Bok prop crisis

Springbok coach Jake White’s prop problems are escalating. Veteran Os du Randt is the latest to join a growing list of injured Bok front-rowers.

Already on the injury list are tighthead CJ van der Linde (broken leg) and loosehead Gurthro Steenkamp (arm). It was revealed on Wednesday that form tighthead BJ Botha has to undergo a neck operation. Now Bok talisman Os du Randt has been added to that list.

It means White has potentially lost his top two players in each of the tighthead and loosehead positions for the opening match of the year against the World XV at Ellis Park. That will be a major worry for the Bok mentor ahead of the most hectic international season the Springboks have ever embarked on.

“BJ will undergo a neck operation and won’t join the training camp,” Bok media manager, Rayaan Adriaanse, told Die Volksblad. It is now expected that Botha will miss the Tests against Scotland and France as well as the Tri-Nations series, Die Volksblad reported.

It is a major blow for Botha who has been in terrific form this season for the Sharks and his debut in the Bok jersey was eagerly awaited by fans across the country.

Du Randt could not train on Thursday because of his knee injury. He was taken to hospital on for X-rays. “I hope his injury is not serious,” White said in Volksblad.

Du Randt’s knee is swollen and he will be in a race against time to play against the World Team at Ellis Park on June 3. The combination of the injuries prevented the Boks from trying out their new scrum machine, which arrived from Sydney on Thursday.

The Springbok forwards coach, Gert Smal said the machine will be used to improve the Boks timing and to get their feet-positioning right.

The Enforcer scrum machine has been designed to accommodate the tall and big Bok front row comprising Du Randt, John Smit and Van der Linde.

92 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Stay True: Reply to this comment

Vundu,
    Some senior palyers and vitamin S for some much needed strength. Bring back Cobus!

• 52.Vundu: Reply to this comment

Don’t you guys think that Johan Ackerman looks like the “creature” from the Goonies… just imagine hving him stare you down in the middle of a scrum.

We can all complain about Jake White’s decisions, but at least we can be grateful to have a new coach in time for the World Cup!

• 53.capi: Reply to this comment

Why is everyone going on about the golden oldies of SA rugby. Why not have a look at these new youngsters from the Cheetas.

• 54.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

lorry is strong come scrum time, its eddie that gets shat on ever scrum.

• 55.wls: Reply to this comment

Vudu Struggle against a fierce scottish pack? LMFAO how can you put Scottish and Fierce in the same sentance LMFAO.

• 56.banana boy: Reply to this comment

capi agreed,

Unlucky to the boys that are injured, but maybe this will give us a chance to bring in some new talent….

• 57.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Laurence destroyed the French scrum – those who have been belittling him have very short memories. He is a more than capable loosehead (not a utility prop, although White would like him to learn tighthead).

Interesting to note how some scrummagers are rating Andrews as being strong this year. He has never let SA down and is solid, not spectacular.

I am a big fan of Visagie and think White is making a mistake not recalling him. A front row of Laurence, Smit and Visagie would be the best in the world.

• 58.Stan: Reply to this comment

An Injured Bands is still better than the rest.

• 59.banana boy: Reply to this comment

agreed mikeybrass, Laurence was awesome against the French….. I was really impressed with his work-rate!

• 60.Vundu: Reply to this comment

wls… buddy, obviously you didn;t watch too much of the 6 nations. The Scottish pack is pretty damn good, I would say better than the English at the moment. If we underestimate them, they will maul us… and make Bakkies their *****.

We are not the rough and tough dutchmen of yesteryear. These guys play a skilled game.

I think 2006 is the year South Africa are going to come short. Jake White will see his ***. Next year’s world cup will have a completely different complextion to what JW has stated. Watch out for the youngsters….

• 61.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Niemand maak Bakkies sy ***** nie… :evil:

• 62.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Vundu – you’re probably 100% wrong…

• 63.Silent Bob: Reply to this comment

Vundu, even if you are correct, my impression was that the Scots are touring here with a “second” team.

I just can’t see you comments about the ‘Bok team for the next WC coming true … sorry.

• 64.wls: Reply to this comment

Vundu i did watch the six nations and more power to the Scotts but i dont think they had a very good pack. they were destroyed by the Poms up front (It was the Limeys who couldent finish the game of) Same for the Frogs they were no match up front, but defended very well.
    I just suspect they will come unstuck here in the Southern Hempisphere, the game is played alot faster and i actually think the Boks will come good this year, better than the last two. we have a formidable team in the Boks.
    What they need to go do is make a statment in the opening three matches.
    White is to smart to have a kak season , we have seen what he has managed to do.

• 65.Stay True: Reply to this comment

Vundu,
    The recent 6 Nations was definetly substandard compared to previous years. I would rather say that Scotland performed at the expense of the other teams not being up to their usual standard of play.

• 66.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Stay True,

Do you pick these comments out of your arse?

Last year England smashed the kiwis pack all over twickers, wales nearly got the better of us and france gave us a hiding.
    The 6N of this year was a closely fought affair and to say their play was sub-standard is to say SA are playing really **** rugby to gave gotten a hiding by France end of last year.

So pull your head out of your arse and give credit where credit is due.
    The scots played out of their skin during the 6N and fair enoguh, were punching way above their weight, bt that doesnt mean is was a sub-standard 6N.

• 67.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Bok pak sal skotte altyd ore an sit…

• 68.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Ek stry nie daarmee suparugby,

Al wat ek se is die skotte se pak was ****** goed hierdie jaar in 6N en ek dink dinge sal bietjie anders wees as ons daar speel as wat ons hier speel.

En was dit nie 3 jaar terug toe ons dieselwde ding gese het toe kry ons n pakslae teen die skotte?

• 69.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Maar toe was bakoor Straueli coach en nie Jake nie. Stem saam, ons sal meer daar by hulle sukkel want al ons spanne sukkel oorsee, s14 en toetse – veral in europa is ons useless die afgelope dekade…

• 70.Loki: Reply to this comment

Look no further than that pillar of strength – Attie Winter:) At least you are guaranteed of swinging the scrum and perhaps using this cunning ploy, to confuse your opponents.I mean, he is ex-Griquas and was lured to Province by Fester. Sure to make a huge “impact” at international level. Try him. He’s no worse than Chavanga.

• 71.Stay True: Reply to this comment

Vinnie,
    In fact the 6N was ****. Wales palyed their 2nd XV, France didn’t nearly produce the form that beat the Boks and England as well as Ireland were inconsistant.

****, even Italy all of a sudden emerged as a rugby nation.

The “weaker” teams were more competitive simply beacuase the traditional power houses were below par.

Just because the tournament was a closely fought affair doesn’t mean it was of the same high standard as previous years. How can the so called waeker teams in one year suddenly become world beaters?

• 72.zama: Reply to this comment

oh here comes a fight…
    ek ken die verskil tussen kak en modder, en hierdie lyk nie soos modder nie…

• 73.shaka mehlomakulu: Reply to this comment

Vinnie # 37 – how long you at Millwall .

My bud’s lighty played goalkeeper there a few seasons back after a stint with the U16 at Leeds with Lucas Radebe (pronounced Radibby by the poms) and more recently with Amagluglug . Ex Tableview lighty .

• 74.Stoffel: Reply to this comment

What ever happened to Ettiene Fynn? I remember he played tighthead for the Sharks in 2001 and then Happy Harry put him in the front row for the Boks against the French where he got his head shoved in, but what became of him after that did he throw in the towel with rugby?

• 75.zama: Reply to this comment

stoffel,

He is currently one of the shittest rugby commentators in SA.. Actually on par with the rest, as they all shocking

• 76.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Daai bleddie Ettiene Fynn is deesdae kommentator en praat net stront…as ek hom **** sit ek dadelik oor op die ander kanaal maar dan tref ek weer vir Joost of Errol! n Man kannie wen nie…

• 77.Stoffel: Reply to this comment

I watched the Blues vs Cats game with Rob Kempson commentating, I thought he did a good job he’s quite a funny oke…

• 78.zama: Reply to this comment

No stoffel,

All he does is suck fleckie and bobby’s shlongs on live tv…

• 79.shaka mehlomakulu: Reply to this comment

Amadoda abafaze , this Blog was dedicated to the Great Man receiving his Green and Gold Blazer . I say , Siyakolewa ku Madiba . Siya mgcatsaha U Blade , Manamela , bra Zweli , Vavi , Zizi , Fikile , Bra Don , ama india Reddy , Shaik and Munusamy .

Loosely translated that would mean in zulu in Nelson we have the greatest belief and on the others aspiring for 2009 government posts , we spit .

• 80.Stoffel: Reply to this comment

I didn’t see that part but the rest I heard of him was pretty good

• 81.shaka mehlomakulu: Reply to this comment

Ig , don’t ban me ekse – this is the witou’s computer and I won’t speak down on anyone again .

• 82.Stoffel: Reply to this comment

What do u okes recon of Jacob Zuma, here in NZ they ran a column on him in the paper and it paints a pretty bleak picture for SA if he gets into power. Also this rape crisis may help the doos out when his corruption trial heads to court as the jury will think he’s clean as per the rape verdict

• 83.shaka mehlomakulu: Reply to this comment

lost it man – was on the wrong blog – but I shall remain true to my word – just like yesterday – ALL NZ Final – hardly rocket science .
    OUT.. here comes the witou ..

• 84.suparugby: Reply to this comment

shaka jy weet nie eers op watter blog jy is nie!! Die Boere van die noorde gaan die (all) blacks more weer looi…

• 85.wls: Reply to this comment

Vinnie was that the Match the Poms played at Twickenham against a 13 man NZ side?
    They hardly pushed them all over the place in fact the Limey press was SHERIDEN THE TANK BLAH BLAH BLAH after they played the Aussies then the next week it does not even make the newspaper LMFAO. so typical. Carl pushed him through his own arse if i remember.

• 86.shaka mehlomakulu: Reply to this comment

Cant resist – Stoffel , in any corruption case there are 2 roleplayers , active and passive .

Shaik has been convicted of the active role in funding certain unjust enrichment of a politician to receive huge financial reward – ala huge contracts for government work .

The passive role was the acceptance of unjust enrichment by a politician Zuma for performing certain favours which ordinarily would not happen . The outcome is a foregone conclusion but I don’t see too many black judges putting up their hand to try the case .

In the end there is an overwhelming possibility that these matters will follow the Winnie , Moolman , Yengeni route – endless appeals until they fade into oblivion .

see my report on the African Crisis blog .http://www.africancrisis.org/default2.asp butb rest assured there is no conspiracy as CI are reporting or implying

• 87.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Shaka

Where is your report on the said website ?

• 88.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

Edwill(20),
    They are all well and kicking, Rautenbach carries some injury though
    But it all futility, JW will pick the two tokens Andrews and Sephaka, then will go to blame the locks for the Boks disfunctional scrum.

• 89.snoop: Reply to this comment

sA tan

you must be bands ….. big, fat and useless.

Thats why your so pro.

• 90.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Ask Pieter de Villiers about Lawrence being disfunctional, Buttlooker.

• 91.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

I say we colonise Namibia. Then we can use KL

• 92.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

Post 66

I beg to differ with the pom pack smashing the AB’s pack, I remember Hayman got the better of Sheridan in every scrum they packed down and the pom had a few chances to go for lineouts when AB’s had 13 on the field, (both forwards) and they did not choose to, 1. Because the captain was stupid not to do so, and 2. The AB’s defended their line well with only 13. All 3 NZ loose forwards outplayed their opposite number by a country mile.

Vundu,
    What happened in February means little in June, just ask the Tahs about that means.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.