James injury jolts White

Butch James is the latest Bok injury casualty and he is likely to miss the Scotland test series.

James, having just returned to first class rugby after a year absence because of injury, hurt his groin at the Bok training camp in Bloemfontein. He is a doubtful selection against the Scots.

Andre Pretorius is already out with a groin injury and now White has had to withdraw Meyer Bosman from the SA under 21 squad because he is down to two flyhalves in his squad with Jaco van der Westhuyzen and Bosman. Percy Montgomery and Ruan Pienaar can also cover flyhalf.

Injuries have rocked the Boks with Os du Randt, BJ Botha, Bakkies Botha, Bryan Habana, Marius Joubert, Pretorius and James all likely to only play in the Tri Nations. In addition, Ricky Januarie, Bolla Conradie and John Smit also have niggles.

The Boks play the World XV on June 3rd and start their international season against Scotland in Durban a week later.

51 Comments

• 1.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Hy het anyway nie verdien om daar te wees nie…

• 2.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Jeez – Is the guy ever NOT injured??? Get a real job Butch….

• 3.leitz: Reply to this comment

Business as usual then…

• 4.zama: Reply to this comment

Jake complains about the amount of rugby they play, then he organises another test against this world team and he trains the poor buggers 10 hours a day into the ground… double standards jake!!!

• 5.rastafox: Reply to this comment

In a sense this is great news,blessings in disguise etc.It will force Jake’s hand and allow a few new faces and fringe players an oppurtunity to put their hands up.Take out enough “favourites” and we will see exactly how good our cover is.

• 6.Lumpy: Reply to this comment

Well theres a big surprise!!!!

• 7.Ig: Reply to this comment

I would say by the end of the training camp we should be down to the starting 15 at this rate………

• 8.Zero: Reply to this comment

Cheers Butch, nice knowing you, hope they put you out to pasture in a nice place….

• 9.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

This news has really taken me by surprise. Butch injured NEVER! I don’t believe it

• 10.yoda: Reply to this comment

At least his players are getting a rest, so Mr White shouldn’t complain, he wanted to rest his players, and now he can without any arguments…

Pity Bosman wont be playing U 21, it would of been good for the team as well as for him. He would be getting some more experience in the northern hemisphere, and he needs that kind of experience, if anybody is to take him seriously.

What about Gaffie, why is he in the squad? He should also be able to cover at 10. Why pick him if you have no intention of using him as a utility player? Then rather pick jantjes for wing/fullback. And Brent Russel?

Bosman should be left with the U 21 team

• 11.zama: Reply to this comment

old butch,

The steroids have caught up with him…

• 12.yoda: Reply to this comment

O, and for the record, I rate butch, he is a great 10. If he can get past the injuries, everybody will be singing his praises in 6 months. He has a good kicking game, very imposing on defence and he attacks the line well. He is a complete 10 and we dont have many of those in SA.

• 13.Jshark: Reply to this comment

After what I’ve seen from Jaco v/d westhuizen this past weekend in NZL, does Jake really believe he is our first choice flyhalf, maybe if we intend to play “kick the ball away”.

• 14.yoda: Reply to this comment

Jshark, with you there.

However, that was definately the gameplan. But his kicking game was to poor to execute. Cant play a kicking game, if your 10 and 15 cant ****** kick.

• 15.BMM: Reply to this comment

Zama 4. Jake doesn’t organise the games and he is complaining about the amount of rugby played below Bok level – and RIGHTLY so. The Boks are more important than any other game and his players should be in top form for the beginning of the International season not played into the ground. Get real buddy.

Jshark Jaco is a much better flyhalf than fulback. As for the kicking that is the problem with the Bulls they practice at altitude and don’t correct their kicking at sea level!!

• 16.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

What worried bout butch when best flyhalf not even in the springbok squad ….. why they still ignore the powers of HOUGIE.

• 17.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

We have ample cover in their positions. It’s time players like Gaffie steps up to the mark and leave his fears behind him. Bosman needs to be withdrawn from the U21 world cup and play for the Boks

• 18.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

Sorry i just read Bosman has already been withdrawn fromt he U21′s

• 19.bigg: Reply to this comment

Who cares – Butch James is kuk

• 20.christo: Reply to this comment

as een van Hougaard,Steyn, De Waal nie nou gekies word nie, moet hulle maar hulle lamoene vat en fokkof, want dan gaan hulle nooit gekies word nie

• 21.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

nee los vir de waal en steyn

• 22.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

Yoda! i flippin well agree with you. It is time Gaffie gets over his Mallet fiasco and steps up to the mark and puts the 10 shirt on again, i believe he will impress. Did you see his drop goal attempt form within his own half against the hurricanes? Gaffie has got the biggest punt in world rugby and apparently he is one the quickest boks over 40m

• 23.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

christo

As jy Steyn wil kies dan moet jy eerder tennis of netbal gaan kyk en die rugby los!!

• 24.Derek Noble: Reply to this comment

Tough luck Butch. Get well soon my China.

• 25.zama: Reply to this comment

oooo, Jannie de Beer waar is jy!!

• 26.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Its almost a ritual now with the boks to have so many injuries before the boks even kick the test season off. What is going on in the Boks camp?!?!? This is a common occurence in the boks outfit year after year now.

• 27.Frazer: Reply to this comment

CSI – It’s called poor management.

• 28.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

CSI

When they get at the Camp the medical team check up on them, and thats where all the injuries are picked up. They were injured during the S14 and the S14 coaches kept quiet, that is where the poor management lies

• 29.ddrek: Reply to this comment

CSI…
    i think its the S14….perhaps the short rest then heavy training means that after tyhe rigours of S14 ,they do buckle. Also the guys with niggles possibly dont admit them as they are excited to be at the new bok camp and hope to run them off.
    Me thinks

• 30.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

So from post 27-29,

Its down to poor management from both players and management from the top. Well I guess this is one of the reasons JW selected a big squad.

• 31.katman: Reply to this comment

Apparently Jake has asked Ludeke to go and speak to Tiaan Snyman – see if he can coax him out of retirement to join the Boks…

• 32.Ig: Reply to this comment

katman – Tiaan would decline due to the exciting nature of accountancy…..

You keen to join a fine Ulti team ?

• 33.wls: Reply to this comment

Zama you poepal do you honestly think JW organises the test matches lol.
    RE POST 4.

• 34.katman: Reply to this comment

Howzit Ig,

Sadly joining an Ulti team is out of the question right now – twisted my ankle quite badly on Saturday and damaged the ligaments. It’s massive and turning blue – looks like I’ll be on crutches for at least the next month. I was actually thinking of joining. Ask me again in a couple of months.

Is this for a winter league? And you say a “fine” team – I take it you’re on it?

• 35.zama: Reply to this comment

Wls,

No you doos, but he was over excited when the fixture came up and did not comment then that there is to much rugby being played.. he complains about the amount of super rugby but then he wants more tests… More tests = more money for him!! this so called world 15 is a waste of time!!

• 36.zama: Reply to this comment

if jake had his way, we would be playing 40 tests a year and no other rugby…

• 37.Ig: Reply to this comment

Bummer about the ankle….

Then again having folks wait on you for a few days before the novelty wears off is always fun.

Yip – its a fine team, myself, Dom, Trent, Neal, Matt a couple of good yanks and some newbies….as rugger folk are want to say – a good blend of youth and experience

• 38.katman: Reply to this comment

Hmm… sounds like a quality team. I would definitely be the quota inclusion there.

• 39.Ig: Reply to this comment

Heheheh nah we have plenty of those in some of the newbies…..

• 40.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Zama – you’re clueless boet. Jake’s salary does not depend on the amount of tests played. Jake has ZERO input when tests are scheduled. Jussus, I had no idea there were people out there with your level of cluelessness…. :roll:

• 41.wls: Reply to this comment

Zama lets carry on swearing at each other Plonker, you Nob Jockey :)

The world 15 was a far better test than hosting another Uraguy test, he has zero say in the matter. He is the person calling for less tests its the SA RUGBY board calling for More as its more money in there pockets and since they keep giving it away to the Spears you can see why they need more tests, Plonker.

• 42.wpw: Reply to this comment

aaaai, zama. cmon boet, we all know it isnt jake who plans the schedule of the boks for the year and who they play…..

• 43.Redox: Reply to this comment

Jeez zama u losing it since when does jake decide on how many test matches the boks play?

• 44.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

Het julle al ooit Zama iets intelligent **** se? Nee, nie so gedink nie.

• 45.wls: Reply to this comment

Zama is one of those pricks who thinks Chester should be coaching the Boks and France Ludicrous manageing the whole of SA rugby.

• 46.Viper6: Reply to this comment

The injury situation is becomming a joke. Oh well we still have Percy and Ruan, so its not that bad yet.

• 47.HOUGAARD SKOP GAT: Reply to this comment

Now Jake must open his eyes and pick the best kicker in the country … Derick Hougaard

Give him games with players like Jean de Villiers and Schalk Burger around him and they will bring out the best in Derick. Derick`s attacking game is becoming better and I believe that if he is given a couple of games with the Boks he will be our greatest flyhalf at the world cup!!!

Come on Jake , for a player who scores 93 points in 7 Super14 matches , you can`t miss him !!!!

• 48.rex: Reply to this comment

I always thought that there was no point in everyone squawking about JW’s inclusions and omissions as we could expect the inevitable injuries in the Bok training camp. I would bet that JW will be force into making some other selections. Be interesting so see if he picks Watson, Brits, Dlulane or either of the Ndunganes now that Habana has turned out to be human after all.

The question to ask is why does the Bok setup always seem to be plagued by so many injuries? Is the same true of OZ and NZ or indeed France? Is it entirely due to player burnout, poor initial physical conditioning, mismanagement of the players or simply that even if you say, as some do, that we’re now in a ‘professional’ era, it hasn’t affected the capacity of the human body to survive an intensified level of pummeling entailed by the professional era? Simply because you declare the game professional does not mean that all of a sudden players can play three times as many games as in the past. The question is do we have more players to run a squad system which might be the obvious way to cope. NZ seems to have taken this approach which is why their players appear to be more durable.

• 49.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

sadly all one can say is what a sour bunch of pussies most of you are.
    \ as for zama you sound very bright ??? did you make primary school??
    all players are tested for sunstances you idiot and yes one guy got ir right youll probably want chestie for bok coach???
    take ur political sorry *** excuse for a human being and get a life its free after all
    the other side is all of you run butch down?? why he not from ur pityful province???????
    we kicked ur *** good and well do it later in the year again
    but fact is we dont insult ur players on the sharks site because they good so it does show the low level of intelligence in here
    enough said …… shouldnt we as rtugby lovers support players and not insult
    butch james has achieved a lot in life injuries isnt something any player asks for
    what have you people achieved ????????????????
    you should ask urself this ?? youll find a very negative answer00000000

• 50.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

LEAVE BOSMAN AT U21 – i was really looking forward to that great U21 squad, **** but now without Bosman the junior team looks a bit thin without a playmaker, btw Bosman won’t be put in the front picture, he is still behind jaco, gaffie or monty.

what i’m trying to say – the boks don’t need Bosman as much as the baby boks need him!!!

• 51.wls: Reply to this comment

Sharks lover spot on.
    I was a bit of a critic of Butch, but then i think it was alot of hearsay because we never saw him play. his game or games in the Super 14 showed he is a class act, hes big and has good vision, Awesome player.
    Just hope his injuries are not another long term one.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.