Butch battles on

Injury-prone flyhalf Butch James says the groin strain he picked at the Springbok training camp in Bloemfontein was not serious.

“I could have trained yesterday (Sunday) if I wanted to but I decided to rest and I’ll be running again on Wednesday,” James told Daily News rugby writer Zayn Nabbi. “I’ve just strained my groin, nothing else. I think it might be because of the cold weather in Bloem, which my body isn’t used to, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be fine.”

The 27-year-old said it was great to be back, both with the Sharks and Boks.

“I was just happy to be playing Super 14 and I never expected a call up this soon after my comeback,” admitted James. “It’s a bonus that I’ve been selected for the Boks and the atmosphere is much better than the last time I was here,” he said.

James last played Test-match rugby in 2002 when he was part of the infamous Springbok team that lost 53-3 to England at Twickenham.

141 Comments

• 51.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Amazon

Speaking of George Bush; Just in from News 24

“BUSH PRESIDENTIAL LIBRARY DESTROYED BY FIRE Crawford, Texas (AP) — A tragic fire this morning destroyed the personal library of President George W. Bush. The fire began in the presidential bathroom where both of the books were kept. The bathroom suffered severe smoke and water damage during the one alarm blaze, and both books were completely destroyed. A spokesman said the president was devastated, as he had almost finished coloring the second one.”

• 52.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Butch is our very own Johnny Wilkinson.

• 53.bigg: Reply to this comment

Rudebud – there is no way I could leave my belovered WP/Stormers. I know they playing really KUK rugby at the moment but I can’t leave the sinking ship. I have a feeling though next year we will have some life boats and tugs to help us to become Super 14 2007 champs he he :wink:

Must go guys cheers

• 54.amazon: Reply to this comment

Rude

I must go now china. Thanks for spur.

I as a last comment would like to see tim dlulane take solly ‘s place. or just get a look into the ext squad.

Long live rugby.

• 55.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

wpw, I dont know the stats, but Butch got a card in almost every one of his tests.

Who CARES about Super 12/14. Theres a big difference between that and playing for the Boks.

They should just call him Mr Red Card.

• 56.mpho: Reply to this comment

let Butch play-he’s the sort of player who brings the right attitude to the camp and at his best takes n defences with unmatched conviction. The sort of player you would follow into Mordor.

• 57.wpw: Reply to this comment

i guess we will have to agree to disagree nickster…

Last yr Schalk Burger also got a few yellows and jake dropped him for a game or two but quickly realised what a big mistake it had been. I suppose i will do the research for you and try to find out how many times butch was sent off. Cant be more than once. (red cards that is)

• 58.amazon: Reply to this comment

mpho

You have a way with words. I agree

What I would like to know is if you had to choose 1 player fifteen times over to play each position on the field. Who would it be????

15 schalk burgers ? but you front row will be weak.
    15 ollies ?

15 brent russels ?

15 bakkies’ ?

how about 15 schalk britz’s

• 59.min_gepla: Reply to this comment

15 Pierre Spiesse

• 60.wpw: Reply to this comment

amazon, in my opinion schalk brits is overrated.

If you had to choose based on talent alone or attitude i would go for:

talent: JDV/Jantjes/Fourie
    attitude: Burger/Bakkies/Juan Smith

• 61.amazon: Reply to this comment

Min

You think they would beat a fifteen of wahl bartmans. you will battle with the rolling malls / Maybe

Remember ” where there is a wahl ….. there is a way”

• 62.amazon: Reply to this comment

wpw

so who would your 15 man team to w cup then be.

15 jantjies’s

or 15 burgers ?

• 63.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Amazon

I will take 15 Ollie’s. Just remember to turn them around at halftime so that they can play in the opposite direction :shock:

• 64.wpw: Reply to this comment

Why am i not surprised, min gepla seems to be a bulls supporter… i reckon he doesnt even support the other bok players playing for other provincial teams…

• 65.wpw: Reply to this comment

amazon, jdv’s. 15 burgers on the field will only give me 6 players left at halftime. the rest would either be sin binned or sent packing :grin:

• 66.wpw: Reply to this comment

cheers, let me be off like a muslim’s foreskin.

• 67.min_gepla: Reply to this comment

Ja ek is maar ek is en trots daar op. Maar ek kyk nou nie hier na die trui nie ek kyk na die rugby speler en ek se jou jou hy gaan nog een van die groot springbok name word{pierre Spies}

• 68.amazon: Reply to this comment

Rude

you are taking only one risk involved in that deal.

post match dinners ?
    post match dinner VENUE. I mean the church hall wont fit everyone.

youve got to think about sponsors willingnes to sponsor jerseys. No 1 … they will spend double or tripple on fabric

No 2…… The sponsors logo may be distorted after being stretched like that and read something else. Much like the guy with the tatto on his ding dong.

Lots of problem my friend…….Think very very very carefully before you sign anything.

• 69.amazon: Reply to this comment

wpw.

you are funny.

I am also really off now too.

Pump it Rude and co

• 70.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Amazon

Cheers boet; of as well.

• 71.Daggles: Reply to this comment

I’m not too sure about Butch, with that swinging arm around the opposition’s neck and shoulder charging in the tackle…hopefully he has had enough reflection time and is going to use his brain this time round!!!

• 72.big g: Reply to this comment

15 frik du preez’s or zinzan brook’s please..

• 73.shai: Reply to this comment

Coldwatershark..You are right. Mpho excellent comments

• 74.big g: Reply to this comment

butch is by far the best flyhalf we have… and geeze okes that still complain about his tackling obviously hasnt watched his last 20 or so games…
    i wont say he is a legend yet (but definitely better than fleckie ‘who’ and i a bobby boy… butch s actually a rugby player.. ad hard and respected one at that…

• 75.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

big g,

Stop talking **** – Butch hasnt played 20 games in the last 3 years. And 2 years ago he was still auditioning for WWF with his clothesline wrestling moves.

• 76.big g: Reply to this comment

and ‘the rock’ was scared senseless as well, just like the aussies and kiwi’s…

• 77.citizenc: Reply to this comment

Butch needs to be in the flyhalf mix – if he comes good he’ll be our No 1.

I mean, look at our choices:

AP -inconsistent and injury-prone. Can be brilliant, then throws it all away with a brain-****.

Jaco – confuses himself and/or his team mates or kicks the ball away at 100mph.

Monty – has been steady rather than spectacular for the Sharks, but only a stop-gap.

Bosman – talented, but too inexperienced. 50/50 option-taking.

Morne Steyn – too young and confused by being coached by HM and playing outside FdP “serial skopper”.

de Waal, Grant, Hougaard – all too limited.

Who else then – James is well worth a shout.

• 78.The King: Reply to this comment

Jake White should stick to Hougaard and form him into a complete flyhalf. Hes a specialist flyhalf that can kick like hell, defends well and has all the other abilities that Jake needs.

Jake has a whole year, Derick is the man.

• 79.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

big g,

How can you claim that butch “I’m always injured” James is a better player than Skinny and Fleckie when he’s hardly had a professioanl career?

Fleck played 31 tests, butch played 9… but you want to compare them… :roll:

Oh and skinstad played 34…

• 80.wpw: Reply to this comment

To compare butch to fleckie and skinstad is laughable. I rate butch but how many tests has he played for SA? Fleckie and Bobby have done well for SA. Definitely deserved to be there and were pretty good players for the Boks… Espec Skinstad…

• 81.wpw: Reply to this comment

great minds think alike né vinnie?

the king ‘aka’ die waarheid
    Is jy van jou kop af. Hougaard cant even make the bulls team. he is **** and shouldve moved to wp last yr when he had the chance…

citizen c, good comments bro…

• 82.big g: Reply to this comment

derickak ja… come one sometimes i wonder if certain one eye supporters can look past provincialsm and actually pick the best players and not just because he is a bul and maak die bulle amal bokke nie.. geeze derick and steyn like grant rose and jaco (matchstick scary poof squeek to me) are all so limited in the allround category and like farts in a thunderstorm will be blown away the first time a real rugby player hits them hard…
    bosman, i think is a good prospect, and pretorius is lethal when not injured and on form and butch, well in my humble opinion, he is the man…

• 83.big g: Reply to this comment

fleckie was always the laughing stock of the bacline and his defense was kak to put it mildly, at least he had a temper and some yellow cards… bobby had all the skill but none of the brains, which could work, but didnt for him as he shoulda’ve played a lot mre tests than what he did…

• 84.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

How do even know if Butch is good enough – its not like we’ve been able to judge him on current form (how if he hasnt palyed) and his form before he got injured was terrible.

He does look the part and looks a lot mor comfortable than the rest but im afraid he’s another jonny wilkinson and i dont think he’ll ever play another compelte season.

wpw… great minds mate…

• 85.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

cause he smahed up his knee big g… you have selective memory mate…

• 86.min_gepla: Reply to this comment

I have to say im a bull , but cannot stand hougard

• 87.wpw: Reply to this comment

Got this from IOL:

Fears that Butch James’s career is once again in the balance have proved unfounded after the Sharks flyhalf said that the groin strain he picked at the Springbok training camp in Bloemfontein was not serious.

“I could have trained yesterday (Sunday) if I wanted to but I decided to rest and I’ll be running again on Wednesday,” said James on Monday night.

“I’ve just strained my groin, nothing else. I think it might be because of the cold weather in Bloem, which my body isn’t used to, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be fine.”

The 27-year-old has suffered crippling knee injuries for the past three years and has spent more time in the stands than on the field.

• 88.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Think he’s going to kak a bit in France then next year…

• 89.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Can anybody confirm how many games he has played over the last three years?

• 90.wpw: Reply to this comment

big g, stop being so biased. butch is a good player but not yet in the same class as skinstad. Bobby had vision, good hands and could link the forwards with the backs. I watched him play most of the tests he did and he was brilliant. To say he had no brains is a joke. He was actually one of the more intelligent players who actually think on the field.

I will always rate a guy who doesnt just wanna bash over the opposistion, even Juan Smith does this, Burger, and most of the bulls plsyers.

Cheers, i’m leaving now…

• 91.big g: Reply to this comment

o ja, bobby injured his knee in that “car accident” mos, clever boytjie…

• 92.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

:roll: @ big g…

• 93.big g: Reply to this comment

wpw certain things like brains etc you only find out if you personally meet the guy or play with or against him…

• 94.min_gepla: Reply to this comment

If Bobby is so clever why does he play centre for richmond rugby club!?!!?!?!?!?!?!?

• 95.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

okay big g.
    I’ve met Bob. Several times. And he’s a bright guy. He talks **** on sky but he’s still a bright chap.

• 96.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

okay min_gepla,

It looks like i have to explain this to you.
    Bob IS NO LONGER A PRO RUGBY PLAYER. He plays to keep fit and he plays with his boet.

Bob has more than enough on his plate to keep him busy including a job at saatchi&saatchi, one of the most prestigious advertising firms in the world.

He also has interest in more businesses than you have uopa vessies and only plays rugger for fun now, the way it should be.

• 97.Vundu: Reply to this comment

So did Bolla rub Deepheat on the strained ‘muscle’, or is that just a rumour…?

• 98.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Was it his muscle or somebody else’s?

• 99.citizenc: Reply to this comment

The Carter-Mauger combo – virtually 2 flyhalves next to each other – for the ABs and Crusaders brings a thought to mind.

Butch’s style of play could be surprisingly effective with a de Villiers or Bosman at inside centre, but certainly not Barry. Would be defensively solid too.

• 100.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

DOES ANYBODY KNOW WHAT JANNIE DU PLESSIS IS DOING IN WHITE’S BOK SQUAD???

IT SEEMS AS WHITE MIGHT NEED BACKUP TO STEADY EDDIE… AS YOU CAN SEE WHITE ALSO DOESN’T FULLY TRUST EDDIE’S SKILLS.

But i guess Jannie is there only for the world XV or just in case for the test against the scots, thats all he is gonna get this year being a bok… maybe a one-jersey wonder!?

Keo confirm!!!!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.