Reliving the Bok dream
16 May 2006
Legendary Springbok fullback Gysie Pienaar is thrilled his son, Ruan, is following in his rugby footsteps.
The young Sharks scrumhalf has been included in Jake White’s extended 45-man Springbok training squad that will meet in Bloemfontein on Wednesday.
“I am very proud,” Pienaar told Business Day. “I think every dad would like his son to follow in his footsteps some day and I am thankful that Ruan could do that. I knew he would make the Springbok squad, but I never thought it would be so soon.”
According to Business Day, Pienaar rushed to Bloemfontein last Sunday with his family to prepare for the training camp. He said he was delighted about his achievement and was “very surprised” to be included in the squad. But he admitted that the hard work would start only now.
“It was a dream come true to see my name on the list,” said Pienaar. “I did not hear anything about being included in the squad, so it was a complete surprise when my name was read out. This is a great opportunity for the new guys who performed well in the Super 14,” he said in the report.
“But we also realise that the hard work only starts now. I am really excited about attending the training camp and I will see where I go from here.”
Of his father’s response to his inclusion, Pienaar said: “He phoned me immediately. He was very proud and emotional. He’s been there before. He knows how special it is.â€
Another son following in his father’s footsteps is young Stormers lock Andries Bekker. His dad, Hennie Bekker, also played for the Boks.

40 Comments
16 May 2006, 08:02 am
Well done Ruan .. hopefully they will allow you to grow and specialise as a scrumhalf … and keep you away from yoyoing to the flyhalf possition when it suits them.
16 May 2006, 08:07 am
Ya well done Ruan, you deserve it.
Agreed Paws, think the young chap has a very bright future as no.1 bok scrumhalf.
16 May 2006, 08:10 am
yep, agree paws
this guy needs to be looked after and in a few seasons time the good scrummies around the world will measure their ability against ruan.
a hell of a lot of people can see that this guy is destined. he has the talent, now he needs the support structures to keep him developing.
jake will give this guy a run in the early tests. but how exciting would it be to see his name included for 3N. the kiwis and aussies will be paying him a lot of attention and that would draw at least 1 loosie into the ruck time, creating more space out wide.
16 May 2006, 08:13 am
Ruan Pienaar is a future mega star and deserve to be in the Bok team this year.
I wonder why JW didnt think he had enough experince in this position with Bolla, FDP, January already in the squad??? Isnt this the logic he applied when selecting the USELESS De Wet Barry, Marius Joubert, Eddie Andrews, Solly, Danie Coetzee…..and the list goes on.
16 May 2006, 08:19 am
If they **** this guys career up Ill be so PISSED OFF.
Play him at scrumhalf and leave him there!
16 May 2006, 08:28 am
Recent Father-Sons
Felix Du Plessis – Morne du Plessis
Louis Schmidt – Uli Schmidt
Moaner van Heerden – Wickus van Heerden
Schalk Burger Snr – Schalk Burger Jnr
Gysie Pienaar – Ruan Pienaar
Hennie Bekker – Andries Bekker
16 May 2006, 08:30 am
Edwil, another one that we will see in the next few years is Flip vd Merwe’s son – Flip…. Good lock for FS.
16 May 2006, 08:49 am
Ruan you are the man. Kick some serious international ***!
16 May 2006, 08:58 am
Does Danie Gerber have a son playing centre anywhere, and if so, cannot wait for the kid to play top level, hope he can entertain us as did his father, still my number 1 centre in any era.
16 May 2006, 09:06 am
CSI,
Danie’s nephew, Sam, played a few games for EP and then the Pumas. Big things were expected, but sustained an injury and now has disappeared from the provincial set-up.
Not a bad player though. Not anywhere near Danie’s calibre. I still remember the days when Gerber played for EP – when they were good – sitting at the Boet, ah memories!!
16 May 2006, 09:08 am
Well done Ruan
I like to believe that Ruan made a wise decision to come to the Sharks to play his rugby as that assisted in fast tracking his career.
But in all honesty I think he would have cracked it no matter where he had decided to play his rugby.
16 May 2006, 09:10 am
Andrew
He was one guy I always wanted to watch play, worth the price of admission alone, those were good days on flowing running rugby. I always backed the AB’s to win, but when this guy got the ball, you always took a deep breath and waited for the brilliance to shine…and you were never disappointed!!!
16 May 2006, 09:39 am
Post 10 Csi will not understand da Boet, Csi Boet Erasmus stadium. Yeah those were the days Who was that guy who played lock for Ep in da 80′s with the same name? Sh*t he was brillo.
16 May 2006, 09:51 am
Its hapenning slowly but surely!
The inclusion of real natural talent in the backline:
Ruan Pienaar
JDV
JF
B Habanna
Hopefully we can find the 10, 14 and the 15 soon.
16 May 2006, 09:51 am
Ruan Pienaar is the same type of player that Joost was.
******* brilliant
16 May 2006, 10:10 am
The King
Ruan’s got much more vision though. What made Joost brilliant was his phisycal abillities, not his natural talent (vision and flair that is)
16 May 2006, 10:14 am
ah.. good old EP :p
many a saturday afternoon did I spend supporting my beloved team.. now they would call it a misspent youth!
watching the late Frans Erasmus walking from one scrum to the next.. and Adri Geldenhuys, Elandre vd Berg and Tobie Oosthuyzen giving the oposition the old classic: “my ball is my ball.. and your ball is my ball”
Saw some great players run out in the red and black! anyone remember that big fullback with the MASSIVE boot.. johnny Vermeulen I think?
and China Bell.. lol
and dont forget hennie le roux.. hell.. Willie Meyer played some good rugby for EP
eish.. the memories come flooding back!
thats all EP rugby is unfortunately.. a distant memory!
16 May 2006, 10:17 am
CSI, I agree with you totally. My all time great no.1 player. Would love to see him in the backline coaching line up but the the continious invilvement of SARFU, I dont think he is that stupid.
Ruaan deserves a go, reminde me of an young and energetic Joost
16 May 2006, 10:18 am
Isnt anyone amazed at the size of Andries Bekker. He is 2.09 m without shoes. Bakkies who is a monster is 2.02m
A talented lock at 6 ft 9 without shoes on is a real find.
16 May 2006, 10:25 am
JoeO,
Are you sure he is 2.09m?
Media guide has him at 2.06m, which is still the second tallest lock in the Super 14, behind Willem Stoltz 2.08m.
Guide could be wrong though…
16 May 2006, 10:26 am
JoeO
Andries is propably one of the fastest locks in SA as well.
16 May 2006, 10:28 am
I am glad Ruan was included, as RIcky form has been woeful and FdP not much better -= he needs to speed his game up.
16 May 2006, 10:28 am
Lovejoy,
And more recently Barry Pinnock. Not the biggest oke around, but damn he could play. Never gave less than 200%. Can’t remember a game he didn’t end with blood on his face!!
And he was a naughty bugger too, and not just on the field either…
16 May 2006, 10:30 am
Sorry guys that was totally off the subject.
Getting back to Pienaar…….
What can you say that hasn’t already been said. He is just awesome. I think it is too easy for people to think just because he is a good runner and distributer he will be a good flyhalf.
The games I have seen of him (SKYSPORTS don’t like the Sharks) he has always looked calm and involved and every now and again a little magic.
I am however a little confused where he is in pecking order in the squad. White said before last seasons end of year tour he would have wanted to include him but thought he didnt want him to miss his age groups world cup.
My point is on any given tour or match 22 your have 2 scrumhalves. Fourie du Preez is number one right now and number two SHOULD have been Januarie. But on current form thats not going to happen.
What should be the pecking order for the no. 9 jersey? factoring in experience, form and potential.
16 May 2006, 10:34 am
Tompig,
Danie is a notoriously bad coach! he was all instinct and pretty much uncoached himself.
his idea of coaching goes something like this: “no man.. you’ll never score like that.. gimme the ball.. ok.. now what you do is.. step like THIS and then like THIS and then run through the hole team like so.. and then score in the corner like THIS! GOT IT?? goood!”
16 May 2006, 10:37 am
White said: “Andries stands 2.09m in his socks and was a consistent performer this year. He has represented South Africa at junior level and he’s an athletic player”
So andrew lets make him 2.075 then hey!
16 May 2006, 10:38 am
Andrew,
what do you mean more RECENTLY? :p LOL… I think Barry has been playing since the early 60s! there were rumours that he might have found the key to living forever and I believe he was born bald :p
but certainly an EP legend!
actually saw him the other day… he is coaching a vodacom cup side somewhere now, isnt he? cant remember who…
16 May 2006, 10:40 am
threee best scrummies in the country are there in Piennaar, FdP and Januarie.
16 May 2006, 10:54 am
Lovejoy – more recently as in he lasted til about four years ago!! And trust me not good to be punched by that oke. Hehehe!!
JoeO – Ahhh, but White tends to mix his info up a bit. Suppose it doesn’t really matter. he’s abig bugger. Full stop.
16 May 2006, 10:55 am
Unfortunately, Jake will not pick this kid. Januarie will start with du Preez on the bench … sad but f@cking true!!!!
16 May 2006, 10:57 am
We in S.A. are really blessed with a wealth of talent in this position (halfback/scrumhalf)at the moment!
I’m also quiet impressed with young Jano Vermaak who has recently been selected for the U-21 side.
Then there’s Paul Delport as well who should get his chances next season.
16 May 2006, 11:17 am
Vermaak is one to watch…he was world class 2 weeks ago.Still early days but he plays like he loves it and has absolutely nothing to lose.
16 May 2006, 12:38 pm
well done boy
16 May 2006, 15:13 pm
(30) Kevin W I agree fully with you!!
16 May 2006, 22:35 pm
Gysie Pienaar was the best fullback I’ve seen in a Bok jersey, including H.O. De Villiers. He was powerful in every department – he was fearless under the high ball, very fast on attack; he had a dummie par excellance (I mean really good) and brilliant anticipation in both attack and defence; he ran straight lines always taking the ball at speed and had a special understanding with his wings. But above all he satisfied the first criteria of a fullback – he could tackle – he went in hard and low; just outstanding.
John Cowper – Detroit
17 May 2006, 06:46 am
Indeed John, I have to agree with you…the only other SA fullback to come anywhere near him was of course another Freestate product, Andre Joubert !!
I just hope that Ruan will come back into the fold at Freestate.
The bubble at the Sharks will not last much longer, and he does not want to end up like so many brilliant players who slowly dissapeared from sight after elaving OFS…think Wylie Human, Gerrie Britz, Daan Human, Tonderai Chavanga, Shimange, and numerous others, who found their lights went out once they left the rugby paradise of Bloem behind…I am sure there will be some intense behind the scenes talks in Bloem over the dinner table, of course Gysie himself better take over the Freestate backline coaching role immediately !!
17 May 2006, 10:56 am
Well done Ruan! You play to the ball as the NZ teams do, and don’t “intimidate with your physical presence” as most players in SA want to do.
Just hope you’re going get game time with Bolla and Januarie in the squad – Jake has many masters to please
17 May 2006, 14:15 pm
All Sharks supporters in Gauteng wanting to attend the Vodacom Final in Brakpan, rather park your vehicle in a secure area and use the Bus service to Brakpan. Mail us your contact details if you are interested at mailer@sharks-supporters.co.za
17 May 2006, 17:49 pm
Hello Folanke -
Yes Joubert was an outstanding attacking fullback – but he and Monty are suspect under the high ball; and although you argue strongly that both of these were better attackers that Gysie (and Percy definitely has a better boot) – neither of these two were great tacklers (in fact quite suspect in this department). That is why Gysie was so good – such good tackling technique; my dad always that was the first requirement of a fullback.
Regards,
John Cowper – Detroit
18 May 2006, 05:37 am
Hopefully SA will get a sixth franchise in a Super 15. Then we will have strong structures drawing talent from across the country that served us so well in the past. This would also create a fairer competition, because the NZ and Aussie teams would be on the road longer.