No Watson for global gladiators
23 May 2006
The World XV have not included Stormers flank Luke Watson in a powerful squad to play matches against the Springboks and a Western Province XV.
Watson told keo.co.za earlier this month that he would be playing for the World side against the Boks. The former SA U21 captain hoped to prove a point against Schalk Burger at Ellis Park, but his name was missing from the official squad announced on Tuesday.
Keo.co.za has learnt that Western Province director of coaching Nick Mallett would not release Watson for the matches.
Another Bok hopeful, Gloucester flank Jake Boer, has also not been included in the squad, although he’s been struggling with injury.
One South African who could use the World XV matches to force his way into Jake White’s squad is former Bok prop Cobus Visagie, who’s been in outstanding form for Saracens this season.
The World XV, coached by 1991 Australian World Cup winning coach Bob Dwyer, will meet a Bok XV at Ellis Park in Johannesburg on Saturday 3 June before travelling to Cape Town for the Corne Krige testimonial match at Newlands on Friday 9 June.
The World XV kicked off its three-match programme with a 64-14 win over a Saracens XV in Richard Hill’s testimonial match at Vicarage Road in London on Sunday.
The squad reads like an international “who’s who†with the bulk of players representing New Zealand, Australia, France and England.
The back division boasts the likes of All Blacks Carlos Spencer, Justin Marshall, and Bruce Reihana, Wallabies Matt Burke and Joe Roff, French internationals Thomas Castaignede and Cedric Debrosse, and Irish international David Humphreys.
A host of international stars fill the forward ranks amongst them Visagie, French front-rankers Christian Califano and Rafael Ibanez, and loose forwards Olivier Magne and Sebastien Chabal, Englishmen Mark Regan and Tom Palmer, Australians Owen Finegan and Toutai Kefu and All Black Xavier Rush.
Dwyer, who will be assisted by Welsh Six Nations’ winning coach Mike Ruddock and former All Black Craig Dowd, is looking forward to a good tour.
“We are fortunate that many great players have made themselves available for this tour,†he said. “They showed their class in the Saracens game and will no doubt be determined to keep the momentum on tour. We expect two tough games in South Africa against some of their top players.â€
The World XV will arrive in South Africa on 30 May.
World XV squad:
Backs – Carlos Spencer (Northampton & New Zealand), Bruce Reihana (Northampton & New Zealand), Justin Marshall (Ospreys & New Zealand), Mark Robinson (Northampton & New Zealand), Matt Burke (Newcastle & Australia), David Humphreys (Ulster & Ireland), Thomas Castaignede (Saracens & France), Fraser Waters (Wasps & England), Joe Roff (Kuboto & Australia), Isa Nacewa (Auckland Blues), Cedric Debrosse (Narbonne & France).
Forwards – Christian Califano (Gloucester & France), Dave Hewett (Edinburgh & New Zealand), Andrea Lo Cicero (L’Aquila & Italy), Peter Bracken (Wasps), Mark Regan (Bristol & England), Raphael Ibanez (Wasps & France), Tom Palmer (Wasps & England), Cobus Visagie (Saracens & South Africa), Owen Finegan (Newcastle & Australia), Olivier Magne (London Irish & France), Sam Harding (Northampton), Xavier Rush (Cardiff & New Zealand), Toutai Kefu (Kuboto & Australia), Sebastian Chabal (Sale & France), Julien Pierre (Bourgoin).

247 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
23 May 2006, 14:07 pm
jy ding???
…
…
…
…
23 May 2006, 14:08 pm
…
…
provvas ek sien jy speel my game lok bietjie excitement uit…
…
…
Grrr,
hozit? Whats your feeling about the lions without ludicrous/ Do you look forward(s) to the season of CC?
23 May 2006, 14:09 pm
… :boredshitless: …
23 May 2006, 14:09 pm
23 May 2006, 14:10 pm
GRR……. whats with the grin?
Grrrr – Which muppits did you meet at Newlands?
Grrr ek probeer bietjie opwinding vir jou kry maar al wat ek kry is ****** fuzzy…
23 May 2006, 14:11 pm
Provvas
Boet, it’s going to be all to familiar… They should have taken the 7mil from Fransie and invested in players. Also, give Ellis to the Chiefs or Nigeria’s Super Eagles or whateva… Get some bums back on the seats!!! I will not go into Hillbrow to risk my life to watch my team get slaughtered.
23 May 2006, 14:12 pm
Bigg
Funny thing is only Blouste. The rest of the people read Keo but don’t comment.
23 May 2006, 14:13 pm
Supa
You are doing it all wrong… Let me help. Die Bulle is K@K!!!
23 May 2006, 14:16 pm
Grrr…moenie dat Stan en Jondood jou **** nie…
23 May 2006, 14:17 pm
sparugby if you were talking in a more universal language other than clutchplate I could possibly converse with you plank!
23 May 2006, 14:17 pm
en Bulle IS NIE kak nie…
23 May 2006, 14:18 pm
Supa
Well at least we will get Stan to trow some insults around… Man… getting sleepy… :sleepy: ….
Award the Cats franchise to the Falcons,at least they still know what silverware looks like!!!!!
ja suparugby,
Hierdie site is vandag so dood soos ‘n disco!
Ek is lus en noem my span vi die s14 wat ek voel die beste was:
15: Werner greef.. As hy nie beseer was nie het die Stormers Die bulle geklap!
14: Rico gear…net vi dai driee teen die bulle
13: Wie annes as die gasman theron!
12: Wynand olivier…Jis sy hare lyk al amper soos Schalla sin!
11: Frikkie the incredible diving at air Welsh!
10: Eddie Andrews…have to find a place for him…
9: Dai ou vani Cats…Ricci lake show..
8: P3 the best touchie oke we have!!
7: Schalla want hy skitter in sy afwesigheid…
6 Luke the ice man Watson!! hahaha
5. Fakies botha…**** hy is groot jong..
4. AJ venter ook net vi sy hare!!
3. Eddie…o ja kla innie span.. John Smit dan
2. JDV…as hulle dan nou brits will senter maak…. dan kan ek seker hom haker maak…
1. Os du Randt…om die age ave te lig….
23 May 2006, 14:19 pm
Dad is that you?
23 May 2006, 14:20 pm
DAAMN. That is one stinky rat!!!
23 May 2006, 14:21 pm
post 72 gaan saam met post67 fuzzy as jy dit nie verstaan nie…
23 May 2006, 14:24 pm
Provvas en die coach vir jou span?? Fester of Ludicrious of die vorige bafana bafana coach?
23 May 2006, 14:25 pm
Provvas,
your teams lacks a the special skills that only a Jorrie-I wont pass the ball even if it had a burning fuse attached to it-Muller could add.
23 May 2006, 14:29 pm
Aangesien almal min te se het oor rugby vandag…wie gaan die sokker wereldbeker wen? Bafana..ek bedoel Brazil?
23 May 2006, 14:29 pm
Ok Ok!!
jorrie on the bench…. as impact player…
Neil De kock also on the bench…MJ as kicker…
lets make fester head coach….he will relate with this star studded bunch of exellent, inspiring type of people… Forwards coach will be tackler…
backline coach should be harry Viljoen…Gotto have style
Any more suggestions??
We can call them the….??
23 May 2006, 14:32 pm
Provvas
My “Dream Team” to whip yours:
15.Jorrie “safe as rusty longdrop” Muller
14.Rayno “Boland Express” Benjamin
13.Gcobani “Pan Hands” Bobo
12.Schalk “Reformed Hooker” Brits
11.Jongi “Up and Under” Nokwe
10.Earl “The Enforcer” Rose
9. Neil “I was a Bok” de Kock
8. Jacques “Superskills” Cronje
7. Luke “What Complex?” Watson
6. Kabamba “Wipe the..” Floors
5. Kleinjan “Die Groote” Tromp
4. Danie “Safehands” Roussow
3. Richard “40 minutes” Bands
2. Hanyane “Splinters” Shimange
1. Ollie “Double Up” Le Roux
23 May 2006, 14:33 pm
The world xv…
23 May 2006, 14:33 pm
******* massive rat!
23 May 2006, 14:34 pm
Provvas,
Matfield has shone in the centre position, and those chipkicks through the gap are simply sublime- he would run well off Eddie- what do you think?
Strauli should also have a look in, he could make sure all the balls are properly pumped before games.
23 May 2006, 14:35 pm
If you can pick a world 15,who would you pick?
23 May 2006, 14:36 pm
ive got their contract all worked out:
1. No monthly salary
2. R50 000 for a win..
3. -R20 000 for a loss…
4. R1 000 for a pass by a Back and R 500 for a forward…. -R500 for any crash ball.. Gus and Jorrie will get double this….
5. A tackle will get them R1500 each… bakkies gets nothing for hitting people…
6. Scoring a try which involved more than 3 phases R5000!!!
jisss they will play the most exciting rugby ever!!!
23 May 2006, 14:37 pm
LOL Rastafox…. Earl the enforcer Rose..he he he
23 May 2006, 14:38 pm
lol rasta, nice one buddy.
23 May 2006, 14:38 pm
lol Provvas…
And -R500,000 for every needless kick.
And dead by stoning if you kick more than 5 pointless kicks during the game.
23 May 2006, 14:39 pm
or
15.Greef
14.Gus
13.Joubert
12.Barry
11.Nokwe
10.Grant
9.Bolla
8.Joe
7.Watson
6.Schalk
5.Skeate
4.Bekker
3.Eddie
2.Shimmie
1.JD
oh…wait that was the stormers team in the first rounds…then again your dream team will whip mine 43 -11
Vinnie wouldn’t have a team on the park by half-time!!
rastafox, i believe we will have a game on our hands…
if only all my players are fit….and avaible…some of them find themselves in the bok squad you know…losers!!!
But ultimately my pay stucture will get me the real heroes!!
23 May 2006, 14:40 pm
provass,
you’ll have to clarify that passes must be to teammates- and tackles must be on opponents..
23 May 2006, 14:40 pm
lol rastafox, ja but they’d only do it once…
23 May 2006, 14:41 pm
en as jy soos JP Nel vir n “imaginary friend” paas moet jy R1000 in betaal…
23 May 2006, 14:42 pm
vinnie,
if there are bulls in that team they’ll have to play next to a quarry if your rules are in place…
23 May 2006, 14:43 pm
No Vinnie!! kicks are only allowed to Jorrie…
After all he has one named after him!!
Suparugby,
My team will whipe the Floors with yours…they will start the last ten minutes and still be in front 7 – 0…All we do is get Lawrence as ref with manuels as TMO!!!
23 May 2006, 14:44 pm
Careful there Provvas I might be forced to unleash my bench:
Bertus “Unflappable” Smit
Lukas “Soek en Moer” van Biljon
Quinton “The Terminated” Davids
Hendro “Forgotten man” Scholtz
Bolla “Jou ma se …” Conradie
Tiaan “Dis kak om te verloor” Snyman
Gaffie “Any number will do” du Toit
23 May 2006, 14:45 pm
Man you guys have to much time on your hands LMFAO.
World 15? the Poms cause they are all a bunch of nob jockeys
23 May 2006, 14:46 pm
yes bluebarb…. we know how De wett and jp likes to do those for their own reasons…
Also kissing will be encouraged but no money given for this……
23 May 2006, 14:46 pm
provvas
i just got off the phone, apparently Chuck wants to play in your team, but wants to know how much he’ll get for roundhouse kicks?
23 May 2006, 14:47 pm
suparugby
It’s called passing into space,I believe a much praised vision in soccer!!!!
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All