Leave Habana on the wing

Jake White is toying with the idea of Bryan Habana as a centre. NO JAKE. Leave him on the wing.

The Rapport newspaper, following an interview with White, speculated that a Habana move infield was on the cards to give the Bok backline more creativity. Hopefully White was throwing a bit of bait and isn’t serious. If ever we needed reminding of just who should be playing at No 13 for the Springboks Jaque Fourie reinforced the view that he is as good as any outside centre in the game.

When White played Jean de Villiers and Fourie as his test midfield combination, they were comfortably the best option we have seen in Bok rugby for some time.

There seems a reluctance to play our best players in their best positions. And it is ridiculous. The Cats wasted Fourie on the wing for much of the Super 14 and the Stormers also sent De Villiers back to the wing to accommodate De Wet Barry at inside centre.

De Villiers is our most creative inside back and it is time he is entrusted unreservedly with this role. Outside of him Fourie provides the perfect foil. Shifting Habana infield would negate his impact. He needs space and his strength is his finishing and not his creativity. To borrow from soccer to emphasise the point, we don’t need to turn one of the best strikers into a decent midfielder.

If Habana is to be moved from the wing, then the position to give him a run at is fullback. He has a good kicking game, he understands defence and his pace will be maximised and not stifled if wearing No 15.

Marius Joubert showed he is trading on yesterday’s headlines against the Sharks, while Barry was honest without ever being influential in the final 10 minute flurry when the Stormers could not create anything to break down the Sharks defence.

Of the other midfielders on display Ronnie Cooke is an exciting prospect at No 13, but he is not better than what’s there at the moment (read Fourie) and Brad Barrit has something special about his play as an inside centre option.

But to shift Habana now would be dangerous and White would be making the same mistake John Hart made when he moved Christian Cullen from fullback to wing and then to centre for the 1999 World Cup. Cullen was not bad at centre, but he would have been so much better at fullback. The same applies to Habana. He would never disappoint playing at No 13, but he would not be the factor he is at No 11.

Keep your best finisher on the wing Jake.

191 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

• 1.bokusa: Reply to this comment

If the Springbok coach had any influence the Bulls would have played Habana at centre during the Super 14 and we would have gotten a chance to see him play there. It’s not a bad idea but it should have been done already and not in the international season. Although in a squad system with so many games over the next few months it would be worth seeing. De Villiers and Fourie can’t play ten consecutive games.

• 2.saffa in sydney: Reply to this comment

I must admit I tend to agree. Although I am not convinced about JDV at centre I think BH is more value on the wing. The only issue then will be getting the ball to him.

I think Barrit looks extremely promising as well as Ronnie Cooke although I think RC may be a bit small for 13 perhaps not for 12.

In terms of future centre pairings I would really like to see Meyer Bosman spend some time at 12 if only to get him ready for flyhalf and perhaps in the TN just after the world cup we could be looking at

10 Meyer Bosman
    12 Brad Barrit
    13 Ronnie Cooke

?????

• 3.reggie the red: Reply to this comment

Move Habana to Fly half and he may see some ball!

• 4.saffa in sydney: Reply to this comment

or better yet prop!! Although he did pl;ay scrumhalf at school I beleive.

• 5.reggie the red: Reply to this comment

That’s interesting he may be better closer to the action. I would love to see him in a team that could preserve space and allow him to demonstrate his flair.

• 6.saffa in sydney: Reply to this comment

I think the 15 suggestion is not a bad one at all. His defence is great and at 15 he could join the line from either side and be running some really good angles at speed.

• 7.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Keo – Weren’t you the one bitching about JDV’s defence in the midfield? In all honesty, I really rate JDV as an attacking centre, but that Stormers midfield looked a lot more solid with Barry there. If only JDV could learn to defend a little better…

• 8.HarryD: Reply to this comment

Madness, Habana’s problem is that he has very little creativity. Unless he gets an intercept or has a clear straight run he stuffs it up.

The first thing he looks to do when faced with a one on one situation with a class opposition wing is to put the ball on boot and chip and chase.

The opposition have worked him out.

• 9.saffa in sydney: Reply to this comment

Harry D,

Last season I would have agreed with you but this season I have seen Habana doa bit of stepping. Not that much as he hasn’t had the ball but certainly he has been working on that aspect of his game. He does still like the chip kick though and p[erhaps an even better reason to have him at no 15, the opportunity to chip and chase and have clear straight runs?

• 10.jakesfourie: Reply to this comment

I totally disagree,keo
    People tend 2 forget that it was @ no13 where habana made his mark in a team setup where running rugby was the name of the game.He does the moves with pace&that is sure to add a new dimension 2 our backline play.
    Also keo,I don’t believe that its jake’s plan 2 play habana ahead of jaque f.He probably wants 2 see how he does@13.If jaque does get injured in say the 3nations at least he’ll know where he can turn 2.Rather play him @13 vs the world 15 or scotts &see how he does that throw him in @the deep end against the aussies&all blacks.And please,forget about marius.He does not deserve 2 b anywhere close 2 the bok team.He has been out of form for a couple of years now.

• 11.HarryD: Reply to this comment

Saffa I am not convinced that he has what is required for an international class center.

Do you think that the ‘bit of stepping’ he has shown this season is enough?

• 12.saffa in sydney: Reply to this comment

Harry D you miss my point. I am not saying he should be at centre but at Fullback. no 15.

• 13.Frazer: Reply to this comment

saffa – I would love to see Habana at 15. I think he’d be extremely dangerous joining the line and we could see many long range tries from him. Good idea…

• 14.Edwill: Reply to this comment

What’s wrong with Habana in Centre??? If Habana was white or would he then ‘deserve’ a place at centre?

• 15.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Edwill – that’s just a phukin stupid thing to say. **** off with that racist bullshit. It’s too early in the morning to be dealing with the race card…. ****!

• 16.saffa in sydney: Reply to this comment

If I was the bok backline coach and not subject to any selection pressures my backline would look like this

9 FDP (with a rocket up his a$#e to get quicker distribution)
    10 Jaco v/d West
    11 Jean de Villiers
    12 Meyer Bosman (goal kicker)
    13 Jacques Fourie
    14 JP Pietersen (not sure but maybe)
    15 Bryan Habana

• 17.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Frazer thats a typical Edwill statement.We have had more than 10 years of democracy.People died for this cause and then you get people like yourself who still moan.If you havent made it in 10 years you never will.

• 18.Edwill: Reply to this comment

Frazer

Habana made his name playing centre. You guys are now outraged that Jean must play wing. Why are you not outraged that Habana must play wing?

• 19.Futurebok: Reply to this comment

Edwil dont be like tackler, it’s got nothing to do with race would u play os at flank?? leave the best winger in the world on the wing!!! it only makes sense. SA is the only country were our best opensider plays blindside(schalk at the stormers) and now our best wing is going to be a centre. dont do it, let jaque play. maybe JDV on the wing until he improves his tackling!?

• 20.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Futurebok its a excuse that he falls back on because he cant cut it in the real world.He will use it till the day he dies.

• 21.Edwill: Reply to this comment

There’s nothing wrong with Jean’s tackling. Its his commitment that’s lacking.

Schalk Burger is not an openside flanker. He doesn’t play like one and he’s too big. If you look at the games closely, he gets beaten to the ball alot. And by the way, if he is playing a openside flanker, wouldn’t it make sense to play him right across from his opposition?

I’m just saying. You guys can’t fathom moving Jean and Jacque to the wing but are quite settled to push Habana to the wing. Habana scored more spectacular tries at centre than at wing.

• 22.Edwill: Reply to this comment

bliksem

hahahaa. I can’t cut it in the real world. Get your facts straight.

• 23.Edwill: Reply to this comment

So, please explain to me why Bryan can’t play at centre even for one game?

• 24.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Edwill I am really not interested in having a discussion with you.Enjoy your life.Cheers

• 25.saffa in sydney: Reply to this comment

Edwill,

I am quite happy to move Jean to the wing but I think JF is probably our best bet at 13. I must confess I don’t think Jean has lived up to the Hype but he is a very good winger.

I have never seen Hababn play at centre and can only comment on that I think he would be great at Fullback.

I also don’t understand the colour issue, since when has centre been a whites only position?

• 26.Edwill: Reply to this comment

Saffa

Look at the history. Habana made his name playing centre. He then moves to the Bulls and they can’t think of putting him, even for one game at centre…just one.

Jean is not a winger. He is an inside centre. But the gameplans are not suiting him. The coach, Jake included, think because he is big, he should crash the ball up alot. He played his best rugby under Carel du Plessis who taught him how to create space. Now he is taught to run into people. Jean de Villiers is as outspoken as Luke Watson. If he doesn’t feel to play for a coach, he won’t.

I still need someone to tell me, why Habana can’t play at centre. His try ratio is better when he played centre than at wing.

• 27.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

habana did play centre for the bulls in last years super 12 for a game or 2, he didnt do to well.

anyway, we have centres at the moment but are short wings. leave him there, he has done well.

what about gaffie on the other wing this year for the boks?

• 28.Edwill: Reply to this comment

Knersboy.

Jean, Jacque, De Wet, Marius, Wynand and JP have played more than a game or 2 not very well. So I don’t think that’s a good enough reason. Bryan Habana’s favourite position is outside centre. The man went on TV and said it himself. He modelled his whole game on Brian O’Driscoll.

• 29.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

yeah i hear you edwill, but the thing is that we are short on wings for the boks and i would rather see habana on the wing than fourie, because habana he has more pace.

• 30.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

i wish we had 1 more habana, like the ndungane twins, or the underwoods.

• 31.amabokfan: Reply to this comment

edwill, has habana actually played @ centre 4 the boks?? i dont think so … correct me if im wrong bru. u cannot compare his try ratio (centre vs wing) if he hasnt played @ 13 yet. + if ur refering 2 currie cup then all good + well, but hell that comp aint wot it used 2 b.

• 32.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Edwill – Habana is still our best option at wing. I believe a wing should have blinding pace and that’s what Habana has. I don’t believe that JDV has blinding pace, but he is an excellent playmaker, so he would be wasted on the wing. Jaque Fourie is without out doubt our best option at 13 and he proved that on the weekend.

• 33.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Leave Habana in a ditch rather. The oke is useless this year. How many tries has he scored ? 1, 2 ?

After the Lensing deal, okes like Habana the Useless will probably be demanding millions to play, and then under perform in any case.

Should we not be resting all Springboks now already with the semis chance out of the window ?

Soon,we’ll be hearing about how tired the Bokke are. Now is the perfect opportunity to rest the whole miserable lot.

• 34.Edwill: Reply to this comment

You know what, you guys have been accusing me of racism and disagree that Habana shouldn’t be moved to centre. It just shows, you guys don’t even want to think of Habana being at centre, even just for two games against the Scots.

• 35.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

if u think about it we havent seen much from the bok backline players during the super 14. de villiers and fourie have been moved around a lot and playing in loosing teams, habana hasn’t got the ball that much.

imo percy has shown why he is first choice, 7 tries so far in super 14, not bad. now we just need ricky to wake up a bit, i think fourie is coming back to his best and jaco is still my first choice number 10.

• 36.ricane: Reply to this comment

edwill, all players in a rugby team are valuable. You don’t push a player to the wing because he’s bad or being demoted, and centre is not better than wing.
    I reckon the reason you would keep him on the wing or #15 is because he’s a player how can use space very well. Playing at #15 would mean that he spends more time in his own backline too!!
    Cullen excelled at 15 because he had room there, he was wasted at centre
    Centres also have become a lot bigger recently, putting in big hits and involved more in a loose forward type of role at the breakdown. I’m not sure that is Habanas forte

• 37.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Blueblood – Maybe if your useless team could figure out how to create space for their wings and get the pill to them, he would have scored more tries this year.

Edwill – I think you’ll find that you were the one accusing everyone else of racism. Before you brought that up, nobody was thinking about race.

• 38.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

Edwill, relax man, i like your idea of him being given a go against the likes of scotland. if he were to play centre, what would your backline be. i think.

9) du preez
    10) jaco
    11) fourie
    12) de villiers
    13) habana
    14) paulse/gaffie
    15) percy

with a back 3 like percy, fourie and gaffie/paulse u have 3 guys who can effectively play fullback, i.e. good under the high ball etc etc.

• 39.capebull: Reply to this comment

Edwill

Habana made his name at wing for the u/21 , he’s played a few games at centre for Lions,

I saw Linstroom Manuals over the weekend as ref for school’s rugby, the ball was kicked into touch , caught by an spectator , given to a player that took a quick line out,his call was , scrum the ball was not put in straight.

On the same point the lines man for the bulls game was pathetic. Jako should have had a yellow and so the wing of crusaders on 2 occasions , which means a red.

Our refs are a joke to the world

• 40.ktb: Reply to this comment

GREAT MOVE — he would be just awesome at 13, his pace would carve up the best defense, he only needs a half gap, this is his best position.
    How often do you see a centre break and then he is caught from behind because of lack of pace? WONT HAPPEN WITH BRIAN

• 41.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Keo,

Remember my hypothesis I emailed you a week or two ago?

Some of your concerns were:

Crusader not to score a point at Newlands.
    Highlanders beating the Brumbies
    Warathas losing etc.

See how easy things change in sport. Pity the Bulls and SHarks didn’t do their bit though

• 42.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Frazer,my apologies, you are correct. All the Bulls are equally useless.

• 43.capebull: Reply to this comment

We do not deserve a spot in the semi’s

% games lost

Saders 8%
    Tahs 25%
    Canes 25%
    Brumbies 25%

Bulls 41%
    Sharks 50%

• 44.christo: Reply to this comment

With Jorrie Muller injured J Cronje is the new Jorrie Saterday ref told him 3 times no 6 hands out ruck, and he still did!!!

• 45.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Capebull – spot on! Why are our teams always the dogs under the dining room table fighting over the scraps? It’s pathetic!

• 46.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Keep Habana on wing with JDV and Fourie on 12 and 13. We got a great forward pack and our backline will get quality ball, we need a flyhalf of Carters caliber and we dont have one in South Africa at the moment and i dont see an and coming one in the junior teams (U.19 and U21)

• 47.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Bokusa @1
    Your post is spot on, HM should have given him a run at 13. Habs is lost on the wing and seriousl needs to be brought closer to the action, having said that, how does one replace Fourie after his showing this w/e.
    I don’t think the idea of flyhalf is such a joke at all, if in doubt, try him there in a vodacom cup match.

• 48.ddrek: Reply to this comment

We will never know if we dont try him lik Edwil van Aarde says vs worlds and Scots. We need a good backup for Jacques Fourie ,our no 1 choice. If there’s an injury or a player rested then the boys move in. Habs moves to 13 ,Jean to 12 ,if not there already. Yes Brian played great for Lions at 13. then came his debut vs england and jaco broke incredibly and put brian away (with his pace ) for the score. he had another good ruyn and has been a wing ever since. We need backup at 13. If he is a specialist 11 and 13 he is more useful. i think Jake has finally realised MJ is toast ! Lets hope.
    We can also blood some new boys who happen to fit the colour scheme of things ,at wing and one day they can move to 15 or wherever.(Ndungane twins,Pietersen etc)
    Now about Brian at 15….a tasty thought,but thrown in in the bok setup? well me thinks he’ll adapt to 13 with his experience faster. Like someone said….if he was triein the S14 at 13 ,well thesame goes for 15. Its big position that could work fantastically for him (and us supporters) but its a bit like people calling for Jake to blood JDV at 10 during the bok games.
    What arisk….aainst minnows sure,but were werent playing many minnows after the 1st few games.
    (by then)
    JdV has shown below average clearance kicking for a 10….he would need specilaist training.
    I am also worried that he is said to be by keo and co …our most creative no 12. we are in ****….he is occasionally creative,he is often boig standard.Perhapos this is our best.
    I still like jaco at 15 ,AP at 10 (for 2 out of 3 games) and Percy n the bench.JF,BH and JDV sghould all be a part of the team and i like them all at wing and centre but JdV at both 12 and 13( even tho he’s not always THAT amazing)
    Barritt needs to be focused on in the background.
    I also think Habana at 13 would do well cos he is targetted at 11 and selsom has the room to move and is fouled a lot there.He would be a bit of an unknown at 13 yet he knows what he can do.
    All we say is ,we need a gopod backup for Jacques fourie ….its foolish to rely on him for every game.
    i amstill oing back and forth with Barry at 12. I feel confidence when he plays there,sort of….ha,what does that mean? If he can offload in the tackle and have his players running offf him …like we see at times ,he is a good bet still.But we must have an AP or Jaco at 10…which w will have.
    Yes I think Bosman like Baritt be developed at 12 is a good plan.

• 49.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

and i dont see an up and coming one in the junior teams (U.19 and U21)

• 50.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

Haha! Habana should stay at wing fool! JdV and JF at centres with Barrit and Cooke as backups. Butch is a must for flyhalve. Percy at the back, Jaco as the backup. Ruan as 9, FdP as backup. Breyton or Jantjes on wing.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.