World Cup Boks out of Currie Cup

Players on the 2007 national squad shortlist will only play Currie Cup rugby again in 2008.

SA Rugby Union’s manager of national teams Andy Marinos confirmed that the players would be withdrawn from this year and next year’s domestic competition.

The World Cup candidates will only play in the 2007 Super 14 — and then they will be used sparingly.

“We have agreed with the various unions that the players will be their responsibility for the entire Super 14 campaign. After the Super 14 the players contracts with SA Rugby become effective meaning that they will be our responsibility from there on,” Marinos said.

Players could be released to play for their unions at the discretion of Bok coach Jake White.

“In essence this means that the players will be with the Springboks for the incoming tours and Tri-Nations and certain players will have to be rested afterwards. Not all the players will
be rested but some especially those that the coach feels need time off,” said Marinos.

White is expected to name a squad of 45 at the weekend, but it is unlikely that the provinces will allow for 45 players to miss the domestic competition. It could be that the leading 20 Boks are excempt and the remaining 25 play sporadically.

The World Cup Springboks in 2003 also missed the entire Currie Cup, although it did little for their prospects as they crashed out in the quarter-finals.

204 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem

There is exceptions to the General rule….Like Kitch

• 52.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Bliksem, who you talking to

• 53.bliksem: Reply to this comment

moegrat you did claim being one of WP’s “biggest” supporters/fans.

• 54.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

And Chuck Norris, he didnt play any rugby

• 55.bliksem: Reply to this comment

kwensie those are very rare exceptions.

• 56.reds: Reply to this comment

Bliksem..you in a bad mood this morning? wrong foot out of bed?

• 57.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Oh, good one. But i think that is the legend Quintin Davids

• 58.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Moegrat not even remotely funny.ook maar onnosel.How old are you by the way?15?

• 59.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

I couldve been your dad Bliksem, but your mom was screaming so i left

• 60.bigg: Reply to this comment

Anyone hear on the news this morning that 19 out of the 24 contracted boks have chronic injuries?

• 61.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Our most successful coach ever…. Nick Mallet played at the highest level. But again there are exceptions like the Old **** Strollie Bollie

• 62.bigg: Reply to this comment

Moegrat – I wouldn’t go there if I were you, re Bliksem’s parents…

• 63.bliksem: Reply to this comment

reds i am the moer in.Why the **** didnt the state take away Dirk Prinslo’s pasports.He is up for child molestation and sitting in Russia vowing not to return.How the **** does that happen?Ridicilious.

• 64.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Moegrat please mail me at tui@hotmail.co.za

• 65.bliksem: Reply to this comment

moegrat where abouts do you live?

• 66.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

My mistake,should be 2006 and 2007 and 2007.

The crapioli dished up by the Bulls imposters this year must have gotten to my brain.

Actually funny how much effort goes into a RWC. I still think it should be based on a points system over a period of time, not a once off showcase where individual players are trying to get noticed by big paying clubs. Very few of WC players play for their country, they’ve all got their own agendas.

Sad really.

I like that comment though : two years of rest to play seven games.

It’s true, it’s not like they’re playing a 4 month tourney like the S14. The round robin games will be walkovers against Mongolia in any case, and the quarters,semis and finals there will be so much adrenalin pumping it won’t matter.

• 67.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Its South African justice. Ask yourself the same question about how a vice president who was on the board for HIV Prevention in South Africa a year or two ago make comments such as “I took a shower cause i was afraid she may have aids”

• 68.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem

I saw this Bos Advocate appear in court a few times. He is a sneaky *******

• 69.reds: Reply to this comment

Bliksem I read that this morning. It seems to me that in this country you can get away with murder…but then again it is Ssouth Africa is it not!!

• 70.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

I live in Australia Bliksem, you can deal but cant receive??? Blue Bulls supporter as well???

• 71.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Well moegrat whereabouts in Aussie/I am going to be in Sydney for 2 weeks over December?Care to meet?

• 72.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Reds – in UK the released 1000 prisioners and which about 400 should have been deported and now they don’t know where they are – so it also happens in other countries.

• 73.Edwill: Reply to this comment

I’d rather have the Boks play ‘friendly’ games at least against some of the Currie Cup teams. This will allow them to hone their skills and try different gameplans. Having them sit in a gym, getting massaged, is not my idea of rugby.

• 74.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Ye will love to meet you, you sound like such a nice guy. But i dont think they let retards in the country so hope you didnt book your flight yet

• 75.Blackberry: Reply to this comment

There are 24 contracted players. I think it is save to assume that they will be the ones rested.
    Keo how about a recap? Who are the 24 exactly? I think Gary Botha (Markraaf gave him one when rumours started circulating that Gary might leave SA), Ashwin Willemse and Paulse each have one.

• 76.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Moegrat hou net op kak praat.Waar bly jy?baie ****** grootbek oor die internet.

• 77.bigg: Reply to this comment

Moegrat – re your statement about Jacob Zuma, get your facts correct before you make a statement ok! Viva Zuma!!!!!!

• 78.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Blackberry – think that those contract have ‘expired’ – this is also SA rugby way of not letting them play for another country – they did the same to Andrew Aitken just before the 95 world cup as he could have played for Scotland. by giving them a run they can’t just jump ship and play for another country. Sad so even a WC you don’t always get the best players and agian makes one ask what is the WC worth.

• 79.jondood: Reply to this comment

moegrat

bliksem is serious. Look what happened to Kurt Darren a week or two back.

• 80.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Oh you want to come and “bliksem” me. Typical

I live in Mandurah just south of perth. Must i give my exact address as well so you can send one of your pedophile friends over to come and stalk me??

Fck off your mom wants to count children

• 81.Edwill: Reply to this comment

These ‘chosen’ guys better perform better. None of the Springboks really impressed me, since the Tri-Nations last year. I hate it when rugby players are made to be ‘gods’. I’ve seen it happen, especially here in Pretoria. Until they win something, they are just statistics.

• 82.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Ja please give your adress Moegrat.

• 83.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

I heard his underpants was stolen as well.

Jondood

So this is the big one this weekend, the 200 bucks one

• 84.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

hey didnt your mom tell you not to give your adress to pedophiles over the internet

• 85.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem

Maar jy is omtrent de moer in vanoggend

• 86.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Both my parents are dead moegrat.

• 87.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

shame

• 88.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

pls dont put stormers in the Springboks side they useless…. except for watson and maybe still burger dont know bout him his been toooo quiet.

Then on the other hand hmmmm curriecup season and i want revenge … not that it needed cos hey we was so far ahead on log points just pitty kaplan spoiled it.

Go Bulls!!!!

• 89.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Cheers manne ek moet veld toe.

• 90.green blood: Reply to this comment

blik

whats up. jy regtig de moer in vir die hele wereld oor dirk prinsloo. relax

moergat jy moet nie die ou ernstig opneem nie verstaan net sy sin vir humor

• 91.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Blueblood
    But if we dont have a RWC then teams become champs by consistency over time. it might be fair but it would be boring.It would also not give the upset factor any value.
    For entertainment sakes ,cos thats what it is for us joe publics who are the paying bodies,whether its fair or unfair i’d rather see a world cup comp. Imagine if RWC 1995 did not happen.
    Certainly one of the highlights of my life. Better than all those new years party’sthat promise so much but deliver so little.
    I am for tours though and Tri-nations being an every 2 or 3 year event. Super 14 could be every 2 years. But then some serious tours must happen.
    I do wish there was no Trinations in RWC year….it seems to water it down a bit. By RWC time without TN ,we would be chomping at the bit ,big time !

• 92.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Greenblood

Die groot Internet vredemaker

• 93.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

He was probably one of the children that Prinsloo had his “way” with, thats why he’s pissed off Green Blood

• 94.bigg: Reply to this comment

Moegrat – I actually can’t believe you have stooped that low to insulting a stranger’s parents. That is a sign of no breeding, no manners, very lonely and basically just a complete ******* wanker…

Moegrat – you can eat the peanuts out of my ****!

• 95.kwensie: Reply to this comment

LOL ….. Good one Bigg

• 96.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey – Stormers so far only team to beat Crusaders – no mean feat – and the games they lost were close and due to one or two players playing for themself and trying to get into Bok side. This could inclued Watson, Britz, and Burger as if you look close at the games they never played as team players. Yes there were other problem like Bolla passing all over the place but he is better in wet and round the scrum which is better suited in France. But the Stormers do have tallent – what is the saying ‘form is temp class is perm’

• 97.jondood: Reply to this comment

I see the anger is bubbling over early this morning.

• 98.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Im a saaaad Panda

Bigg relax, its a beautiful Wednesday and its only 3 more days till i can come back here and have a go at the Bulls supporters for losing against the Stormers

Can I use a spoon?

• 99.Edwill: Reply to this comment

What does our B team look like? Assuming the A looks like this.

Team A all have Springbok contracts, except for Andre Snyman…I think:

15.) Percy Montgomery
    14.) Andre Snyman
    13.) Jacque Fourie
    12.) Jean De Villiers
    11.) Bryan Habana
    10.) Jaco van der Westhuysen
    9.) Fourie du Preez
    8.) AJ Venter
    7.) Juan Smith
    6.) Schalk Burger
    5.) Victor Matfield
    4.) Bakkies Botha
    3.) CJ van der Linde
    2.) John Smith
    1.) Os du Randt

Team B:

15.) Conrad Jantjies
    14.) Tonderai Chavanga
    13.) Marius Joubert
    12.) De Wet Barry
    11.) Brent Russel
    10.) Andre Pretorius
    9.) Ruan Pienaar
    8.) Joe van Niekerk
    7.) Pedrie Wannenburg
    6.) Solly Tyibilika
    5.) Ross Skeate
    4.) Danie Rossouw
    3.) BJ Botha
    2.) Gary Botha
    1.) Guthro Steenkamp

I’d like to see a 5 game trials while the Currie Cup is on the way. 5 should be nothing for a professional rugby player.

• 100.rastafox: Reply to this comment

One of the major themes I recall from 1995 was the generally sober attitude of SA fans,at least in my area.Everybody wished and hoped the Boks could pull it off,yet just about all were realistic enough to believe that a semi’s spot would not be the end of the world.Now in this day and age of maladministration,political horse-trading and wild optimism it is demanded that we win 100% of the time and nothing less.Fire the coach drop the players all sorts of rubbish put forward.The fans are too kak sleg to go to the stadiums and support their teams in the flesh.
    In the main we criticise and moan about our unrealistic expectations that aren’t met.We blame the ref,the linesman and the ball that doesn’t bounce our way.It all seems a bit ridiculous to me now.I sit and wonder why the stadiums are always fuller down south,the teams pull the tight games out the bag and the coach seems to have a lifespan of more than 9 months. Even the “rubble Reds” attract a decent crowd.
    Perhaps the cancer in our rugby comes from the bottom up,instead of hollering from the safety and comfort of our armchairs we should get into the trenches and take it upon ourselves to reform the situation.I for one have had enough of the endless disappointment and would be more than willing to make a difference.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.