Tappe’s last dance

Veteran South African referee Tappe Henning has been given the unique opportunity of officiating the Springboks in an international match.

Henning will be the whistle blower for the Springbok XV vs World XV game on June 3 at Ellis Park Stadium. SA Rugby Manager for Referees, Andre Watson, says it is a way of rewarding a man who has paid his dues in his field of expertise.

Watson says the stature of the game was befitting of a man who has dedicated so much time and effort to refereeing in South Africa. At the end of last year Henning announced his retirement from Test rugby.

In the modern professional era referees are never appointed for Tests involving their own countrymen. Although the match is an unofficial Test it is nevertheless the closest anyone will get.

“From the point of view of SA Rugby Referees, the match will be a testimonial game for Tappe,” said Watson. “The IRB gave us the opportunity to appoint the match officials, and we picked Tappe. It’s a way of saying ‘thank you’ for services rendered to the profession in our country.”

The referee was asked to pick his own team of match officials. For touch judges, he chose Jonathan Kaplan and JC Fortuin. As Television Match Official he opted for Watson. Fourth and fifth officials are Mark Lawrence and Willie Roos. Henning chose Dr Louis Wessels as referee’s assessor.

Henning says he is thrilled. “It’s a wonderful opportunity. Not many referees end their careers on such a note. It’s a fine gesture from SA Rugby.”

Here is a brief overview of Tappe’s refereeing career:

- Started in 1987 with the then Northern Transvaal
- In 1993 he became a provincial referee
- In 1995 joined the Bankfin Currie Cup panels; he was the referee in the Currie Cup final between Natal and Western Province in Durban in his debut year
- Refereed first Test in 1995, Scotland versus Samoa at Edinburgh
- Touch Judge at 1999 Rugby World Cup
- Total of 240 first class games; among them 87 Absa Currie Cup, 53 Vodacom Super Series; 18 Tests, including Six Nations and Vodacom Tri-Nations

40 Comments

• 1.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

“You lied to me Tappe, you lied…”

• 2.wpw: Reply to this comment

tappe is a **** ref!

• 3.bigg: Reply to this comment

Why can’t Linston Manuals retire

• 4.bliksem: Reply to this comment

so bluebulls fans wouldnt mind Linston retireing but ditto for the ref who gave that shaky Habana try.

• 5.Chris D: Reply to this comment

The men without moustaches! Tappe and Andre were the icons of Magnum PI in their day!

• 6.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Tappe is n legend…

• 7.bigg: Reply to this comment

Now now WPW – Tappe is my step father, please refrain from insulting my second Dad

• 8.wespa531: Reply to this comment

tappe is a tappit. only joking!

• 9.JUSM: Reply to this comment

hey Vinnie what was that you lied to me Tappe thing again?

• 10.cab: Reply to this comment

tappe always has great haircuts, not a great ref tho, Kaplan and Lawrence way better.

• 11.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Rugby gaan jou mis Tappe…

• 12.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Tappe is a tappit. But at least he’s better than kaplan,ask ewan.

• 13.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

JUSM,

It was Bob Skinstad that said it when Tappe told him there was only enough time for one more lineout but then played on for another 3 set pieces.

• 14.bigg: Reply to this comment

I miss nancy

• 15.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Tappe is van Nigel…is maar bietjie tappit daar :(

• 16.advantage green: Reply to this comment

If my memory serves me correctly the last “local” to officiate the bokke was Johan Meuweson in the mid-1990′s. Johan was then still associated with the Namibian Union and blew SA against Tonga or South America (?).

After that match Meuweson moved to Port Elizabeth where he teaches at Otto du Plessis. A much underrrated referee who deserved to get further on the IRB ladder.

• 17.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

I think Bob lost count after two.

• 18.asha1: Reply to this comment

are there no real news out there today, keo. please make some news. you can always say jw is stupid and dont know what he’s doing

• 19.billy: Reply to this comment

Cheers Tappe, hope its as fitting a send of as you deserve.
    I recon he’s one of the best.

• 20.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

apparently he will be officiating in a Gold sequined jumpsuit? any truth to that?

• 21.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

he will be taking up a career as an Elvis impersonator at u-Shaka marine world.

• 22.Spook: Reply to this comment

So Tappe has never Refed a Currie Cup Final??

• 23.gretep: Reply to this comment

A comment once made on 567 Cape Talk during a Province match.
    So on a scale of Tappe to Ten, how do you rate the ref in today’s match……

• 24.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Eish , as kak praat ‘n siekte moes gewees het hahahaha

Fook , julle is vol jokes vandag

• 25.Spook: Reply to this comment

Oh sorry, there i see he was the Referee for the 1995 final. My bad.

• 26.wpw: Reply to this comment

:smile: @ gretep. that’s a good one.

• 27.JUSM: Reply to this comment

lol thanks Vinnie thats a classic.

• 28.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Tappe het op ‘n stadium baie soos Saddam Hussain gelyk… :mrgreen:

• 29.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Tappe het ook ‘n geleerde skopvoet. Vra maar vir Soekie, sy eks vrou.

En ook ‘n goeie regterhaakhou. Vra maar sy gewese beste pel wat met Soekie gelol het… :shock:

• 30.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

I remember him as quite a good ref a gew yeras ago, however in the few last matches in super 14 he has been terrible, i couldn’t believe its our old tappe. If you’re looking for a legend – WATSON was/is a legend – for me the best ref ever!

Glad we have a few new good refs, especially Mark Lawrence, and recently my other favourite Fortuin – if somebody criticises Fortuin then he obviously doesn’t know the laws and the way a ref should handle a match. Kaplan is also ok. and there are still a few young coming.

• 31.slaapsak: Reply to this comment

I wonder how much Ref’s earn?

• 32.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

im so glad to see this guy retire. am just tired of hearing his calls and mistakes in games.

good on ya mate for the service you put in!
    enjoy reffing the boks, just try not to send burger to the bin :)

• 33.Tony: Reply to this comment

Y did he not opt for Linston to do the TV duties ;)

• 34.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Ja Tomsta…..Tappe is likely to make the boks look bad by sending afew okes to the bin on marginal calls.
    Im sure he will try to be easy ,but its not his nature. I wish Watson had given this game to himself…..we want to see a great open game. Tappe is pedantic and blows way too much. Defs one of my least favourite refs around. Glad to see him go. im sure he’s worked hard though but heck he’s getting a great reward for being an average ref. There have been way better ones.

• 35.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Thank **** he’s retiring. What a farking plank…

Only problem is that he’s going to be extremely severe on the Boks to proove that he has no bias. Expect about 5 yellow cards to be dished out to the Boks.

• 36.norman: Reply to this comment

saturdays ref in the wildebeeste vs valke game was shocking when he did nothing to the wildebeeste no 6 as he trampled a player on the ground
    hope watson does something to him
    dont think its correct to award a man with a game like this just because he is retiring
    i never liked him as a ref

• 37.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Agreed Norm and Fraz

• 38.motoX: Reply to this comment

When Tappe refs the scrum, free kick and penalty count just seems to double – the aussies, NZ, and english all think he is dodgy – and he often misses a good game.

• 39.all_stormers: Reply to this comment

Watson was the first ref in SA to wear the ‘mike’ and at end of the game he blow the end and the forgot he had mike on and said ‘ Ok guys lets go and drink those cold beers!!’

Now that’s what it’s all about a good cold Beer!!!

• 40.mwsandy: Reply to this comment

WATSON AND TAPPI
    U HEARD OF THE BLU’S BROTHER IN A USA, WE 2 GUYZ NOT RELATED BY BLOOD BUT BY INSTINCT. MEANING WHEN THEY ARE BOTH ON THE SAME FIELD ITS LIKE THE BLIND LEADING THE BLIND..
    CHEERS FRM THE OPTOM..

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.