Butch battles on
23 May 2006
Injury-prone flyhalf Butch James says the groin strain he picked at the Springbok training camp in Bloemfontein was not serious.
“I could have trained yesterday (Sunday) if I wanted to but I decided to rest and I’ll be running again on Wednesday,†James told Daily News rugby writer Zayn Nabbi. “I’ve just strained my groin, nothing else. I think it might be because of the cold weather in Bloem, which my body isn’t used to, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be fine.â€
The 27-year-old said it was great to be back, both with the Sharks and Boks.
“I was just happy to be playing Super 14 and I never expected a call up this soon after my comeback,†admitted James. “It’s a bonus that I’ve been selected for the Boks and the atmosphere is much better than the last time I was here,†he said.
James last played Test-match rugby in 2002 when he was part of the infamous Springbok team that lost 53-3 to England at Twickenham.

141 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
23 May 2006, 16:14 pm
Butch is a legend!!! Nearly as good as Fleckie and Skinstad!
23 May 2006, 16:16 pm
Why is he there…we all know he can’t play rugby
23 May 2006, 16:17 pm
Nah wpw – its gonna take a pretty serious rugger player to eclipse the legend that Fleck is…..
23 May 2006, 16:18 pm
had a dream last night in which jw on a press conference took the blame for the injuries that his top players are suffering from . when I woke up, I remembered the statement by the boks that no player/s got injured doing the fitness training. sound a bit like those movies saying “no animals were hurt during the making of this movieâ€, doesn’t it?
23 May 2006, 16:19 pm
I don’s see Flekie & Skinstad as legends..
but Ja I like Butch & I think he’ll get the backs running this year..
I am worried about his high tackling & I’m sure we’ll see him in the bin sometime this year!
23 May 2006, 16:19 pm
Butch needs roids.
23 May 2006, 16:20 pm
I wonder how his Sharks commercial manager (aka Strauli) is going to take his comments on ‘different atmosphere to last time I was here’?
23 May 2006, 16:21 pm
Butch is an idiot…can’t believe he is there and Fleck is no legend………….jaco is still our number 1 there
23 May 2006, 16:22 pm
why does everyone keep bleating on about butch’s high tackling? that was sorted out years ago.
he can get the backline moving and is pretty solid in defense, and he has a pretty good goalkicking average.
23 May 2006, 16:24 pm
Steyn
How is Butch an idiot ? Just so I can support you on this one.
I like been on a winning side of a solid argument and you sound as if you have one.
Share with me so I can abuse him on my next thread
23 May 2006, 16:25 pm
jaco no1 for aimless kicking?
Butch is overrated, he is not the answer at flyhalf and will probably cost the Boks a game or two by being sent off for not using his arms…
Steyn you are idiot. Shut up and support the guys or piss off.
Phone Dr Noakes
23 May 2006, 16:26 pm
Swapo, Butch was by far the best fly-half in 2004. And his discipline has improved. Unless you are stuck back in time? He tackles hard and gets the backs going.
23 May 2006, 16:26 pm
Ebay.
The biggest benefit is to think that MAYBE and just maybe we will get a real flyhalf playing flyhalf.
Not one province in SA had a guy they would ink in before any other team member.
Jissie. we fill in the number 10 last. hectic for a coach.
23 May 2006, 16:27 pm
Ig, i know that comment of yours was tongue in cheek but Robbie Fleck really is a legend… Any oke who can take the AB’s apart is one. MJ, Fleckie and Rayt Mordt…
23 May 2006, 16:29 pm
Calm down Shai. I can understand the guys fearing that Butch will cost the boks penalties or worse still yello cards. Remeber how the refs used to target him? Also he usually only used his hands to throw punches.
23 May 2006, 16:29 pm
I was being seriaaaaas wpw
23 May 2006, 16:33 pm
wpw
We make okes legends easily dont you think.
The problem I have with that is how do you measure the legends who DONT score tries.
I mean , some tightheads have taken scrums apart and revieved a few extra pork chops with the after dinner meal as reward. They also paid for the guys taxi home probably. But certainly did not dedicate hall of fame status upon them and far as I remember the words like legend were not even used in their presence.
Come on buddy. be real or lets get real.
Fleck scored a few good tries.
but hey so did marius.
23 May 2006, 16:33 pm
i am a wp/stormers supporter and i rate butch as one of SA’s best flyhalfs if not the best when on form. he is a brilliant player and together with Davidson they basically carried the Sharks to 2 x S12 Finals… Butch also sorted out his tacking ages ago. Even if he did tackle like that every so often it would keep the opposition on their toes. Here we have a player who the NZ’ers and also the Aussies respect and they are damn scared of him too.
What do our supporters do? They say he is ****. I would rather prefer an in form Butch playing in a WC semi final than Jaco or Hougie or even Pretorius!
23 May 2006, 16:34 pm
Steyn
answer me please pal.
kindest thanks
23 May 2006, 16:34 pm
Butch is overplayed
23 May 2006, 16:35 pm
amazon, i know. I know mj, fleckie and skinstad are not legends like Mordt, small, naas, etc. If you are a regular on KEO you will know why i am saying Fleckie is a legend. Does anyone know who exactly started it?
Ig?
23 May 2006, 16:35 pm
wpw
ditto to your words old chap
23 May 2006, 16:38 pm
WPW
keo started it with his articles about how he was doing overseas.
Halstead nearly had the legend word slip in there,,,, but keo will never allow.
I had to squash the idea…. You can understand that there are people reading this and not knowing about the LEGEND status offered so humouresly
23 May 2006, 16:39 pm
Now if only we can find out if Mallet will offer butch a contract. I hope he will come to the Cape…
23 May 2006, 16:39 pm
Butch has a good strategic brain I recon I just can’t stand teh way he tackles.
He runs in as though he is goign to destroy the person he is aiming for any decent flyhalf just has to step half a metre to teh side and he goes flyign by half way down the pitch and is out of the game for teh next 2 minutes.
The lack of arms makes it so easy to step outside his tackle. I can’t believe he hasn’t changed this over all the years.
Ok when he does eventually hit someone it hurts but the amount of times this happens is few and far between.
Until his moer them attitude changes he is just average.
Jaco is a brilliant rugby brain and has ample pace of the mark and vision to spare. First choice by a long way.
I think he is lacking confidence at teh moment to back himself to attack teh line. Typical SA supporters ruining a talented players self asteem.
When he just got back from overseas i.e Tri-nations 2004 where we won he was at his best. 2 years with stupid SA supporter that can’t se his talent and his confidence is down again.
Also seen with many others including PERCY!!
23 May 2006, 16:41 pm
***** James is a Rugby League player and not just because shoulder charges are legal in Diet Rugby.
What’s wrong with Fleck? I think some of you just have sour grapes coz you have not made it like Fleck has. Who are you? What are you? Does anyone know who you are?
amazon, do you support the Sharks?
As for Halstead, i hope JW calls him up for the Boks. He is really doing well overseas and he almost always gets over the advantage line. the sharks wouldve made the semis if halstead was still in durban…
23 May 2006, 16:43 pm
is there anybody out there who wish we could use tony brown?
23 May 2006, 16:44 pm
Butch James is n “game loser” ! Hy is strafskop en n kaart op twee bene! Skinstad was n show case en n never was. Ja robbie fleck was wel een van die senter van suid afrika wat enige ou kon laat worry het as hy aan die bal gevat het!
23 May 2006, 16:44 pm
calm down bigg. fleckie was good but not consistent enough to be a great like danie gerber or james small…
amazon, can you see what i mean about South Sydney ******? They are vrek scared of butch…
Mike H, he hasnt tackled recklessly for quite a while now…
23 May 2006, 16:46 pm
bigg
china, it may have struck a personal chord with you but with most I think it is simple opinion. not breaking someone down but rather limiting their percieved status to one that inadvertadly does not show MORE disrespect to ones who have bled on the rugby field before him.
but if fleck is a legend to you then he is I guess. so your point is actually taken.
23 May 2006, 16:47 pm
ja min_gepla, daai show case het vir jou land n TN titel gewen en n hele paar oorwinnings agtermekaar. 17 as ek reg is…
23 May 2006, 16:48 pm
Amazon
Marius is a legend !!!!
23 May 2006, 16:49 pm
wpw.
ja , but first SA.
i agree re Halstead.
jacobs or barrit outside and the zulu boys will score everytime they touch the ball.
23 May 2006, 16:50 pm
rude
Marius is a legend . I am glad somewone agrees.
jislaaik . i thought no one was going to see the light. some times I think people have no real rugby knowledge
23 May 2006, 16:51 pm
It amazes me how ppl can criticize good players who represented SA but just becos they played for a rival province it gets said that they are overrated or were just not good enough.
I suppose everyone is entitled to their opinion but when ppl call guys like skinstad or butch or fleckie **** players then i just have to wonder about the type of supporters we have out there.
Eg. I support WP but i wish we had guys like bakkies or P3 in the WP team, or a guy like gary botha, or juan smith or ruan pienaar. It doesnt matter to me if i support wp, i still think Juan is better than JVN or Ruan is currently better than Bolla and De Kock…
WPW – I was actually not having a go at you – we mates remember
Allot of people on this site have said some derogatory things about him in teh past which pisses me off – that is pure jealousy. **** I would love to walk into a pub and everyone knows who you are.
Ek dog Rugby is n span sport!
23 May 2006, 16:52 pm
Amazon
Marius is a legend. I mean, look at the hard driving tackles he made in the Bulls game.
Legend man, legend…
23 May 2006, 16:52 pm
Butch cant tackle. Cant kick. Cant get the backline running. Gives away a yellow/red card in every game.
Why is he there?
23 May 2006, 16:53 pm
WPW – well said! I would love to have Ruan, Juan, Fourie, jaco, bakkies matfield & co in the CAPE…
23 May 2006, 16:54 pm
bigg
george bush walking into a baghdad bar. Something along those lines ?
I know what you mean, we all want to have some respect. Aretha Franklin style
23 May 2006, 16:54 pm
I think Gus theron is a legend of note – he must be in the hall of fame
23 May 2006, 16:55 pm
Bigg
Why dont you just support another province. Much easier than to get all those in the Cape
23 May 2006, 16:56 pm
Rude
But unfortunately if you want to be a centre for SA now you have to have you hair even longer and longer now. And blonder.
White boots also help
23 May 2006, 16:56 pm
min_gepla
jy’s reg maar hoe is dit dat jy vergeet dat hy ook in daai span was. hy het baie goed gespeel toe hy onder mallet gespeel het…
nickster
which games are you talking about? Any recent ones? When last was butch james sent off in a rugby game?His last full season was in S12 2003 and he took the Sharks to the final… Was he **** then too?
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All