Butch battles on

Injury-prone flyhalf Butch James says the groin strain he picked at the Springbok training camp in Bloemfontein was not serious.

“I could have trained yesterday (Sunday) if I wanted to but I decided to rest and I’ll be running again on Wednesday,” James told Daily News rugby writer Zayn Nabbi. “I’ve just strained my groin, nothing else. I think it might be because of the cold weather in Bloem, which my body isn’t used to, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be fine.”

The 27-year-old said it was great to be back, both with the Sharks and Boks.

“I was just happy to be playing Super 14 and I never expected a call up this soon after my comeback,” admitted James. “It’s a bonus that I’ve been selected for the Boks and the atmosphere is much better than the last time I was here,” he said.

James last played Test-match rugby in 2002 when he was part of the infamous Springbok team that lost 53-3 to England at Twickenham.

141 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.big g: Reply to this comment

vinnie then with all respect mate, u cant be the sharpest tool in the shed either..

• 102.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

:roll: big g. Okay big guy, whatever dude.

• 103.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

people like steyn and co called butch an idiot ??? look in the mirror ya f**ing dorks hes prolly 100 ttimes brighter then you
    2ndly 90 % of you saying hes useless its purely ur pathetic provinscialism comming out sadly you need to grow up
    butch cant tackle??? he happens to tackle and put the fear into the sheep shagging kiwi’s and roo banging aussies thats why they had to try get rid of him with **** publicity
    if he played for province or bulls for example youd be worshipping him
    heres another example of fickle supporters
    marius joubert was a hero there for so long
    he nhow goes through a slump like any sportsman and most of you say hes rubbish and who knows what else you call him?? did you province or SA supporters call him that when he was playing great rugga???? seriously some of you are pathetic

• 104.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

And sharks_lover calls us one-eyed :roll:

And for the record I still support the dream team of barry and MJ…

• 105.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

wpw bobby was a good player yes and yes he could make things happen but to have left out teichmann for him is worst mistake ever made in bok rugby
    teichmann at the time was the best 8thman but also the greatest capt for SA ever even louis luyt admitted that in his book
    butch is the skinstad type player because he does a lot of the unexpected and also one doesnt compare a flyhalf and a 8thman
    compare apples with apples
    and im not gonna run down bobby he did his best and thats what we should remember

• 106.HOUGAARD SKOP GAT: Reply to this comment

Butch is a idiot , he says all this **** and when he plays next week he`s gonna injure his knee or groin for sure , then it is gonna be serious !!!

Jake should get Derick there right now , he is a gr8 player , and he will play even better if he`s around de Villiers , Montgomery , J.Fourie , just give him a chance !!!

And to WPW post 81 – Derick can`t make the team if he is injured you idiot !!! you just jealous cause he`s not playing for your kak team !!!

• 107.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

actually vinnie im not one eyes i wasnt running down anyplayer read carefully and also ur not one of those idiots i was referring to as i didnt find ur comments bad

• 108.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

hougaard now you are one of the idiots i was referring to
    wpw is atleast an honest and open minded rugby supporter
    and not provinscialistic like you
    for one ur prolly hougaards gat gubba ? you bend for him??
    yes he kicks great i wont argue that
    but he doesnt get his backline away great and doesnt read the game all that great thats why even the blou trulle dropped him
    theres in morne steyn a far better flyhalf then hougaard
    open ur eyes mate see the light ur stuck in darkness

• 109.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

and heres one for the record if played properly and in the right position jaques fouries is prolly south africa’s best rugby player

• 110.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

WPW bro i agree min gepls is a total idiot and seriously needs to be ignored
    he never hAS anything good to say about any player unless hes a blue bull
    sad case of idiocy

• 111.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

eish now vinnie went silent , me thinks i pissed on his batteries lol jk

• 112.big g: Reply to this comment

bulls supporters seldom has anything good to say about other good players, cause then al die bulle is mos nie bokke nie..

• 113.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

i recon this bok backline could course havock
    15 percy / jvdw
    14 snyman
    13 fourie
    12 jdv
    11 habana
    10 james
    9 pienaar

• 114.big g: Reply to this comment

just about right here…
    but i would one day in the merry future like to see jaque fourie in the full back position again…

• 115.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

lol gerhardt
    min gepla is pure boknaai lol
    and for the record although hes a great inside center i recon if his kicking is worked on a little bradley barritt could be the next honibal and i dont doubt that for a minute

• 116.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

gerhardt fourie is such a talent he shines in any position and hes so big and strong hed prolly play great at flank too
    but outside center is his best position , i do agree though if we have a problem at full back hed be a great option

• 117.big g: Reply to this comment

gerhardt is the other chap from our sharks site.. om the one who flirts with vanessa, sharkgirl and reds etc, please do not get us confused he he…
    the thing is fourie cutting in from full back, big stroong and at pace, geeze that will be awesome to watch, these jac and percy poofetrs are just a bit too light and scared…

• 118.big g: Reply to this comment

in 2 years time after the worldcup:
    15 fourie
    14 olivier/jdv
    13 jdv/murray
    12 barrit
    11 habana
    10 butch
    9 pienaar
    maybe a bit biast and optimistic but they…

• 119.big g: Reply to this comment

he he…

• 120.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Why doesn’t Jake back Meyer Bosman? The guys showed some promise. Ask Naas Botha, Joel Stransky or Henri Honnibal to take the young lad under their wing. Or doesn’t Jake rate their input?

15.) Percy Montgomery
    14.) Tonderai Chavanga
    13.) Andre Snyman
    12.) Jean de Villiers
    11.) Jaque Fourie
    10.) Meyer Bosman
    9.) Ruan Pienaar
    8.) AJ Venter
    7.) Juan Smith
    6.) Schalk Burger
    5.) Victor Matfield
    4.) Danie Rossouw
    3.) Eddie Andrews
    2.) John Smit
    1.) Os Du Randt

• 121.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

How bout giving this team a run, at least against the Scots

• 122.HOUGAARD SKOP GAT: Reply to this comment

Sharks_Lover

FYI Derick Hougaad wasnt dropped he got injured in the game against the Blues , and I am not provincialistic I know who the best flyhalf in the country is . But you would probaly say Butch James cause you are provincialistic !!

Oh yes , before I forget … I am not your mate , I am a girl !!!! So piss off to your boring team and kiss my arse !!!

• 123.citizenc: Reply to this comment

The fella I’d love to see at fullback is Brian Habana – he’d be another Christian Cullen.Jaque Fourie wouldn’t be a bad option though, but he’s good anywhere in the backline..

Brian’s creativity is wasted on the wing, and we have some fine young centres coming through.

• 124.Hobbo: Reply to this comment

Everyone goes on about how **** Butch’s defense is bla bla. They forget that the last time he played like that was back in 2002. Funny how people can’t see past first impressions. In 2003 with that Scottish flyhalf townsend with him he calmed down and played some great rugby, playing in every game I think. In 2004 he also played the whole season and was the best flyhalf in the country by far. This was the last real time Butch played, how can you say he’s been **** if he was by far the best flyhalf in the country when he played. Jake White made no secrets about the fact that he was his first choice flyhalf. Jake White knows how good players are and picks them whether in form or not knowing that he can get them back to form either through the right confidence building or correct coaching. Butch when he’s over his groin and fit again is our best bet at flyhalf. Watch him be devestating in the trinations.

• 125.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Butch James’s tackling is really perfectly armless.

• 126.rastafox: Reply to this comment

About time we have a Bok with a little more aggression and combativeness.Go you good thing and show Pretender Pretorious and Jackass Jaco the way.

• 127.tackler_of_note: Reply to this comment

Thanks tackler, and you are completely dickless

• 128.RedCard: Reply to this comment

YoMama # 6, on the roid issue in the Bloem cold the only roids he’ll be getting is hema -roids.

• 129.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Very punny Tackler.

• 130.tomcat: Reply to this comment

If butch stays uninjured till the world cup,he will be the flyhalf that helps south africa win the cup next year.

• 131.jb: Reply to this comment

Tiaan Snyman is a better bet;
    Jorrie at 12
    eish; legends in the making

• 132.jean div: Reply to this comment

15. J Fourie
    14. O Ndungane
    13. JDV
    12. W Olivier
    11. Habana
    10. Butch
    11. Ruan Pienaar

• 133.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

nice backline just missing Hougie on no10

• 134.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

Hougie is useless and all u Bull supporters want him in.

• 135.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

hougie useless?? how dare u call the point machine useless….. last time he played against butch …. butch couldnt play he was so stressed out and also hougie got 3 curriecup wins under him how many does butch have ? zeroooooo

• 136.jean div: Reply to this comment

Hougaardt is Kak, he’d be the last guy I’d put flyhalf. Morne Steyn is alot better but is a bit inconsistent

• 137.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

yeah a kak player that won so many games and that score so many points. Sure — thats why Western Province the top team cos they have all the “good” players.

poepel @ jean div and thanx for letting us reach the semi-final with your distinctive tackling.

• 138.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

firstly hougaard girl i dont kiss dirty **** *** so stfu you idiot………..
    2ndly the sharks boring ??? you thick ******** wake up all the world knows the bulls are the most boring they only know one style and if they didnt buy refs they loose far more then they would win??
    youre arrogant and totaly one eyed
    you see i can name players that to me are the best in SA rugby and fourie truelly is .. then again what does an idiot know about rugby!!!!!!!!!
    and he aint a shark ………. look past ur own team for a change …freaking clown

• 139.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

mmmmmm ****** ur name says it all……
    is it at all possible to look past a bull player for you poor people in pretoria????
    its a springbok team not blue bulls team
    and unlike you i dont care who they put in the team i try support not damn play selector so theres a big diffs and if they put hougaard in the team id still support would you with james there??
    the way you carry on i guess not
    iots like the pathetic song you play at loftus everytime you get points … that says it all

• 140.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

nou terug om met normale mense te praat
    i have to agree that if butch stay injured for now id use the free state kid……… although to me barritt is a better bet with passing and running skills meyer bosman does offer a good boot and that helps a lot
    if not him use morne steyn he is a good flyhalf
    and his defence has gotten much better
    if butch is injured though i reckon bok back like could look like this
    percy
    snyman
    fourie
    jdv
    habana
    jvdw
    pienaar
    and in anyones language thats a good backline

• 141.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

maak die sharks almal bokke lol

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.