World Cup Boks out of Currie Cup
9 May 2006
Players on the 2007 national squad shortlist will only play Currie Cup rugby again in 2008.
SA Rugby Union’s manager of national teams Andy Marinos confirmed that the players would be withdrawn from this year and next year’s domestic competition.
The World Cup candidates will only play in the 2007 Super 14 — and then they will be used sparingly.
“We have agreed with the various unions that the players will be their responsibility for the entire Super 14 campaign. After the Super 14 the players contracts with SA Rugby become effective meaning that they will be our responsibility from there on,†Marinos said.
Players could be released to play for their unions at the discretion of Bok coach Jake White.
“In essence this means that the players will be with the Springboks for the incoming tours and Tri-Nations and certain players will have to be rested afterwards. Not all the players will
be rested but some especially those that the coach feels need time off,†said Marinos.
White is expected to name a squad of 45 at the weekend, but it is unlikely that the provinces will allow for 45 players to miss the domestic competition. It could be that the leading 20 Boks are excempt and the remaining 25 play sporadically.
The World Cup Springboks in 2003 also missed the entire Currie Cup, although it did little for their prospects as they crashed out in the quarter-finals.

204 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
10 May 2006, 08:18 am
Moegrat
Stormers won’t take this one…..Go Bulls
10 May 2006, 08:18 am
kwensie
ek ken bliksem regtig nie ‘n bad ou. en nie blou bul supporter ni. verstaan die man se sin vir humor.
die groot ? is wat van die stampe en stote wat jou liggaam gewoond aan moet bly – die pyn faktor. gymwerk kan nie dit vervang nie. kan negatiewe effek he op die hele doel.
kwensie, diplomasie altyd ‘n goei ding ou maat.
10 May 2006, 08:21 am
To be honest Kwensie, if someone gave me money and i had to put it on the game i would go Bulls as well but hey a man is not a man without a dream
10 May 2006, 08:22 am
Can’t see the Bulls winning on the weekend.
They are kak at the minute.
10 May 2006, 08:23 am
Later boys
I am off to work.
10 May 2006, 08:23 am
Ye but the Stormers are Kakker St.Peter
10 May 2006, 08:24 am
st p
feeling okay, mate?
10 May 2006, 08:25 am
I see Habana’s back in staring 15 bur Bakkies is on the bench, I sometimes wonder about Heyneke
10 May 2006, 08:27 am
The sad thing about this weekend is that the Bulls will win, then they ride around in their Blue cadillacs, smoking cigars in Hatfield, like they’ve won the world cup. Yet again…BIG FISH IN A SMALL POND!!
10 May 2006, 08:28 am
they should draw the match – all about north vs south derby is sjite!! get the vodacom teams to win. VM no captain cause he could not read saders game plan. ship and chase – so sick of it. WO runs to the touch line, what happenend to straight running???!! did HM not figure out this what they were going to do, keep ball away from contact, have one guy tackling and the other commit for the ball – DC ripping ball out of JC hands, come on!!
stormers just as sjite as bulls. only difference is a mexican wave at newlands they throw glass bottels up in the air, in pta it is plastic.
10 May 2006, 08:29 am
Nothing wrong with our Enthusiasm (spelling??) Edwill
10 May 2006, 08:30 am
Dead right Edwill
10 May 2006, 08:31 am
got to run ‘see’ you all later
10 May 2006, 08:32 am
Why are the Bokke not being rested now from the S14 ? The SA sides are out of it in any case.
No need for Habana to play now, rest the amoeba.
10 May 2006, 08:35 am
This is pretty good news for us Sharks fans … Sharkies seem to have the most depth at the moment with the Wildebeest as backup and Jake will stick to his plonkers like from the last couple of years anyway.
Spears to win the CC on debut!!!!
10 May 2006, 08:38 am
The Bulls will stand gloating as the best in SA regardless of Saturdays result.They believe rather foolishly that by beating the Sharks they can claim the crown of SA’s best.This honour is reserved for the Currie Cup champions and until the Bulls hold that title I find their claims rather amusing.As it stands this morning they are not even the top SA side on the Super 14 table.Yes on points difference and with a win against the Sharks at home,the Cats at home and credit for a good win away in Bloem.(Some tonic to ease the blues of being the second best team in last years Currie Cup.)This mighty union is not even at the top of the Vodacom Cup,though still in the running.
10 May 2006, 08:42 am
Rastafox….and your point is?
I agree with Kevin W.
Spears or the Sharks must both stand an excellent chance of winning the CC.
However, it remains to be seen how the Sharks swim without Smit,AJ,Monty and Russel….oh,and, Tybillka(:lol).
10 May 2006, 08:43 am
Anyone know where I can place an order for a 75-14?:):
10 May 2006, 08:43 am
I heard Matfield say the best SA team will be the one who finishes top of SA teams in the Super 14? Huh? Maybe that’s why they can’t win the Super 14.
10 May 2006, 08:44 am
bollocks,what’s up with these smilies today?
:red:
:green:
10 May 2006, 08:44 am
St P
Merely expressing my amusement at all these big claims by misguided fans of the Bulls.Great one on the home slam if achieved Saturday,but unfortunately for the one-eyed Blue fans the Super 14 is so called as it is played between 14 teams and not 5.
10 May 2006, 08:45 am
:mrred:
:angry:
10 May 2006, 08:45 am
Guys, I went to go see the Spears play a club team in Cape Town the other day. They barely won and when they other team came back, they started playing dirty, which ended in the ref blowing the game up because of fighting hahahaha
10 May 2006, 08:46 am
hey St Pete,
The Lions are F@cked without the man – AP!!
10 May 2006, 08:51 am
Listen Rasta…the log doesn’t lie, the Bulls have been well below par.
However, I find it ironic that a couple seasons back, WP fans inparticular, refused to acknowlege the Bulls as the best side in the country even though they had,at that stage, been CC champs twice.Their reasoning for this was because the Stormers always beat the Bulls in the S12.
all very amusing…..but all bullshit.
Does it really make a difference that we are argueing amongst ourselves considering we are placed 5th,6th, 10th,11th,13th?
Quite frankly I would rather the Bulls lose to all the SA sides and finish 1st or 2nd on the log than beat them all and finish 5th or 6th.
10 May 2006, 08:53 am
Ja, will be interesting to see who Eloff drafts in to play for the Lions in the CC.
I can’t see him sticking with some of the current deadwood?
Any decent talent in their Vodacom side?
10 May 2006, 08:56 am
St P
Steady lad as I said just expressing my amusement with current events whats in the past is done and dusted man
10 May 2006, 08:59 am
No problem Rasta, some of my brethern are delusional. It might be something to do with the mielie pap.
Couldn’t help but notice that Kevin W still has Andre Pretorius’ poster on his bedroom wall.
Seriously Kev….try replace it with a Jessica Simpson poster, you’ll find your wet dreams a lot nicer:lol:
10 May 2006, 09:00 am
Rastafox(100) -Thats the sanest comment anybody has posted in a while, hope everybody reads it!!!!!
10 May 2006, 09:06 am
Ta Spokie
Must have been a good weed last night!!!!
Seriously,I just a feel a bit of positive could take us a long way.
10 May 2006, 09:19 am
http://www.news24.com/Die_Burger/Sport/0,5824,4-76_1930006,00.html
We are so fcked. It must be late in the day if Quinton Davids is giving advice
10 May 2006, 09:25 am
My greatest concern is not if the Stormers win or not this weekend, this is the ‘Big one†but if we are dead honest they have not performed consistently well this season and neither has the Bulls. I just hope the Stormers can build on their mistakes this season and keep their squad together and not lose players to other clubs or unions.If this is the case and they stay together they will have a decent team next season. Notice – ‘decent’ not ‘great’ or ‘spectacular’ but, decent! Its all about building a team and getting the guys to play together and to believe in eachother and their coaching staff. That’s why the rumors that Nick Mallet is leaving to coach oversees (think England) is troubling me.Just when the players start to get it together they get dropped by their staff. You probably cant blame the guy but my point is they need to seek consistency and stability at all levels if they wish to compete and win games.
Go Stormers !!!!!!!!!!!!
*Didn’t Steve Hoffmeyer say that if the Bulls loses only once to Province/the Stormers this year he would run from Brakkenfell to Parrow in the nude?????If that’s the case Steve, please stay at home in Pretoria where the sight of nude men is still enjoyed in good taste…….Wait I have to puke!
10 May 2006, 09:29 am
The Lions have Nel Fourie to stand in for AP. Fourie has done so successfuly on many occasions. He’s over the injury and in good shape. In the midfield the Lions will have Doppies, Swartbooi, and Molefe – not too bad for CC. In the pack the Lions will loose Sephaka and possibly Wikus. The Lions have enough loosies to cover Wikus but the captaincy in another matter all-together. Will be sad too see the Lions without Wikus. Vermaak is great at 9 so no worries there. Jantjes will be in Jake’s squad so there will be a serious hole to plug. Earl Rose may be ok for CC so he might be retained for that role but I’ll be far happier if the Lions can buy-in a better player. Jorrie may be the man to pull closer for the 15 spot (ok CC player). With Jantjes, Julies, Ricky and Sephaka gone the Lions may battle in the “representation” game.
10 May 2006, 09:30 am
moegrat
That piece of lard TGHMQD must rather put pipe and shut his hole.
10 May 2006, 09:30 am
far too much emphasis on world cup
currie cup will lose a lot of attraction with no big names tho it will give fringe players the chance but how do they feel if they know the springbok side is a closed shop
these players are being paid to do a job so let them work
do we give builders a paid holiday for doing fuckall
white like all other coaches is concerned about his image
gym work may improve your physical strength but there is nothing better than playing all the time
10 May 2006, 09:31 am
Guys regardless how KAK the Bulls played last week they still have the Stormers number.
Mark my words come this weekend.
10 May 2006, 09:32 am
norman
Something needs to change in SA Rugby to get us in the professional era.
Perhaps this is the start.
I am all for this idea as we need something to change our mindset.
10 May 2006, 09:32 am
Agreed Jondood, cant believe a guy like that ever played for the Springboks
10 May 2006, 09:35 am
Moegrat
He was showing promise at one stage, although I wont say world class but he seriously let Jake White down.
10 May 2006, 09:37 am
What exactly happenend there? He just went overseas?
10 May 2006, 09:39 am
yeah, this is quite experimental, but its a good idea, also the boks will need to try and peak for NH conditions.
10 May 2006, 09:39 am
Norman, maybe not. The 2003 Currie Cup was still pretty good.
The BEST currie cup season for me was 2004 (when we only had 9 teams). Every game was a cracker, expecially after the 14 team format.
10 May 2006, 09:40 am
Moegrat
Read the article in the link.
It is very short and frank, sais a lot as to how KAK he was in the UK.
Apparently on Gloucester’s Rugby website forum the fans were not exactly complimentary.
http://www.sarugby.com/news/News/article/sid=4192.html
10 May 2006, 09:40 am
8 teams rather
10 May 2006, 09:44 am
Jondood, why on earth did they bug Davids in the first place?
I seriously think that overseas clubs/fans don’t do the research before buying/commenting on a player.
For example,on a rugby forum the other day some Kiwi twit rated Paulse as the 3rd quickest player in world rugby????? He was quickly corrected by a fellow Kiwi who said that Paulse was actually around 810th on the ‘jetshoes’ list.Pretty funny actually.
10 May 2006, 09:45 am
With this being the last week of round robin matches before the semi’s (and I have money riding on these outcomes)
I was wondering where I could find stats such as how many times each team has played one another and how many times they have won or lost for this particular weeks matches i.e.
Crusaders vs Brumbies played 12 Crusaders won 7 and Brumbies won 5.
10 May 2006, 09:46 am
londonshark
Yes as Paulse is a good player he is by no means one of the fastest.
I can only assume they rated Davids on his potential from 2/3 years ago. How ever much he had, I dont know.
10 May 2006, 09:48 am
post 145, “buy” Davids, not bug. Mind you Jake should have bugged him more about his big mac addiction.Fat bugger than one!!!
10 May 2006, 09:50 am
Overseas people got this thing about South African players and they rate us up there.
My friend went over to the UK on a holiday visa 2 years ago and started at a club in London, he was just an average player at varsity (second team for the res he stayed in)He was drafted into the first team of the club just cause he was South African and kakked for a few games and then was demoted to the fourth grade
Something about a Japie rugby player….
10 May 2006, 09:52 am
Moegrat
Our players are rated. Pity that some of them seem to find form being coached by non-South African coaches.
We are seriously limited there.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All