World Cup Boks out of Currie Cup

Players on the 2007 national squad shortlist will only play Currie Cup rugby again in 2008.

SA Rugby Union’s manager of national teams Andy Marinos confirmed that the players would be withdrawn from this year and next year’s domestic competition.

The World Cup candidates will only play in the 2007 Super 14 — and then they will be used sparingly.

“We have agreed with the various unions that the players will be their responsibility for the entire Super 14 campaign. After the Super 14 the players contracts with SA Rugby become effective meaning that they will be our responsibility from there on,” Marinos said.

Players could be released to play for their unions at the discretion of Bok coach Jake White.

“In essence this means that the players will be with the Springboks for the incoming tours and Tri-Nations and certain players will have to be rested afterwards. Not all the players will
be rested but some especially those that the coach feels need time off,” said Marinos.

White is expected to name a squad of 45 at the weekend, but it is unlikely that the provinces will allow for 45 players to miss the domestic competition. It could be that the leading 20 Boks are excempt and the remaining 25 play sporadically.

The World Cup Springboks in 2003 also missed the entire Currie Cup, although it did little for their prospects as they crashed out in the quarter-finals.

204 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Ye agreed, i wonder sometimes how Jake wouldve done if he coached a south african S14 team. I think this year will be the true test of jake whites abilities as a coach (i actually said that last year as well)

• 152.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Edwill go read post 100

If we dont support it’s bad, if we do it’s arrogant.
    Make up your mind please and personally I think its just jealousy (spelling)

You can but dream of a atmosphere like you find at Loftus, rather go work on your teams support base and their attitude wanker

• 153.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Atmosphere at loftus!!! Drunk people in khaki singing liefling, thats not my idea of atmosphere, thats my idea of inbreds

• 154.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Only joking, never been there but on tv it doesnt look too bad.

Show you what winning do to a union…..

• 155.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Anybody post 146?

• 156.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

moegrat

you an inbred

• 157.jondood: Reply to this comment

drunkmonkey

All unions in South Africa should idealy have passionate supporters like we do at Loftus.

But keep playing KAK rugby and our resolve will be tested.

It was 5 – 10 years ago.

Anyway any Stormers fan wanting to give the Bulls supporters flack about Loftus need only look at Newlands. That is an eye sore.

• 158.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Hey if Province plays good rugby and Newlands is packed (its been a while) nothing compares to the atmosphere there. Although ive been to the “Tank” a few times and the spirit there is great after the game

• 159.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Barring the obvious last gasp hopes of the semi’s for my money the real competition this weekend will be for SA bragging rights.As Big Vic has stated the SA team finishing highest on the log are the best in SA.So come Monday when the log is final and let us see how the all-conquering Bulls are sitting and if it is indeed on top then hats off,but I for one feel that will not be the case.

• 160.niknak: Reply to this comment

good point jarndood. i am writing a letter to newlands to request more steve hofmeyr during the game and space to park a few oxwagons outside. cracker.

• 161.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

The way Stormers is playing they must get Jurie Els

• 162.jondood: Reply to this comment

niknak

Just get Nataniel to perform and you will have a full house.

crackhead.

• 163.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Or Evita Bezuidenhout

• 164.kwensie: Reply to this comment

I’m getting sick and tired of this Oxwagon kak

• 165.Blouste: Reply to this comment

LOL @ jondood

“crackhead”

• 166.niknak: Reply to this comment

ossewae…is pleserig …. tra la la …cracker

• 167.kwensie: Reply to this comment

Niknak…..Jou mielie

The people in PTA are Technologically advanced. The mere fact that we post on this website is proof of that..

• 168.jondood: Reply to this comment

kwensie

Dont react to it.

You just give them ammo.

• 169.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

Dis die geel dis die blou dis die Bloubul wat my kop kou.
    Net n druk en n poep en hulle almal kak in hul broek

• 170.Moegrat: Reply to this comment

You Bulls fall too easy for us.

Love it

As long as we all support the Boks

• 171.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Long live the mighty Bulls:

2005 Champions
    Vodacom Cup Griqualand West
    Currie Cup Free State Cheetahs
    Super 14 Crusaders

Now I am wondering where all the silverware from Loftus is for last year???

• 172.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Keo / Ig

The resting of Springbok players in the CC is no such big deal. How many CC games would they miss anyway ? Correct me if i am wrong but i think it is three ?

So what ? Big deal….

• 173.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Correction on 172: The Springbok players, had they played CC games, would have played three games at the most.

• 174.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Why can’t the boks play CC this year ? Who’s going to watch CC rugby if our best players is not there. Why don’t they just scrap the S14 next year.

• 175.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

Well done SA Rugby! You listened to Jake White and you are actually doing something intelligent for the benefit of the players! Its going to snow this winter.

• 176.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Bokfan

Hang on with your congrads, SA Rugby changes their minds faster than you can change your undies…

• 177.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

I bet you guys the unions are going to complain about this. Because of the following. If there star players are not there the staduims will be ampty and they not going to make enough money. Let the boks play CC but let them start from the bench.

• 178.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Grrrr

Bokfan doesn’t change his undies.

• 179.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Andre_Wp

Correction: WP will complain, the Lions won’t. Empty stadiums?? No problem!

• 180.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Rudebud

My bad… Faster than he can take down a pair of panties???

• 181.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Rasta,
    are you sure you come from east london? where did you go to?

• 182.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Tip the sharks to do well, along with Cheetahs in the CC. In front of full stadiums.

• 183.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Grrrr

That sounds better.

Have you decided what yersey you are going to wear this Saturday ?

• 184.rastafox: Reply to this comment

bluebarb
    From Slummies to the Big Smoke briefly then plodded around our neighbouring countries for 6 years and now find myself in the heart of the Garden Route.Still shout for the boys in Black and White hoops!!!

• 185.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

RastaFox
    regarding your post 100

I share your need to do something- other than bitching on the net.

pls mail me at oranje_orakel@hotmail.com

• 186.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

anyway, all this was clearly spelled out in an interview in SASI a few months ago. The header was “Jakes Bok Shocker” He indicated that he would not play the “1st team” in the lead up, and concentrate on the England game, as once again, we have to beat them to advance in the RWC. cant understand what the Hoohaa is about now.

• 187.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

selborne.
    that explains a lot ;)

• 188.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Rudebud

No idea… What do you suggest???

• 189.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Grrr

That is a tough one. I am a Bulls supporter but they play such **** and dumb rugby that even i would be ashamed to wear a Bulls yersey. Then again, speaking of dumb, would you realy want to wear a Stormers yersey ?

Go neutral; Wear your Lions one.

• 190.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Rudebud

Mmmmm, maybe. But by the sound of things Ig and Keo are very ‘hooity-tooity’ guys so maybe I should go in my Armani suit. :)

• 191.jomar1: Reply to this comment

Now the lions will be fucked

• 192.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Jake is crazy. Playing Godzilla in SA rugby.

• 193.3rdday: Reply to this comment

Oranje Orakel & Rastafox,

Don’t waste your time. The last time some Muppets and Keo.co.za wanted to do something they started the Dan Qeqe Fund and look where that is now! I am sure Keo and the other Trustees have spent the money as wisely as Tony Yengeni did when purchased that Merc.

• 194.norman: Reply to this comment

just read in argus that watson and schalk brits will not be in whites 45 member sqad
    this is a disgrace and i coudnt care what white has done in the past but he must go the quicker the better

• 195.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Who would be the Bok untouchables?

IMO,in order from most valuable player:

1.Matfield
    2.Smit/Bakkies (tie)
    3.Steenkamp (when fit)
    4.Habana
    5.FDP
    6.JDV
    7.JF
    8.Juan Smith
    9.Jaco
    10.Percy

Just off the top of my head.

• 196.norman: Reply to this comment

jaco is overated and gets very angry
    refer last saturdays game for a couple of incidents
    but he is one of whites click

• 197.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Norman,yeah, Jaco does get pretty tense sometimes.

He’s only on my list because we have no one else.

• 198.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Rudebud,ja,the Bulls have seriously sucked this year. I think we may need a new coach. HM has done a good job, but we need someone who can adapt and force adaption on the field.

On a side note, the Bulls can not make the semis.

I know there is a mathematical chance, but there is one thing noone has thought of,except old BlueBlood of course.

If you take a look at the fixtures for the coming weekend, obviously the important one for the Bulls [and Sharks] is the Crusaders / Brumbies match. And who is the ref. for this game ?

Crusaders vs Brumbies in Christchurch
    Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
    Touch judges: JC Fortuin (South Africa), Steve Walsh (New Zealand)
    Television match official: Gary Wise (New Zealand)
    Assessor: Stuart Beissel (New Zealand)

O dear….. There is no chance in hell kaplan the amoeba will allow a Crusaders win. He knows he’ll be ******** the Bulls back home, so he’ll force a Brumbies win.

You heard it here first.

• 199.kingpin: Reply to this comment

Schalk Brits is the best hooker in SA rugby and it is a disgrace that he will not be in the Bok squad.

Play Schalk Brits at 12(inside centre), he has more pace, a better step and superior ball skills to De Wet Barry. Barry cannot catch a cold in winter – the only discipline he usually performs admirably at is tackling and even that has let him down of late!!!

• 200.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Kingpin, you are crazy boet.

Brits would be an average center.You can’t just switch possies like that mate.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.