Noakes: Burnout will sink Boks

Professor Tim Noakes says the top Springboks must be rested for two months or Jake White’s team will pay the price at the 2007 World Cup.

Noakes told Die Burger that he is not surprised about the Boks growing injury list.

“Some of our top players have been playing rugby continuously for nearly three years,” he explained to Herbert Pretorius. “No player’s body can take so much punishment week in and week out.

“It’s no surprise that Bakkies Botha and Bryan Habana were injured in the Super 14 semi-final. They are two of the players who have been totally over-utilised the past three seasons.

“It is inevitable that they would be injured at some time or other. These were not freak injuries. Your brain tells you to continue, but your body will rebel at some stage.

“My advice is that key players like Matfield and Burger must forget about rugby for two months. They must not go near a rugby field, because it’s just as important that they get a mental break.”

Using the Sharks performance this season as an example, Noakes said: “After last year’s Currie Cup the players were given a month’s holiday [for the first time ever to his knowledge]. It’s no coincidence that these players were so sharp this year.”

Noakes said South Africa’s rugby bosses cannot hold White responsible for defeats if he does not have rested players to pick from.

“SA Rugby must take the blame for the consequences of their decision if they deny Jake’s request. If this will happen is another story, because usually the coach must face the firing squad.”

77 Comments

• 1.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Morning all.

• 2.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Jake has been warning us about this. and now it happens, typical.

Make place for new talent, rest the top players and so add depth to our best.

• 3.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

True they can’t blame Jake if he looses a few games because of these injuries.

• 4.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

During a woldcup year i would say leave out the S14. Play the CC early in the year. Than at least our players get gametime and only use your top players sparingly. I will say two months is enough for a good rest , but no rugby what so ever for these players. Let these players play CC next year but only 40 minutes per game, just to say focus and sharp. Do we realy need the S14 during a worldcup year ? we don’t wanne kill the CC because this is our rugby and we love to see our top teams play against each other

• 5.ciccino: Reply to this comment

Why do they organise extra tests then? A-a?

• 6.asha1: Reply to this comment

have a look at the teams JAKE WHITE has picked the last two years. nearly the same team from the first test match of the year to the end of year tour, and now jw is the one complaining about player burnout.

• 7.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Exactly – Jake should be given free reign now to blood new depth with the world cup in mind. Who knows, the new guys could, and probably will outperform the injured players. As long as we, as Bok fans remember this if results don’t go our way. The last thing we need now is for Jake to be sacked before the WC.

• 8.Train: Reply to this comment

Keo,

How do you reconcile Tim’s comments with your own?

• 9.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Man you guys at the office must be arguing lekker.
    RWC not the be all and end all……
    Players must get rested so we can make it to and thru RWC….
    and on it goes. I think I agree with this article more and actually come RWC….im sure Keo and co will be cvery excited and not give a **** about any curry cup or other compo.
    The RWC is pretty danged important….we were denied it for some time…its a big thing and resting players gives us depth by exposing others.
    I think to have your very best squad of 22 on the park and ready to go is all you can hope for and expect. You cant expect to win,but give the countries hopes the evry best chance. It doesnt mean players dont get to play betw now and then but not so dannged much. they need to be match fit anyway,so there perhaps should be some panel of advisers who are well listened to,and Noakes should be on that panel,pertaining to which player and when.
    I would also enjoy a bit of a rest from S14 and Tnations in world cup year cos by RWC i would be so danmned hungry for rugby.Just a few random intenationals pre world cup would be a great warm up.

• 10.superbok: Reply to this comment

That’s all the more reason that the squad that was called up, should be even bigger. Jake can’t say that he will not need players like the Ndungane twins, Skeate, Watson, Ackerman, Cook, Brits, Visagie (or Pat Barnard before he gets called up by England)etc. An experieced Springbok running on empty will be no different to any of these players who are very near to Bok selection anyway (some have already been capped).

• 11.slaapsak: Reply to this comment

asha1,

We all have been screaming for consistency in selection when jake White was appointed coach. So yes – he has picked pretty much the same team. Just like Woodward did in the years before the 2003 world cup.

• 12.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Andre WP …like your ideas

• 13.Henri F: Reply to this comment

Why don’t the provinces do the testing that Jake does?

Players (and coaches) have short-term vision. They KNOW they have injuries, yet they play, e.g., Conrad Jantjes plays with an injured Achilles tendon, even though he (and his coach) knows that he can never reach full pace with such an injury.

An English football player, Malcom MacDonald, became a pain-pill addict because he was expected to play with injured knees, which became chronically arthritic after he retired from the game. I think he died quite young.

Players are not willing to forego match fees, so they play as much as possible. Instead of complaining, Jake should just not pick them. If Marius Joubert or Bryan Habana CHOOSE to play every game for months on end, while knowing its long-term effects, they should suffer the consequences and not be picked for the Springbok team. Both our rugby and football professionals have a culture of not taking responsibility (“ownership”) for their own development and fitness management. If they don’t want to grow up, they should stay children and not play with the big men at the World Cup.

• 14.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The World Cup is totally overrated. It is well known that the Tri-Nations is really a much tougher competition than the World Cup, with its pool games against powerhouses like Uruguay, Namibia and Japan.

The majority of your pool games can be played with your B team.

The eventual winner of the World Cup has maybe 3 tough games at most.

The final, the semi-final, and if you are unlucky, one tough games if you are in the strong pool (like SA and England have been in the last two tournaments).

In a normal pool, you have the likes of New Zealand along with say Scotland and two other nobodies.

So New Zealand can reach the quarter-finals without even playing their 1st team.

Then, in the Quarters, they play the 2nd team from another pool, say Wales. Another easy game.

So, it all comes down to two tough games, the semi-final and final, and its all about how you play on the day.

Contrast that to the Tri-Nations, where you play four games against the likes of Australia, South Africa and New Zealand.

The World Cup is a joke, and it is ridiculous that so much emphasis is placed on it.

I don’t usually agree with Keo, but I agree with him on this – until he switches over again and starts arguing the opposite – its only a matter of time I guess.

So, let’s just say that I agree with Keo’s current thought process, however long it may last.

Thus I leave myself free to disagree with him again tomorrow…or later today, for that matter.

• 15.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

I’m repostingthis from another article, because I feel strongly about it after th Bulls defeat:

A pack needs to know how to stabilise and stop a scrum when the other team gets in a better hit. Perhaps they should train for this too? This is is frequently the case, since our forwards do a few things wrong:

1) They wait in “crouch and hold” position for ages for the other team to get ready and go down – thereby tiring themselves out. Just watch – ALL the foreign teams delay as long as possible against SA teams. They even frqunty stop and reset – almost a gme to see how long they can make them wait – all the while fatigueing them.

2) Our forwards don’t all push in the same direction, like they are supposed to. Each of their backs are not aligned parallel to the ground, and (almost) parallel to each other, to push FORWARD (and not sideways like Eddie).

3) Their upper bodies are not close to the ground, so that they dont get pushed upwards by the smaller props of other teams (who have more leverage pushing upwards with their leg muscles while we are relying on weight). In fact, our weight gives them more traction when we push downwards on them.

4) The tight five (at least) must aim in the same direction to get the combination of all their forces. If you want a left swing, everybody must push to the left of the eighth man (not too far to the left, or else you lose the forward component of the forward push), and vice versa. But every body must KNOW what side they want the scrum to swing to – communication!!

5) SA props stand wih their one foot ahead of the other when going in for a hit. This is not as effective as standing with both feet alongside and using your leg muscles as propulsion to get good momentum (i.e. build up as much speed as possible) before hitting.

Our pack consistently outweighs most other teams, but we never seem to gain forward ascendancy -even in the scrums- and this is because the forwards dont understand the physics of the scrum.

Another tactic never used by our coaches, despite having monstrous forwards, is that they dont set up a production line of big fast men, who retreat five meters, build up speed, and receive a pop pass as the go past the base of the ruck, to use their momentum to make 2-3 meters (pumping the legs to make as much as possible) every time. The Crusaders made 2-3 meters 17 times in a row and had a try within 4 minutes at the start of the second half.

It is almost impossible to stop a big man travelling at speed (imagine Os at top speed)- but our big men receive the ball flat and at rest from the ruck, and get pushed back before they can build up speed.

Can you just see a Bok “prop production line” (“the Hammer”) hammering down the midfield, sucking in defenders? I would like to…

There can be variations, such as hammering into the gap behind the rucks, or hammering slightly to the side (not too far to the side, else the forward mmentum is lost) to suck in defenders to one side.

Forwards will need to learn to set the move up and how to throw and receive pop passes.

Hell, it can even be our “trademark” set piece move, like the Bajada is for Argentina. It will also demoralise the other team, because they will be helpless to stop it.

KEO, please make sure Jake gets this posting? Our scrummers REALLY need this info…

• 16.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Valid points WWW.

There are allot of valid points the public could make that doesnt seem to be sinking into the Boks minds.

Static receivers, Playing the man, Going to ground too easily, not running for the gaps, passing after contact…

We seem to be lacking in the skills that the game has evolved into.

I do not think we are getting worse, I believe the Kiwi teams are evolving faster than we are.

We still believe in hard physical rugby, which is good sometimes but it cannot be everything you build you team on.

We need to learn the new style of rugby as well, and then have the capacity to think on the field.

• 17.Henri F: Reply to this comment

WWW,

What about the physics of pushing the maul sideways, rather than trying to stop its forward momentum?

The best is when the maul is not contested – as the Bulls did once on Staurday, and as the Reds and Cheetahs also did. The commentator complained that it made the maul a joke, but maybe all teams should do it, so that it does, indeed, become a joke? (I suspect the stronger teams would contest, as they also want to use it)

• 18.RedCard : Reply to this comment

How can Habana be over utilised he has hardly got the freaking ball since he moved to the Bulls!

• 19.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Post 6 and 11: Agreed with Asha – guys like Big Vic, JS and Schalk Burger have played in nearly every single test under JW. And there are a few other such players. Every current test player should have an understudy and currently dont, and for this Jake is as responsible as the s14 coaches for player exhaustion.

A further point – I can understand how Bakkies is exhausted and physically drained as he is continually bashed and bruised in every encounter – but Habana?
    I think there have been games this season where he hasnt even taken contact and more often than not in the s14 he will have taken contact only a handful of times during the game. He hardly ever puts in tackles, esp on the cover defense, and harldy ever gets caught with the ball.
    So please tell me how he suffers from physical exhaustion? Mental fatigue maybe, but surely not his body that is giving in…

• 20.norman: Reply to this comment

was this 3 week camp really necessary
    you are dealing with talented footballers who could have had a 2week rest instead of going thru all the motions again
    there is so much you can tell some international without having to repeat it again and again
    most of these guys have been drilled by the same faces before and its time to use common sense and listen to tim noakes insread of basing into one another and the scrum machine on a daily basis
    let common sense prevail

• 21.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

My point exactly Redcard.
    Habana is one of the laziest and most under-utilised players on the field yet is claiming exhaustion…
    I think its almost becoming a fad to claim exhaustion cause the players know they have the backing of Tim Noakes.

Does over-exhaustion explain the appalling form of MJ this year? He was out for more than 6 months and was in terrible form upon his return…

• 22.RedCard: Reply to this comment

No Vinnie, MJ has just been found out. He aint that great after all. :wink:

• 23.norman: Reply to this comment

in the old days the sprinboks got together 2/3 days before a game and boy did they perform
    let the camps be for under 10/11 kids and save our men from unecessary and stupid punishment
    these camps are a load of ****

• 24.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I dunno about Noakes hey. I’ve read his book the lore of running and it is very technical and incredibly full of useful information but has absolutely no bearing on rugby whatsoever.

His viewpoint of players playing too much rugby is fair and, while I agree with him, its not exactly rocket science.
    Also, no cognisance is really taken for players playing in different positions and of different player needs.
    I mean somebody like Habana probably puts less stress on his body than an English premiership football player. And those guys play week in week out – somebody like 40 games a season.

I think this is becoming an easy option for some players, note not all, to take a holiday.

I just think these guys are making their money out of the game

• 25.ktb: Reply to this comment

Then why are we playing the World 15 — THIS GAME HAS ABSOLUTELY NO MEANING.

• 26.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Its coll ktb!
    I perosnally cant wait to see how Luke Watson performs against the bokke!

• 27.Anvil: Reply to this comment

The top boks have been overplayed becuase the perceived depth in our ranks has not been fully utilised.

Dare Jake to

1) Start Van Den Burgh and Ackermann instead of Vic/Bakkies.

2) Start any backup Hooker to Smit
    3) Actually start Van Heerden in the absence of Smit.

Why wont he do it ? Becuase he’s probably afraid to take a big risk and the fear of the Boks loosing.

You see, JW is only doing his job (Which is to get an acceptable winning percentage) till the next coach takes over.

• 28.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Good question ? why a worldteam ? Bet alot of injuries after that game.

• 29.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Anvil,

I very strongly agree – why the hell cant we put out a second-string side against Scotland?
    We could probably do it without even giving away any more jerseys! Just use a few of the guys who Streuli selected 2 years ago!

• 30.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Andre,

It wouldnt be a problem if we just gave a few new guys a run. Its not an official test so isnt a must-run and so we could experiment till the cows come home.
    Unfortunately we probably wont and you can bet your last rand that smit, matfield, bakkies, burger, jean, habana etc will be playing.

• 31.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Well dr Noakes – what the f@ck has Chris Jack been doing because he has had a much more demanding last couple of seasons than any Bok player.

He’s still standing and putting in the performances

• 32.Anvil: Reply to this comment

kevin w,

Maybe they should grab ahold of Jacks conditioning stats,speed over 40m,Max bench presses,Max height jumped etc.

and also check out his holiday schedule while there at it.

• 33.capebull: Reply to this comment

Dr can you then explain, why Marius Joubert was injured last year, he played **** Rugby this year and is again injured.

Compare him with Luke Watson he played cc and S14 with one top performance after the other.

Big Joke was injured and well rested but he actually got weaker, we could actually see how terrible he was week after week, but at least he was well rested.

• 34.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Again guys, dont forget Noakes has been studying long-distance runners for his entire career and he is basing a lot of his hypothesis on over-training in marathon athletes.

• 35.capebull: Reply to this comment

We said it last year to Jake, we the public would understand if he takes a development team to these ridiculess year end tours.

• 36.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

the kiwis did it to great effect last year, thumping the great unwashed teams.

• 37.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

this post is flippin holrug gery. soos n stormer fan.

• 38.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

If the guys are so tired, why are they having this camp now ? Send them to the Bahamas for a few weeks.

• 39.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Ok, so now we know that the players need 2 months without any rugby but, taking the world cup into consideration, when does that 2 month period begin and end? How much proper hard rugby do the players play before the actual event and how long before do they slacken off?
    What will the message be if the Boks dont perform to our expectations and the players still get injured? Are the powers that be going to be acccused of wrapping the players up in cotton wool, that they werent match sharp and match tough?
    Time will tell , but you can bet your bottom dollar that there are stressful time ahead for JW.

• 40.shorty: Reply to this comment

Good day all why don’t they not play the tri- nations in world cup years , or only every second year that will make the Tri-nations more perstidious and give the plays a rest. But they will not do that because they are greedy. If you and i have to work the wole year round for a saliery and only have +-30 days holiday a year . How can some who earns R100,00 a month plus moan about how mutch rugby he palys. If you want ot earn the big buks you must play or get out and stop wining.

• 41.snoop: Reply to this comment

its the usual story, happens every year and every year we play all the top players all the time.

Tell me something different.

• 42.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Wish I could get two months off from work.

• 43.Richardt: Reply to this comment

grey bloem lost ahahah

• 44.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Shorty, your body isn’t getting pounded like a rugby player’s body is at the highest level.

Vinnie, of course he is making comparisons…fitness is involved.

Noakes is absolutely right. It’s about time people listened.

• 45.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Understood mikey,

But its easy making claims when you know you can never be proven wrong.

And although fitness is involved it is a totally different sort of fitness and rugby players do not pick nearly the same sort of injuries as runners do from over-training.

• 46.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

For example, broken bones are not caused by playing too much rugby, other than the fact that you take more contact and therefroe increase the chances of getting a freak knock which could break a bone or tear a ligament.

• 47.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Blouste,

Its been posted here no less than four or five times already.
    Still funny though.

• 48.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Chris Jack 2005: Super 12 (Final); British & Irish Lions Tour x 3 tests; Tri-Nations Winner; NPC; Grand Slam Tour of the UK. 2006 – super 14 (final).

Bakkies Botha 2005: Super 12 (semi-final); French tests at home; Tri-Nations Loser; CC; Dismal year end tour of the UK. 2006 – super 14 (semi-final).

If fatigue and too much rugby is true the Jack should be the one in bed with a sore whatever!!! Instead he’s running out to contest the final of the world’s hardest provincial tournament.

Those are the stats that should be looked at!

• 49.kevin w: Reply to this comment

oh **** … i forgot that hard game against Uruguay for Bakkies

• 50.norman: Reply to this comment

shorty, i dont think they will play for100,00 per month
    you actually meant R100000,00 per month

• 51.tomcat: Reply to this comment

keep all the key boks out of the tri nations and currie cup next year.that should give them enough time to recover before the worldcup

• 52.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

kevin,
    maybe you are right. Rugby is a sissies game. surely it cant take a toll on the players. they should organize mid week games for the S14 too. and maybe to make it interesting they should be allowed to use clubs and bats in the loose.
    i think they should play every second day.

you guys are ridiculous.

• 53.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Kevin – why are you banging on about Chris Jack, as though comparing one player with one other player proves anything at all. If you try to do what you are doing, everything else must be equal.

Why don’t you pull out the stats on how many tackles both players have made, their training details, their relaxation details and while you are at it, their genetic predisposition to suffer injury (or not) after long periods of exercise.

• 54.Boychie: Reply to this comment

In my humble opinion Jake made one mistake. He should have used the end of year tour in 2005 to blood a few more youngsters. That would have alleviated the strain on his first pick 15. I think it`s too late now.

BUT I will back Jake until or if he`s proven wrong.

• 55.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Too much rugby???

What exactly constitutes too much rugby?Is there a scientific study to answer this and if so what do the experts,like Dr Noakes,say should be the max?There is the question of money and this one fears has become a central focus of players and coaches alike.It pays to play and conversely for the Unions you don’t want to pay for no play.A coaches job hangs on the thread of results and as a result coaches are reluctant to rest their stars,even when carrying niggling injuries (a’la Bakkies Botha last weekend).It seems there are only conflicting standpoints and at the end of the day the paying fan will now suffer.Some argue a world cup is worth a CC and S14 without the big names,other feel cheated by having to watch teams without the big names.I for one would dearly like to see a CC with the big names present,yet would also like to see the bokke sweep all before them.Somewhere in the middle lies a solution and some comprise by all could help us find this middleground.The competition structures are currently all wrong and have been chopped and changed ad nauseum.It is now time for SA rugby to decide once and for all where we are going.A strength vs strength Currie Cup is imperative and the timing of this is the key issue.If we are ever to win the Super 14 then we need to make this our primary focus and for the 5 teams (either entrenched or qualified in some manner) this will be what they plan their year around.We know well in advance what the years Test schedule is going to look like and the 3N is set in stone,it really can’t be that hard to plan around.The Super 14 (despite our poor results and feeble excuses) is a great competition and I feel should be embraced as the Southern Hemispheres premier league with national competitions(like the CC) as the second tier.This means key international players will prove themselves in the S14 and can then be managed in the CC as necessary.The Currie Cup then becomes the S14 feeder and though it won’t feature all the big guns all the time it would still be a major event.This type of thinking would sound the death knell for the Vodacom Cup, but surely we can use the framework of the VC to establish a major Club competition.There is an embarrassing lack of interest in the VC anyway.
    Perhaps then the key is a massive shift in emphasis from the CC to the Super 14.The VC Club Champs (or whatever title it gets) would run in parrallel with the S14 and allow non S14 squad members a chance to stay sharp,young club hopefuls get to rub shoulders with quality seniors and club rugby gets a huge boost.The Currie Cup then runs later in the year in whatever form it takes and the non-essential internationals stay sharp in this competition, while the Boks are freed up to focus on their international commitments.I as Joe Soap on the street cannot see why some solution can’t be found.Contracts for S14 could be handled at National level and this in turn makes the drafting of players a far simpler exercise and allows the National Body to manage the top 140 odd players in all comps.Any player who hasn’t managed to secure an “A” grade contract is then contracted to the Union and managed at this level.National contracts can be reviewed annually and players will know they have to perform or their contract may suffer.Essentially what is needed is the creation of an elite league of players controlled by one body a’la New Zealand.Then have the Unions as the second tier and clubs as the entry level feeder system. Wether any of my ramblings are sensible I am not sure,but what I do know is it is high time all of this got sorted out on a long-term basis.Come on Mr Hoskins here is your chance to leave a healthy rugby structure as your legacy!!

• 56.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Rastafox – to create a paragraph, hit the enter button twice. It’s the big one on the right of your keyboard, marked ‘enter’.

• 57.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Thanks *****,didn’t think about paragraphs at all!!

• 58.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

I agree rastafox. SA needs a director of rugby, Mallet, to oversee the massive shift. I think the s14 is a great idea however the extended tri-nations is bollox. It is the most selfish competition in the world. they need to bring in the pumas and the island warrior team and everybody plays each other once. Plus the bledisloe cup and the mandela cup.

• 59.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

The ozzies have a great break between tri-nations and end of year tour, coz they have no internal provincial competition. That means the players can really put their all into the S14 and Tri-nations, coz they know they have a break.

• 60.capebull: Reply to this comment

Director of Rugby yes, but please not Mallet he’s done nothing , zero, zip for the Strompies

• 61.rastafox: Reply to this comment

I for one am rather bored by the Tri-nations and now we have to endure a coffer-filling extension. I would love to see an exciting competition featuring the Islanders and Argentinians.Not being sure of club commitments abroad would the Argies be able to field a full strength team at this time?

• 62.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

WWW’s comments (No. 15) are really interesting and worth looking at.

The Pacific Islanders and Argentina have been knifed in the back by the goons who injected a 3-each Tri-Nation this year; and we (the rugby public world-wise) have been deprived of much more interesting rugby. Just despicable.

John Cowper – Detroit

• 63.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Capebull – why don’t you swallow your prejudices and acknowledge that Nick Mallett has achieved at the highest level of rugby.

And maybe you need to wipe the bullshit out of your eyes and realise that the Stormers will once again rise to the top when the right structures are in place. Or do you think that the Bulls are going to be top of the pile forever. Oh sorry, why did I ask. That is probably exactly what you think.

• 64.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

Dr Tim Noakes is one of UCT’s 21 A-rated scientists (a global rating), which means that he is WIDELY published, with the expertise to supervise and interpet a wide area of research in human biology/exercise science.

According to an abbreviated CV, as of 2004 he had authored or co-authored 350 scientific papers and was on the editorial boards of 13 international scientific publications.

http://www.assa.org.za/default.asp?id=1000000120

• 65.Mickey: Reply to this comment

ref posting #34 – Vinnie stop talking ****. Also comment #46 makes it sound as though you need a few lessons in physiology. The “koppestamp: mentality you seem so proud of is going to be SA rugby’s downfall.

• 66.capebull: Reply to this comment

Pussycat,

I make comments about Mallet , maybe beacuse I have inside info in the WP rugby matters, maybe because I know some things from his Boland days, what do you base your info on.

• 67.spokie: Reply to this comment

55 – For once Rastafox I agree totally!

• 68.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Capebull, I also have ‘inside information’ into WP and SA rugby – through about 5 different sources. Cape Town is a very small place and if you listen to one person, you must listen to every other one. For every one point of view, there are another ten. This from ‘people in the know’. The ‘people in the know’ more often than not are emotional, because they are involved in a political quagmire and petty squabbles.

I base my comments on ability, experience, achievements and logic.

Sounds as if Mallett made mincemeat out of you somewhere down the line. Maybe Boland? Toughen up, is my advice.

• 69.capebull: Reply to this comment

Pussycat , you are way off the truth, lets leave it at that,

I still maintaine Mallet is no good and just talk.

You say he’s not, then please enlighten me, what has he done for WP the last 2 years, and why if he has done anything, he keeps it such a big secret.

From what I see the WP has become wp and Stromers has become strompies, and please do not blame it on lack of players. Ask why Hougaard refussed to come to WP , and there are many more examples.

• 70.wpforever: Reply to this comment

rastafaox rules,his remarks are spot on:-D

• 71.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I think a lot of the reaosns for the gigh injury rates is also the way we play the game in SA.
    We try to bully the opposition and dont, for example like the ozzies, try to beat a team on skill.

The rush defense employed by JW is designed to get in your opponents faces and encourages a physical game.

Your opponents also get sore but the next week they move on and play a team not employing such a gameplana nd get a rest whereas we do it week in week out.

• 72.samglazer: Reply to this comment

Make that three months minimum, four months would be closer to optimal.

Vinnie, I agree with your point.

• 73.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

You cannot STOP the S14 or 3N in a RWC year simply because you have a signed contract to play all these matches and with full-strength teams. It is these competitions alone that make the money to allow top players to earn a living doing nothing but play rugby. That’s the unions’ income stream. The cash the SANZAR unions earn from RWC once every 4 years is chicken-feed. It’s adequate income for the minnow amateur unions such as Namibia or Uruguay, but small change for big pro unions such as SANZAR and Six Nations.

And if you breach the terms of your signed contract, the sponsors will simply sue you and bankrupt your union.

What’s hard to understand about that?

• 74.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

Tackler, we’re all speculating. A proper quantative analysis of the various options for SA rugby might assist decision-making. However, I suspect that a stakeholder analysis will, at the outset, stall any meaningful attempt at restructuring.

• 75.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

John Cowper

Thanks bud, at least someone is listening…

• 76.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

WWW -

I’ve passed your ideas onto others – very good stuff which explains why our monstrous forwards (Eddie not counted) are not dominating like they could and should.

In the your opinion does Eddie take the ‘balance’ out of the front row and therefore the entire pack?

John Cowper – Detroit

• 77.willievz: Reply to this comment

Hey guys – how are you?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.