No Watson for global gladiators

The World XV have not included Stormers flank Luke Watson in a powerful squad to play matches against the Springboks and a Western Province XV.

Watson told keo.co.za earlier this month that he would be playing for the World side against the Boks. The former SA U21 captain hoped to prove a point against Schalk Burger at Ellis Park, but his name was missing from the official squad announced on Tuesday.

Keo.co.za has learnt that Western Province director of coaching Nick Mallett would not release Watson for the matches.

Another Bok hopeful, Gloucester flank Jake Boer, has also not been included in the squad, although he’s been struggling with injury.

One South African who could use the World XV matches to force his way into Jake White’s squad is former Bok prop Cobus Visagie, who’s been in outstanding form for Saracens this season.

The World XV, coached by 1991 Australian World Cup winning coach Bob Dwyer, will meet a Bok XV at Ellis Park in Johannesburg on Saturday 3 June before travelling to Cape Town for the Corne Krige testimonial match at Newlands on Friday 9 June.

The World XV kicked off its three-match programme with a 64-14 win over a Saracens XV in Richard Hill’s testimonial match at Vicarage Road in London on Sunday.

The squad reads like an international “who’s who” with the bulk of players representing New Zealand, Australia, France and England.

The back division boasts the likes of All Blacks Carlos Spencer, Justin Marshall, and Bruce Reihana, Wallabies Matt Burke and Joe Roff, French internationals Thomas Castaignede and Cedric Debrosse, and Irish international David Humphreys.

A host of international stars fill the forward ranks amongst them Visagie, French front-rankers Christian Califano and Rafael Ibanez, and loose forwards Olivier Magne and Sebastien Chabal, Englishmen Mark Regan and Tom Palmer, Australians Owen Finegan and Toutai Kefu and All Black Xavier Rush.

Dwyer, who will be assisted by Welsh Six Nations’ winning coach Mike Ruddock and former All Black Craig Dowd, is looking forward to a good tour.

“We are fortunate that many great players have made themselves available for this tour,” he said. “They showed their class in the Saracens game and will no doubt be determined to keep the momentum on tour. We expect two tough games in South Africa against some of their top players.”

The World XV will arrive in South Africa on 30 May.

World XV squad:

Backs – Carlos Spencer (Northampton & New Zealand), Bruce Reihana (Northampton & New Zealand), Justin Marshall (Ospreys & New Zealand), Mark Robinson (Northampton & New Zealand), Matt Burke (Newcastle & Australia), David Humphreys (Ulster & Ireland), Thomas Castaignede (Saracens & France), Fraser Waters (Wasps & England), Joe Roff (Kuboto & Australia), Isa Nacewa (Auckland Blues), Cedric Debrosse (Narbonne & France).

Forwards – Christian Califano (Gloucester & France), Dave Hewett (Edinburgh & New Zealand), Andrea Lo Cicero (L’Aquila & Italy), Peter Bracken (Wasps), Mark Regan (Bristol & England), Raphael Ibanez (Wasps & France), Tom Palmer (Wasps & England), Cobus Visagie (Saracens & South Africa), Owen Finegan (Newcastle & Australia), Olivier Magne (London Irish & France), Sam Harding (Northampton), Xavier Rush (Cardiff & New Zealand), Toutai Kefu (Kuboto & Australia), Sebastian Chabal (Sale & France), Julien Pierre (Bourgoin).

247 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Luke Watson?

• 2.superbok: Reply to this comment

Exactly. I thought Watson would be playing. Good to see Visagie there.

• 3.B4theGame: Reply to this comment

HKGK – always difficult to play against a team with no real game plan or structure! And a lot of flair in that team!

• 4.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

That is an awesome squad. And they will be coming here to win…. I am so glad I’m not Jake what with injuries, burnout and all the other bollocks. There is a chance this team gives our first choice 22 a hiding!

• 5.wls: Reply to this comment

Are there still tickets for this match and do you think it will be worth going to watch. i appreciate that it will be a bit of a wamr up and entertaining match, Just hope the BOKS can stamp a bit of dominance on this game, ie close it out and go for the kill.

• 6.Ig: Reply to this comment

Watson doesn’t have the calibre to play in a team like this

• 7.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

wls,
    something is going to get stamped, but i dont think its going to be the Boks dominance..
    they are going to have to play out of their skins, as this is one smart, strong team, with a helluva coach.
    the games will be brilliant to watch.

• 8.grey: Reply to this comment

Simon ,

Why is Watson not in the squad when we all were lead to think that he was to be included ?

Is there a some behind the scenes going on’s that we dont know about ?

• 9.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

it would hav been silly to play Watson here. he is good, but cannot yet be compared to some of the names in this squad.

• 10.wls: Reply to this comment

yeah i hope so, think im going to go and watch, should be awesome.
    I also think the Boks will struggle, they should win, because we have the structure in place, but it wont be easy.

• 11.welshbok: Reply to this comment

these guys are gonna give the boks a snotting!!

• 12.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

Grey,
    the Stormers cheerleaders got ahead of themselves. next we’ll be told what a traversty it was that Brits is not the choice hooker for the World Squad.

• 13.Redox: Reply to this comment

Read an article in the cape times were nick mallet stated that wp would not be releasing luke for the the world XV because wp needed him for the cc strange that this site didnt pick up on it.

• 14.Simon: Reply to this comment

Keo.co.za has learnt that Western Province director of coaching Nick Mallett would not release Watson for the matches.

• 15.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

welsh,
    they have the players to give anybody a thrashing, but there will be two teams on the field on the day, and the Boks are not to be taken lightly..

• 16.jonnow: Reply to this comment

Obviously Bob Dwyer does not rate Luke Watson as much as Luke Watson rates Luke Watson.

• 17.Redox: Reply to this comment

Great work simon!

• 18.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

Maybe Jake White asked them not to select him because he might make him look bad if he performs well.

• 19.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

the plot thickens…

• 20.wls: Reply to this comment

Got to love the negativity of the supporters, two years on JW has pretty much proven everyone wrong and yet at the beginning of the season everyon is on about how **** the boks will be yet again?

• 21.Paws: Reply to this comment

Ouch .. good squad .. old JW is going to have his hands full in this game.

• 22.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

JW has to contiously do houdini stunt cause the domestic coaches and staff are so kak.

• 23.boooi: Reply to this comment

this team will lack cohesion, and get a thumping from the boks. even rudolf straueli’s boks would give this XV a run for their money

• 24.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Luke Watson is eintlik nie eers goed genoeg om die wp ccup span te haal nie. Hulle behoort hom te bench want hy speel swak…

• 25.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for this,should be a cracking game of rugby.No surprise at Watson’s exclusion whether by Mallett’s instruction or not.Luke is no international star (YET) and still has in my books to earn the praise heaped so liberally after one decent season since moving to Cape Town.

• 26.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Luke who?

• 27.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Dlulane was heelwat beter as Watson hierdie jaar…

• 28.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

booi no Rudolf Strauli’s boks would loose to this xv
    rasta fox agreed

• 29.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Much the pity if Os can’t play this one I would pay many a Ront to see Cobus packing Os.

• 30.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

suparugby Dlulane was seeker a BEE deal vir julle domgat bulle

• 31.katman: Reply to this comment

Hope Visagie has a great game (in a losing team) and is then asked to join the Bok squad. Lord knows we need him now.

• 32.bigg: Reply to this comment

**** Squad – Boks will pump them

• 33.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Visagie will get tested postive …..again for schnaaaf and steroids

• 34.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Fuzzy ek kies selfs vir jou bo watson…watson hoort in die wp se vodacom cup span!

• 35.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Suparugby, dankie boet, maar jy is vokin stupid!
    Ek is die skraalste papagaai hier lanks katman!

• 36.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Spencer and Justin Marshall will finnaly come out the closet about there relationship. My money is that Spencers the *****!

• 37.Staal: Reply to this comment

I smell a rat.

• 38.Staal: Reply to this comment

suparugby 24,

as dit die geval is wat vd ander Wp forwards? verdien hulle dit?

• 39.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Steel, please explain the size of the rat your smelling there big guy?

• 40.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Plesier fuzzy! Jy bewys my punt! Selfs die skraalste papegaai is beter is Watson! Vra vir Jake, hy sal saam my stem! en jy is ****** stupid nie vokin stupid nie!

• 41.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Is dit ‘n reuse rot!

• 42.Redox: Reply to this comment

The stats dont lie luke has been the best sa looseforward in this years s14 , most metres gained and most ruck contributions but perhaps rastafox is right it should take more than one good season to become a bok.

• 43.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Ag watson was fine this season, Dlulane was nowhere (let him perform for two seasons first!)

Will JW pick a second team or will he push a pumped up side onto the field?

• 44.Staal: Reply to this comment

Fuzzy, as big as Nessie or Bigfoot.

• 45.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Staal WP verdien niks! Hulle verdien 14de plek dalk…ek was sommer lus om te stir oor watson. Dink eintlik hy was saam JSmith die twee beste loosies van SA in s14… :lol:

• 46.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Zzzzzz…..

• 47.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

suparugby se vir my, moenie ‘n doos wees jou heele lewe, wat is die verskil tussen vokin stupid en ****** stupid? Omdat ek ding jy is net blerie stupid!

• 48.Provvas: Reply to this comment

I read somewhere that marius Joubert got a contract with the Bulle?? :evil:

Apparently he was their best centre this year?

• 49.wls: Reply to this comment

Redox but he played in Skalks position.
    so its not a 100% correct stat.

• 50.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

:lol: ….

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.