No Watson for global gladiators
23 May 2006
The World XV have not included Stormers flank Luke Watson in a powerful squad to play matches against the Springboks and a Western Province XV.
Watson told keo.co.za earlier this month that he would be playing for the World side against the Boks. The former SA U21 captain hoped to prove a point against Schalk Burger at Ellis Park, but his name was missing from the official squad announced on Tuesday.
Keo.co.za has learnt that Western Province director of coaching Nick Mallett would not release Watson for the matches.
Another Bok hopeful, Gloucester flank Jake Boer, has also not been included in the squad, although he’s been struggling with injury.
One South African who could use the World XV matches to force his way into Jake White’s squad is former Bok prop Cobus Visagie, who’s been in outstanding form for Saracens this season.
The World XV, coached by 1991 Australian World Cup winning coach Bob Dwyer, will meet a Bok XV at Ellis Park in Johannesburg on Saturday 3 June before travelling to Cape Town for the Corne Krige testimonial match at Newlands on Friday 9 June.
The World XV kicked off its three-match programme with a 64-14 win over a Saracens XV in Richard Hill’s testimonial match at Vicarage Road in London on Sunday.
The squad reads like an international “who’s who†with the bulk of players representing New Zealand, Australia, France and England.
The back division boasts the likes of All Blacks Carlos Spencer, Justin Marshall, and Bruce Reihana, Wallabies Matt Burke and Joe Roff, French internationals Thomas Castaignede and Cedric Debrosse, and Irish international David Humphreys.
A host of international stars fill the forward ranks amongst them Visagie, French front-rankers Christian Califano and Rafael Ibanez, and loose forwards Olivier Magne and Sebastien Chabal, Englishmen Mark Regan and Tom Palmer, Australians Owen Finegan and Toutai Kefu and All Black Xavier Rush.
Dwyer, who will be assisted by Welsh Six Nations’ winning coach Mike Ruddock and former All Black Craig Dowd, is looking forward to a good tour.
“We are fortunate that many great players have made themselves available for this tour,†he said. “They showed their class in the Saracens game and will no doubt be determined to keep the momentum on tour. We expect two tough games in South Africa against some of their top players.â€
The World XV will arrive in South Africa on 30 May.
World XV squad:
Backs – Carlos Spencer (Northampton & New Zealand), Bruce Reihana (Northampton & New Zealand), Justin Marshall (Ospreys & New Zealand), Mark Robinson (Northampton & New Zealand), Matt Burke (Newcastle & Australia), David Humphreys (Ulster & Ireland), Thomas Castaignede (Saracens & France), Fraser Waters (Wasps & England), Joe Roff (Kuboto & Australia), Isa Nacewa (Auckland Blues), Cedric Debrosse (Narbonne & France).
Forwards – Christian Califano (Gloucester & France), Dave Hewett (Edinburgh & New Zealand), Andrea Lo Cicero (L’Aquila & Italy), Peter Bracken (Wasps), Mark Regan (Bristol & England), Raphael Ibanez (Wasps & France), Tom Palmer (Wasps & England), Cobus Visagie (Saracens & South Africa), Owen Finegan (Newcastle & Australia), Olivier Magne (London Irish & France), Sam Harding (Northampton), Xavier Rush (Cardiff & New Zealand), Toutai Kefu (Kuboto & Australia), Sebastian Chabal (Sale & France), Julien Pierre (Bourgoin).

247 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
23 May 2006, 15:53 pm
nature was very kind to coloured people. they could have looked like dalmations.
23 May 2006, 15:55 pm
Bliksem het jy vir Salma in After the sunset gesien?
23 May 2006, 15:55 pm
ja ek het.sy is lekker kort ook.vat haar om die middel en trek jou draad met haar.
23 May 2006, 15:56 pm
Cheers manne,geniet haar.
23 May 2006, 15:57 pm
A repeat call to Luke: go East young man!
Don’t bother with the Boks or JW, that No 7 spot is now firmly pencilled for a quota player behind SB, might be Solly, Dlulane or Floore
23 May 2006, 15:57 pm
bluebarb, coloured? please i aint coloured… i am light brown, bliksem is pink and suparugby is cream (not white)
23 May 2006, 15:58 pm
bliksem jy is bosvark
23 May 2006, 15:59 pm
i see onlooker’s quota comment of the day has arrived…
23 May 2006, 16:00 pm
No Bliksem As you saw at the end I said SIS. Are you mad – I might consider a kiss but thats that.
Once when I was 18 at this house party I got some action with this chick – she gave a lekker BJ and I ficished off in her mouth. About a hour later she was pulling some other oke. This other oke happend to be the biggest arse hole at School. It was so funny
23 May 2006, 16:00 pm
Hulle was bang om Luke in die span te sit netnou laat hy jake soos n poepol lyk…
23 May 2006, 16:05 pm
fuzzy 67,
I am not Afrikaans but must say that it is a much more expressive language than English and a hell of allot more enjoyable in general conversation.
When it comes to the business language of Afrikaans I get lost though I must admit.
However, superugby made you nothing more than a fuzzyass.
23 May 2006, 16:07 pm
wpw,
dude, i have serious doubts about anybody in this country being pure white.
23 May 2006, 16:09 pm
onlooker,
why dont you show luke the way, buddy. and stay there.
23 May 2006, 16:13 pm
Sebastian Chabal will dismantle the Boks.
23 May 2006, 16:18 pm
wasnt it supposed to be a game where white looks at the overseas boks like sowerby & boer and the supporters hopefuls like watson and schalk brits?
23 May 2006, 16:25 pm
ongelukkig sal watson en brits altyd “hopefulls” bly. As jake hulle nie nou terwyl hulle op vorm is in die sqaud van 45 kan kies nie, sal hy hulle nooit kies nie! Sad, but true
23 May 2006, 16:32 pm
So what happens if the World XV beats the boks???
I mean if we lose against them then the international season will be a failure!
..I suppose that’s why tappe is ref. so he can
help the boks out or something…just incase!
23 May 2006, 16:37 pm
Could Nick Mallet possibly be more of a chop? Would not release him for this game. What a toss ******. A great experience for Luke and he won’t release him. No respect left for Mallet.
23 May 2006, 16:41 pm
Its not exactly the greatest world fifteen ever…we should and i use should loosely thrash this team, but then again we should thrash most and don’t…come on bokke.
23 May 2006, 16:53 pm
Stormer, I was wondering the same thing. Apparently Mallet needs him for WP (presumably for the CC). But how would letting him go for one, even both World XV games, influence WP’s CC preperation? Sounds like a bit of a power game to me.
23 May 2006, 16:55 pm
The inability to see things for what they are has always hampered the wider section of S African public, alas, rugby is no exception.
If you talk rugby proper, then Luke and Schalk Brits belong to the 45 Boks squad, if you talk ‘transformation’ rugby, then I am afraid it Shimanga and Solly T. who belonged
Simple?
23 May 2006, 16:55 pm
True we should run away with this one & I trust/pray that Jake will keep is 1st choice players on for a minimal amount of time to avoid more injuries which we definitely can’t afford.
Tuff Titties for Luke & Brits..get over it people! They’ll get there chance.. just not now!
IN JAKE WE TRUST!
23 May 2006, 16:59 pm
yes you are simple onlooker
23 May 2006, 17:03 pm
mallett is a bloody chop.
i wonder why he wouldn’t release luke, it could have been good exposure for the player and wp.
would have been nice to see luke vs schalk
we should have a bok team vs the bok rejects team, i think it would make some interesting viewing and could possibly show up a few of jakes 1st xv.
23 May 2006, 17:04 pm
onlooker is one sad individual. it is a part of sa rugby, i would love to see luke in the squad ahead of Solly and i aint white. at the end of the day we will just have to accpet it. Also, it is unfortunate that certain ppl have to pay for the sins of their fathers but there is absolutely nothing we can do about it…
While i was at school i never had the same education like most white okes at that time. Do you see me moaning or complaining about it? Get on with you life onlooker, you really are obsessed with colour and quotas…
23 May 2006, 17:06 pm
Yeah I think you’re right Katman. Trying to show Luke who’s boss. It really irks me. These are once in a life time opportunities.
23 May 2006, 17:55 pm
It is all a massive conspiracy!
Probably an order from Jake White as he didn’t want his pretty boys getting stuffed up by a determined Luke Watson!
He should just pack his bags and go where he is appreciated as a fine rugby player.
23 May 2006, 18:10 pm
nick mallet is either a d@@s or jw’s *****… either way he sucks!!! woulda loved to see luke in company of those greats and see how his workrate kills the boks and make jake eat his words… who knows he may even catch a ball in the lineouts…
23 May 2006, 19:50 pm
wpw,
I agree, life aren’t a fair chance, but here we talk rugby.
Prejudice always prevailed in SA rugby, just as the classes system prevailed in England rugby, there is nothing we can do about it.
World class players such as Rob Lowe, Andrew Aitken, Gary Teichman and Joel Stransky never played the number of Tests that some lesser players played because they were English speaking blokes, sadly enough.
23 May 2006, 19:51 pm
nah, stransky and aitken was justnot good enogh and the other damn unlucky…
23 May 2006, 21:37 pm
What a **** squad. A bunch of yesterday’s heroes. Not one of those guys would make his current national team. Really, a mismatch. Boks will destroy this team.
They’re coming over for the sunshine and the pounds.
That team five years ago. YES. Not today.
23 May 2006, 21:58 pm
Onlooker
I thought Rob Lowe decided to play League along with Ray Mordt. Being english speaking had nothing to do with it.
Keo
Does it matter? They’ll at least show us how beautiful the game can be when played by talented experts for the sheer joy of it.
It might even encourage our guys to relax and express their own talents. Currently the majority of our teams are playing as if they were severely constipated.
23 May 2006, 23:01 pm
I have been watching Luke Wayson play for the Stormers during the S14.
If he was living in NZ or Aus I am sure he would be called in.
It’s a pitty that talent like he’s is not recognised in SA.
23 May 2006, 23:03 pm
Where’s Rupeni Caucau? Has anyone seen this guy playing recently, is he still as good as he was when playing Super 12 for the Blues?
24 May 2006, 05:12 am
No Caucaunibuca either! Was looking forward to seeing him and Chavhanga square off on the wings, would have been something special watching those two speed merchants.
24 May 2006, 05:22 am
In the land of 0Z they play FOOTBALL, they play it from coast to coast and state to state, they play it summer winter or spring wherever there is a park.
People from all over the world, come to see a game, thinking that it must be the same, as they used to play, only to find, with some dismay, that the game in mind was of a different kind than that on disply.
You would think by now, the the stupid 0zzie pricks would know the difference between one shaped ball or another and call the games by name.
This calling ball games by the generic use of FOOTBALL must cease!, learn the names of the games you silly stupid w@nking chain dragging powder puff poofters.
24 May 2006, 05:25 am
True Keo.But these guys are’nt has beens.Most of ‘em are still playing competitive rugby.
They should teach our youngsters a thing or two.
24 May 2006, 07:20 am
Uh Keo
If Jake ain’t gonna let his Boks into our very own domestic league,what chance any other coach is gonna let his players fly South for a bit of sunshine and a wad of pounds?????
24 May 2006, 07:27 am
I reckon Jake would have crapped himself if Luke played,after all what better way into the squad than taking out your rivals personally!!!
24 May 2006, 07:37 am
What would’ve been really nice is if Watson played and Dwyer used him as a lineout option. Egg on the face comes to mind.
24 May 2006, 07:43 am
Luke who?
24 May 2006, 08:11 am
Skywalker, are you his father farmer?
24 May 2006, 08:25 am
My World Fifteen.–Should keep JW happy.
1-Richard Loe(NZ)
2-Daniel Dubruca(fr)
3-Johan LeRoux(SA)-the nibbler
4-Martin Johnson(UK)
5-Justin Harrison(OZ)
6-Troy Flavel(NZ)-I have rehabilitated myself.
7-Corne Krige(SA)
8-Jerry Collins(NZ)
9-Matt Dawson(UK)–Mr Popularity
10-Butch James(SA)—Yes I’ve changed my tackling.
11-James Small(SA)–Headcase.
12-Rua Tipoki(NZ)
13-DeWet Barry(SA)
14-Wendall(oz)–Hi as a kite.
15-John Hopoate(NZ)-Banned from RL.
Bench; All Scrotum ******** Froggs.
24 May 2006, 10:21 am
Jake obviously leaned on Mallet (offered him Percy for old times sake).
Can’t have the poverty of his loose forward selections and thinking shown up…
24 May 2006, 12:25 pm
for those of you who think watson is not worth his chance i think you know nothing about the game tho you are entitled to your opinion however poor it is
if its true that mallet did not let him go then i think mallet and white have got together tho i wish i am proved wrong
its off putting when you listen to the **** that we have to put up with like chosing players on form and those who add value when you can take half the 45 and find another half who played well in the super 14 and have found no place ahead of those players not performing
whats happening in the game
24 May 2006, 13:24 pm
Norman
Stop whingeing the kid didn’t get picked so what. Watsons problem is that he has made a rod for his own back, he must engage his brain before he engages his vocal cords. In SA rugby mag he pipes up that JW will pick him! he then states that he will be playing for the world XV on 3 June. Quite frankly if I was a coach I wouldn’t pick him because he’d probably start telling me how to do my job!
I could not give a **** about his relationship with his God or his views on politics or what his daddy did back in ancient history. Luke Watson needs to shut the **** up nobody cares about his life views the only issue that is pertinent to the matter is whether or not he can play rugby. Harsh words? Yes but why not he is the one who usually does the chatter it’s time somebody gave him a taste of his own medicine.
The fact that he has not being picked reflects poorly only upon himself and definitely not the selectors, JW or Nick Mallett.
My advice to the young buck is shut your ******* mouth start training don’t claim to be humble actually practice a bit of humility and for christs sake get those watermelons out from under your arms. Then with a bit of luck and hard work you could become a great springbok.
24 May 2006, 15:23 pm
my view on Watson and JW is that JW only selects people that will listen to him and that he believes will fit in the squad to make one big happy family. Watson is clearly a highly vocal outspoken lad that the sight of and sound of his voice is enough to irritate jW to the point of shitting in his pants! JW will never select Watson even if he collects the best stats for lineout jumping next year!!!!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All