Barritt will not replace Joubert

Western Province have failed to lure exciting young Sharks centre Bradley Barritt to Cape Town, despite a concerted effort.

“Bad luck boys, Bradley Barritt is ours,” Sharks chief executive Brian van Zyl told Cape Argus Rugby Writer Dale Granger. Coach Kobus van der Merwe said that Province were eager to fill the midfield void with a rising young talent like Barritt.

Van Zyl confirmed that the Sharks had closed a deal with Barritt last week when he signed a two-year contract.

Province will be without the services of Springbok midfielders Jean de Villiers, De Wet Barry and Marius Joubert for the next two Currie Cup competitions and had pinned their hopes on the brilliant young 19-year-old.

And Joubert seems to have fallen out of favour at Newlands anyway. The centre will not be available to play Currie Cup rugby for WP this season, or next, as he is one of the 24 contracted Boks who have been withdrawn from the Currie Cup.

Joubert’s contract, nevertheless, expires later in the year. On Saturday night, after he had slipped two tackles that gifted the Bulls tries en-route to their 43-10 demolition of the Stormers, a WP executive member said his contract would not be up for renewal.

Even though the Sharks could lose veteran lock Johan Ackermann, who has a serious calf injury sustained in their final game against the Western Force on Friday, Van Zyl dismissed rumours that his union was eyeing Stormers lock Ross Skeate.

“We’ve got enough talented young locks in the union, we don’t have to worry about our second row,” van Zyl said.

105 Comments

• 1.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Sharks rugby looks great for the future.

• 2.bigg: Reply to this comment

It’s ok, we have Gus Theron

• 3.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Dammit ek wou eerste wees…

Barrit het talent!

• 4.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Wildebeeste to take the Vodacom cup and the Sharks to take the Currie cup.

• 5.Shred: Reply to this comment

Barrit, stay with the Sharks, please! You are home grown and the Sharks are proud of having a local tallent in you.

• 6.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Ja nee , WP kan maar vergeet , hulle sal nerens kom die jaar nie. Miskien oor 2 jaar. Sharks sal beslis die beste span wees in die CC die jaar. Daar is vele talent tot hulle beskiking.

• 7.big g: Reply to this comment

with you q-man!!! sharks all the way this season!! well done barrit for your loyalty my man!!!

• 8.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Anyone tried the news24 quiz yet ?

http://www.news24.com/News24/Sport/Rugby/0,,2-9-838_1932993,00.html

• 9.Spook: Reply to this comment

If the Sharks can find a U19 player that played well in the Super 14, why cant Province??

• 10.kaballas: Reply to this comment

Hi guys!
    Anyone from PE?

• 11.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Bring back Gus !!!! beside , we have sarel potgieter and that youngster that looks like fleckie who played for WP a few months ago. What we need is a tight 5 !!!!!!!

• 12.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Te veel spelers in die kaap wat nie ‘n rugby bal kan raakvat nie lol , kan nie sien hoe hulle ‘n verskil gaan maak in die CC nie.

• 13.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Don’t province have a great youth system? Anyway they are probably going to play their five or six pacific islanders that Mallet went to get or try and get.

• 14.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Hi Nick what is wrong with Stewart Palmer. The lad has loads of talent. No need to go look far for a classy centre. Stewart is in Mitchells Plain, captain of Collegians RFC. But as Director of WP rugby you should know that.

• 15.Viper6: Reply to this comment

Haha Thank God Marius will be gone. Now we just have to get rid of him from the Boks.

What a fall from grace.

• 16.bigg: Reply to this comment

Kaballas – Not me but welcome!

• 17.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Kaballas,

Yes, I’m from PE. Why?

• 18.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Andrew

Who’s coaching Province this season ?

• 19.RedCard: Reply to this comment

kaballas soek julle alweer ‘n *****?

• 20.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Andre,

Kojak is coaching them… :(

• 21.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

heh heh, barrit aint stupid, wrong time to try and sign him isn’t it, directly after the stormers capitulation ensured that barrit would not be playing in the super 14 semis.

• 22.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

WP will have to start poaching some Wildebeest players.

• 23.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Capeflats,

We ended up with Peter Grant above Ismaeel Dollie. I’m still trying to figure out that choice …

By the way, how good is Adnaan Osman – Collegians No. 10?

• 24.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Chuck

Ain’t gonna happen we have a great system in place that allows our young players to break into the 1st team so that they won’t need to look for 1st team rugby anywhere else. Plus if it is a case of money I think the Sharks can match whatever province is offering.

• 25.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

maybe Jorrie is available?

• 26.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Andre_WP

I didn’t do to well in quiz a few hard ones there.

• 27.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Quinntessential

Same here , only got 5

• 28.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

As far as I know, only the top 24 Boks will be out of the Currie Cup.

If that is indeed the case, then the top unions will still have a lot of the Boks playing for them.

In the case of the Bulls, I reckon guys like Gary Botha and Pedrie Wannenburg are probably not in Jake’s select group.

The Bulls could possibly still field a line up that looks like this:

Marius Delport/Danwell Demas
    Akuna Ndungane
    Frikkie Welsch
    JP Nel
    Rudi Coetzee/Dries Scholtz
    Morne Steyn/Derick Hougaard/Jacques Louis Potgieter
    Heinie Adams
    Pedrie Wannenburg
    Tim Dlulane
    Pierre Spies
    Francois v. Schouwenburg
    Adriaan Fondse
    Andries Human/Wessel Roux
    Gary Botha/Chilli Boy
    Danie Thiart/Jaco Engels

Very competitive. And I must confess, I don’t even know all the guys from the Vodacom cup that well. Could be a few stars waiting in the wings there.

Bulls and Sharks to contest the Currie Cup next year. Gonna be interesting.

• 29.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

I still believe that province have enough players down there. We need a decent coach. Look at all the youngsters , why did nic go overseas to go look for players ? All we need is a decent coach , someone who know’s rugby.

Dis onaanvaarbaar dat die WP so sukkel vir twee jaar in ‘n ry of is dit meer , maak nie saak nie maar ek hoop die sponsers begin bietjie stem dik maak. As ons hierdie jaar nerens kom in die CC dan is daar regtig probleme in die kaap.

• 30.bigg: Reply to this comment

Hi Guys

Is anyone from Poffadder?

• 31.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Joubert has a 24 month Bok contract to do nothing and when he plays he plays like ****. How much money is being wasted on useless potential?

• 32.Jason: Reply to this comment

**** sakes if he left **** id be so pissed off cause he is ours!!!!!! an he’ll be a shark forever

• 33.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Bigg

No why are you from there? and if so I am sorry to hear.

• 34.bunce: Reply to this comment

Thank the powers that be and **** muir for keeping him, he is second only to jean de villiers in centre play and i reckon a legend in the making. Who would want to go to western problems they have’nt set the world alight laterly?

The sharks need a decent partner for him, maybe Jaque Fourie would like to leave the sinking ship or jean de villiers?

• 35.JoeO: Reply to this comment

Barritt has definitely caught my eye. He is amazing, truely. Strange that Joubert’s contract wont be renewed. He will then probably look overseas.

The sharks have a bunch of guys now in their team who are young, and if they stick around for another 10 years or so i predict another domination period similar to the 90′s.

I am surprised Waylon Murray has not had more game time, been very impressed with him. JP, Pienaar and of course Strauss are all 19 and all have a Super 14 under their belt.

Holds well for the future. I just hope it doesnt become about money and other unions poach our stars.

• 36.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

WP needs centers and their locks are useless. The Sharks wouldn’t want to use WP’s useless locks.

• 37.RedCard: Reply to this comment

I’ve got an idea!!!

WP to buy back the Rose-boys. Lions make Fat profit and they’ve got the cash to tell Ludicrous where to hide his sausage.

• 38.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Just a pity that Ronnie Cooke didn’t end up at the Sharks – him and Barritt would make a really young exciting combination

• 39.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

I am off.

Cheers people enjoy you evening.

• 40.bigg: Reply to this comment

Bunce – I would becareful with what you say if I were you. Have you got short term memory loss??? This time last year the Sharks were in a worse position than the Stormers/WP. This year the Sharks turned it around so there is no reason why WP can’t do it next year. Sharks also had the same off the fields problems. Please don’t be a cocky arrogant prick like the rest of your Shark colleagues! After a medicore Super 14 you know think you are the best… Remember the Bulls are in the Semis and NOT the Sharks… the Sharks haven’t excactly set the world alight this year either…

• 41.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Province can take Adi jacobs and i’ll be the happiest Sharks supporter ever – had that stupid f@ck passed to Pietersen, the sharks would be in NZ now!

• 42.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Well it is a blessing in disguise for the Stormers, Barrit is a slow as a 1 tonner. Solid on defence though.

You guys need pace in the midfield.

• 43.Spook: Reply to this comment

Bloubulsd

Who said that the Sharks wanted the WP locks anyway? This thread is about Barritt!!

• 44.bigg: Reply to this comment

Kevin W – then you can have Gus Theron

Must go ladies

• 45.kevin w: Reply to this comment

bigg … name one game where the sharks were embarrassed in this year’s Super 14 – the same cannot be said for every other SA side who got their asses handed top them at one or other stage.

12th to 5th – mediocre (i think not)

• 46.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Hmmmm

I saw him outstrip the Crusaders backs and they aren’t slow …

• 47.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

Its funny that SARU will be paying for Joubert’s service even though there is no way he is going to retain his spot. jeeez what a genius, i’d love to earn big bucks playing as little rugby and using as much of the rehabilitation centre – especially with my problematic right knee i’d love to have all the medical assessment for my knee for free – arthroscopy, surgery, rehab is ******* expensive, not only in this country, its all over the world, however we do have far better medical aid than in many countries of Europe – i know that for a fact.

• 48.JUSM: Reply to this comment

i rate young barrit very highly. have since the first game i saw him play for the sharks this season. he must be pulling durbs surfer chicks like a fckn industrial car wrecking magnet.

• 49.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

if barrit would leave the sharks he’d be crying like unlucky luke watson – he left for a ‘better’ provincial union only to find out 2 year later that the future lies within the sharks. Who knows if he’d (watson ofcourse) be showing what a good player he is week in and week out for the sharks he’d have a bigger chance of getting the bok call. Although i still don’t rate high, his workrate is however impressive for the stormers/wp. we have better loosies in the bok squad already – and a coach who is damn clever and which, unlike most SA coaches, has a plan!

• 50.SharkBait1: Reply to this comment

BURN PROVINCE BURN !!!

GO SHARKS

• 51.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

kevin,

were they running?

• 52.bunce: Reply to this comment

bigg mouth the sharks have set the world alight and everyone is loving watching them play, they have made huge strides this year and won over alot of people. No one said anything about the finished product but they are on their way, western problems have loads of talent and no one to direct it, they have been sliding for 2 years now.

• 53.Ben M: Reply to this comment

bigg, the more you speak the more abject a figure of pity you make yourself. You are really a complete twit.

• 54.TigerShark: Reply to this comment

Spook, post 9

If the Sharks can find a 19 year old centre good enough to play in the S14 why couldnt the Baby Bok u/19 selectors?

• 55.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Cozz they should be u/19 or have turned 19 that year.

When is barrits’ bday.

• 56.wls: Reply to this comment

Wonder how many players will be trying to get into estern provinve or The cats lol.
    Doubt any big names.
    in my opinion they will all be trying to get out of there contracts.

• 57.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

tigershark, there were some great talents in that U19 team i can assure you, some great younsters, the vibe, the attitude was not right. lacking preparedness? overconfidence perhaps?

• 58.TigerShark: Reply to this comment

Taurus, what a load of ****!

Just have look at the schools section of this very website to see the outcry around the selection of that “Wonderfully talented team”

• 59.TigerShark: Reply to this comment

I will concede your point though… SOME wonderfully talented players.

• 60.TigerShark: Reply to this comment

Like One, or maybe two.

• 61.TigerShark: Reply to this comment

Hmmm

So then why was’nt he in last years team? None of the backs from last years u/19 side are playing s14.

• 62.yebo: Reply to this comment

What is Barrit’s history, school etc ?

• 63.farmer: Reply to this comment

If Luke Watson had stayed with the Sharks he would have played vodacom cup.Britz was briliant ,Barrit does not to mess up his career.
    Poor Gerrie Britz has learnt the hard way.

• 64.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Brian Van Zyl is a childish little w@anker

• 65.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Did not know that though tiger.

Do not know last years u/19 backline players.

• 66.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Barrit looked like he strugled to keep up on Friday though.

He is great in defence, looked exceptionally slow.

• 67.yebo: Reply to this comment

What about the young black lock who warmed the bench for the Wildebeest, think his nickname is “the Beast” …. can’t wait to see a machine black forward player.

• 68.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

i did not watch much of the vc.

The only game I saw of the wildebeest, solly played exceptionally bad and russel played a bit at scrummy.

• 69.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Kan nie verstaan dat senior rugby in die WP in so ‘n krisis is nie!! WP skole is altyd onder die top 10 in die land en hulle vaar altyd goed tydens die Cravenweek. Wat gaan aan??? Ek wonder of die fout nie hoer as Fester le nie??

• 70.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

Barrit played DHS oldies last year in a very good side beaten in the league by Rovers side with Keegan Daniels and Burden,”the beast”Murawaria (spelling?) a Zim boy in the same boat as Chavanga.

• 71.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

Sorry ment to add in U20′s league

• 72.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

tigershark,

He was in the SA u/19 team.

He turns 20 in July.

List of squads his been in
    Squads:
    Sharks (Vodacom Super 14)
    Natal (SA Under 19)
    Natal (ABSA Under 21 Competition)
    Kwa-Zulu Natal (ABSA U20 Competition Section A)
    Kwazulu Natal (U18 Coca-Cola Craven Week)

• 73.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

It seems all sides go through a slump of some sort,a few years ago you couldnt find a Bulls supporter in the S12,Sharks had their bad times recently and it looks like the Stormers are at it.(dont ask me about the Cats-angaase)and the overseas teams seem just as susceptible,look at the Brumbies,although the Crusaders seem to be having an extended run.

• 74.Andy2505: Reply to this comment

There is no way in hell Barritt would leave to go to province he would be behind De Villiers, Joubert and Barry in the pecking order especially in the Super 14. Why would he want to leave Natal when he is 2/3rds of the way thru a degree and he has almost cemented his place in the team.

He also has friends around him at the Sharks like Alistair Hargreaves they both went to Prep together and other teammates like Waylon Murray and Mxoli who played with him at Schools level. I also heard ages back that Bath the english club wanted him and that was when he was at Kearsney so the boy has got loyalty!

As for hmmms comments about him being slow well he aint da quickest but i have it on good authority that wen he was left out of U19Bok team he sought the help of a sprint coach and was working with him for quite ahwile!

anywayz good lucky Brad kepp up the good work and stay a shark!

• 75.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

saffa_guy he is playing well at the moment. Can run, can pass and is an accurate goal kicker. needs to work on tactical kicking and tackling. Now if Mallett will only invest in the boy, like he did with Grant & Joe Petersen, WP might have a descent fly-half. But he is also a bit too small for Malletts liking.
    He is however doing well for Collegians. By the way, they narrowly lost to Tygerberg this past weekend. The led 22-13 with about 15 minutes left. Tygers however scored 2 late tries to win the game.

• 76.sean: Reply to this comment

hmmmm

no he wasnt in the SA u19 team. Was in the SA schools team and invited to SA u19 trials but didnt make it (quotas)

Went to Kearsney and always looked destined for great things (saw him play for Kearsney a few times)

• 77.snoop: Reply to this comment

a letter to mallet. kobus and wp players.

**** the lot of you. pathetic excuse for a team. get some balls and team spirit going before you ever run out onto a rugby field again.

your a disgrace to past great players and do the name and proud tradition **** all…..

remove yourselves from all competitions until you find balls. skill. passion and dedication.

fucksakes.

a sad supporter

• 78.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Can anyone please help me with this?
    Why are black youngsters performing well at age group level but their white understudies at the age group levels make it quicker in senior rugby.
    Case in point Ruan Pienaar. He was understudy to Paul Delport at u21 level. However he made it at S14 level. Had an excellent season. Definitely the best SA scrumhalf if not the overall best in the S14.
    This while Delport is languishing in a **** WP Vodacom team.
    Is it because of opportunities?

• 79.Andy2505: Reply to this comment

capeflatsboy

I think its gotta do with opportunities for Pienaar he struck it lucky with Davidson being injured. But i think he is immensely talented hes strong, quick fantastic pass my are we blessed with scrumhalf talent!

As for Delport the boy is really quality i think if he had to move to the Central Cheetahs he would be the no1 scrumhalf i think his path has been blocked so its a little frustrating for him but he is very very talented and a good leader

• 80.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

similar thing happens in nz capeflatsboy.
    at school level its the the school who have large rolls of islander and maori numbers that do pretty well. its a skill thing as well as earlier development in terms of physicality.

then come club time the lighties all get stronger and faster and the skills come through too. i would say its the same story in SA. the ‘white’ guys take ages to develop or possibly try and develop too young and stunt their development completely, while the black and coloureds are a lot stronger. possibly this all perception, since you could look at okes who come from the famrs etc, they generally are a little bigger and stronger regardless of colour compared to the city guys.

i played school rugby for hopeless city school in cape town where i was average size (#8) and then played for city school in auckland and i was above average size compared to kiwis, but the islander guys were often a little bigger. i was 6’3″ and just under 100kg at school playing number 8. at school in nz the skill level was heaps higher and i had awesoem learning curve to grasp. not sure how SA school compare now to how they were 10 years ago.

• 81.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

by the way, im tired of hearing jouberts name. can we move on to better and brighter things like this barrit guy.

• 82.MysticBoer: Reply to this comment

Allthough Marius Joubert has been **** over the last 2 years, there’s no denying he has heaps of natural talent.

I think his problem is one of the following:

1. He is being badly coached.
    2. He’s head is not right – attitude/confidence problem.

It’s probably a bit of both – no, it’s probably a lot of both.

He would do well to move somewhere else where both these issues may be addressed. That could be either the Sharks (where he could build confidence again playing for the Wildebeeste), Cheetahs, Cats (depending on who gets the coaching job there) or even the Western Force.

• 83.garethlagorie: Reply to this comment

so thefools at the stormers are looking for young talent!!!you guys had the brothers ROSE only last year and you let them get away!!come on guys catch a wake up

• 84.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

yep the coaching and management structure at wp needs to be turned upside down. coach has to go, there is no doubt about that.

• 85.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Nick Mallett is looking for a centre and a tight head prop. That is what he is quoted to say according to the Argus. Did they not sign Attie Winter at the end of last season. Winter cant even make the **** WP Vodacom starting XV. He also signed a lock from Griquas. He too cant get a game in the Vodacom team.
    Mallett stop wasting money. Develop your own players or cant you spot talent. You have now fallen back on an old warhorse Boome and is looking at a centre who does not have much pace.

• 86.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Also what happened to Doug Wheatley another one of the coaching triumvarte’s great signings. By the way that lock’s name is Duimpie Theron.

• 87.shaka mehlomakulu: Reply to this comment

Mullet is just getting his pay cheque till the end of the season . Then he will be off to the UK where he can select without political interference .

But CFB , you are quite correct – he should be developing local talent as evidenced by the Sharks academy who are churning out the talent . Watch hooker “Tyson” Jenneker – no relation to Pagad – coloured lighty who was found in Newlands East the coloured township bordering Kwa Mashu and brought to DHS who are developing many of Natal’s rugby stars today – much in the same way that DHS produced the most springbok cricketers ever , BA Richards , TL Goddard , Gamsy , Wesley etc .

It would be interesting however , how politicians would rate black islanders who Mallett was recruiting . Tonderai was regarded as black / quota , but hails from Rhodesia . It therefore follows that mixed race polynesians from the islands should be regarded the same . If Nic Mullett fielded 6 or 7 or them next year this would prove to be an interesting dilemma for the overpaid and overweight ANC politicians .

• 88.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Shaka, I have seen Jody Jenneker. He is impressive. He has what Schalk Brits have and will be even better. That is why I have said Straeuli is currently putting Mallett to shame. He is quietly doing his job. Mallett is saying too much. He’s eyes are not even on WP. When you see him on programmes like the NZ Boots & All, he always talk about national issues. The man is still bitter he is not Bok coach. He does not even rate Jake White. He said that at a Muppit evening last year. I say he should go to the UK and get stuffed there too.

• 89.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

On the Stormers website, I wrote this letter to Nick Mallett.
    Dear Director of WP Rugby

Mr Mallett last year after the Stormers humiliating defeat at the hands of the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld, you vowed that we will never see a repeat of that again. At least not while you are the Director. Well sir this past Saturday’s defeat was worse. The scoreboard might not reflect it, but you must take the following facts into consideration.
    1. The game was played at Newlands.
    2. The Bulls of 2006 is not as strong as the class of 2005. In the pack alone, they have lost Leonard, Lensing and Bands.
    3. You are now the Director of Rugby, something the Stormers of 2005 did not have. You were in fact at pains to tell everyone that you did not have any input into the running of the team then. Gert and Carel were responsible.

You spoke on Capetalk radio before this year’s campaign and explained to the supporters not to have unrealistic expectations, but to be assured that they will see a team who will die for the cause. Unfortunately Mr Mallett, that was not evident on the park this past Super 14 season.
    You also signed players in the areas you believed the team to be vulnerable. I can think of at least 3 tight forwards whom you signed. Not 1 of those players played for the Stormers in the Super 14. Is that an indication that you signed the wrong players? If the answer is yes, it tells me your talent identification skills are not what many believe it to be.
    Mr Malllett you recently went to Fiji to go look at bringing players to WP. Why are you not going to ares like Mitchells Plain, Langa, Khayelitsha and Manenberg to go look for talent? I am sure the guys there might have just as much talent as Doug Wheatley, Duimpie Theron and Attie Winter. The 3 tight forwards you invested in.
    I am a passionate supporter of WP and Stormers rugby but I don’t believe you are the man to turn things around for us. You will say it is a process and it takes time. So tell me sir, why after 2 years in the job at Liverpool footbal club, have Rafa Benitez managed to win 2 major trophies? He also said it would take time, but he has delivered.
    I urge you to do the honourable thing and admit that you have failed in your role and resign.

Regards
    A very disgruntled supporter

• 90.ktb: Reply to this comment

Capeflats, you have summed up my feelings pertaining to thegame last sat. I am a sharks supporter. live in durban & I feel for you guys. You pay god money to watch your team and they dish up the rubbish the Nation saw.

Has anyone asked the coach + his support team what was going on last sat.Have your cape papers not interviewed this guy and asked the qustions.

How was it possible that a talented side like the STORMERS could contrive to play like a “bad” school boy side.The passes were ludicrous & why did they not take easy penalty kicks for goal, to make it more difficult for the BULLS — this is one question I would liked answered from the management of the STORMERS.

They rolled over and played dead in front of their LOYAL supporters and someone should pay for this.

• 91.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Capeflatsboy,

Well said, my friend. I too am a very loyal WP and
    Stormers supporter. However, we all reach a stage where we get “gatvol”. I have seen absolutely no change since Mr.Mallett has been in charge.

As for the local talent. What does it tell the local boys, when WP lures 6 Fijian players to CT, and now wanted Barritt as well. Why must we always snub other province’s home-grown talent.

In my opinion, CT has the most rugby talent available than any other province in the country, yet our so-called “talent-scouts” ( if we have any ), can’t seen to find these talents.

• 92.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

jis laaik die kapies kan complain …… anyway ons bulle cry nie oor speelers van ons wat vir ander unions gaan speel nie … ons is bly want ons weet ons het die talent en dat ander unions ons speelers bo hulle own verkies.

• 93.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Ktb. I am not a conspiracy theorist but you can digest the following.
    Heyneke Meyer was appointed by Nick Mallett to coach the Bulls. If Nick did not appoint him, he certainly made the recommendation.
    Mike Bailey played for Nick at False bay and Boland. He was Nick’s assistant when Nick coached Boland. He was recommended to Heyneke by Nick.
    So who does Nick want to be in the semis. He’s buddies or **** and Rudolf, who we know Nick does not like?
    You decide bud.

• 94.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey,

Ek is seker jy het ook gecomplain so paar jaar terug toe die Bulls die grootse grap op ‘n rugbyveld was.

• 95.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

capeflats,

Paul made into senior rugby quicker than Ruan.

Paul played for the Cats 2 years ago and did not do to well.

If memory serves correct he also played for Stormers last season. His form or lack thereof lost him his place.

Another example is Januarie (who is not white), he played for the Lions the season after they won the u/21 champs and the rest is history. The only difference, Januarie was able to made the step up to the next level, Paul failed in that.

I said this before, not all players that perform at school level have what it takes to be a great in senior rugby.

• 96.TigerShark: Reply to this comment

Hmmm, very well put.

CFB, you do have very valid points with regards spotting home grown talent.

It was most interesting to notice how few non white players were in the various cape schools teams that played in the festivals over the easter weekend. Why is this?

You will notice that in KZN most of the schools, much like schools in the EC, have spotted promising black talent and offered them sports burseries. Why are non of the so called “elite” cape schools not doing the same?

Furthermore, does WP even have an academy, like the Sharks do? If they do, who is running it? Because he needs to be fired.

• 97.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

Bigg – post #2 LOL, classic

• 98.matthew: Reply to this comment

ANDREW HOLLELLY FROM PE!??! ARE YOU MR HOLLELY’S SON, THAT USED TO BE THE PRINCIPAL AT VICTORIA PARK HIGH SCHOOL??

• 99.Zinto: Reply to this comment

I actually think WP can perform well in CC this year. Egon Seconds should start at outside center.
    1. JD Moller
    2. Schalk Brits
    3. Neil Fullard
    4. Gerrie Britz
    5. Ross Skeate
    6. Luke Watson
    7. Leon Karremaker
    8. Pieter Louw
    9. Paul Delport
    10. Naas Roussouw
    11. Jongi Nokwe (They should buy him from Boland)
    12. Corne Uys
    13. Egon Seconds
    14. Zahier Ryland
    15. Shandre Frolick

Not bad side????

• 100.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Naas Rossouw?

• 101.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Zinto here is my team
    15 Frolick
    14 Egon
    13 Stewart Palmer
    12 Peter Grant
    11 Terry Jacobs
    10 Naas Olivier
    9 Paul
    8 Pieter Louw
    7 Justin Melck
    6 Luke (capt)
    5 Skeat/Britz
    4 Boome
    3 Fullard
    2 Schalk
    1 JD
    But who can motivate this bunch

• 102.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

My Team

1 JD
    2 Britz
    3 Fullard
    4 Skeat
    5 Brits
    6 Watson
    7 Melk
    8 Pieter Louw
    9 De Kock
    10 Naas Olivier
    11 Ryland
    12 Peter Grant
    13 Seconds
    14 Booi
    15 Joe Pieterson (after Britz, he was made the best attacking/positive impact for the Stormers and less of a negative impact i.e. missed tackles than Nokwe, Chavanga and Benjamin)

• 103.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Sorry about that Naas Olivier. Is Selborne Boom back at WP? Not bad, both teams, yours too Hmmm.

• 104.Gerhardt: Reply to this comment

All Sharks supporters in Gauteng wanting to attend the Vodacom Final in Brakpan, rather park your vehicle in a secure area and use the Bus service to Brakpan. Mail us your contact details if you are interested at mailer@sharks-supporters.co.za

• 105.reds: Reply to this comment

Glad to see Barrit is loyal to the Sharks!!!
    What is it with the Stormers that they can’t leave the sharks players alone? Why not start their own academy and produce their own youngsters. Even have to get players from overseas makes u wonder if they don’t know how to recruite players from the Cape!!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.