Bulls up against it

Bulls assistant coach Mike Bayly has admitted anything less than a 100% performance against the Crusaders on Saturday will result in defeat.

“The Crusaders are an awesome team, but we have the belief we can get the result we want,” Bayly told keo.co.za from the team’s hotel in central Christchurch. “However, if we perform at 90% we will lose, we know that. We need to be at 100% if we are to have any chance of upsetting them.”

Bayly said that the training session on Tuesday had gone extremely well, with all 24 members of the squad taking full part. “Everyone is fighting fit and we should be able to pick the squad we want for the game,” he said.

The Bulls will need to exert huge pressure in the forward exchanges if they hope to nullify the considerable threat of Dan Carter at flyhalf. “If we can put pressure on their pack, which we know we are capable of, then we will hopefully be able to put pressure on their No 9 (Andrew Ellis) and spoil his service to Carter. If Carter can get good quick ball then we could be in for a long evening.”

Bayly praised the ‘Saders and said that Carter was not the only threat in the backline. “Aaron Mauger and their outside backs (Caleb Ralph, Rico Gear and Leon MacDonald) are supremely gifted players. We will have to extinguish the threat on the outside too if we want to progress.”

By Andrew Hollely

48 Comments

• 1.Swapo: Reply to this comment

Keep Carter quiet and 50% of the battle is won.

• 2.gecko: Reply to this comment

jondood – I owe you a few beers. Get in touch. If Stan is around in London – welcome to join.

• 3.JUSM: Reply to this comment

if everything gels it could be one of the greatest SA wins in Super Rugby history. and it is certainly possible. these kind of things do happen. i can’t wait

MASJIEN!!!!!!!!!!

• 4.bigg: Reply to this comment

The bulls 100% is still not good enough to beat the Sades. No SA team is good enough except the Stormers.

• 5.JUSM: Reply to this comment

lol bigg have you been smoking with keo or something?

• 6.Anvil: Reply to this comment

No Kidding Mike.

Dont tell your backs to run it now.Let the big boys in the front to do the dirty work.

• 7.bigg: Reply to this comment

Jusm – I have been smoking dagga with the Jake White…

• 8.RuudBoy: Reply to this comment

Do you think they took Steve hofmeyer with them to Christchurch?

• 9.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

What time is the game on Saturday morning ?

Bulls will realy have to go out and play with passion. Believe in them self and do it for south africa. Will take alot out of them because the Saders will be no walkover. The team who are infront after the first half will win this one.

• 10.bigg: Reply to this comment

Andre @ 09h00.

Ruud – They are taking all their ma’s, pa’s, oupa’a, ouma’s, tannie’s en Oom’s. The bulls ban’t play without their families in the stadium

• 11.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Bigg

You forgot the mandatory moustaches and blue helmets…

• 12.markv: Reply to this comment

The bulls, with there one-dimensional style, are going to get belted on Saturday. The Sharks were definitely the best of all the SA teams in the S14. As a Stomers supporter, I was bitterly disappointed that we spoilt it for the Sharks. They are capable of giving the Crusaders a run for their money. I still can’t understand how we(Stormers) can lose against the bulls but beat a much better team(Crusaders) and almost beat the Sharks in their own backyard.
    “Bulle neem julle pille”…julle gaan?????? Saterdag.

• 13.bigg: Reply to this comment

Rudebud – What is going on here? Some oke is big g, jonnow & now ruudboy. They must like our names and thats as close as they gonna get

• 14.bigg: Reply to this comment

MarkV I am glad we spoilt it for the Sharks

• 15.william shakespeare: Reply to this comment

bly stil Bailey

die enigste kans wat ons het is om onderskat te word, en nou lap jy die hele game plan uit!

die enigste openbare stellings wat jy behoort te maak is om die Crusaders te prys vir hoe goed hulle is en te vertel dat die spelers vlugflou is en maar net hulle bes sal probeer en kyk wat gebeur.

• 16.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

bulls to lose by 50.

• 17.tompig: Reply to this comment

bigg, I too am a stormers supporter. Lets not get ahead of ourselves. I dont see the bulls pulling it off although there is always a butterfly in the stomach when an SA side plays in a semi or a final.

• 18.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

The Bulls almost seem to get overawed by the big names when they play the Crusaders. The yforget that they are big names too, and that it is about matching each guy man for man… and thinking on their feet.

• 19.tompig: Reply to this comment

A huge problem is that the bulls are the worst SA team as far as travelling is concerned (except the cats of course)

• 20.wls: Reply to this comment

Markv everything you said there is just dof.
    If th Bulls are that one dimensional why are they heading to the Semis and not the Stormers and Sharks?

• 21.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

ons nodig hougie op flyhalf hy sal vir carter stil maak

• 22.wls: Reply to this comment

Drunk ****** nah i think Jaco vh should be flyhalf.
    hes on fire at the moment.
    Lets hope they do us proud. at least they have gotten into the semis twice in the last two seasons, so anyone of the Stormers fans who sit an mock them are just laughable.

• 23.cab: Reply to this comment

i think this might be closer than expected, the bulls know they have nothing to lose, hopefully they change their tactics and run it, this will not only surprise the crusaders but the whole of SA.

• 24.tompig: Reply to this comment

drunkmonkey, what are you sipping on, Hougart is not bad, but never in a million years in the same class as Carter

• 25.cab: Reply to this comment

attacking rugby for 80minutes, its a mindset.

• 26.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Did u say Hougie good …hougie makes good look bad. Hougie the bomb man.. he deadly he like a rotweiler on defence and his kicks as deadly as cruisemissile…. his line out kicks defestate any team.

Hougie should be springbok no1 flyhalf

• 27.out wide: Reply to this comment

Guys, all this stuff about big names and gameplans? The only Bulls names known in CHC are Matfield and Habana – the rest are unheard of or unpronounceable. Maybe this is to the Bulls advantage but as for the gameplan, Robbie Deans worked that out long ago. Pretty simple really – he showed that at Fortress Loftus a few weeks ago. Listen to what Kiwi commentators have to say on Thurs on Wrap Downunder / Re-union, Laurie Maines and Tony Johnson sum it up well.

The Bulls have done well to get this far but remember they sneaked into this through
    (a) that last 10 minute blitz on the Brumbies by the ‘Saders doing SA sides a favour and (b) the first half one sided game at Newlands which they won fairly (except for the TMO decision) and definitely squarely!

It is afterall #1 playing #4 at #1′s homeground. And guys, if it goes pear shaped for the Bulls, (let’s hope it doesn’t) don’t use that travel fatigue excuse – the Crusaders arrived in CHC from SA last Mon night (as did the Bulls) and played on the Fri night (the Bulls are playing Sat.)yet played their best rugby in the last 10 minutes!

• 28.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey,I’m glad you are the only person in SA who rates him so highly.

His defense is average,his attacking skills are kak,his goal kicking is good and his punting isn’t to bad (except when he has to travel).

I would rate him behind Jaco,AP,Butch,Ruan,Russell,Bosmen etc etc.

• 29.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

oh please how many curriecups have those players won let alone to say how many curriecup finals they played?

• 30.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

u guys see

u dont know your rugby cos Hougie the best…. u guys can be glad he resting. ;]

• 31.ktb: Reply to this comment

Bigg, you spoilt nothing, you are in for a HUGE hiding sat, & you are going to wish you never spoilt it for the Sharks, you are going weep, when the CRUSADERS WHIPE THE FLOOR with the Bulls & I hope it is a record score.

• 32.tompig: Reply to this comment

He can rest into retirement for all I care

• 33.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

ahhh the last time the sharks played a curriecup final … hougie destroyed u guys. ;] Hougie has won every curriecup final he has played in.

• 34.tompig: Reply to this comment

Surely you cant atribute that to him. Barry and Joubert have won many currie cups too and they are morons. It is a team effort and very rarely an individual performance.

• 35.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Daniel Carter (Crusaders) 5 35 32 2 197
    Peter Hewat (Waratahs) 4 29 33 0 177
    Stephen Donald (Chiefs) 2 18 28 1 133
    Stirling Mortlock (Brumbies) 9 15 17 0 126
    Cameron Shepherd (Force) 7 16 18 0 121
    Ben Blair (Highlanders) 0 13 27 0 107
    Percy Montgomery 7 17 12 0 105
    Peter Grant (Stormers) 1 14 23 0 102
    Derick Hougaard (Bulls) 0 12 22 1 93
    Meyer Bosman (Cheetahs) 0 9 21 0 81

u guys check the top 10 leading point scorers…. Hougie there above bosman and just imagin he hasnt played last 7 games.

• 36.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

tompig when the last time province has won anything?

• 37.CGKM: Reply to this comment

On Crusaders ball, the Bulls should constantly wheel the scrum so that the Crusader forwards are moved away from Carter, giving the Bulls loose forwards the opportunity to apply pressure.

Defence should be as flat as it was against the Stormers. Soft, heavy footing will make sidestepping difficult.

Bakkies coming on later helped provide continuity, should do so again.

Body position should be lower during the driving maul. They should do this until all Crusader loose forwards are drawn in before giving the ball to the backline.

When making contact it should be with the same committment showed in the first half against the Sharks.

Should they get this right it should be a good game to watch.

• 38.tompig: Reply to this comment

I must have been 10 it was so long ago……

Besides 2000/1 currie cup, they won front row seats to see other SA sides play better rugby

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Blah blah blah

• 40.tompig: Reply to this comment

sharks supporter Dawn????

• 41.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Monki ***,
    So Peter Grant didnt play some of the games…and is above hougie…..Jy pluk ‘n lat vi jou eie …
    No gameplan the bulls try, it simply wont work, they only wanna be the best SA side… not the best s14 side…..mission acc…they will crash by 20 points

• 42.I chucked Norris: Reply to this comment

The only thing in the Bulls favour is that they do not have any South African TMO’s for the game!

• 43.mc spyker: Reply to this comment

when the stormers and province do well sa rugby does well.hope stormers start winning or else the world cup is a goner

• 44.YoMama: Reply to this comment

This weekend the Bulls will all be our Bokke. Every South African will and should be behind them.

• 45.out wide: Reply to this comment

Hey Chuck Norris, better check whether the CIA edits the rugby you see on your TV buddy. That 2nd Habana “try” on Sat – can’t remember what the TMO’s name was (nor do I want to) but he was sure South African and he sure stuffed up in favour of the Bulls!

• 46.oink12: Reply to this comment

Hay.. theres only 1 way the bulls can win this game.. And theres only one way….
    Close down Carter.. the two fastest forwards in the bulls(most probably wannenburg and spies or gary botha) should consistantly run at dan on defense. Carter is only human and he DOES crack under pressure no matter what people say.. Thats his 1 and only weakness.. Try will most probably come from this tactic(leaving space on defense) “But at the end of the day” it will prove dividend.. Crowd carter and he will throw the bad pass.. If the bulls do ONE thing in the on Saturday(or sunday in SA) it is Sprint on to Daniel carter and the bulls win win the game.. the only other crusader in the backs that will fill carters shoes if he has a bad day is mauger.. And even he can be stopped

GO BULLE

• 47.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

carter needs a tackle from bakkies that will make him so scared he wont touch the ball.

• 48.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

I reckon that tere are more than enough world class players in teh Saders that te Bulls shouldn’t just worry about carter! Looking at the stormers game, there were quite a few mistakes that the Bulls made, which teh Saders would have scored off, but which the Stronters were to useless to make teh most of.

Also, only two f teh tries were properly structured backline moves, and one of these was from **** defence by Joubert – expect no such thing from the Saders.

The Bulls will have to think and think hard ALL the time if they want to win. Also, their forwards will have to receive the ball at speed to crash it up, not standing flat, or else they will be driven back in the tackle. Their body positions going nto the tackle must be low and protecting the ball.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.