throwing with practice, but Chilliboy will never have Brits’ flair. If Schalk was an Aussie, Pom or New zealander, he would have been picked long ago.

• 222.gecko: Reply to this comment

Gimp – Britz had Kleinjan Tromp and some other steak-guzzler behind last year. This he has had Bekker – 2.08m and heavy and someone else – and has not feature. Don’t forget, Britz has played for SA A – with some more rated locks behind him.

• 223.The Gimp's Out: Reply to this comment

Ja Carcass,

You can see the journos spewing out the puns…”Chilliboy – the hottest property in SA rugby”

“searing pace towards the tryline”

They would never end!

• 224.cab: Reply to this comment

bluebarb, true, the way it should be.

• 225.banana man: Reply to this comment

Chilli Boy will just become another Shimi – the guy who clearly has talent, will never get any game time – what a waste.

• 226.Bamber: Reply to this comment

Why does Jake White keep publicly criticising Schalk Brits? It’s so undignified, and does little for the player’s morale. A quiet word in his ear would do far more good, but then perhaps he doesn’t want him to improve because he has no intention of ever selecting him. In a similar vein, I wonder if Bob Skinstad’s premature retirement was because of White’s well publicised modest opinion of his obvious abilities. Do us all a favour Jake, leave the “spinning” to others and get on with the coaching. Remember, you’ve still got a lot to prove. After all, didn’t the Boks lose rather badly to a relatively poor England team last time they played each other, and their only significant away win during your reign was against an ever poorer Aussie side.

• 227.gecko: Reply to this comment

Jake has only talked about Britz once Bamber – the press just keeps reminding us

• 228.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Banana,

John Smit is the current captain. Chilli will be groomed as a future captain. Chilli is just being introduced to the Bok setup at present.

No wasting, long term planning.

• 229.Baas Larkham: Reply to this comment

Laat speel die arme kwota maar! Al die swart spelers is maar net kwotas!

• 230.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Bamber – Jakes away record is comparable with all the other top 5 nations, the All Blacks excluded.

also – you’ll probably find it is journalists who keep asking white what he thinks of schalk brits – its not like white rings up the paper and says – by the way, do you mind printing an article where i explain to the public that schalk brits is a crappy hooker?

• 231.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

How much more Friggin practice does this showpony need? he’s had a whole year worth of training in a professional S14 side FFS. its simple. Hookers need to throw accurately to secure decent first phase possesion, and scrum decently for exactly the same friggin reason. Period. Flair is something Barmen fiddle with when making cocktails. Basic positional skills are not negotiable. its like having a placekicker who cannot kick, but tackles like hell. Or a prop who can run 100m in 11 seconds but cant scrum. without the basics of their positions they are about as useful as a ****-flavoured lollypops.

• 232.Baas Larkham: Reply to this comment

Schalk Brits should go and play rugby league in Australia! He’s got it all!

• 233.The Gimp's Out: Reply to this comment

With all the debate, the one thing you cant deny is that Jake gets it right 9 times out of 10.

The only disapointment for me was Bosman on last years tour, but even then he was behind a pack that wasnt performing.

Every other “bolter” from Jake that has made the starting line-up has produced the goods for the Boks – and we all smile and praise and forget all the arguments before.

• 234.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Larkham,

Snoooorrrr, zzzzzzzz, …..

• 235.banana man: Reply to this comment

Saffa Guy, A valid point, but then where will that put Shimi? how much game time has he had in the past two seasons as an understudy to Smit? His career is stuffed as a result.

• 236.gecko: Reply to this comment

About the 1st sensible thing baas L has said – you are right, he is perfect for league.

• 237.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

don’t feed the animals please!

• 238.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Banana,

I reckon any player playing under the national captain will be in this dilemma.

England seem to be the only nation that substitutes their captain (i.e. Martin Corry) with massive outcry & critisicm

• 239.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

blubarb I think you’ll find in some parts a ****-flavoured lollypop is very useful.

• 240.Swapo: Reply to this comment

Chiliboy, captain 2011, lifting the World Cup for his coach Rassie Erasmus….

• 241.banana man: Reply to this comment

Saffa,

If that is the case, and I agree, then rather just reck one chaps career aka: Shimi and let Chilli play for the Bulls, instead of warming the bench. You cant have three hookers on the bench anyway.

If Chilli is being groomed as captain, he is going to have to wait quite a long time still because John is still young, five or six seasons is a long time to be groomed and loads can happen in between that time

• 242.Logie: Reply to this comment

You guys are missing the point though. up front we have heaps of talent in sa, but in a game of rugby you may only have a max of 15players on the field at any time.

schalk, CR, Smittie, Shimmie, Gary, and even Danie are all really good hookers, but we only need 2, 3 at most. one of which needs to cover the quota position.

i don’t see schalk in the mix, i’m sorry. same reason Etienne Botha could never feature in the team. I’ll tell you what though, if he was still alive and plying the way he used to he would definetely be considered today as our current midfield looks rather shabby to say the least.

• 243.gecko: Reply to this comment

Chilli won’t warm the bench in TN. Botha probably.

• 244.banana man: Reply to this comment

Keo,

Nice work with the school section of your site?
    Are you going to cover the 2006 season or will you remove that pasrt of the site soon?

• 245.Futurebok: Reply to this comment

Thanx Blubarb, it’s nice to know that they are people of the last generation that do understand, because at times on this site u wouldn no it.

And I agrre with Banana Man, We gonna get the 2006 season KEO?? I’d be happy to write for you!!

• 246.The Gimp's Out: Reply to this comment

Another idea to throw to the mob for tearing apart….

Instead of so called quota players being picked by coaches because they have to, and then have them sitting on the bench because coaches are too scared to expose their “in-experience” to the game, only to give them 2 minutes at the end so they cant do much damage (ie Shimange) – Why not have a South African “African” side, that can go on tours and plays top teams and gains international experience. Why not? New Zealand do it with the Maoris.

This wouldnt be a permanent thing, just a once or twice a year tour like the Maoris.

I bet those same scared coaches, when those players start showing that they can beat the top teams in the world, will be falling over each other to get those players into their squads.

There is no argument over quotas – because the whole team has to be black.

You wouldnt do too badly picking from this lot. The forwards are a bit thin – especially at lock but I’m sure there are players that they could pull from vodacom cup and U21s – the backline could be potent. Apart from QD, I’ve only named Super 14 squad members.

Backs to choose from:
    Tonderai Chavhanga, JP Pietersen, Bevan Fortuin, John Mametsa, Conrad Jantjes, Akona Ndungane, Odwa Ndungane, Jonghi Nokwe, Rayno Benjamin, Egon Seconds, Trompie Nontshinga, Earl Rose, Wayne Julies, Waylon Murray, Zhahier Ryland, Brian Habana, Gcobani Bobo, Bolla Conradi, Heini Adams, Ashwin Willemse, Wylie Human, Dewey Swartbooi, Enrico Januarie, Cedric Mkhize, Waylon Murray, Sandile Nxumalo, Paul Delport, Gio Aplon

Forwards to choose from:
    Solly Tyibilika, Tim Dlulane, Kabamba Floors, Quintin Davids, Rito Hlungwani, Chilliboy, Shimange, Lawrence Sephaka, Guthro Steenkamp, Eddie Andrews, Heinrich Stride, Wayne van Heerden

• 247.mpho: Reply to this comment

There’s no such thing as to young for the front row. Look at Matt Stevens for the England and the British Lions. He was jsut 21 when he was thrown into the international arena. I also think that JW is right about Skalk Brits; the majority of an international game revovles around your set pieces and if a hooker cant throw straight that’s going to be a proble. I dont know about including Ackermann in the team;international locks are meant to be enormous but also mobile to a certain extent and i think Ackermann lacks the latter.

• 248.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Chiliboy can’t be worse at the hooker position than Shimanga or Dale Santos, can he?
    A word of of caution: at No 2 there is no where to run away at scrumtime or doing the ‘Andrews’ or the ‘Sephaka’ to aleviate the opposition’s thrust, the guy can be maimed

• 249.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Post #248.

He, he, he, like clockwork. The daily end of day vrot post from Onlooker …

• 250.Ben M: Reply to this comment

Hey all, interesting points of view here. I must admit that I havent had an opportunity to watch Chilliboy, but everyone who has rates him really highly. All the best to him, but he is a bit young and I hope he doesnt go the way of some other prodigies. To Futurebok, I wish to echo the wise words of Bluebarb and say good luck, you young guys, free of the past that has affected ALL of us older guys (and Im not that old, no really) give me hope when I notice how race seems to be receding into the background as a reference point for people. The future is bright for the Beloved Country. Ok, you can all sit down again. Just 2 more sleeps Blou Bulle and Sharks!

• 251.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

saffa_guy,
    Guthro Steenkamp is the real deal at prop but he is a write off, didn’t last the distance unfortunately.
    As opposed to Sephaka and Andrews, one must admires their self preservation at the meat grinder position of a prop.
    The options for Chiliboy aa a Bok will be either on the eternal bench like Shimanga or turning into a heap of bones like Guthro, it’s either or!

• 252.pierre: Reply to this comment

Os du Randt was also “written off” at one stage. Guthro will be back.

Gimp (247) – I think you answered your own question as to why it can’t happen. Way too many backs and too few forwards.

To be honest, I think Jake is going to struggle to meet his transformation requirements this year, what with Ruan pushing for a place on form ahead of Ricky and FdP. Though actually, on current form Bolla is also ahead of Ricky and FdP. Andrews’ form has dropped off since 2004, and he can’t realistically start a Tri-Nations Test. Solly has got lost in a massive heap of excellent loose forwards. Jantjes still has to get into the queue behind the great Percy. So who does that leave? Habanero, certainly. Julies, maybe. Breyton? And if it’s Breyton, then what happens to Jean (not that I care if he sits out for a while and learns to tackle)?

The cupboard’s a bit bare at the moment.

• 253.gecko: Reply to this comment

Pierre, Jake won’t start with Ruan, nor Chilli in TN. Chilli probably will be back playing Currie Cup then, having been given a taste against Scots.

So, for TN, JW will start with Januarie & Habana at least, and maybe some other winger. But I feel Ruan should be back-up to Januarie – sure to piss off some Bulls fan with that.

• 254.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

New Test season, same issue: the need to accomodate inadequate players in the Bok line up and STILL to win!
    Habana who saved the season last year for JW might not be so lucky this year, coupled with the inability of the backs to produce tries consistantly and having the like of Sephaka/Shimanga/Solly/Dulane and possibly Davids on the bench may not help JW position , I also think he might face a losing season ahead

• 255.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

Onlooker – who is Davids – and please dont say the fat lump from the WC debacle.

• 256.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Don’t hold your breath munkiboi, if he will be available then JW will select him for the squad
    I’d rather play him than Shimanga or Andrews,

• 257.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Makes sense Jake, Chiliboy will be a big test name one day!

• 258.windhond: Reply to this comment

Coming in when its all been said and done.

I think that this is same sort of situation as the Dlulane one, just blooding the guy.

Everyone knows of his potential and this not just as hooker but as Captain. The bulls have had Dlulane for two or three seasons and is only coming good now. Myself, I am quite impressed with Dlulane’s work rate, don’t miss a tackle but his ball sense is well nonsense, and his also built. Watching him reminds me of Betsen (the tackling part):-)

Leaving Chilliboy in the Cup side is good player management (surprise, surprise). I would like to think of it the same as what the Brumbies did for Rathbone.

Oh, and another thing, I wish that JW would just shut his trap, he talks to much, to bend a bible proverb ‘when words are many garbage is not far behind.’

• 259.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

Chilliboy is a great player. I think Heyneke Meyer has erred in keeping him out of the Bulls first team lineup. I think he is wrapping him up in cotton wool a bit, But also Chilliboy’s scrummaging isn’t the greatest and knowing the way the bulls play it is easy to see why they wouldn’t pick him.

There is no doubt that Chilliboy will be a legend one day if he isn’t injured. If I were the Bok coach I would have picked Chilliboy Ralapele, John Smit and Schalk Brits as the three hookers.

Jake White must realise that Britz running is not his only strength. He gets to the breakdown and turns over ball as well, he is fit and energetic and has a high work rate and he is not all flash. RE: his lineout, the Stormers have not had a better lineout in many a year then they do now, and I have seen Smit throw quite a few custard pies this year come lineout time.

My Springbok squad: assuming no injuries

Hookers:
    Chilliboy Ralapele
    Schalk Brits
    John Smit

Tightheads:
    BJ Botha
    Jannie Du Plessis

Looseheads:
    Os du Randt
    Gurthro Steenkamp

Utility Prop:
    CJ vd Linde

Enforcer locks:
    Bakkies Botha
    Johan Ackerman

Lineout locks:
    Victor Matfield
    Ross Skeate

Open siders:
    Schalk Burger
    Solly Tyibilika

Blind siders:
    Juan Smith
    Wikus v Heerden

8th men:
    AJ Venter
    Pedrie Wannenburg

Utility Forward:
    Jacques Cronje

Scrummies:
    Enrico Januarie
    Ruan Peinaar
    Fourie du Preez

Flyhalf:
    Andre Pretorius
    Jaco vd Westhuizen

Centres:
    Jean de Villiers
    Jacques Fourie
    Trevor Halstead
    Wayne Julies

Wings:
    Bryan Habana
    Breyton Paulse
    JP Peterson

Fullbacks:
    Percy Montgomery
    Bevan Fortuin

• 260.windhond: Reply to this comment

HQ,

good squad, maybe try Dlulane for Tyibillika and one of the Ndugane twins insted of Paulse.
    I also think that Snyman might be one of the wings and he was one of the best outside centres, who could forget his try against England, so that may be the cover that Jake needs.

• 261.Lo: Reply to this comment

Stop moaning you racist pigs; if the bulls had a coach who had national interest at heart and who wasn’t a racist, Ralapele would have been the star of the S14 so far. Come on the Sharks, please do us all a favour.

• 262.Bonobo: Reply to this comment

Yea fasttrack every talent ASAP, soon we’ll see 15 year olds playing S14, I think a large dose of perspective is in order here.
    Can nobody see that for the 1st time in a long time here is a coach actually thinking ahead,as said a couple of times already on this thread he is pretty much detined to be a Great so be it.
    It’s alot easier to see things as they are without emotion…i think

• 263.Hobbo: Reply to this comment

Lo, please think before you send post. What coach in their right mind would play Chiliboy ahead of Gary Botha. Gary Botha is the only real contender when it comes to challenging John Smit as a player. I wish everyone would stop being so premature about this guy. Sure he’s got potential and he’s an exciting prospect, but he’s nowhere near international level yet. Players often shine at Junior level, don’t read to much into it. The jump from u21 level to international is big enough let alone from U19 level. Jake whether he admits it or not is under pressure from government and thus one of Jakes main priorities is seeking out young black talent to be groomed. He sees that there aren’t enough good black players around at senior level, so he’s decided to take matters into his own hands and make the young players good by grooming them early. Chiliboy won’t play against any of the top 5 teams this year and is simply being called to the camp cause Jake White sees a huge need to improve the quality of black players in the country. He has to pick them so why not make them good.

• 264.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Lo & dumb

• 265.Viper6: Reply to this comment

FutureBok. No doubt he is a prospect for the future but he is not ready yet (especially as a forward). Not to mention the other players like Botha or Brits will be shafted due to this decision.

Ps. If he is so great how come he is not playing for the Bulls this year?

• 266.Viper6: Reply to this comment

Oh and FutureBok have you seen where Graham Smith is today? I think he is mentally scarred for life.

• 267.Viper6: Reply to this comment

Lo you stupid wanker, do the Sharks have the national interest at heart when Tony Brown kicks for posts while Percy and Ruan sit by and watch?

• 268.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Lower than Lo and Dumber than Dumb….

there are some who prowl this site for a political fight….they are in no way interested in Rugby and you will only notice their names when politics rears it’s ugly head!

• 269.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

like jake has said, he will need to rotate his starting line up for this years test. this could mean that the top hookers get a break and young guys like britz and chilli get their chance, even if its off the bench. i dont think jake will shun someone,,i think he is just waiting for the rite moment.

imagine britz getting the call up a week before a test…that oke will be choming to get on the field to prove himself.

jake has to get the young okes involved now…because we will end up relying on them for 2007 world cup…it always happens.

• 270.oink12: Reply to this comment

hey. If Brits packs his bags.. He doesnt deserve to be a BOk!!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.