Chiliboy is Jake’s Bok bolter

Blue Bulls Vodacom Cup hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle will be the shock inclusion in the enlarged Springbok squad announced on 13 May.

Bok coach Jake White told Die Burger’s Herbert Pretorius that he wants to invite the 19-year-old hooker to the Boks’ training camp in Bloemfontein. He is even considering including Ralepelle for the Bok team to play against Scotland.

Ralepelle’s inclusion means that neither Gary Botha nor Schalk Brits will be in the extended squad. John Smit and Hanyani Shimange are White’s top two hookers at the moment.

“I have no say in the compilation of South Africa’s Super 14 teams and that’s why it’s not my fault that he isn’t playing for the Bulls,” said the coach. “Chiliboy has proven himself at U19 and U21 level and I believe he’s good enough to repeat his performance at senior level. Remember that the hooker he played against in last year’s U21 World Cup final is the Australian Tatafu Polota-Nau, who has already played Test rugby for the Wallabies.”

Ralepelle played in both the U19 and the U21 World Championship victories. He was also named SA Rugby’s U19 player of the year.

“I’d like to see how he performs in a team with big locks, for example, Bakkies Botha and Johan Ackermann behind him and big props like Os du Randt and CJ van der Linde alongside him in the scrums. I’m sure he’ll cope,” White said.

White said Brits, who has been the Stormers first-choice hooker this year, would have to work harder on his scrumming technique and line-out throw-ins.

“At Test level you want a hooker who excels in those two facets and not as much someone who can run well with the ball in hand,” he said. “I must experiment with several new players and combinations, because I can’t possibly select my strongest possible team for all 12 Tests.”

270 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Saffa_guy, juuuuuuusst bring it!

Guys like Mc Spyker aren’t even worth my time.

• 152.Langman: Reply to this comment

stinkvinger

Cracks me up everytime I see your name boet!!!

Bwaaaaaaahahahahahaha!!!!!

• 153.gecko: Reply to this comment

Edrich Lubbe – that was Carel du Plessis.

Markgraaff’s biggest f.. up was Tobie Oosthuizen

• 154.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Tobie Oosthuizen? Who the heck is that? What pozzie did he play?

• 155.Langman: Reply to this comment

I agree…

mc spyker – stop being such a self righteous prick, you doos!!!!

• 156.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Saffa
    Tht backline should give Mc Spyker a hard on. contains three blacks. Add Guthro and Chilli boy to the pack and we have 5, JW problems solved for now.

• 157.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Xkreni, he just messed all over his keyboard, the dirty boy!

• 158.cane: Reply to this comment

You Saffa’s need a break from all this rugby.

A hobby is what you guys need.

Try to expand your minds.

The Battle of “M&Ms”

Whenever I get a packet of M&Ms, I make it my duty to continue
    the strength and robustness of the candy as a species. To this
    end, I hold M&M duels.

Taking two candies between my thumb and forefinger, I apply
    pressure, squeezing them together until one of them cracks
    and splinters. That is the “loser,” and I eat the inferior one
    immediately. The winner gets to go another round.

I have found that, in general, the brown and red M&Ms are
    tougher, and the newer blue ones are genetically inferior. I
    have hypothesised that the blue M&Ms as a race cannot survive
    long in the intense theatre of competition that is the modern
    candy and snack-food world.

Occasionally I will get a mutation, a candy that is misshapen,
    or pointier, or flatter than the rest. Almost invariably this
    proves to be a weakness, but on very rare occasions it gives
    the candy extra strength. In this way, the species continues to
    adapt to its environment.

When I reach the end of the pack, I am left with one M&M, the
    strongest of the herd. Since it would make no sense to eat this
    one as well, I pack it neatly in an envelope and send it to M&M
    Mars, A Division of Mars, Inc., along with a 3×5 card reading,
    “Please use this M&M for breeding purposes.”

This week they wrote back to thank me, and sent me a coupon
    for a free 1/2 pound bag of M&Ms. I consider this “grant money.”
    I have set aside the weekend for a grand tournament. From a field
    of hundreds, we will discover the true champion.

There can be only one!

• 159.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Xkreni, only prob with that backline is Odwa. I would go for Nokwe or Chavanga to get some real gas in the side.

• 160.gecko: Reply to this comment

LS – some 30-something Wahl Bartman look-alike, but 20 times slower – picked in place of Francios Pienaar

• 161.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Cane, nice one boet. That post just made my day!

• 162.jonnow: Reply to this comment

gecko are you thinking of theo oosthuizen

• 163.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

They need to learn to catch a ball first. We can even have JP Pietersen, January and the 8th man from the leopards as substitues. That is 8 in a squad of 22.

• 164.gecko: Reply to this comment

Yip, just the guy – Theo

• 165.rockpile: Reply to this comment

This is at least the third time that Mr White has had a go at Schalk Brits in public…..and I don’t think he has a clue about how Brits scrummages, unless he has been to a Stormers practice and opposed Schalk, or slipped on to the field during a game, in the jersey of the opposing hooker.
    Nice one ,White.

• 166.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Xkreni, true. I forgot about JP. He’s got real class that boy!! I wouldn’t be suprised if Jake took him on tour later in the year.

• 167.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

:lol: @ cane

Long may the battle of the M&M’s continue..

• 168.gecko: Reply to this comment

Rockpile

We can all see the Stormers scrum go backwards on telly

• 169.cane: Reply to this comment

Thanks Londonshark and Coffee,
    It’s a pathetic little world sometimes and we all got to follow our calling.

• 170.jonnow: Reply to this comment

gecko Theo is now coaching the Sharks forwards with Balie Swart if I’m not mistaken, and doing a helluva job it seems.

• 171.gecko: Reply to this comment

Nor begruding his coaching ability, just his Bok selection (above Pienaar).

• 172.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Xkreni,

Post #148

You do realise the rather clear Bulls bias in the players you mention ;-)

Of those players you mention, i struggle to see how they were unjustifiably overlooked in previous Bok selections. Note, we have to look retrospectively to place your argument into context.

* Pienaar – Was competing with FDP and Januarie. He will probably make the Bok squad this year.

* BJ Botha – Bok incumbents were delivering last year. Will definitely make the Bok squad this year.

* Roets – With all due respect, outside of Bulls land, nothing spectacular. Percy is a quality senior player. Jaco / Jantjes were both quality backup. JP Peterson is probably the future before Roets – offers way more in potential.

* Ndugane – Habana, Jean De Villiers and Breyton were definitely better last year. One of the Nduganes could make it this year tho …

* Watson – Was competing with Schalk as an opensider last year.

* Wikus Van Heerden – Was competing with Juan Smith and Joe Van Niekerk.

So struggling to understand how those players you mentioned were unjustifiably overlooked in previous Bok selection …

What you other guys think?

• 173.jonnow: Reply to this comment

Gecko
    I know you are not, was a shock to all when he was selecyed ahead of Francois. Remember feeling a bit sorry for Theo at the time, he did not select himself.

• 174.gecko: Reply to this comment

sg- ja, makes sense

• 175.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Saffa guy, spot on with Roets.

I have sneaky feeling that Jake will not pick Ruan, and if he does he will be a untility back.

• 176.yoda: Reply to this comment

cane

thats the funniest **** ever!

• 177.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Ruan Pienaar is an interesting selection. He is competing with two quality players (FDP and Januarie) both of whom offer completely different styles of play … something any coach would love in his match 22.

I see him in the squad of 28, getting the odd match against the weaker nations and a chance against the stronger nations should FDP or Januarie get injured.

Two experienced, quality scrummies and an exciting young gun with tons of ability. Aaah, life is looking good in Bok land.

• 178.Langman: Reply to this comment

Cane
    Good one!!! I’ve been practising too, if you guys are interested in my attempt at Mills and Boone???

• 179.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Saffa guy

With all due respect…Jantjies is pants.He has done nothing anywhere to justify Bok selection.
    A good season in 2001? Some Scottish twat somewhere rated him as the best natural kicker? So bloody what? Doesn’t take much to look good at the Cats does it? Me thinks the only reason he got to tour with the Boks last season was because he was already capped previously.

Roets has been Mr.Consistant, granted….not spectacular or Brazilian like, but with him you know exactly what you get. Every team needs those sort of players.

Also, your logic is flawed.Just because a player won’t make it into the initial starting 15, why should he not be considered as a tourist? Surely there must be some reward for players who have done well?
    I’m sure if you asked any SA rugby player they would tell you that they would rather go on tour,sit on the bench and carry tackle bags than not have gone at all.

Anyway….the BJ Botha selection aspect is going to get interesting.Sephaka was one of the few players that looked interested last weekend.

JW will stick with him before he selects BJ at tighthead.Andrews or CJ will need to go.
    Maybe a CJ injury will make the decision for Jake or maybe he will stay with Andrews anyway as he is able to cover loosehead as well given the fact that Steenkamp will be out for a while.

Whatever he does….just don’t put J.Smit at prop(unless of course it is the Sharks,then I would welcome it).

• 180.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Saffa
    Percy has had he’s best and I cannot see him being competitie in 2007. Roets adds stability. Jantjies is exciting but we have not seen much of him. Remember, we are going on form and this year as well as last Roets was the better of a mediocre lot. Man where is Joubert or Heunis when you need them.

Obviously I have a biased leaning towards the Bulls. The only Stormer I would include is Watson. Burger was a revelation in his first year at international level but has lost his head completely since then. He has thus become a liability. Constantly conceding penalties is not something you can afford in tests.

If it would make you feel better lets leave out Roets.

The team:
    Van Der westhuysen
    Pietersen
    Habanna
    Fourie
    Ndugane
    Pretorius (injuries aside)
    Pienaar
    wannenburg
    Watson
    Van Heerden
    Botha
    Matfield/Ackerman
    Botha/
    smit/
    Steenkamp/

I’ll put some money on this side.

• 181.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

St Pete,

The Lions were playing well in the Currie Cup 2005 and Jantjes was performing well when selected for the end of year tour 2005. Hence, he was deserving of his place of last year’s end of year tour.

As for the early season Bok props:
    * Sephaka – Selected due to utility value/cover
    * BJ – Selected. Great performances.
    * Eddie – Dropped, form to poor (will only make get selected if CJ is out injured).

• 182.schalla: Reply to this comment

jake mentioned johan ackerman and bakkies..does this mean that victor is now out of favour??

• 183.cab: Reply to this comment

StP,

thats one thing for sure, there is no way Smit should be playing prop no matter what stage of the game it is.

• 184.AWOL: Reply to this comment

Jake should pick Pamela Anderson, she’ll look great with two big locks behind her. Jake’s a joke!

• 185.jondood: Reply to this comment

schalla

They will play for the same position.

• 186.BinLaden: Reply to this comment

Ja, Jakes a joke, Bring back Dolfie or Harry.

Idiot!!

• 187.Langman: Reply to this comment

BinLaden
    What rock in the Afgan mountains did you crawl out from under…

Don’t you think using that name as your persona is somewhat distasteful?

• 188.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Langes not as distasteful as “The Tackler”

• 189.AWOL: Reply to this comment

BinLaden, you idiot, Jake will only be the rugby god untill we loose the first two test matches with his stupid theories and Stormer backline. He’s just been lucky till now!

• 190.Langman: Reply to this comment

What’s wrong with “The Tackler”???

• 191.CoffeeshopBok;-): Reply to this comment

Langes,
    Nothing I thought I was being funny, but obviously not.

• 192.Viper6: Reply to this comment

This is quota selection for sure. Which other U19 player has Jake ever invited?

Oh well hopefully Chilliboy is better than #########

• 193.slaapsak: Reply to this comment

I think this one might not be a good choice Jake. But we all know why he has picked him

• 194.cab: Reply to this comment

Viper6, no need for the ****** chirps. this is not an AWB rally, tho sometimes one does wonder.

• 195.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Slaapsak,

Please enlighten …

• 196.Futurebok: Reply to this comment

Viper6
    i dont think you truly appreciate how talented chilliboy is, i’ve played numerous games against since U13 level, i played him at craven week, and have become rather good friends with him.

he’s a humble guy, completely focused and does things right, you have to watch him play in ordeer to see his quality. this is a great selection as Jake is building him up to become a test match great.

When Graeme Smith was picked as SA Cricket captain people were sceptical, but they couldn have been a better decision, he’s just a great Captain, and gets better with Age. the same applies for Chilli, he’ll be a legend. Wether he’s black or white isnt really important, the facts are he’s the best for the job, and will captain the 2011 RWC squad.

• 197.gecko: Reply to this comment

Ja cab – I wonder what the Viper will do when this bloke eventually become bok captain?

Viper – the answer to your question is Derrick Hougaard

• 198.Langman: Reply to this comment

cab

Keep your panties on… Goddamit!!!!

• 199.cab: Reply to this comment

gecko – ag man there’s only so much you can do with the bloubul supporters, this guy is a great talent, anyone can see that. One thing to reckon he’s too young, but the true colours are revealed with supposedly funny plays on words with ******, disgraceful ****.

• 200.cab: Reply to this comment

Langman, then tell your china’s to behave like normal folk, not some reprobate throwback from the dark ages.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.