Chiliboy is Jake’s Bok bolter

Blue Bulls Vodacom Cup hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle will be the shock inclusion in the enlarged Springbok squad announced on 13 May.

Bok coach Jake White told Die Burger’s Herbert Pretorius that he wants to invite the 19-year-old hooker to the Boks’ training camp in Bloemfontein. He is even considering including Ralepelle for the Bok team to play against Scotland.

Ralepelle’s inclusion means that neither Gary Botha nor Schalk Brits will be in the extended squad. John Smit and Hanyani Shimange are White’s top two hookers at the moment.

“I have no say in the compilation of South Africa’s Super 14 teams and that’s why it’s not my fault that he isn’t playing for the Bulls,” said the coach. “Chiliboy has proven himself at U19 and U21 level and I believe he’s good enough to repeat his performance at senior level. Remember that the hooker he played against in last year’s U21 World Cup final is the Australian Tatafu Polota-Nau, who has already played Test rugby for the Wallabies.”

Ralepelle played in both the U19 and the U21 World Championship victories. He was also named SA Rugby’s U19 player of the year.

“I’d like to see how he performs in a team with big locks, for example, Bakkies Botha and Johan Ackermann behind him and big props like Os du Randt and CJ van der Linde alongside him in the scrums. I’m sure he’ll cope,” White said.

White said Brits, who has been the Stormers first-choice hooker this year, would have to work harder on his scrumming technique and line-out throw-ins.

“At Test level you want a hooker who excels in those two facets and not as much someone who can run well with the ball in hand,” he said. “I must experiment with several new players and combinations, because I can’t possibly select my strongest possible team for all 12 Tests.”

270 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All

• 51.BMM: Reply to this comment

I have always defended Jake and I will defend his decision to select Chiliboy now expose him to the Bok culture and structures BUT he really does need to be carefule about the messages he sends out. Last year with Schalk Britz he clearly sent a message out that he must play CC and S14 and prove himself before being selected. While U19 and U21 world cups are tough I really think that S14 is a big step up and of course Test rugby is another leap up.

Final word of caution do not underestimate the Scottish scrum. Those Jocks can scrum when they want to – especially when they are underdogs!!

• 52.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

I’m a Brits fan, but his line-out throws need a lot of work. is brilliant in the loose, but because of his unpredictability be can get isolated. If Jake picked him and we lost lineouts against the AB’s with their backline, it will cost us dearly. I think it is merely a coaching thing and can be rectified, Throwing is not easy, but its not quantum physics either. He would have done much better at a union like the Bulls or Cheetahs, even the Sharks, with dominant jumpers and decent forward coaches. same goes for scrumming. I’d have liked to see him packing in the Sharks front-row in a decent unit. How much confidence can he have having played in the Stormers puff pastry pack?
    Having said that, Chiliboy will still go very far and will be Captain eventually. And if his past performances are anything to go by it will be deservedly so.

• 53.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Gecko, fair enough. Flank could be an option though (as you said).

• 54.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

bluebarb – you’re behind the times there mate.

the stormers actually have a half decent pack these days. its the backs that cant catch or pass that are the prroblem….

But if you’re gonna suggest a better union for Britz, there could be no better than the Cheetas. Springbok props, and a superbly gifted coach. Sharks have Smit. Why would he go there?

• 55.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

Londonshark,
    Please keep your comments about what you perserve to be quota players to your ten a room flat in bethnal green with like minded f@%$£ups who couldn’t hack it in SA.

• 56.gecko: Reply to this comment

LondonShark – by the way, I stupidly put up a few beers against jondood that the Stormers will beat the Bulls – payable at the East Dulwich Tavern – do join when I have to pay up.

• 57.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Cicinno ,

Cant see how jake can be lablled anti Bulls. I mean he just picked their hooker in the bok squad. Beside Chillie-boy is without a doubt the future bok captain , now is the time for him to familiarise himself with the setup , It will do wonders for him to experience a WC at this early age , and for him to go t the WC he has got to get some experience under his belt. Ollie made his test debut in the front row at the tendet age of 19 , A While ago a 19 year old from WP went to the WC in 2003 , the next year he was the rugby player of the year……Schalk Burger. If he is ready then age should not matter, and i think he is for at least a few mins against Scotland , how else are we going to know ? Jake has proven in the past that he knows a hell of a lot more of player abilities than the rest of the pretenders that call them coaches in SA. Remember Habana ? remember the reaction when he was selected , funny how when a black 19 year old gets selected its a problem. In any event , my personal opinion , if he is good enough , play him , at least for a few mins to test , whether he is black , coloured , white or pink as long as he is South African !!!

In Jake I trust

• 58.gecko: Reply to this comment

Sparticus – I agree – Jake includes pretty much the whole Bulls pack (and a few reserve frowards from the Bulls) in all his squad – so to call him anti-Bulls does seem harse.

• 59.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Schalk Brits – whats the value of having a hooker who can side step and dummy pass but not find his jumpers or scrum in a test match???? The TEAM ain’t never get any quality ball.

• 60.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Sparticus, Perhaps. Ever asked Schalk Burger how gatvol he is for rugby?

• 61.sarky: Reply to this comment

Reckon if Oz / AB can play schoolboys, why not us. FFS against Scotland he’d at least get a good workout in the scrum.

Schalk Brits / Brent Russell re not going anywhere whilst JW is coach. Pity, but test rugby is more demanding.

• 62.Redox: Reply to this comment

munkiboi

Talk about a storm in a teamcup , the press and some supporters really threw their toys outa the cot when F Swart was invited to the bok camp. Because he is a black kid id imagine the uproar would be twice as bad if white did the same with chilliboy.

saffa_guy

I dont know about Gus-esque , unlike shimmie, the gusman usually plays its just that we wish he didnt , i wish we could call him Gus “Splinters” Theron

• 63.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Guys, had a chat with Jake last night at the Castle Locker Room function at Loftus.

Brought a new lihght to his selection policy in my eyes! Have a whole lot more respect for him after last night!

He is picking an extended squad as we all now this year. The main reason being, he needs to get some of the guys in the gym for a 6 month period to bulk up and become a little bigger. Reason being, that a lot of the guys performing quite well for us these days are between 22 nad 24 years old.

If you take the england squad for instance, they are mostly between 27 and 28. Now he says if these two teams stand nect yto each other in the tunnel and the Pommy boys look us over, they think to themselves, **** we can beat these boys! He also says that a guy being 27/28 is stronger than a guy being 22/24 – physically. The older guy had more time in the gym!

Tha is also why he is bringing back guys like Andre Snyman, he wants – as he pu it- ‘n paar Menere – in the team, that when the other guys look us over they think to themselves, ****, these guys are going to donner us!

• 64.cab: Reply to this comment

bloody hell, schalk brits is wasted. chilliboy is good but he’s 19 FFS. A test hooker? He’ll get muched. Think Brits might make a move, can’t really blame him can you.

• 65.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Redoz,

I’m actually hoping for Gus “Retired” Theron ;-)

• 66.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

JW is a moron.

So…had he had a say in the starting 15′s of the S14 Chilli would have been starting?

What about Gary Botha…..a capped Bok already?
    What about Bothas backup….the previous U21Bok hooker?

Hell, what about the Cheetahs hooker who has been playing bladdy well?

Why doesn’t he make the right decision and ask Shimage to injure himself?

The oke can’t hold down a starting spot in any side he has ever played in?

Anyway, this is only the start of his bizarre selections for the season.

Expect to see Solly T selected ahead of Watson…and just about any other opensider in the country even though he can’t make the Wildebeest starting 15 at the moment.

Gecko

Britz is a bloody good hooker and although is play in the loose phases of the game are exceptional…his throwing in and scrummaging are no worse than Shimage(who apparently also couldn’t throw last season according to Gert Smal).Last season there where no concerns over his line out throwing or scrummaging….possibly it is the fact that he is new at the franchise,with a new locking combo(who are both very green) and the fact that his tight head is pants and his loosehead is green as well.

Had to laugh at JW’s….”Tatu Pau-Laufa(who the frak is he?), Chilli’s U19 opponent for Australia has already played test rugby,blahblahblah”……..probably one of the reasons their scrum was a bloody joke last season and possibly why ours will be this season.

• 67.Redox: Reply to this comment

ciccino

Your right dont know what the fuss was about there either heyneke has 3 hookers injured and he selects chilliboy on the bench and chris turns it into this big drama, as simon points out above ralepele’s oponent in the u21 wc final polota-nau has already played test rugby.

• 68.gecko: Reply to this comment

I remember Kitch Christie calling Bennie Nortje up to his World Caup training squad – and at that time Nortje did not even have a game from Transvaal behind him, just Tvl u/21. And the uproar that followed that.

• 69.Reserve Naartjie: Reply to this comment

Chiliboy’s good and I’m all for him being groomed/blooded for the boks, but then drop Shimange who has been kept on his provincial bench by Brits and who also has deficiencies in his game (if everyone is pointing at Brits’ lineout and scrumming failings, which personally I’m not convinced about).
    What no other hooker in SA has and what Brits does have at hooker or any other bloody position you choose to train him at (re Post 45 Londonshark and the centre/flank thing) is gamebreaking ability. It sparks every now and then in **** teams like the Cats and the current Stormers, but with quality players he will shine in both the glory boy sense and also in that he will make others look good if he gets extra marking (he’s got excellent hands, vision and a better pass than most flyhalves).
    Yes, he was windgat or his words were twisted by journos, but the guy is supremely talented and other national sides would kill for a payer like him. Jake’s being stubborn is not going to help anyone and leaving Brits to rot on the shelf while he is in his prime (wait for the inevitable injury years) is stupid.
    Get over the personal issues Jake, same with Luke Watson. Bravo, you da man, now use the in-form/game breaking players even if it means changing your mind and catching a chirp in the press.
    PLEASE!

• 70.Redox: Reply to this comment

St.Petersburgbok

Polota-Nau is the irb u21 player of the year and he plays for the waratahs havent u watched any of the tah games this season ? i think he is a real talent.

• 71.Anvil: Reply to this comment

stinkvinger, The flip side to that is that size means squat in modern test rugby.Professional rugby players have the responsibility of keeping themselves well conditioned and fit.

• 72.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Just to clarify my stance on the situation….

I have no problem with JW taking a 19 year old(who obviously has massive potential)along to the WC to experience the ride.

but,

then your first 2 hookers need to be the business….and Shimange is pants and has done nothing ever to justify his selection.

• 73.gecko: Reply to this comment

StP – read saffa-guy post #59 – says it all. (and as you well know, I’m a Capetionian – so should be talking up Britz)

Gary Botha turned out a damp squid. Great provincial players – so-so Super rugby player

• 74.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Anvil, its not only about size, but more about strenght. Our guys are def weaker in the upperbody department than any of NZ Aus or Eng

• 75.David: Reply to this comment

Chiliboy is a good example of why we need a stricter draft system at S14 level. Even though there’s a limit on S14 squads, the unions are using their contracts to prevent players being used by other franchises. It appears that franchises are reluctant to recruit players from other regions for the S14 unless they can also sign them at CC union level as well.

• 76.Redox: Reply to this comment

saffa_guy

LOL! How about Gus “got a real job” Theron.

• 77.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Jake also talked about what the presence of the older guys do for the team spirit, especially in the locker room before a game.

He says you can see how the younger guys spirits are lifted just by seeing that Os is sitting in his corner, slowly putting on his kit. You can see how the guys start believing in themselves

• 78.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Stinkvinger,

Man, does anybody really wanna see OS in his jock strap??? Kinda like an Afrikaaner Sumo Wrestler … ;-)

• 79.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Munki,
    The Stormers have only been adequate in the front in the last three games. And their loosies are carrying the tight forwards. Before that they were shocking. how many jumpers has Britzie missed this season? and I’m not talking about contested line-outs either-just plain misses. J.Smit will be on Springbok duty for the rest of they year, and if Schalk is not in the Bok squad, where better than the Sharks for him to get some good coaching and gametime? I agree that the Cheetahs would also be a good option for him, but anywhere would be better than the Stormers.

• 80.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Gecko

Why is it when Skeate takes 7 out of 7 throws in a game Britz’s throwing is not mentioned?

Hasn’t the Stormers tight 5 been performing far better this season than last.

Why is Britz given no credit for any of this?

When did Gary Botha become a damp squid?

Me thinks you need to watch him some more, although still very young he is quietly settling into his role of elder statesman in the Bulls frontrow.

And there is not a harder working hooker in the country.

• 81.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

But the most interesting fact, was when we asked him about Andre Snyman. He said that he phoned ANdre and told him he wanted him for the boks, andre immediately said yes. He was on a 1.5 Mill a yer contrac at Leads and Jake offered him R486 000. He said yes.

Jake also told him that he doesn’t get any garuantees that he will play. He said it’s fine! At the end of the year Jake will phone him and tell him that he is either in the world cup squad or not and he made no promises.

• 82.sparticus: Reply to this comment

redcard ,

yes must admit schalk does look a tad bit jaded. But its because of the amount of games he is playing , moral is down in the stormers camp (I dont care what they say , no one likes losing) , plus he is not playing in his prefered position. I dont think the reason is because he made his debut at the age of 19. besides , cant see Chillie Boy playing week in and week out , If Smit should get injured dont be suprise to see Gary Botha called up ahead of Chillie. Jake said , Chillie is being groomed , getting a few mins here and there and getting into the swing of things , by the next WC in 2011 Chillie would have already been part of the bok setup for 5 years and would have (hopefully) experienced a WC. I laugh whenever I read all the negative comments about Jake , he has proven to be by far the best coach we had since Kitch. Show me another coach who could have pulled SA out of the RUT they were in 3 years ago , this he did with all the **** politics in the background. Remember Maakraaf ? Straulli ? Van Rooyen ? Camp Staalgraad ? Look where we are now………

• 83.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Yup, Saffa_guy, i think seeing Os in his jock strap are either gonna motivate or scare the **** outa you, anyway, youa re gonna play the game of your life

• 84.gecko: Reply to this comment

StP -the law of averages says G Botha should have produced a few match winning performances by now. But you never hear him get that high praise.

But, talking about average – well, that bring me back to the Stormers … look, I like Britz, but on a cold July eve in Dunedin, or a November afternoon at Twickers or in Paris – when you need your first phase ball – I’d rather have Smit (or Botha for that matter).

But playing a test in May on the highveld – different story – but those test are not the important ones. As to the Skeate example – it’s the other two throws to other players that was missed and lead to tries for Hurricans, Brumbies, ………. (fill in the blank)

• 85.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Maybe you should take your finger out of Jake’s arse. He is like a chameleon and changes everytime we hear him. I think it is also very unprofessional of him to discuss others remuneration with you if he in fact did.

I am happy for Chilliboy as long as it is a gradual proccess, but Snyman has seen his best days when he left SA and I rated him then.Hopefully he can hack it in an international setup. I am sure we

• 86.cab: Reply to this comment

stinkvinger,

pretty interesting about the rappore between JW and Snyman, any truth in it?

• 87.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Funny how 19 is too young for a black man. But Hougaard, Schalk Burger, Joe van Niekerk and Juan Smith were not too young.
    It’s time you racist biggots wake up.

• 88.cab: Reply to this comment

But does Chilliboi bring any more physicality to he frontrow than Brits? Cant believe he does. The reasoning is not consistent.

• 89.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Xkreni-Wp

He ctually said that infront of a big audience. All he tried to prove was the commitment from Andre’s side.

I thinki you are more of a chameleon thyan him, he stuck with his guns and will do the same again this year, don’t expect to many surprises for his 1st choice team, is gonna look the same

• 90.gecko: Reply to this comment

flatsboy – i think the issue being discussed is 19 being to young for a front row forward.

Remember Paulse, Willemse, Jantjes etc where all very young when first called up.

• 91.stinkvinger: Reply to this comment

Cab, Yup it’s true, can ask anyone in the audience

• 92.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

Gecko

I will slate you too mate – Brits is slower than JP Nel, and he cant even hack it against fast outside centres. The Chiefs ran him ragged by rounding him on the outside.

WHy does everyone persist in wanting Habana at wing? FFSS!!! He can pass, offload in the tackle, has made some brillint tackles this season,and would always draw two defenders leaving space for his wing. In fact, his kicking is shite, and for that reason alone should not be on wing.

Fourie is the natural successor to Percy. Tall, can kick, can defend, is fast and can join the line. Perfect!

• 93.gecko: Reply to this comment

Cab – Rugbyworld South Africa – the new mag in SA has a piece on Chilli – and talks specifically about him cleaning out Ackermann in the Super 14 warm-up game – this guy is a brute – for a 19-year-old.

• 94.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

its not the bulls jake is biased against, it is clearly the stormers.

how else can you describe his apparent refusal to pick schalk brits and luke watson…..?

• 95.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

WWW,

Puts a smile on the face that we’re trying to find places for quality players :-)

• 96.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Since we are speculating about fullbacks.

How abour Ruan Pienaar. He is fast, he can kick, he defencds well, he reads the game well and he had some of his best run when he ran from the back after collect a kick.

• 97.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Maybe because Britz is from Mosselbay and played for the Lions and Watson the sharks Munki

• 98.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

About the hooker thing.

White is prepared to give Cilliboy a chance with 2 big locks behind him(clearly acknoledging the fact that Chilly might strugle in the scrum), but he is not prepared to give Schalk a chance. Hypocryt if you ask me.

• 99.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

I think Jake is biased against The Cats, The Bulls, The Sharks, The Stormers, The Cheetahs, The Spears, The Valke, The Bulldogs, The Elephants and the local U13 team … it all depends on what jersey i’m wearing for the day

• 100.yoda: Reply to this comment

Our (SA) forwards always look ok during the S14

When the currie cup starts, you’ll see that wp tight 5 going backwards again…And everybody will say “skeate is KAK” and “brits cant scrum”.

They didnt struggle during the S14 last year, they wer only found wanting during the CC.

So i’ll say it now, skeate is kak, so is bekker
    and old brits should not even be in contention for the springbok team until he can do the basics right. It doesnt help when you’ve got the best jumper in the world, but the hooker cant hit the target!

Provice need selbourne boome back. Asap.

And that flashy brits should start practising his throw in in stead of his stepping. Only then will he be taken seriously

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.