Bones take a beating from Bully Boys

The bones, consistently accurate in the last eight weeks, took a beating at the weekend as the Stormers and Bully Boys came good.

The bones had predicted victories for the Sharks in Pretoria, while also giving the Cheetahs and Crusaders a win. The Force were also due a historic first Vodacom Super 14 triumph.

The Sharks defeat is the most significant because it ends their play-offs challenge. The Sharks, on the road, will have more chance of success than the Bully Boys, who once again showed their brutality when playing at home. The Bully Boys on the road are more gravel than granite, but in Pretoria they have the ability to grow extra arms and legs.

The intensity of the Bulls in the first 40 minutes was the equivalent of an assault — as Sharks prop BJ Botha would no doubt tell you. The Bulls had the bonus point by halftime, but they did not have the win until the final hooter. The Sharks were given unanimous backing on this site (70 percent of the poll voted in their favour) for good reason. They are a quality side and the manner in which they fought back from 27-3 to be in a position to win the game was revealing of the improvement this season.

When the Bulls’ intensity dimmed on the hour, the Sharks started to find space and a bit of go-forward and their ability to offload in the tackle, change the line of attack and run the support runner into space troubled the Bulls defence.

The brutality of the first 40 minutes, though, was just too much for the Sharks and their championship aspirations were bloodied on Saturday night. Another whose championship could be over is the Crusaders. I know it is a big call. They lost for just the first time in 17 matches and a year ago they were as emphatically beaten in Pretoria, only to then go on and win the championship.

But they look like a side that has hit the wall in the last fortnight and the two epic encounters with the Hurricanes and Waratahs seem to have taken everything out of them. They will struggle to beat the Bulls in Pretoria and the Brumbies in Christchurch could easily do them as well, which would mean they may end up fourth on the table and needing to win twice away from home to claim the title. They’ve done it before, but rarely have they looked so out of sorts in successive weekends at this late stage of the competition.

The Stormers, for once this season, applied the blowtorch for 80 minutes and should have won by more and scored the bonus point. The Stormers pack was dominant and the Crusaders have now struggled against the Sharks and Stormers forwards. I can’t imagine them relishing the prospect of Pretoria this weekend — especially with the Bulls having to win to stay alive in the play-off race.

Crowd support this weekend was brilliant in Pretoria and very good in Cape Town, given the Stormers horror run at home. That 30 000 still made it on a cold and windy evening tells you how strong the brand is.

Individually, there were some fine performances and most of them came from established Springboks. The Bulls lock pairing of Bakkies Botha and Victor Matfield were colossal, Pedrie Wannenburg has been the most consistent South African loose-forward all season, Schalk Burger was huge in Cape Town and Gary Botha and John Smit enjoyed a hectic 80 minute struggle in the front row.

Andre Pretorius showed more confidence against the Force, but again his goalkicking was not good enough, while Meyer Bosman would have backed himself to kick the conversion to sink the Blues.

The most pleasing aspect of this weekend’s matches is that every South African team played for 80 minutes, probably for the first time this season. The Bulls and Sharks were hammering away at each other on the siren, the Cats kept the ball for two minutes after the siren to score a match-saving try, while the Cheetahs also retained possession for two minutes after the siren to score a try that put them in a position to win it.

And in Cape Town the Stormers went in front after 30 seconds and never let up.

It was a heart-warming weekend for SA teams and while it won’t be reflected in Super 14 silverware, we could see the results in the international season.

243 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.londonshark: Reply to this comment

And to all the guys who are giving Ruan Pienaar a hard time. The guy has still had a better season than FDP by a long way (and I’m a huge FDP fan). RP was behind a losing pack and to be honest he was a bit rattled, but no one can deny he is potentially SA’s best scrummie.

• 152.londonshark: Reply to this comment

I’m worried about Ricky’s form though. I’m sure he will come right in the Bok set up but he needs work on his pass, it’s looking a bit ‘Bolla like’ lately. FDP still has the best pass in the country.

• 153.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

David, post 139, you’re welcome :-)

• 154.newlands: Reply to this comment

South Africa has alot of good Scrumhalfes, Ruan Pienaar definatly next for green & Gold!

• 155.indestructibull: Reply to this comment

Newlands, I for one am happy to support the Stormers when they’re playing any Aussie or NZ team, I think they did a great job against the Crusaders, as long as the Crusaders now don’t decide to punish my Bulls for their loss :)

• 156.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Yes Ikey ,you said it,its amazing that this thread has not deteriorated ,usually by post 20 it starts to go pear shaped ,recovers and then by 50 or 60 its not worth reading. This is one of th ebest thread in a while …thanks all of you. It morning here ,hence me being off the thread for houyrs but just enjoyinmg reading now.
    The Stomers thread from the game was so negative even when we’d won ,as some people seemed put out that the Storms stood up and atleast on the day made people eat their words.
    the week before was a shockingly bad 55 mins then a great 4 mins then a good defencive effort. Altho it wasnt champagne rugby ,the Storms rattled the Crusaders and the 2 very very good wings were virtually not in the game ,till last move. Also Carter and Mc D were on for 35 mins and never threatened us….well done Storms.
    I still find it weird that commentators congrats JDV when he was pretty quiet awhile Barry was immense. Pietersen stood out more than JdV who cannot kick for touch ! He does have BMT and Jake will get more out of him ,with the way DWB is playing JDV would cover our no 14 issue.
    I would still like some decent commentators one day.
    Example….Kempson begins a comment on how talented Pietersen is and that he’s asking Q’s of Crusaders ,gets interrupted by Cowley who says ,yes he’s not very big ,but he does have some speed.
    Then aplay breaks it,Kempson is shut up and on they go about the ball rolling into touch or something unhelpful.
    What it does is plays to the SA thinking of size,and speed is the attribute that gets you a position . Nothing about skill ,rugby brain,thinking on feet,if people support him better it can lead to tries. Just the feed to the masses about ‘no substitute for speed’ and size is an issue.
    When Kempson brought it up ,my ears perked up,unfortunately Cowley is the head commentator in their two-some and goes about withhis weekly same old ****.How enlightening is this? Ggrrgghh.

Anyway ,in the Bulls defence ,it may have been near impossible for them to play 80 mins like the 1st 40 and BB is never expected to play more than 60 mins anyway.I doubt he can like that.
    All the bulls did was play like they had nothing to loose and everything to play for and like they wanted 4 tries at all coists. if they played wit his attitude overseas they would have won all the close ones too.
    What has happened to percy. Very quiet
    I’d have Jaco at 15 ,AP at 10 with Percy as sub for Boks.AP has shown enough in his short comeback in a loosing side for me BUT must not miss the kicks.
    All or kickers have been sub stamdard ,and especially Tony Brown. This really worries me
    Also Brown and the fancied Pienaar,the Shark Catylists were not even a factor on the w/e. Pienaar is good and has had one greta try and maybe 2 great games,I would pick him as no 3,as understudy to FDP and either Ricky or Bolla ,right now Bolla.
    Cronje must go out the door and make a straight swap with Wannenburg for bok trio of Burger,Smith and Wannenburg with Watson,Joe,Venter to releive the workload of so many games.Perhaps Dlulane,Venter would be a great cover on bench for lock with one of the others coming on as loosy cover.
    Guys like Watson,Pienaar,Dlulane,JP Pietersen,WO,Naas Oliver etc should be fringe boks who get game time vs Scotland etc and are backup and in the squad for injuries and to rest the bigger names. This will prove vital cover come a year from now.
    Was interested to see percy at 10 ,as ive never liked his defencive frailties there but he has an awesome pass as has Bosman.
    The teams are starting to play for 80 mins even if it means a comeback,this is far better than earlier games and very timely. they are proving that they can take it from a team after the siren goes. Something we have been the loosers of for a while.
    There are good signs ,we are not there yet,but we have the results inthe past 2 weeks to gie the boys and coaches belief and mongrel again.Also we’ve kept ball more in hand and its paid off . Finally Hope we’ve learned.
    Finally MJ is a gonerr in my book. I’d rather we invest now in Welsh,Cooke, even JP Nel….its not worth it for a one game a year wonder boy anymore….and im a Stormer.Barry atleast has 2 games in 3 and is more allround.

• 157.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Stuff and nonsense!

Of all the three #9 options Jake White has in place, Bolla, Enrico, Fourie … they are all just the same old same old usual Springbok complete mediocre scrummie rubbish compared to Ruan Pienaar.

Now THIS guy is every bit as livewire and threatening as what Joost vdW was in his early heyday before he became too “kop-toe” and full of himself as what dumb dutchies are invariably wont to do!

And, don’t forget how spectacularly — over so many years it by now almost spans generations — the Bulls proudest biggest broadest breker Afrikaners — just all fall completely to pieces once they put their foot on that aeroplane headed Down Under!

Factor that in!

• 158.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Tackles
    Where have you been ? Care to comment on the Crusaders choking at Newlands. Not a log point to the pathetic Stormers. And how about last weekend huh? Carter looked at ineffective as our big boys on a bad day in NZ. How about the Highlanders in wet Dunedin vs the Tah’s. Any comments there?
    A couple of narrow losses at the house of Pain to the AB’s isnt falling completely to pieces.Sometimes we do ,but not always.
    I do think someone like Bakkies is half baked overseas sometimes….and we do have an idea of bigger the breker is better.But thats old news now,anyway and harping on about what happened 2 weeks ago ,2 months ago and 2 years ago is not what we are talking about now. Did you watch any games this weekend. Did you see a come from behind attitude that we havent done i a while? Did you see some SA teams playiong 80 mins ,what i did see that was negative was our inabilty to kick our poiints and Tony Brown is not helping that side of the cause.
    Jeez last week the Stormers were pathetic for 55 mins yet still won Down under.
    Pienaar also a dutchy mate. He is very good,but you think the 3 no 9′ you mentioned are all exactly the same? On their poor day all are dissapointing,on their normal day they are all good and on their great day they will outplay any of the down under no 9′s.
    Pienaar should be picked as an understudy,used sparingly etc etc. Did you see him vs the Bulls this w/e? I didn’t. But then again,the Bulls dominated so much yet perhaps he could have shown a glimmer of BMT. i never saw it. He must be brought in soon ,but slowly. He can be great.
    Now go away again till you have something useful to say.

• 159.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Ruan’s a very very very smart Dutchy, mate!

Not like the stupid dumbells in the Bulls line-up. Boneheaded, dumb as a sackful of hammers Dutchy “brekers”!

And the Stormers didn’t win “down under” agaist the Crusaders — they won that game at their home base of Newlands.

Highlanders historically have a hoodoo side at the House of Pain and that side is invariably the team from New South Wales. (No SA side is a big worry, somehow!)

• 160.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

You two enjoying each others company

• 161.pompies: Reply to this comment

159 Sharks.

• 162.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

i rate the scrummies in this country very high actually, much better then Australias and the Kiwis are not too hot either

1. Pienaar
    2. Du Prueez
    3. Januarie
    4. De ****
    5. Conradie

• 163.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

4. De Kock (not ****)

• 164.pompies: Reply to this comment

5 2 3 4 1

• 165.Paws: Reply to this comment

John Smit a fine performance? What game were you watching? His first time tackling sucks and he drops like a sack of potatoes when he gets touched, no go forward .. he is 4 rate and a weak link in any team he plays for. Lets not talk about not finding his jumpers. Bring on bothes and brits.

• 166.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Bulls outplayed Sharks …what a great come back by the sharks in last 30min after almost whole bulls team reserves came on.

brown didnt know what to do was so big mouth im sure he regrets his words. bakkies was allova the park scored 2 tries how can they compare him with that no show ackerman. i liked piennaar play he would do so much better with bulls. pedrie should get his springbok jersey.

• 167.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

Great game Bulls!

Now let’s see you do it overseas………

• 168.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

Your Bones are worth as much as the rolling of traditional healer bones. That is NOTHING. The same amount of thought goes into your rolling of the bones as the amount of thought into traditional medicine and bones predicting the future.

• 169.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Paws

Your knowledge of rugby is right up their with Mugabe’s governance prowess.

• 170.kevin w: Reply to this comment

I have a question?

I was under the impression that support players were not aloud to be in contact with the runner until contact is made. The Bulls players did it the whole game and were never blown.

Any answers?

• 171.jondood: Reply to this comment

kevin w

Sounds more like a gripe than a question.

Get over it your team lost.

• 172.kevin w: Reply to this comment

no jondood,

It’s a question, because now i will be supporting the Bulls this weekend and might see an aus ref with a clue blow them against the crusaders and then i’ll have to hear you squeal like a ***** on monday again.

• 173.David: Reply to this comment

Kevin
    Where on earth did you get that impression?

• 174.jean div: Reply to this comment

I love it
    All of a sudden JDV is not good enough anymore.
    A couple of months ago he was SA’s saviour.
    You okes are pathetic

• 175.David: Reply to this comment

Kevi
    Are you possibly confusing the “truck and trailer” infringement which counts as obstruction. If so, it only applies if the support player is in front of the ball carrier and then would be technically ofside.

• 176.kevin w: Reply to this comment

David,

I’m sure i’ve seen it blown before and i chatted to a guy who refs schoolboy rugby.

Surely it’s the same as “truck and trailer” and it’s pretty dangerous considering you are tackling and putting your head in line of an attached player.

I’m just asking, because it was pretty effective.

• 177.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Who said Jean de Viliers isnt good enough anymore???

• 178.Paws: Reply to this comment

Rastafox … call them as I see them .. go watch the game again and then come back to me …

and by the way .. it is an opinion shared by many ..

• 179.jean div: Reply to this comment

Moegrat
    read through this blog and check it out

• 180.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Kevin W is right. A player may not bind/support another player until contact is made with the opposition (in all situations).

• 181.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Jean Div, spot on mate. JDV will be our 12 for years to come and rightfully so. Thank goodness Jake is not as fickle as some of the fans on this site.

• 182.rastafox: Reply to this comment

It is always fair to criticise where due,but one bad game after weeks of powerful performances and now the guy’s useless all round.It is only two weeks ago and all were singing Smit praises and one weekend later it’s a whole new ballgame!

• 183.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Tckler
    Wake up…..my opening comment refers to the Storm /Crusader game at Newlandsso why would I get it wrong a few lines down?
    Last week the Stormers were terrible for 55 mins down under…..to spell it out ,last week I mean ‘your’ week before. Its obvious the Stormers werent poor for 55 mins this (past ) weekend.Im talking about down under being OZ where the Stormers beat the Reds.
    Stop looking for issues,I take it the other 99 comments I made you agree with as you never take up anything positive or in agreement.So ill just read betw the lines.
    Glad you like Ruan,why ever are you in favour of someone?…its gonna snow. He will be there ,time is on his and our side…its not no 9′s that our problems anyway.Perhaps it is in NZ

• 184.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Rasta
    There has always been a large part of us that never sings Smit’s praises. I for one do not rate him as a Captain or a hooker.

• 185.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Xtreni does not like a Sharks player, SHOCK!!

• 186.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Xkreni-WP

I rate him as a captain but not as a hooker.

Remember there was a lot of hoo ha about Francois Pienaar in ’95 not being the best player but he sure was a leader

• 187.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Moegat, yep. John Smit is a great leader and sure, like Seun Fitz is prob not the best hooker in the country (but is damm close), but his effect on his players is immense.

• 188.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ja, good weekend all round. Congrads to the Stormers and Bulls. Tell me guys, after the great draw my team had this weekend does anybody think we can still turn this season around and win the thing??? Thing being the Super14…

• 189.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

There is several I do like Londonshark

Hey Moegrat
    Have you paid Jondood the R100 yet?

• 190.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Grrr…

You got as much chance of winning the S14 as Dale Sandton has of playing fullback for the Boks

• 191.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Jean div
    You obviously take it personally :)
    It is Ok to watch a guy play and finally admit and see his shortcomings. I have occasionally been one to spring at the fuss made about JDV as he can be great once or twice a match yet he lets us down in other areas (at times). Its just that we tend to be all or nothing about a guy. As much as I slam I always say he will be in my match 22 if not 15 every week. He does need to work on some things and also work with a specialist fine(r) tuning his alround game and being effective in all areas if he is to be our 1st choice. Most agree he is our first choice either wing,12 or 13 but find probs in some of what he does and doesnt do. I also find it worrying that he can just be on the park and get mentioned in the same breath as other worthy Man Of the Matches when he has been pretty inconspicuous. The commentators often dont think,they also beleive the sun shines out of his arse. His pathetic first 55 mins display vs the Reds 2 weekends ago has all been forgotten cos of 1) us winnning and 2) his great break and hand in G.Brits try.
    Oz commentators mentioned the words – his almost disgraceful display so far – at half time. We are too scared and blind to say that sort of thing,esp our useless commentators.
    I would still rather have a Scott Stanisforth, a Mortlock , a stepping Tipoke (not mentioning his fouling) in my team and aside from Mortlock,those guys areent hailed as their world classmatch winners.
    Whatever happens dont put JDV at no 10 until he’s been groomed as he cannot find touch and his attempts have led to crucial tries by the opposition a number of times. As supposedly mercurial as he is,he has not (yet) got the overall abilty of a flyhalf ,you need a very able boot ,preferably both ,ASWELL as an eye for a gap.He does have the latter twice a game.
    Right now me personally prefers him as a hard working ,looking for action and intercepting wing. He is deadly and has a high work rate.His defence has to get rock solid before he can scream ‘im the man for the job in the midfield.

Some criticism seemed to help Fleck and WO more recently so perhaps if everybody stops blowing the smoke up his arse and tells him where he is good and where he is **** and needs to pull finger ,he may get a lekker skrik and op en wakker.I would love this as we could do with a defensivley sound JDV at no 12….the we’ll be talkking. It can happen this season…he needs someone to ‘tell him like it is,ek se !’- Jake White = someone ,and the general talk

• 192.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Fck i hope one of you didnt remember that

Yep will pay him right after the Stormers/Bulls game. I wont owe him a cent after that

• 193.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Methinks it will be R 200 then

• 194.Porra: Reply to this comment

j vd westhuizen has more rugby in his little toe than most sa backs
    he must be springbok flyhalve
    i’ll supply jw with fruit and veg forever

• 195.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Nah not a chance, the Bulls were lucky this weekend. I heard from an “inside source” that a few of the Sharks players had food poisening after eating a choclate basket that was delivered to their hotel rooms by a Mr. J Roets

• 196.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Ddrek, no one is really banging on the door to take JDV place in the starting 15.

DVB is a good super rugby player but his crash bash gameplan does not work on the international scene (2004 was the exception).

He should play for the Bulls.

• 197.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Moegrat, I knew it.

• 198.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

We dont need him London

• 199.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Xtreni, true. Your number 12 (WO) is the only guy who could seriously challenge for the Bok number 12 jersey with JDV. Great player!

• 200.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Now who is dumb. Definately not us dutchmen

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.