McCaw running scared
3 May 2006
The Bulls can already claim a moral victory over the Crusaders after the defending champions left captain Richie McCaw out of the match 22 altogether.
McCaw does not have fond memories of Loftus Versfeld, or perhaps much memory of it at all after he was smacked unconcious in the opening minutes of the corresponding fixture last year by prop Richard Bands. The Bulls went on to record an emphatic 35-20 win.
Coach Robbie Deans goes into the must-win – for both teams – match with something of a second-string pack, which could prove suicidal against the vaunted Bulls forwards.
The Crusaders camp confirmed McCaw had no serious health issues other than Deans describing him as still being “flat”. But the Bulls will be forgiven for thinking that McCaw – one of the outstanding looseforwards in the world – is just scared of what awaits him in the rarefied atmosphere at Loftus.
Australian players voted Loftus the worst place to visit, and it would be surprising if the New Zealanders actually found a trip to Pretoria appealing. McCaw certainly seems content to sit on the sidelines and avoid any nasty clashes with the big Bulls pack.
One wonders just how he is going to cope when he returns for the All Blacks in the Tri-Nations with the match also set to take place at Fortress Loftus. The second Tri-Nations Test between the two is also at altitude, with the Boks and All Blacks clashing at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium a week later.
Deans, however, believed McCaw would be ready to front the Brumbies in Christchurch next weekend where there was a need to have fresh players.
It’s a huge gamble with the Crusaders’ playoffs chances on the line over the final two weeks of round-robin action.
Crusaders team: 15 Leon MacDonald, 14 Rico Gear, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Aaron Mauger, 11 Caleb Ralph, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Andrew Ellis; 8 Mose Tuiali’i, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Johnny Leo’o, 5 Reuben Thorne (c), 4 Chris Jack, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett. Replacements: 16 Tone Kopelani, 17 Campbell Johnstone, 18 Craig Clarke, 19 Brad Mika, 20 Kevin Senio, 21 Cameron McIntyre, 22 Stephen Brett/Scott Hamilton.
By Andrew Hollely

573 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All
3 May 2006, 17:37 pm
Well in Kitty – you got the 500!
No, just the odd bit here and there. I think all these public holidays have totally turned me off the concept of work.
yay! made 500!
Dawn – shot girlfriend!
pierre – probably true… after a short while you ain’t going to care… but isn’t that the case now??
Just asking…
Dis waar. Omdat hulle dit nie so gereeld kry, gee hulle hul beste asof dit die laaste keer is.
Dis soos die ooreenkoms tussen n scooter en dik meisie. Albei is moer lekker om te ry todat jou pelle jou sien.
3 May 2006, 17:38 pm
Frazer – i know exactly what you’re talking about! Didn’t even feel like a long weekend, but it sure messed up my workload!!!!!!!
3 May 2006, 17:39 pm
Thanks for the vote of confidence fraz
Kitty … shot what?
You want me to shoot someone for you?
LOL@Stan!!!
3 May 2006, 17:40 pm
Stan – I almost wet myself with that comment! you are really something!!!
3 May 2006, 17:41 pm
Anytime Andrew – I’m just trying to protect you from getting your hopes up too much…
Dawn – Bad day?
3 May 2006, 17:41 pm
Hehehe Stan.
Kitty, no, my current girlfriend is slim and gorgeous. But then, I’m living in Cape Town, not in the bloody Arabian desert. I’m a firm believer that people’s standards adjust according to circumstances.
3 May 2006, 17:43 pm
lol Stan, you occassionally do come up with some pearlers in amongst the rubbish.
kitty,
i like your positivity, but Dawn is a battle-hardened veteran, she once professed to having been with more blokes than someone had had TV dinners. females dont like it when their thunder is stolen; a site full of blokes and look no fighting, 2 competing woman and its a shitstorm.
3 May 2006, 17:43 pm
Stan: how do you double the value of a TATA????
3 May 2006, 17:44 pm
bliksem
Are you in Kiwiland? Where you based? How does it suit you? What do you do?
I might be heading that way soon, with my family, so I am keen to find out more about the place.
3 May 2006, 17:45 pm
Kitty – Well, how do you?
3 May 2006, 17:45 pm
Cab moenie aangaan nie.
I have decided to stow the weaponry.
But given by birthsign and Latin temperament, I have to be true to form sometimes.
3 May 2006, 17:46 pm
Kitty,
Ek stel voor dat jy vir Dawn met uiterste respek behandel.
Dawn is n girl wat met gemak n Bullterrier doodskop.
3 May 2006, 17:47 pm
Wicked – Don’t go if you like a bit of action in your life. The laid back lifestyle of Cape Town is like the hustle & bustle of New York compared to Just about anywhere in Kiwiland…
Is that what you now call yourself Dawn? Latin?
ya Dawn, but with Stan cruising the waters, i think you might have to re-arm ASAP.
3 May 2006, 17:48 pm
No longer Latin American, its now Latin African…
Or Latyn oppie Fletse…
Kitty,
Weet nie. Sê?
Besides. I am deeply offended that Andrew could even THINK that I wouldn’t know what the Pulitzer was.
Man oh man.
3 May 2006, 17:49 pm
Stan: half fill it with petrol….
3 May 2006, 17:49 pm
cab,
Los vir dawn.
Sy lê nagte wakker en fantaseer oor my.
3 May 2006, 17:50 pm
Vinnie.
TEMPERAMENT not NATIONALITY.
Man is jy dof of wat.
3 May 2006, 17:51 pm
Would never disrespect Dawn…. try not to disrespect anyone, but sometimes my mouth runs away with me…
I have no problem in handing the lime light that you talk of to another woman!
Speaking of Latin babes, did anyone else see Shakira perform on American Idol last night? God ******* damn…
and if she says that she has stowed the armament, it does not mean she got rid of it.
It is merely out of sight.
3 May 2006, 17:52 pm
no pierre, can’t say i did!
3 May 2006, 17:52 pm
No I didnt pierre… you got a link where i can watch online?
3 May 2006, 17:54 pm
I am off like a Jewish foreskin.
Sien more.
3 May 2006, 17:54 pm
Hmmm no, but you can probably get some stuff from her website – she normally performs in a fairly underdressed state anyway. What a gorgeous chick she is.
No-one will ever replace Debbie Harry, though.
3 May 2006, 17:55 pm
Bye Stan, give your boyf one for me.
bye stan…
Debbie Harry?
Nou praat jy!
3 May 2006, 17:56 pm
Ek sal jou graag een wil gee.
125 grein sagtepunt, centre mass.
3 May 2006, 17:57 pm
Stan, I saw Blondie live at the Royal Albert Hall in NOvember, and I can honestly say it was one of the best experiences of my life. I screamed my lungs out trying to tell Debbie how much I love her, but she pretended not to hear me.
3 May 2006, 18:00 pm
right… my cue to love and leave you boys….
Don’t compromise, condomise…
see you tomorrow!
3 May 2006, 18:01 pm
Up and at ‘em Vinnie.
3 May 2006, 18:03 pm
Wel, as n ou vrou soos Debbie jou ignoreer is jy redelik in die kak.
Lyk my jy is vir ewig met die dikkes opgeskeep…
3 May 2006, 18:06 pm
Hehehe Stan. I’ll occupy myself with the mature ladies while you occupy yourself with your firearm collection.
3 May 2006, 18:06 pm
Sayonara kiddies, see you tomorrow, deo volente.
3 May 2006, 18:09 pm
Maar daar is uitsonderinge soos Dawn.
Dis nou as jy die gebrek aan enamel kan hanteer…
3 May 2006, 18:16 pm
Cheers Kitty!
3 May 2006, 18:17 pm
Later peeps… It’s been real…
3 May 2006, 18:18 pm
Love you Kitty!!
Shenanigans tonight 8pm!! See you there…
3 May 2006, 18:25 pm
Has anyone got the heart to tell Pierre that Debbie Harry is ***?
3 May 2006, 18:31 pm
haha!
3 May 2006, 18:44 pm
David you heartless.
3 May 2006, 18:49 pm
Jeez David how could you….
Stan your posts are funny except I soemtimes can’t underSTANd them as my Afrikaans is rusty….could you do them in Engkish and Afrikaans so that the Souties can understand ??
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All