McCaw running scared

The Bulls can already claim a moral victory over the Crusaders after the defending champions left captain Richie McCaw out of the match 22 altogether.

McCaw does not have fond memories of Loftus Versfeld, or perhaps much memory of it at all after he was smacked unconcious in the opening minutes of the corresponding fixture last year by prop Richard Bands. The Bulls went on to record an emphatic 35-20 win.

Coach Robbie Deans goes into the must-win – for both teams – match with something of a second-string pack, which could prove suicidal against the vaunted Bulls forwards.

The Crusaders camp confirmed McCaw had no serious health issues other than Deans describing him as still being “flat”. But the Bulls will be forgiven for thinking that McCaw – one of the outstanding looseforwards in the world – is just scared of what awaits him in the rarefied atmosphere at Loftus.

Australian players voted Loftus the worst place to visit, and it would be surprising if the New Zealanders actually found a trip to Pretoria appealing. McCaw certainly seems content to sit on the sidelines and avoid any nasty clashes with the big Bulls pack.

One wonders just how he is going to cope when he returns for the All Blacks in the Tri-Nations with the match also set to take place at Fortress Loftus. The second Tri-Nations Test between the two is also at altitude, with the Boks and All Blacks clashing at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium a week later.

Deans, however, believed McCaw would be ready to front the Brumbies in Christchurch next weekend where there was a need to have fresh players.

It’s a huge gamble with the Crusaders’ playoffs chances on the line over the final two weeks of round-robin action.

Crusaders team: 15 Leon MacDonald, 14 Rico Gear, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 Aaron Mauger, 11 Caleb Ralph, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Andrew Ellis; 8 Mose Tuiali’i, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Johnny Leo’o, 5 Reuben Thorne (c), 4 Chris Jack, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett. Replacements: 16 Tone Kopelani, 17 Campbell Johnstone, 18 Craig Clarke, 19 Brad Mika, 20 Kevin Senio, 21 Cameron McIntyre, 22 Stephen Brett/Scott Hamilton.

By Andrew Hollely

573 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 51.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

Its all a cunny plan, you wait and see. Have any of you guys seen or heard of Tanerau Latimer? Some people were surprised when they drafted him as he is a young guy who has only really played 7′s. They have a eye for talent and what I have seen of him, he has it. You may have seen him play a little near the end of the Force game, very fast in general an to the breakdown and has put on quite a bit of size. He also won the Commonwealth Games Gold. I think he is going to be some talent, one game won’t confirm this, but watch out for the Number 7, you’ll think its Ritchie in disguise, and you never know, it may just be (confusing, I know).
    Could it be a smokescreen

• 52.cab: Reply to this comment

lol redox,

still strange decision, not sure the crusaders are guarenteed a home semi with the tahs and canes around. perhaps he’ll be in the starting lineup on saturday morning.

• 53.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

sorry that cunning – someone proof read this!!!

• 54.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Stan – What’s that?

• 55.sarky: Reply to this comment

Bulls for the final, it’s in the stands.

• 56.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Frazer, kry vir jou ‘n vertalende woordeboek en hou op om ons tyd te mors jou eenvoudige drol

• 57.Staal: Reply to this comment

Manne, as die Bulls net vir 80 min hul gameplan kan uitvoer —– dan het ons ‘n kans. Anders gaat ons moet tackle soos nog nooit want die Saders gee gas vir 80 min. End of story.

Stan,

Wat se jy van Spies, die mannetjie lyk al meer na ‘n speler vannie toekoms. Kan nie glo JSmit het vir hom gepass saterdag nie – kon hy nie sien Spies het ‘n blou trui aan nie.

Nou-ja JS het ook innie lynstaan ‘n paar vir Matfield gegooi, miskien is hy kleurblind??

• 58.boeja: Reply to this comment

i will get some slack for this……
    but maybe the saders dont rate the bulls pack and now they choose their second best pack to face them. (says alot on what they thought of the stormers pack dont they)

• 59.Kitty: Reply to this comment

mcCawesom – what have you got on your mind????? something that lingers???

• 60.johnnyb: Reply to this comment

Repeating this post from earlier thread regarding SA teams underperformance and oldschool mentality

Frazer

I fully concur with your sentiments. Every year we talk the same talk but very rarely do we produce one of the top teams (we usually have one “Tottenham Hotspurs” fighting it out for fourth place.) You are right to demand excellence from a country blessed with such great natural rugby talent and such a strong rugby culture. That does not make you a bad supporter, in my opinion.

I read this site often but very rarely post and am also embarrassed by some of the morons who contribute to this site, from all parts of SA. The old “moer hulle” mentality prevails and I fear that until we can combine our natural brawn and strength with greater skill and tactical nous, we will not consistently be number one or two in the world. As Basil Bey repeatedly said, many senior SA rugby coaches coach the skill ‘out’ of our talented young players, which is very sad. And many of the muppits on this site are happy with that mentality and pour scorn on any player or coach who wishes to play with any individuality, skill or flair.

• 61.johnnyb: Reply to this comment

Repeating this post from earlier thread regarding SA teams’ underperformance and oldschool mentality

Frazer

I fully concur with your sentiments. Every year we talk the same talk but very rarely do we produce one of the top teams (we usually have one “Tottenham Hotspurs” fighting it out for fourth place.) You are right to demand excellence from a country blessed with such great natural rugby talent and such a strong rugby culture. That does not make you a bad supporter, in my opinion.

I read this site often but very rarely post and am also embarrassed by some of the morons who contribute to this site, from all parts of SA. The old “moer hulle” mentality prevails and I fear that until we can combine our natural brawn and strength with greater skill and tactical nous, we will not consistently be number one or two in the world. As Basil Bey repeatedly said, many senior SA rugby coaches coach the skill ‘out’ of our talented young players, which is very sad. And many of the muppits on this site are happy with that mentality and pour scorn on any player or coach who wishes to play with any individuality, skill or flair.

• 62.Kitty: Reply to this comment

Anvil, nobody is shoving anything down your throat. Read it, don’t read it, agree with it or don’t. no-one really gives a flying pig…

• 63.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

Nothing on my mind, or what is left of it. Would you care to elaborate?

• 64.Staal: Reply to this comment

boeja (58),

“saders don’t rate bulls pack”, ek hoop jy’s reg.

• 65.yoda: Reply to this comment

boeja

2nd best pack? only richie has been left out…

• 66.Stan: Reply to this comment

staal,
    Spies gaan verseker n grote word. Hy het alles vir n goeie klassieke agtsteman.
    Onthou dat matfield beskik oor die vermoe om enige opposisie haker se naam gat te maak.

• 67.Stan: Reply to this comment

johnnyb,
    say again, we did not get you the first time..

• 68.Loafer: Reply to this comment

Maybe the saders should have put McCaw on the bench, and put him on to do some damage when the bulls fall flat in the 2nd half.

• 69.sipes: Reply to this comment

I’m gonna wet my pants if the saders don’t make the semis. They obviously think the Brumbies game is gonna be the more difficult of the two.

And I think they might be right, but therefore they have to make sure they win this week.

• 70.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

They have also shifted Thorne to lock in place of Ross Filipo (injured). This means that they have two opensiders on the side of the scrum – Johnny Leo’o and Tanerau Latimer.
    Would seem to indicate they want to play it fast and wide

• 71.sipes: Reply to this comment

Loafer, i think that is the reason why Habana is on the bench. He’ll be needed to put some spark into the Bulls in the last 30 minutes

• 72.Stan: Reply to this comment

It is going to cost them dearly if they underestimate the Bulls team or pack.
    That is what happened against the ********.

• 73.shot: Reply to this comment

Well if they really underestimate us (which I doubt) it will be wonderful to see them crashing down… Not gonna happen though. We’re in for a monster of a game….

• 74.Jason: Reply to this comment

richie cant stand that blou bull song anyway who can stand it!!

• 75.johnnyb: Reply to this comment

Stan, my PC is freezing up but is probably worthwhile saying things twice for you anyway.

• 76.Loafer: Reply to this comment

The Bands incident was last year. Richie is scared of Timmy D. The man has had to wait for his chance, but man, he defends like a demon.

What do you think the chances are of Dlulane being called up for the Boks against the Scots?

• 77.Stan: Reply to this comment

jason,
    ons voel fokkol wat jy van die Bloubul song dink.
    Daar is n paar honderd duisend regoor SA wat daarvan hou.
    Gaan luister jou village People….

• 78.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Kitty,

Flying pigs ? Thats new. is that what okes think about your comments ?

This is the second article today on the McCaw issue and start with “Bulls can alreasy claim a moral victory …..”.

Sensational ? Go figure.

• 79.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Fat flabby and generally useless Richard Bands isn’t even remotely in the frame for the Bulls contest with the Crusaders this weekend!

Bands is doomed to be stumbling around among the other non-entities in a non-contest called the Vodacom Cup.

Wooo!

• 80.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Stan luister Jason nie na mandoza nie??????

• 81.Stan: Reply to this comment

Cackler,
    Jy was besonders stil hierdie week…

• 82.Kitty: Reply to this comment

Anvil, ‘pigs’ is better than having to use foul language… not very lady like!

The whole point is to get you talking! which is what you are doing!
    You might not agree with the article or even like it, which you are entitled to express. But nothing is being shoved down your throat darling! Rephrase if you have too..

• 83.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

Get use to the name and try and pronounce it correctly (that’s if I spell it correctly) – Tanerau Latimer – a star is born

• 84.Stan: Reply to this comment

blouste,
    of brenda Fassi en george Michael…

• 85.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

McCaw is soft as chicken ****

he has had plenty of rest this season.

• 86.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

It may be a shooting star, but a star nonetheless

• 87.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Lol @ stan

• 88.Staal: Reply to this comment

Stan 66,

ja, maar smaak my dis net makliker met JS

• 89.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Blouste – Sorry what’s that?

Tackle bag – At least Bands will go down in history for scoring the best try by a prop-ever. You’ll just go 6 feet down and be forever forgotten.

• 90.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

Speaking of soft BrumbyIV, we are all looking forward to Friday night and putting Karimichael Hunt out. Yes this is rugby league, sorry. Everyone you should watch it, it could be brutal. A message for Karmichael – WWJD – What Would Judas Do. Thanks!

Finally, we will see who is soft when you visit Jade!!!

• 91.cab: Reply to this comment

great player, the bulls can be thankful he is not playing, could make the difference between losing and winning.

• 92.Kitty: Reply to this comment

mcCawesome…. what the heck are you on about???

• 93.Anvil: Reply to this comment

I ‘ll pass Kitty.Not in the mood to argue with a desparate housewife right now ;)

• 94.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Frazer – W-o-o-r-d-e-b-o-e-k

• 95.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Hey Tickles, what happened to your mighty Saders against the Force and stormpies..?

Care to explain

• 96.yoda: Reply to this comment

mcCawsome

i reckon your new star (until he has a name worth remembering i wont take notice) will never forget this game, not because its his first or because he’ll be any good, but because he wont ever hurt as much again. Well actually he might, next year when he gets another whipping from bakkies

• 97.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Blouste – Sorry mate, didn’t quite get that… what are you trying to say? Maybe you could try it in English?

• 98.Kitty: Reply to this comment

Anvil, if you think i’m a housewife you are WAY off… As for desperate, darling you’ll be desperate when i’m done with you…. And who says we’re arguing??

• 99.Anvil: Reply to this comment

Yoda, Bakkies keeps a special eye on the new boys in a ruck and makes sure to take ‘em out extra hard and say ‘My name is John Botha,thats Bakkies to you son’.

• 100.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

Let me explain my last post. This weekend Ausi and NZ play a rugby league test in Sydney, the first match after we smacked them 24-0 in Tri-nations final in England last year.

There is a player who has been picked for Ausi and his name is karmichael Hunt and he is 19. He shifted with his family at 14/15 to play with the Broncoes. He was asked to play for the Kiwi’s and turned it down when he was 17 and was open to this possibility again this year and again turned it down, only to be picked by Ausi and accept.

Now I accept that individuals play for other countries, but they do this when there is no seeming chance to play for their national teams. NZ has lost plenty of players this way However, he has had the chance and walked away and chosen Ausi. Makes me sick

A little like rattlebones.

Anyway, if you can watch the test the talk preceding sounds like it could be nice and warm in the middle (if you get my drift)

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.