World Cup Boks out of Currie Cup

Players on the 2007 national squad shortlist will only play Currie Cup rugby again in 2008.

SA Rugby Union’s manager of national teams Andy Marinos confirmed that the players would be withdrawn from this year and next year’s domestic competition.

The World Cup candidates will only play in the 2007 Super 14 — and then they will be used sparingly.

“We have agreed with the various unions that the players will be their responsibility for the entire Super 14 campaign. After the Super 14 the players contracts with SA Rugby become effective meaning that they will be our responsibility from there on,” Marinos said.

Players could be released to play for their unions at the discretion of Bok coach Jake White.

“In essence this means that the players will be with the Springboks for the incoming tours and Tri-Nations and certain players will have to be rested afterwards. Not all the players will
be rested but some especially those that the coach feels need time off,” said Marinos.

White is expected to name a squad of 45 at the weekend, but it is unlikely that the provinces will allow for 45 players to miss the domestic competition. It could be that the leading 20 Boks are excempt and the remaining 25 play sporadically.

The World Cup Springboks in 2003 also missed the entire Currie Cup, although it did little for their prospects as they crashed out in the quarter-finals.

204 Comments

• 1.Ben M: Reply to this comment

Aaah, a benefit to working late! Numero Uno!

• 2.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

i win

• 3.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

Ben M you slimy *******

• 4.rimpels: Reply to this comment

This is very good news!!This will surely help the boks cause!!!

• 5.niknak: Reply to this comment

merinos? the only time he pulls players out of a game is to line his own pocket. cracker.

• 6.slaapsak: Reply to this comment

At last someone sees the bigger picture

• 7.windhond: Reply to this comment

I like the comment ‘at the discretion of Jake white’. Flip that is dangerous giving him that kind of say, he will inevitably stick both his feet in his mouth;-)

• 8.windhond: Reply to this comment

You could also count on your hands the number of players (springboks) who have had a full season, they are always injured.

• 9.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Now, how about only playing the Trinations once every four years too. Two years apart from the RWC.

That way every other year we can venture out on meaningful tours. Three match tours against the Poms, or Paddies, ahh the joy of realy rugger.

• 10.niknak: Reply to this comment

for sure, yoMaha, but who will line the pockets of the administrators in the other years ? you didn’t think about that did you? cracker.

• 11.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Money? I was talking about Rugby.

I know that these are not mutually exclusive anymore but I am going to guess that the people who fork out the money are getting bored.

• 12.niknak: Reply to this comment

bored of what? accumulating assets !? i doubt it. cracker.

• 13.BULLET: Reply to this comment

About time, now we are acting like a professional outfit.

I wonder if Sarfu will pay the lack of CC earnings? Or if the players will loose provincial contracts and be compensated. I hope this one was thought through…. (It would seem obvious that it should be thought through, but this is SARFU)

Its also a way of protecting players who play badly in CC but produce the goods for the Boks. I am sure that Percy will be pleased with this!

BOKKE FOREVER!

PS – Not having a go at Percy, I just think he is the ultimate big match player! Turns it on when he haws to.

• 14.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

does that mean that the bok squad will be chosen 4 months before the world cup? A bit premature and not at all wise.

• 15.superBul: Reply to this comment

I dont like this at all my reasons is
    1. The importance of the WC is far too high
    2. Practice makes perfect , boks must be tested
    against hungry aspirant Boks
    3. The fruits of Jakes gym work was seen in this
    years S14

1. Who still feel England team is the world champs after their **** performance since the world cup. I would rather say play like the ABs losing only one game last year and be known as the worlds best team.

2. practice the moves you want to use in real game situations not in classrooms and video sessions. The ABs dont shy away from real contact so why must we. The ABs have lost some of thier best men in practice and trails in the past and they sill believe in contact sessions.

3. I might be hard by saying JWs gym work alone has cost us some of our skills , some players by themself and the other coaches contibuted to it. From school coaches want the biggest and tallest and strongest players in their team. Jake started the whole thing with certain players bench presses are better than the next and this guy is faster than that one over 60 meter,…

• 16.windhond: Reply to this comment

Superbul 15,

I agree and J Cronje is a classic example of big, slow and rugby doff. To highligh this thinking is the belief (last year at least) that D Rossouow is a flanker, good grief, he offers about as much as Q Davids, he’s probably a bit more solid:-D

• 17.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Die Bokke het geen kans om die wereldbeker te wen nie. Hulle kan maar rus soveel hulle wil. Dis of die All Black of Wallabies wat die kroon gaan dra. Die Bokke sal slegs ‘n kans het om ‘n wereldbeker te wen by die huis, nerens anders nie.

• 18.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Niknak spot on re: Merinos

• 19.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Zinto’s revised world cup line up:
    15. JP Peterson
    14. Tonderia Chavanga
    13. Jaque Fourie
    12. Jean de Villiers
    11. Bryan Habana
    10. Jaco van der Westhuizen
    9. Ruan pienaar
    8. Joe van Niekerk
    7. Schalk Burger
    6. Luke Watson
    5. Victor matfield
    4. Bakkies Botha
    3. BJ Botha
    2. Shalk Brits
    1. Guthro Steenkamp

Yes guthro didn’t take part in this years S14, but he is our next Os. Tonderia and Bryan.. Express speed on the wings. Luke the captain.

• 20.Chuckwoodybumblespri: Reply to this comment

If this is true, then The sharks should win the CC

• 21.Zinto: Reply to this comment

This team has flair, speed, creativity, strength and a good mixture of youth and experience. Ruan and Jaco to share the kicking duties with Pretorius on the bench as back up. The bench is as follows:
    16. Ricky Januarie
    17. Andre Pretorius
    18. John Smit
    19. AJ Venter
    20. Ross Skeate
    21. Akona Ndungane
    22. JD Moller

• 22.windhond: Reply to this comment

Zinto agree with you about Guthro, the mans a beast when he gets going, you got to wonder though about his broken hand, what the hell did he do to it. He has’nt played rugby for goodness knows how long, and that just for a broken hand, or was there another injury in between?

ABout Jaco/Ruan kicking, not the kind of guys I would bet my house on winning a tough test match with 6 penalties and one conversion. And kicking, really, is what cost us last year.

• 23.Zinto: Reply to this comment

windhond
    Agree that we need a quality kicker. If so, maybe Pretorius ahead of Jaco? Jaco is the better alround player though. SA doesn’t have a quality flyhalf hey.

What’s your take on Ross Skeate? Bok quality? JD Moller??? Maybe a bit too early? Undungane is playing well hey, but JP Pietersen is just awesome, So too Bradly barrit. And what about Jaques Botes, Alot like Josh Kronfelt.

• 24.tokolosi: Reply to this comment

I disagree with zinto,steenkamp has not played s14 rugby, so how on earth do we know that he is any good at the moment, this situation reminds me of the england soccer team choosing that walcott chappie, steenkamp must play s14 and currie cup and prove to us again that he is the ‘new os’.

• 25.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

Did anyone watch Super Rugby on mnet?
    Andre M took a swing at rugby management and at Keo.
    He is helping out at Griekwas and said “Mark keohane doesn’t have to worry, I am not getting back into rugby”

He was saying that Griekwas need to play in the CC as they didn’t do well in the Vodacom Cup due to them releasing their player for other competitions during the Vodacom cup.
    Which now has been turned into a qualifying event for the CC.

• 26.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

Hoskins in turn gave no real answers, this is actually an improvement on BvR who just told everyone what they wanted to hear!

• 27.Koos: Reply to this comment

Zinto, a Bok 22 without Juan Smith, you must be joking!!!

• 28.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Agree Koos…Juan Smith would make a world XV

• 29.pompies: Reply to this comment

Post 20 da bulls will win da cc.

• 30.Koos: Reply to this comment

Yeah Couch, but not better than a weepee loose trio!!! At least AJ made it to the bench…

• 31.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith for Bok Captain in 2007. At least then you can choose number 1 Hooker Gary Botha for the starting 15

• 32.kwensie: Reply to this comment

******* cold in Gauteng

• 33.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Ye Dale Sandton hasnt played any Currie Cup since 1999 to make ready for WC07

• 34.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Ja,kom ons praat kak moegrat.

• 35.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

The Bulls are going to fck up the Stormers like its 1999

• 36.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

So the CC 2007 & 2008 and the S14 2008 means nothing.

At least they said it up front and didn’t try to hide it. Now I can do something else on the weekend.

I agree with Superbul [15] though. There is too much emphasis on the RWC. Its made out to be too important. Everything is sacrificed for it, and at the end of the day who really cares who holds the trophy ? England are supposed to be the “world champs” but are they really ? Noone speaks in awe of the English team, but the ABs ? Agree, rather kick butt every year than win the world cup.

Back to my original argument of ‘anything can happen in a final’. We’ve heard that one enough times. So doesn’t that mean that in the RWC, where there are quarters,semis and a final, that the winner is the luckiest of the top 8 ?

Kapeesh ?

To me the ABs are the current world champs, not England. To me England are the current holders of the trophy, that’s all.

• 37.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

there are more issue than not playing – for e.g the players contracts to the unions – why would a union contract a player they don’t get to use? Also the question of who pays them and is it now the full amount as they are not playing and no match fees. Again this sounds like the spears deal and not much thought has gone into the other areas around such a move. Since we don’t and never will know what agreements nd contracts are in place there will always be pro’s and con’s. I do think the players are playing too much but also don’t think we should wrap them in cotton wool – maybe a limit on the amount of game time should rather be put into place.

• 38.Edwill: Reply to this comment

Someone please help me. Why do the Boks need two years of rest to play a possible maximum of 7 games?

• 39.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Moegrat
    ..or 2005. Loftus….72-14 if I’m not mistaken

• 40.Koos: Reply to this comment

BB whats happening in ’08?

• 41.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Edwill because its the World Cup which is the ultimate.Dont even reply,I am not interested.

• 42.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Koos they get to play in CC again

• 43.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Kwensie, Im actually one of the biggest Province supporters out there so im trying a different approach now

• 44.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Edwill

Because JW does not Think…..That happens when you have a coach who did not play Rugby at high level….Only Kitch could do that but then again her was A Rugby Genius like Rassie

• 45.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Moegrat you got a obesity problem?

• 46.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ja I know All_stormers but somehow BB is writing off ’08 as well, was just wondering what he knows!

• 47.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Sorry typing error 44….Damn my hands are cold

• 48.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Kwensie what has playing at the higest level got to do with anything/How many tournaments did Earl Woods win?

• 49.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Huh?

• 50.bliksem: Reply to this comment

While i am busy,what does it help if you played rugby years ago.The game is continually evolving.You must be a Bulls supporter.

• 51.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem

There is exceptions to the General rule….Like Kitch

• 52.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Bliksem, who you talking to

• 53.bliksem: Reply to this comment

moegrat you did claim being one of WP’s “biggest” supporters/fans.

• 54.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

And Chuck Norris, he didnt play any rugby

• 55.bliksem: Reply to this comment

kwensie those are very rare exceptions.

• 56.reds: Reply to this comment

Bliksem..you in a bad mood this morning? wrong foot out of bed?

• 57.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Oh, good one. But i think that is the legend Quintin Davids

• 58.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Moegrat not even remotely funny.ook maar onnosel.How old are you by the way?15?

• 59.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

I couldve been your dad Bliksem, but your mom was screaming so i left

• 60.bigg: Reply to this comment

Anyone hear on the news this morning that 19 out of the 24 contracted boks have chronic injuries?

• 61.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Our most successful coach ever…. Nick Mallet played at the highest level. But again there are exceptions like the Old **** Strollie Bollie

• 62.bigg: Reply to this comment

Moegrat – I wouldn’t go there if I were you, re Bliksem’s parents…

• 63.bliksem: Reply to this comment

reds i am the moer in.Why the **** didnt the state take away Dirk Prinslo’s pasports.He is up for child molestation and sitting in Russia vowing not to return.How the **** does that happen?Ridicilious.

• 64.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Moegrat please mail me at tui@hotmail.co.za

• 65.bliksem: Reply to this comment

moegrat where abouts do you live?

• 66.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

My mistake,should be 2006 and 2007 and 2007.

The crapioli dished up by the Bulls imposters this year must have gotten to my brain.

Actually funny how much effort goes into a RWC. I still think it should be based on a points system over a period of time, not a once off showcase where individual players are trying to get noticed by big paying clubs. Very few of WC players play for their country, they’ve all got their own agendas.

Sad really.

I like that comment though : two years of rest to play seven games.

It’s true, it’s not like they’re playing a 4 month tourney like the S14. The round robin games will be walkovers against Mongolia in any case, and the quarters,semis and finals there will be so much adrenalin pumping it won’t matter.

• 67.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Its South African justice. Ask yourself the same question about how a vice president who was on the board for HIV Prevention in South Africa a year or two ago make comments such as “I took a shower cause i was afraid she may have aids”

• 68.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem

I saw this Bos Advocate appear in court a few times. He is a sneaky *******

• 69.reds: Reply to this comment

Bliksem I read that this morning. It seems to me that in this country you can get away with murder…but then again it is Ssouth Africa is it not!!

• 70.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

I live in Australia Bliksem, you can deal but cant receive??? Blue Bulls supporter as well???

• 71.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Well moegrat whereabouts in Aussie/I am going to be in Sydney for 2 weeks over December?Care to meet?

• 72.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Reds – in UK the released 1000 prisioners and which about 400 should have been deported and now they don’t know where they are – so it also happens in other countries.

• 73.Edwill: Reply to this comment

I’d rather have the Boks play ‘friendly’ games at least against some of the Currie Cup teams. This will allow them to hone their skills and try different gameplans. Having them sit in a gym, getting massaged, is not my idea of rugby.

• 74.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Ye will love to meet you, you sound like such a nice guy. But i dont think they let retards in the country so hope you didnt book your flight yet

• 75.Blackberry: Reply to this comment

There are 24 contracted players. I think it is save to assume that they will be the ones rested.
    Keo how about a recap? Who are the 24 exactly? I think Gary Botha (Markraaf gave him one when rumours started circulating that Gary might leave SA), Ashwin Willemse and Paulse each have one.

• 76.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Moegrat hou net op kak praat.Waar bly jy?baie ****** grootbek oor die internet.

• 77.bigg: Reply to this comment

Moegrat – re your statement about Jacob Zuma, get your facts correct before you make a statement ok! Viva Zuma!!!!!!

• 78.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Blackberry – think that those contract have ‘expired’ – this is also SA rugby way of not letting them play for another country – they did the same to Andrew Aitken just before the 95 world cup as he could have played for Scotland. by giving them a run they can’t just jump ship and play for another country. Sad so even a WC you don’t always get the best players and agian makes one ask what is the WC worth.

• 79.jondood: Reply to this comment

moegrat

bliksem is serious. Look what happened to Kurt Darren a week or two back.

• 80.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Oh you want to come and “bliksem” me. Typical

I live in Mandurah just south of perth. Must i give my exact address as well so you can send one of your pedophile friends over to come and stalk me??

Fck off your mom wants to count children

• 81.Edwill: Reply to this comment

These ‘chosen’ guys better perform better. None of the Springboks really impressed me, since the Tri-Nations last year. I hate it when rugby players are made to be ‘gods’. I’ve seen it happen, especially here in Pretoria. Until they win something, they are just statistics.

• 82.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Ja please give your adress Moegrat.

• 83.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

I heard his underpants was stolen as well.

Jondood

So this is the big one this weekend, the 200 bucks one

• 84.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

hey didnt your mom tell you not to give your adress to pedophiles over the internet

• 85.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem

Maar jy is omtrent de moer in vanoggend

• 86.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Both my parents are dead moegrat.

• 87.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

shame

• 88.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

pls dont put stormers in the Springboks side they useless…. except for watson and maybe still burger dont know bout him his been toooo quiet.

Then on the other hand hmmmm curriecup season and i want revenge … not that it needed cos hey we was so far ahead on log points just pitty kaplan spoiled it.

Go Bulls!!!!

• 89.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Cheers manne ek moet veld toe.

• 90.green blood: Reply to this comment

blik

whats up. jy regtig de moer in vir die hele wereld oor dirk prinsloo. relax

moergat jy moet nie die ou ernstig opneem nie verstaan net sy sin vir humor

• 91.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Blueblood
    But if we dont have a RWC then teams become champs by consistency over time. it might be fair but it would be boring.It would also not give the upset factor any value.
    For entertainment sakes ,cos thats what it is for us joe publics who are the paying bodies,whether its fair or unfair i’d rather see a world cup comp. Imagine if RWC 1995 did not happen.
    Certainly one of the highlights of my life. Better than all those new years party’sthat promise so much but deliver so little.
    I am for tours though and Tri-nations being an every 2 or 3 year event. Super 14 could be every 2 years. But then some serious tours must happen.
    I do wish there was no Trinations in RWC year….it seems to water it down a bit. By RWC time without TN ,we would be chomping at the bit ,big time !

• 92.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Greenblood

Die groot Internet vredemaker

• 93.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

He was probably one of the children that Prinsloo had his “way” with, thats why he’s pissed off Green Blood

• 94.bigg: Reply to this comment

Moegrat – I actually can’t believe you have stooped that low to insulting a stranger’s parents. That is a sign of no breeding, no manners, very lonely and basically just a complete ******* wanker…

Moegrat – you can eat the peanuts out of my ****!

• 95.kwensie: Reply to this comment

LOL ….. Good one Bigg

• 96.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey – Stormers so far only team to beat Crusaders – no mean feat – and the games they lost were close and due to one or two players playing for themself and trying to get into Bok side. This could inclued Watson, Britz, and Burger as if you look close at the games they never played as team players. Yes there were other problem like Bolla passing all over the place but he is better in wet and round the scrum which is better suited in France. But the Stormers do have tallent – what is the saying ‘form is temp class is perm’

• 97.jondood: Reply to this comment

I see the anger is bubbling over early this morning.

• 98.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Im a saaaad Panda

Bigg relax, its a beautiful Wednesday and its only 3 more days till i can come back here and have a go at the Bulls supporters for losing against the Stormers

Can I use a spoon?

• 99.Edwill: Reply to this comment

What does our B team look like? Assuming the A looks like this.

Team A all have Springbok contracts, except for Andre Snyman…I think:

15.) Percy Montgomery
    14.) Andre Snyman
    13.) Jacque Fourie
    12.) Jean De Villiers
    11.) Bryan Habana
    10.) Jaco van der Westhuysen
    9.) Fourie du Preez
    8.) AJ Venter
    7.) Juan Smith
    6.) Schalk Burger
    5.) Victor Matfield
    4.) Bakkies Botha
    3.) CJ van der Linde
    2.) John Smith
    1.) Os du Randt

Team B:

15.) Conrad Jantjies
    14.) Tonderai Chavanga
    13.) Marius Joubert
    12.) De Wet Barry
    11.) Brent Russel
    10.) Andre Pretorius
    9.) Ruan Pienaar
    8.) Joe van Niekerk
    7.) Pedrie Wannenburg
    6.) Solly Tyibilika
    5.) Ross Skeate
    4.) Danie Rossouw
    3.) BJ Botha
    2.) Gary Botha
    1.) Guthro Steenkamp

I’d like to see a 5 game trials while the Currie Cup is on the way. 5 should be nothing for a professional rugby player.

• 100.rastafox: Reply to this comment

One of the major themes I recall from 1995 was the generally sober attitude of SA fans,at least in my area.Everybody wished and hoped the Boks could pull it off,yet just about all were realistic enough to believe that a semi’s spot would not be the end of the world.Now in this day and age of maladministration,political horse-trading and wild optimism it is demanded that we win 100% of the time and nothing less.Fire the coach drop the players all sorts of rubbish put forward.The fans are too kak sleg to go to the stadiums and support their teams in the flesh.
    In the main we criticise and moan about our unrealistic expectations that aren’t met.We blame the ref,the linesman and the ball that doesn’t bounce our way.It all seems a bit ridiculous to me now.I sit and wonder why the stadiums are always fuller down south,the teams pull the tight games out the bag and the coach seems to have a lifespan of more than 9 months. Even the “rubble Reds” attract a decent crowd.
    Perhaps the cancer in our rugby comes from the bottom up,instead of hollering from the safety and comfort of our armchairs we should get into the trenches and take it upon ourselves to reform the situation.I for one have had enough of the endless disappointment and would be more than willing to make a difference.

• 101.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Moegrat

Stormers won’t take this one…..Go Bulls

• 102.green blood: Reply to this comment

kwensie

ek ken bliksem regtig nie ‘n bad ou. en nie blou bul supporter ni. verstaan die man se sin vir humor.

die groot ? is wat van die stampe en stote wat jou liggaam gewoond aan moet bly – die pyn faktor. gymwerk kan nie dit vervang nie. kan negatiewe effek he op die hele doel.

kwensie, diplomasie altyd ‘n goei ding ou maat.

• 103.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

To be honest Kwensie, if someone gave me money and i had to put it on the game i would go Bulls as well but hey a man is not a man without a dream

• 104.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Can’t see the Bulls winning on the weekend.

They are kak at the minute.

• 105.jondood: Reply to this comment

Later boys

I am off to work.

• 106.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Ye but the Stormers are Kakker St.Peter

• 107.GCC: Reply to this comment

st p

feeling okay, mate?

• 108.christo: Reply to this comment

I see Habana’s back in staring 15 bur Bakkies is on the bench, I sometimes wonder about Heyneke

• 109.Edwill: Reply to this comment

The sad thing about this weekend is that the Bulls will win, then they ride around in their Blue cadillacs, smoking cigars in Hatfield, like they’ve won the world cup. Yet again…BIG FISH IN A SMALL POND!!

• 110.green blood: Reply to this comment

they should draw the match – all about north vs south derby is sjite!! get the vodacom teams to win. VM no captain cause he could not read saders game plan. ship and chase – so sick of it. WO runs to the touch line, what happenend to straight running???!! did HM not figure out this what they were going to do, keep ball away from contact, have one guy tackling and the other commit for the ball – DC ripping ball out of JC hands, come on!!

stormers just as sjite as bulls. only difference is a mexican wave at newlands they throw glass bottels up in the air, in pta it is plastic.

• 111.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Nothing wrong with our Enthusiasm (spelling??) Edwill

• 112.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Dead right Edwill

• 113.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

got to run ‘see’ you all later

• 114.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Why are the Bokke not being rested now from the S14 ? The SA sides are out of it in any case.

No need for Habana to play now, rest the amoeba.

• 115.kevin w: Reply to this comment

This is pretty good news for us Sharks fans … Sharkies seem to have the most depth at the moment with the Wildebeest as backup and Jake will stick to his plonkers like from the last couple of years anyway.

Spears to win the CC on debut!!!!

• 116.rastafox: Reply to this comment

The Bulls will stand gloating as the best in SA regardless of Saturdays result.They believe rather foolishly that by beating the Sharks they can claim the crown of SA’s best.This honour is reserved for the Currie Cup champions and until the Bulls hold that title I find their claims rather amusing.As it stands this morning they are not even the top SA side on the Super 14 table.Yes on points difference and with a win against the Sharks at home,the Cats at home and credit for a good win away in Bloem.(Some tonic to ease the blues of being the second best team in last years Currie Cup.)This mighty union is not even at the top of the Vodacom Cup,though still in the running.

• 117.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Rastafox….and your point is?

I agree with Kevin W.

Spears or the Sharks must both stand an excellent chance of winning the CC.

However, it remains to be seen how the Sharks swim without Smit,AJ,Monty and Russel….oh,and, Tybillka(:lol).

• 118.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Anyone know where I can place an order for a 75-14?:):

• 119.Edwill: Reply to this comment

I heard Matfield say the best SA team will be the one who finishes top of SA teams in the Super 14? Huh? Maybe that’s why they can’t win the Super 14.

• 120.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

bollocks,what’s up with these smilies today?

:) :
    :( :
    :red:
    :green:

• 121.rastafox: Reply to this comment

St P

Merely expressing my amusement at all these big claims by misguided fans of the Bulls.Great one on the home slam if achieved Saturday,but unfortunately for the one-eyed Blue fans the Super 14 is so called as it is played between 14 teams and not 5.

• 122.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

:smile:
    :mrred:
    :angry:

• 123.Edwill: Reply to this comment

Guys, I went to go see the Spears play a club team in Cape Town the other day. They barely won and when they other team came back, they started playing dirty, which ended in the ref blowing the game up because of fighting hahahaha

• 124.kevin w: Reply to this comment

hey St Pete,

The Lions are F@cked without the man – AP!!

• 125.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Listen Rasta…the log doesn’t lie, the Bulls have been well below par.

However, I find it ironic that a couple seasons back, WP fans inparticular, refused to acknowlege the Bulls as the best side in the country even though they had,at that stage, been CC champs twice.Their reasoning for this was because the Stormers always beat the Bulls in the S12.

all very amusing…..but all bullshit.

Does it really make a difference that we are argueing amongst ourselves considering we are placed 5th,6th, 10th,11th,13th?

Quite frankly I would rather the Bulls lose to all the SA sides and finish 1st or 2nd on the log than beat them all and finish 5th or 6th.

• 126.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Ja, will be interesting to see who Eloff drafts in to play for the Lions in the CC.

I can’t see him sticking with some of the current deadwood?

Any decent talent in their Vodacom side?

• 127.rastafox: Reply to this comment

St P

Steady lad as I said just expressing my amusement with current events whats in the past is done and dusted man

• 128.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

No problem Rasta, some of my brethern are delusional. It might be something to do with the mielie pap.

Couldn’t help but notice that Kevin W still has Andre Pretorius’ poster on his bedroom wall.

Seriously Kev….try replace it with a Jessica Simpson poster, you’ll find your wet dreams a lot nicer:lol:

• 129.spokie: Reply to this comment

Rastafox(100) -Thats the sanest comment anybody has posted in a while, hope everybody reads it!!!!!

• 130.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Ta Spokie

Must have been a good weed last night!!!!

Seriously,I just a feel a bit of positive could take us a long way.

• 131.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

http://www.news24.com/Die_Burger/Sport/0,5824,4-76_1930006,00.html

We are so fcked. It must be late in the day if Quinton Davids is giving advice

• 132.spokie: Reply to this comment

My greatest concern is not if the Stormers win or not this weekend, this is the ‘Big one” but if we are dead honest they have not performed consistently well this season and neither has the Bulls. I just hope the Stormers can build on their mistakes this season and keep their squad together and not lose players to other clubs or unions.If this is the case and they stay together they will have a decent team next season. Notice – ‘decent’ not ‘great’ or ‘spectacular’ but, decent! Its all about building a team and getting the guys to play together and to believe in eachother and their coaching staff. That’s why the rumors that Nick Mallet is leaving to coach oversees (think England) is troubling me.Just when the players start to get it together they get dropped by their staff. You probably cant blame the guy but my point is they need to seek consistency and stability at all levels if they wish to compete and win games.

Go Stormers !!!!!!!!!!!!

*Didn’t Steve Hoffmeyer say that if the Bulls loses only once to Province/the Stormers this year he would run from Brakkenfell to Parrow in the nude?????If that’s the case Steve, please stay at home in Pretoria where the sight of nude men is still enjoyed in good taste…….Wait I have to puke!

• 133.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

The Lions have Nel Fourie to stand in for AP. Fourie has done so successfuly on many occasions. He’s over the injury and in good shape. In the midfield the Lions will have Doppies, Swartbooi, and Molefe – not too bad for CC. In the pack the Lions will loose Sephaka and possibly Wikus. The Lions have enough loosies to cover Wikus but the captaincy in another matter all-together. Will be sad too see the Lions without Wikus. Vermaak is great at 9 so no worries there. Jantjes will be in Jake’s squad so there will be a serious hole to plug. Earl Rose may be ok for CC so he might be retained for that role but I’ll be far happier if the Lions can buy-in a better player. Jorrie may be the man to pull closer for the 15 spot (ok CC player). With Jantjes, Julies, Ricky and Sephaka gone the Lions may battle in the “representation” game.

• 134.jondood: Reply to this comment

moegrat

That piece of lard TGHMQD must rather put pipe and shut his hole.

• 135.norman: Reply to this comment

far too much emphasis on world cup
    currie cup will lose a lot of attraction with no big names tho it will give fringe players the chance but how do they feel if they know the springbok side is a closed shop
    these players are being paid to do a job so let them work
    do we give builders a paid holiday for doing fuckall
    white like all other coaches is concerned about his image
    gym work may improve your physical strength but there is nothing better than playing all the time

• 136.jondood: Reply to this comment

Guys regardless how KAK the Bulls played last week they still have the Stormers number.

Mark my words come this weekend.

• 137.jondood: Reply to this comment

norman

Something needs to change in SA Rugby to get us in the professional era.

Perhaps this is the start.

I am all for this idea as we need something to change our mindset.

• 138.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Agreed Jondood, cant believe a guy like that ever played for the Springboks

• 139.jondood: Reply to this comment

Moegrat

He was showing promise at one stage, although I wont say world class but he seriously let Jake White down.

• 140.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

What exactly happenend there? He just went overseas?

• 141.cab: Reply to this comment

yeah, this is quite experimental, but its a good idea, also the boks will need to try and peak for NH conditions.

• 142.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Norman, maybe not. The 2003 Currie Cup was still pretty good.

The BEST currie cup season for me was 2004 (when we only had 9 teams). Every game was a cracker, expecially after the 14 team format.

• 143.jondood: Reply to this comment

Moegrat

Read the article in the link.

It is very short and frank, sais a lot as to how KAK he was in the UK.

Apparently on Gloucester’s Rugby website forum the fans were not exactly complimentary.

http://www.sarugby.com/news/News/article/sid=4192.html

• 144.londonshark: Reply to this comment

8 teams rather

• 145.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Jondood, why on earth did they bug Davids in the first place?

I seriously think that overseas clubs/fans don’t do the research before buying/commenting on a player.

For example,on a rugby forum the other day some Kiwi twit rated Paulse as the 3rd quickest player in world rugby????? He was quickly corrected by a fellow Kiwi who said that Paulse was actually around 810th on the ‘jetshoes’ list.Pretty funny actually.

• 146.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

With this being the last week of round robin matches before the semi’s (and I have money riding on these outcomes)

I was wondering where I could find stats such as how many times each team has played one another and how many times they have won or lost for this particular weeks matches i.e.
    Crusaders vs Brumbies played 12 Crusaders won 7 and Brumbies won 5.

• 147.jondood: Reply to this comment

londonshark

Yes as Paulse is a good player he is by no means one of the fastest.

I can only assume they rated Davids on his potential from 2/3 years ago. How ever much he had, I dont know.

• 148.londonshark: Reply to this comment

post 145, “buy” Davids, not bug. Mind you Jake should have bugged him more about his big mac addiction.Fat bugger than one!!!

• 149.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Overseas people got this thing about South African players and they rate us up there.

My friend went over to the UK on a holiday visa 2 years ago and started at a club in London, he was just an average player at varsity (second team for the res he stayed in)He was drafted into the first team of the club just cause he was South African and kakked for a few games and then was demoted to the fourth grade

Something about a Japie rugby player….

• 150.jondood: Reply to this comment

Moegrat

Our players are rated. Pity that some of them seem to find form being coached by non-South African coaches.

We are seriously limited there.

• 151.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Ye agreed, i wonder sometimes how Jake wouldve done if he coached a south african S14 team. I think this year will be the true test of jake whites abilities as a coach (i actually said that last year as well)

• 152.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Edwill go read post 100

If we dont support it’s bad, if we do it’s arrogant.
    Make up your mind please and personally I think its just jealousy (spelling)

You can but dream of a atmosphere like you find at Loftus, rather go work on your teams support base and their attitude wanker

• 153.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Atmosphere at loftus!!! Drunk people in khaki singing liefling, thats not my idea of atmosphere, thats my idea of inbreds

• 154.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Only joking, never been there but on tv it doesnt look too bad.

Show you what winning do to a union…..

• 155.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Anybody post 146?

• 156.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

moegrat

you an inbred

• 157.jondood: Reply to this comment

drunkmonkey

All unions in South Africa should idealy have passionate supporters like we do at Loftus.

But keep playing KAK rugby and our resolve will be tested.

It was 5 – 10 years ago.

Anyway any Stormers fan wanting to give the Bulls supporters flack about Loftus need only look at Newlands. That is an eye sore.

• 158.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Hey if Province plays good rugby and Newlands is packed (its been a while) nothing compares to the atmosphere there. Although ive been to the “Tank” a few times and the spirit there is great after the game

• 159.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Barring the obvious last gasp hopes of the semi’s for my money the real competition this weekend will be for SA bragging rights.As Big Vic has stated the SA team finishing highest on the log are the best in SA.So come Monday when the log is final and let us see how the all-conquering Bulls are sitting and if it is indeed on top then hats off,but I for one feel that will not be the case.

• 160.niknak: Reply to this comment

good point jarndood. i am writing a letter to newlands to request more steve hofmeyr during the game and space to park a few oxwagons outside. cracker.

• 161.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

The way Stormers is playing they must get Jurie Els

• 162.jondood: Reply to this comment

niknak

Just get Nataniel to perform and you will have a full house.

crackhead.

• 163.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Or Evita Bezuidenhout

• 164.kwensie: Reply to this comment

I’m getting sick and tired of this Oxwagon kak

• 165.Blouste: Reply to this comment

LOL @ jondood

“crackhead”

• 166.niknak: Reply to this comment

ossewae…is pleserig …. tra la la …cracker

• 167.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Niknak…..Jou mielie

The people in PTA are Technologically advanced. The mere fact that we post on this website is proof of that..

• 168.jondood: Reply to this comment

kwensie

Dont react to it.

You just give them ammo.

• 169.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Dis die geel dis die blou dis die Bloubul wat my kop kou.
    Net n druk en n poep en hulle almal kak in hul broek

• 170.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

You Bulls fall too easy for us.

Love it

As long as we all support the Boks

• 171.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Long live the mighty Bulls:

2005 Champions
    Vodacom Cup Griqualand West
    Currie Cup Free State Cheetahs
    Super 14 Crusaders

Now I am wondering where all the silverware from Loftus is for last year???

• 172.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Keo / Ig

The resting of Springbok players in the CC is no such big deal. How many CC games would they miss anyway ? Correct me if i am wrong but i think it is three ?

So what ? Big deal….

• 173.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Correction on 172: The Springbok players, had they played CC games, would have played three games at the most.

• 174.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Why can’t the boks play CC this year ? Who’s going to watch CC rugby if our best players is not there. Why don’t they just scrap the S14 next year.

• 175.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

Well done SA Rugby! You listened to Jake White and you are actually doing something intelligent for the benefit of the players! Its going to snow this winter.

• 176.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Bokfan

Hang on with your congrads, SA Rugby changes their minds faster than you can change your undies…

• 177.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

I bet you guys the unions are going to complain about this. Because of the following. If there star players are not there the staduims will be ampty and they not going to make enough money. Let the boks play CC but let them start from the bench.

• 178.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Grrrr

Bokfan doesn’t change his undies.

• 179.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Andre_Wp

Correction: WP will complain, the Lions won’t. Empty stadiums?? No problem!

• 180.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Rudebud

My bad… Faster than he can take down a pair of panties???

• 181.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Rasta,
    are you sure you come from east london? where did you go to?

• 182.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Tip the sharks to do well, along with Cheetahs in the CC. In front of full stadiums.

• 183.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Grrrr

That sounds better.

Have you decided what yersey you are going to wear this Saturday ?

• 184.rastafox: Reply to this comment

bluebarb
    From Slummies to the Big Smoke briefly then plodded around our neighbouring countries for 6 years and now find myself in the heart of the Garden Route.Still shout for the boys in Black and White hoops!!!

• 185.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

RastaFox
    regarding your post 100

I share your need to do something- other than bitching on the net.

pls mail me at oranje_orakel@hotmail.com

• 186.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

anyway, all this was clearly spelled out in an interview in SASI a few months ago. The header was “Jakes Bok Shocker” He indicated that he would not play the “1st team” in the lead up, and concentrate on the England game, as once again, we have to beat them to advance in the RWC. cant understand what the Hoohaa is about now.

• 187.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

selborne.
    that explains a lot ;)

• 188.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Rudebud

No idea… What do you suggest???

• 189.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Grrr

That is a tough one. I am a Bulls supporter but they play such **** and dumb rugby that even i would be ashamed to wear a Bulls yersey. Then again, speaking of dumb, would you realy want to wear a Stormers yersey ?

Go neutral; Wear your Lions one.

• 190.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Rudebud

Mmmmm, maybe. But by the sound of things Ig and Keo are very ‘hooity-tooity’ guys so maybe I should go in my Armani suit. :)

• 191.jomar1: Reply to this comment

Now the lions will be fucked

• 192.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Jake is crazy. Playing Godzilla in SA rugby.

• 193.3rdday: Reply to this comment

Oranje Orakel & Rastafox,

Don’t waste your time. The last time some Muppets and Keo.co.za wanted to do something they started the Dan Qeqe Fund and look where that is now! I am sure Keo and the other Trustees have spent the money as wisely as Tony Yengeni did when purchased that Merc.

• 194.norman: Reply to this comment

just read in argus that watson and schalk brits will not be in whites 45 member sqad
    this is a disgrace and i coudnt care what white has done in the past but he must go the quicker the better

• 195.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Who would be the Bok untouchables?

IMO,in order from most valuable player:

1.Matfield
    2.Smit/Bakkies (tie)
    3.Steenkamp (when fit)
    4.Habana
    5.FDP
    6.JDV
    7.JF
    8.Juan Smith
    9.Jaco
    10.Percy

Just off the top of my head.

• 196.norman: Reply to this comment

jaco is overated and gets very angry
    refer last saturdays game for a couple of incidents
    but he is one of whites click

• 197.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Norman,yeah, Jaco does get pretty tense sometimes.

He’s only on my list because we have no one else.

• 198.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Rudebud,ja,the Bulls have seriously sucked this year. I think we may need a new coach. HM has done a good job, but we need someone who can adapt and force adaption on the field.

On a side note, the Bulls can not make the semis.

I know there is a mathematical chance, but there is one thing noone has thought of,except old BlueBlood of course.

If you take a look at the fixtures for the coming weekend, obviously the important one for the Bulls [and Sharks] is the Crusaders / Brumbies match. And who is the ref. for this game ?

Crusaders vs Brumbies in Christchurch
    Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
    Touch judges: JC Fortuin (South Africa), Steve Walsh (New Zealand)
    Television match official: Gary Wise (New Zealand)
    Assessor: Stuart Beissel (New Zealand)

O dear….. There is no chance in hell kaplan the amoeba will allow a Crusaders win. He knows he’ll be ******** the Bulls back home, so he’ll force a Brumbies win.

You heard it here first.

• 199.kingpin: Reply to this comment

Schalk Brits is the best hooker in SA rugby and it is a disgrace that he will not be in the Bok squad.

Play Schalk Brits at 12(inside centre), he has more pace, a better step and superior ball skills to De Wet Barry. Barry cannot catch a cold in winter – the only discipline he usually performs admirably at is tackling and even that has let him down of late!!!

• 200.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Kingpin, you are crazy boet.

Brits would be an average center.You can’t just switch possies like that mate.

• 201.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Keo, I liked your article on News24.

Especially the part about the CC being nothing more than a glorified Vodacom Cup.

• 202.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

go bulls

• 203.ktb: Reply to this comment

I noticed the posting about how the SHARKS will shape without, AJ, SMIT, SOLLY,RUSSEL, PERCY.

Solly: cant get a game for the sahrks = no loss

AJ : YES a loss, but there is plenty of cover

SMIT: the way he is throwing the ball into the lineout, NOT a loss, but plenty of cover in this position. Now for jenneke to make his mark in SA rugby

Percy:NO LOSS, not playing the greatest rugby, very quiet.Pietersen for fullback

The Currie CUP is coming back to durbs & this will piss NAAS off big time + a lot of BULLS supporters.

• 204.kingpin: Reply to this comment

Londonshark –

My point was not that Brits must switch to centre, but the mere fact that he is currently the best hooker in SA and he won’t even be in the Bok squad, never mind the starting line up.

Regarding my jibe at De Wet Barry – I just happen to think that he is one of the poorer centres currently playing Super 14 & International rugby. He doesn’t have pace, he can’t catch, doesn’t send the quality ball down the backline and consistently concedes penalties for high/dangerous tackles. Admittedly Barry is not great, but the prize for “The Most Useless Centre ever to have gained Springbok Colours” has to be reserved for one man, and one man only – WAYNE JULIES.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.