Chiliboy is Jake’s Bok bolter
26 Apr 2006
Blue Bulls Vodacom Cup hooker Chiliboy Ralepelle will be the shock inclusion in the enlarged Springbok squad announced on 13 May.
Bok coach Jake White told Die Burger’s Herbert Pretorius that he wants to invite the 19-year-old hooker to the Boks’ training camp in Bloemfontein. He is even considering including Ralepelle for the Bok team to play against Scotland.
Ralepelle’s inclusion means that neither Gary Botha nor Schalk Brits will be in the extended squad. John Smit and Hanyani Shimange are White’s top two hookers at the moment.
“I have no say in the compilation of South Africa’s Super 14 teams and that’s why it’s not my fault that he isn’t playing for the Bulls,” said the coach. “Chiliboy has proven himself at U19 and U21 level and I believe he’s good enough to repeat his performance at senior level. Remember that the hooker he played against in last year’s U21 World Cup final is the Australian Tatafu Polota-Nau, who has already played Test rugby for the Wallabies.”
Ralepelle played in both the U19 and the U21 World Championship victories. He was also named SA Rugby’s U19 player of the year.
“I’d like to see how he performs in a team with big locks, for example, Bakkies Botha and Johan Ackermann behind him and big props like Os du Randt and CJ van der Linde alongside him in the scrums. I’m sure he’ll cope,” White said.
White said Brits, who has been the Stormers first-choice hooker this year, would have to work harder on his scrumming technique and line-out throw-ins.
“At Test level you want a hooker who excels in those two facets and not as much someone who can run well with the ball in hand,†he said. “I must experiment with several new players and combinations, because I can’t possibly select my strongest possible team for all 12 Tests.”

270 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
26 Apr 2006, 13:55 pm
jake wants brits to play in the backline,ill support that cos he aint getting no chance to play in the scrum
26 Apr 2006, 13:57 pm
Viper is a Bulls fan? But then he should know everything about this bloke. Got offered scholarshipship by both Affies & PBH as a laaitie (playing centre!!). Two year Bulls Craven week (captain second year wasn’t he?). Two years SA Schools, two years SA u/19 and SA u/21 – both team that won the WC.
26 Apr 2006, 13:58 pm
Jake can’t pick Britz – he hang around in the backline all game – that spot already allocated to Matfield.
26 Apr 2006, 14:00 pm
cab maybe just maybe there will come a day when people like old Viper may wake up from that lengthy slumber.
26 Apr 2006, 14:01 pm
I have been awake for a while now.
So what is happening with SA Rugby?
26 Apr 2006, 14:02 pm
ya, the oke makes some good comments and then comes up with that rubbish. i’ll never understand.
26 Apr 2006, 14:02 pm
Quote: White said Brits, who has been the Stormers first-choice hooker this year, would have to work harder on his scrumming technique and line-out throw-ins.
Then WHAT THE F*** is Shimange doing there? Holy F***ING ****!!
26 Apr 2006, 14:04 pm
lol jondood, the post wasn’t directed at you…unless
26 Apr 2006, 14:04 pm
gentlebreeze
shimange totally owns britz when it comes to scrumming and line-out throwing. fact.
26 Apr 2006, 14:05 pm
CSB
I know, but it just feels I must of been asleep at some stage.
Cause **** me I dont know what is going on.
26 Apr 2006, 14:05 pm
Gentle,
Brits is the better flair player however Shimange’s tight play is probably better. Good defense around the fringes, decent scrummaging and decent line outs. Flair does not compare tho …
26 Apr 2006, 14:06 pm
CSB
I am not Viper6.
I dont post under another alias.
Ig will confirm.
26 Apr 2006, 14:08 pm
dood,
Difficult to fathom it all especially after some shut eye.
26 Apr 2006, 14:09 pm
Dood I know that, Gotta watch that paranoia it’s a *******.
A hooker that has to work on scrumming technique and line-out throwing?!!!!
Sounds more like an outside centre…
schalk brits also sports a mullet, which is another reason why he shouldn’t be selected for the boks.
Well that Viper was not very dangerous. Stupid yes, dangerous no. More like a tuin slang. Just slithered away quietly with his legs oops i meant scales, oooops uuuhm between his uuuuhm … HELP
26 Apr 2006, 14:11 pm
Schalk definitely brought that mullet with with from Jozi’s
26 Apr 2006, 14:12 pm
Futurebok embodies the qualities that keep me hopeful about the future of SA. Young people who arent weighed down by our past, and dont have the prejudices we all have to a certain degree. I see it with my kids at school. They dont see what colour their mate is, they see people. with abilities, and limitations. i feel things will eventually work because of them and despite us.
26 Apr 2006, 14:14 pm
Chiliboy… cool name. Just imagine:
Bakkies taking it up,off loads to Venter who gains a few yards.Chiliboy picks up and is over under the sticks!
Chili! Chili!Chili!
26 Apr 2006, 14:19 pm
Jakes argument falls flat. Dont get me wrong, I think he’s a brilliant coach, but sometimes I dont understand him.
One of the things he says is Brits must work on his scrumming. But then in the next comment he says he would like to see Chilliboy with 2 big locks behind him and a huge prop either side. Why not give Brits that chance???
Brits can always improve his lineout throwing with practice, but Chilliboy will never have Brits’ flair. If Schalk was an Aussie, Pom or New zealander, he would have been picked long ago.
26 Apr 2006, 14:21 pm
Gimp – Britz had Kleinjan Tromp and some other steak-guzzler behind last year. This he has had Bekker – 2.08m and heavy and someone else – and has not feature. Don’t forget, Britz has played for SA A – with some more rated locks behind him.
26 Apr 2006, 14:23 pm
Ja Carcass,
You can see the journos spewing out the puns…”Chilliboy – the hottest property in SA rugby”
“searing pace towards the tryline”
They would never end!
26 Apr 2006, 14:23 pm
bluebarb, true, the way it should be.
26 Apr 2006, 14:24 pm
Chilli Boy will just become another Shimi – the guy who clearly has talent, will never get any game time – what a waste.
26 Apr 2006, 14:24 pm
Why does Jake White keep publicly criticising Schalk Brits? It’s so undignified, and does little for the player’s morale. A quiet word in his ear would do far more good, but then perhaps he doesn’t want him to improve because he has no intention of ever selecting him. In a similar vein, I wonder if Bob Skinstad’s premature retirement was because of White’s well publicised modest opinion of his obvious abilities. Do us all a favour Jake, leave the “spinning” to others and get on with the coaching. Remember, you’ve still got a lot to prove. After all, didn’t the Boks lose rather badly to a relatively poor England team last time they played each other, and their only significant away win during your reign was against an ever poorer Aussie side.
26 Apr 2006, 14:26 pm
Jake has only talked about Britz once Bamber – the press just keeps reminding us
Banana,
John Smit is the current captain. Chilli will be groomed as a future captain. Chilli is just being introduced to the Bok setup at present.
No wasting, long term planning.
Laat speel die arme kwota maar! Al die swart spelers is maar net kwotas!
26 Apr 2006, 14:27 pm
Bamber – Jakes away record is comparable with all the other top 5 nations, the All Blacks excluded.
also – you’ll probably find it is journalists who keep asking white what he thinks of schalk brits – its not like white rings up the paper and says – by the way, do you mind printing an article where i explain to the public that schalk brits is a crappy hooker?
26 Apr 2006, 14:28 pm
How much more Friggin practice does this showpony need? he’s had a whole year worth of training in a professional S14 side FFS. its simple. Hookers need to throw accurately to secure decent first phase possesion, and scrum decently for exactly the same friggin reason. Period. Flair is something Barmen fiddle with when making cocktails. Basic positional skills are not negotiable. its like having a placekicker who cannot kick, but tackles like hell. Or a prop who can run 100m in 11 seconds but cant scrum. without the basics of their positions they are about as useful as a ****-flavoured lollypops.
26 Apr 2006, 14:29 pm
Schalk Brits should go and play rugby league in Australia! He’s got it all!
26 Apr 2006, 14:31 pm
With all the debate, the one thing you cant deny is that Jake gets it right 9 times out of 10.
The only disapointment for me was Bosman on last years tour, but even then he was behind a pack that wasnt performing.
Every other “bolter” from Jake that has made the starting line-up has produced the goods for the Boks – and we all smile and praise and forget all the arguments before.
Larkham,
Snoooorrrr, zzzzzzzz, …..
Saffa Guy, A valid point, but then where will that put Shimi? how much game time has he had in the past two seasons as an understudy to Smit? His career is stuffed as a result.
About the 1st sensible thing baas L has said – you are right, he is perfect for league.
26 Apr 2006, 14:33 pm
don’t feed the animals please!
26 Apr 2006, 14:34 pm
Banana,
I reckon any player playing under the national captain will be in this dilemma.
England seem to be the only nation that substitutes their captain (i.e. Martin Corry) with massive outcry & critisicm
26 Apr 2006, 14:35 pm
blubarb I think you’ll find in some parts a ****-flavoured lollypop is very useful.
26 Apr 2006, 14:36 pm
Chiliboy, captain 2011, lifting the World Cup for his coach Rassie Erasmus….
26 Apr 2006, 14:38 pm
Saffa,
If that is the case, and I agree, then rather just reck one chaps career aka: Shimi and let Chilli play for the Bulls, instead of warming the bench. You cant have three hookers on the bench anyway.
If Chilli is being groomed as captain, he is going to have to wait quite a long time still because John is still young, five or six seasons is a long time to be groomed and loads can happen in between that time
26 Apr 2006, 14:43 pm
You guys are missing the point though. up front we have heaps of talent in sa, but in a game of rugby you may only have a max of 15players on the field at any time.
schalk, CR, Smittie, Shimmie, Gary, and even Danie are all really good hookers, but we only need 2, 3 at most. one of which needs to cover the quota position.
i don’t see schalk in the mix, i’m sorry. same reason Etienne Botha could never feature in the team. I’ll tell you what though, if he was still alive and plying the way he used to he would definetely be considered today as our current midfield looks rather shabby to say the least.
26 Apr 2006, 14:44 pm
Chilli won’t warm the bench in TN. Botha probably.
26 Apr 2006, 14:45 pm
Keo,
Nice work with the school section of your site?
Are you going to cover the 2006 season or will you remove that pasrt of the site soon?
26 Apr 2006, 14:51 pm
Thanx Blubarb, it’s nice to know that they are people of the last generation that do understand, because at times on this site u wouldn no it.
And I agrre with Banana Man, We gonna get the 2006 season KEO?? I’d be happy to write for you!!
26 Apr 2006, 15:24 pm
Another idea to throw to the mob for tearing apart….
Instead of so called quota players being picked by coaches because they have to, and then have them sitting on the bench because coaches are too scared to expose their “in-experience” to the game, only to give them 2 minutes at the end so they cant do much damage (ie Shimange) – Why not have a South African “African” side, that can go on tours and plays top teams and gains international experience. Why not? New Zealand do it with the Maoris.
This wouldnt be a permanent thing, just a once or twice a year tour like the Maoris.
I bet those same scared coaches, when those players start showing that they can beat the top teams in the world, will be falling over each other to get those players into their squads.
There is no argument over quotas – because the whole team has to be black.
You wouldnt do too badly picking from this lot. The forwards are a bit thin – especially at lock but I’m sure there are players that they could pull from vodacom cup and U21s – the backline could be potent. Apart from QD, I’ve only named Super 14 squad members.
Backs to choose from:
Tonderai Chavhanga, JP Pietersen, Bevan Fortuin, John Mametsa, Conrad Jantjes, Akona Ndungane, Odwa Ndungane, Jonghi Nokwe, Rayno Benjamin, Egon Seconds, Trompie Nontshinga, Earl Rose, Wayne Julies, Waylon Murray, Zhahier Ryland, Brian Habana, Gcobani Bobo, Bolla Conradi, Heini Adams, Ashwin Willemse, Wylie Human, Dewey Swartbooi, Enrico Januarie, Cedric Mkhize, Waylon Murray, Sandile Nxumalo, Paul Delport, Gio Aplon
Forwards to choose from:
Solly Tyibilika, Tim Dlulane, Kabamba Floors, Quintin Davids, Rito Hlungwani, Chilliboy, Shimange, Lawrence Sephaka, Guthro Steenkamp, Eddie Andrews, Heinrich Stride, Wayne van Heerden
26 Apr 2006, 15:46 pm
There’s no such thing as to young for the front row. Look at Matt Stevens for the England and the British Lions. He was jsut 21 when he was thrown into the international arena. I also think that JW is right about Skalk Brits; the majority of an international game revovles around your set pieces and if a hooker cant throw straight that’s going to be a proble. I dont know about including Ackermann in the team;international locks are meant to be enormous but also mobile to a certain extent and i think Ackermann lacks the latter.
26 Apr 2006, 16:11 pm
Chiliboy can’t be worse at the hooker position than Shimanga or Dale Santos, can he?
A word of of caution: at No 2 there is no where to run away at scrumtime or doing the ‘Andrews’ or the ‘Sephaka’ to aleviate the opposition’s thrust, the guy can be maimed
26 Apr 2006, 16:15 pm
Post #248.
He, he, he, like clockwork. The daily end of day vrot post from Onlooker …
26 Apr 2006, 16:21 pm
Hey all, interesting points of view here. I must admit that I havent had an opportunity to watch Chilliboy, but everyone who has rates him really highly. All the best to him, but he is a bit young and I hope he doesnt go the way of some other prodigies. To Futurebok, I wish to echo the wise words of Bluebarb and say good luck, you young guys, free of the past that has affected ALL of us older guys (and Im not that old, no really) give me hope when I notice how race seems to be receding into the background as a reference point for people. The future is bright for the Beloved Country. Ok, you can all sit down again. Just 2 more sleeps Blou Bulle and Sharks!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All