Jake’s hooker horror

Springbok captain John Smit may miss the World XV match next weekend.

Smit failed to train with his team-mates at Shimla Park on Tuesday and is still struggling with his groin problem. The Bok No 2 had an operation that forced him to miss several Vodacom Super 14 matches and is being monitored by the Bok medical team.

“John has not yet recovered 100% from his groin operation. The medical team has recommended that he must rest,” Springbok coach Jake White said. “He won’t do any lineout throw-ins, because this could have an impact on his groin injury.”

And to add to White’s woes, former Bulls front-rower Danie Coetzee was hobbling around in a foot brace at practice, which leaves just two fit hookers in the entire squad. Hanyani Shimange though was also absent from Tuesday’s afternoon practice, leaving just Gary Botha to throw in at the lineouts.

Botha has more important things on his mind. He fled Bloemfontein late on Tuesday to be with his wife, Anrike, who is expected to give birth to their first child some time today.

While Springbok management are doing their very best to deflect the focus from the mounting injury list and associated disruptions, it is an inescapable reality that unlike their Antipodean counterparts, the Boks are more severely prone to falling foul to niggles.

This news was offset though by the welcome arrival in Bloemfontein of the Bulls which saw the intensity of the training sessions increase dramatically.

“We were playing it easy for the first few days to give the guys some much needed rest,” assistant coach Allister Coetzee told keo.co.za. “Yes, we are still missing some guys, but we will be getting most of them back in the next few weeks.”

While White is taking the World XV match very seriously, it will be nothing more than a festival ocassion – a Baabaas game in disguise. However, defeat at Ellis Park will be a severe blow at the start of a long season.

And Scotland’s recent fine showing in the Six Nations means they can not be taken lightly either in the two-Test series that follows. France at Newlands will be the biggest test ahead of the expanded Vodacom Tri-Nations.

By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

450 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

• 401.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Dawntjie,

Hie Hie Ha Ha hehehehe

• 402.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

As am I rastafox… but I appreciate his habits and music more than anything else…

• 403.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Die bul is deur die kerk?

• 404.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Span die wa voor die kinders?

• 405.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Rasta,
    What happened to the S14 teams we were suppose to send you?

• 406.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Vinnie,

die Koëel ook!!!

• 407.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Excuse me as I light my spliff….

cheers all and Vinnie if it rolls smoke it!!

• 408.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

lol Rasta,

I heard a great one the other day, I will try and get it right.

“‘n Grap is ‘n grap maar jy maak nie ‘n sambreel in a man se hol oop nie” I shat myself laughing when my Afrikaner friend spewed it.

• 409.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote posted on Monday morning due to a bout of illness on Sunday will repost in 5!!

• 410.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

n Santam Sambreel

• 411.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

A bout of illness or “wingerd griep”?

• 412.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Jus Ou Grote, jy sal mos ‘n ou se gaai wild skeur/skeer

• 413.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Otherwise known as “tros griep”

• 414.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

FFS, Dawnie het blitsig kak gestir (*397) en dadelik stilletjies verdwyn!!!

• 415.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Hmmm – LOL.

• 416.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Dawnie hit en run deesdae nadat Ig haar nou die dag uit gekak het.

• 417.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ja Ou Grote, sy is maar stil en flirt ook glad nie meer met die diere op hierdie werf nie.

• 418.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Sy’t agter gekom hierdie diere is te wild vir haar.

• 419.min_gepla: Reply to this comment

Springbok span

15.Percy Monty
    14.?????????????
    13.Juan De Velliers
    12.Wynand Olivier
    11.Bryan Habanna
    10.Jaco Van der Westhuizen
    9.Ruan Pienaar
    8.Pedrie wannenburg
    7.Schalk Burger
    6.A J Venter
    5.Victor Matfield
    4.Bakkies Botha
    3.BJ Botha
    2.Garry Botha
    1.Os du Randt

Jhon Smit kan n “baseball” Kaptein wees! Hy kan raad gee sonder om te speel!

• 420.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Dawn, Dawnie where are you, come out where ever you are…

• 421.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Daai is maar n swak agterlyn. Ope aanval en defence.
    Blameer nie vir jou nie – daar is net niemand anders nie.

• 422.Weepee: Reply to this comment

Min – sit weg die dagga! JDV cannot play 13, it’s been shown time and again that he doesn’t have the necessary speed, skill or read on the game to play 13, his defence is far to suspect for such an important position! 12 if anywhere other than the wing is his best bet unless we train him to be a 10 where defence is not as important a requirement!

• 423.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Serious case of Hops overdose!!!

8 teams were received and voted as follows:
    15.McDonald
    14.Gear
    13.Mortlock
    12.Mauger
    11.Fa’atau tied Habana
    10.Carter (the only unanimous vote)
    9.Pienaar
    8.Wannenburg
    7.McCaw
    6.Collins
    5.Matfield tied Botha
    4.Jack
    3.BJ Botha
    2.Brits
    1.Woodcock

Thats how it ended up!!

• 424.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bloubek wat die vok soek jy met my.

• 425.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jy’t vir almal hel toe gestuur nou soek jy kuk met my.

• 426.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

I personally think Ruan is still the 3rd choice scrumhalf in Jakes books.

• 427.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ahhh, dis nou beter Dawnie, sien die kwaad is sommer ook terug, nou kan jy maar weer f-off.

• 428.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Shot rasta!!!!

• 429.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Last time someone said “Come out come out wherever you are…” on this site we ended up with gaybull in the mix!!! :)

• 430.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Bloubek – jy soek vir kak.

• 431.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Rasta – lofl.

• 432.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Cheers all and remember we are here for a good time not a long time!!!!!

• 433.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Wasn’t me rasta, wasn’t me!

• 434.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Agreed weepee.

Than we Bryan “the lazest winger in the southern hemisphere” habana, percy who is almost the oldest guy in world rugby, jvdw who is £%”!, which japanese for kak.

And we dont even have another winger? And lets face it wynand olivier is no BOD or Tana.

That is the worst backline I’ve seen sicne before the 95 WC.

• 435.Dawn: Reply to this comment

When it rains, it don’t rain on one man’s house.

• 436.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Vinnie take your head out that bag of squirrels.

• 437.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

What the ****? When it rains……?

• 438.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote,

Lyk my Dawn het in aaptwak gespeel, never mind dit vandag gerook!!

• 439.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ok, ek waai nou, die vrou verjaar vandag – moet mos maar vanaand so ‘n bietjie ekstra uithang, of hoe sê ek nou!!

• 440.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote that’s a line from one of Marley’s songs. (Bob).

The reason why John Smit has groin injury is that his upper thighs chafe together when he walks.

• 441.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Dawn,
    Thank you for clearing that up. I almost thought Keo’s torture chambers left some mental scars.

• 442.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

its about time he had that surgery. he’s had the boobs for long enough now, it was the right time to go the whole hog-so to speak..

I’m glad he’s not embarrased by it, and that they can discuss it openly.

• 443.HOUGAARD SKOP GAT: Reply to this comment

BOK FORWARDS VS WORLD XV:

1.OS DU RANDT
    2.GARY BOTHA
    3.EDDIE ANDREWS
    4.ANDRIES BEKKER
    5.VICTOR MATFIELD
    6.SCHALK BURGER
    7.WIKUS VAN HEERDEN (c)
    8.JOE VAN NIEKERK

16.D.COETZEE
    17.CJ VD LINDE
    18.ALBERT VD BERGH
    19.AJ VENTER

• 444.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

HSG,
    du Randt en Andrews are injured :/ so is Danie Coetzee, so its Shimmie time. CJ also injured hahah so its Spehaka on loose, Jannie du Plessis is going to be a one-test wonder, and it still isn’t yet obvious which prop will be on the bench, but carstens is the one yet not injured, our tightheads CJ, BJ and Eddie are out – BJ for half int’l season, and i have a feeling its going to be Muller over Bekker, time will tell.

• 445.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

min gepla youll leave fourie out the team??
    **** ur more stupid then i though you compare olivier to fourie ???? hell you truelly should go back to school

• 446.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

fact is all you clowns happy about smit will cry soon
    he is the best hooker in sa and strongest scrumager proven fact and he is the best capt but then again what would you know?>? you only see the team you support

• 447.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

chill shark lover…

to whom was post 446 addressed??:> I do not know anybody who thinks that Smit isn’t the number one man for the boks, and at jersey 2.

Relac its only the cape guys who keep whinging for the oversight of Brits and Watson. Forget what people say, the truth is that everybody knows that Smit is the answer at hooker for the boks, and also a great captain plus test level player.

And don’t fume over the olivier/fourie thing… some people do have fantasies, but they will remain fantasies, not everybody has good rugby knowledge. And i guess it is obvious who’s who position is. However, we Bulls, are proud of Olivier and we believe (or dream for that matter)that he should be the impact bok centre.

• 448.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

*who’s what

• 449.Mackie: Reply to this comment

Come now man!
    Honestly, we have a few hookers in the Bok squad.
    If Smit is seriously needed or missed in the world pack game, then please call it all off! Gary Botha will more than do the job, **** even that Shimmy oke might be ok. VOK Keo, please boet!

• 450.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Smit is our skipper,and no other bok called up hooker has quit proved himself in the big games.
    I mean really stood up to be counted. Bulls fans will scream Botha but has he been outstanding? At times Smit has and he is our captain. Captaincy is important,say DUH,so perhaps this is Keo’s thinking….altho not clear.
    Suddenly we’ll be thinking about Wikus as trial capt and whoever else…it’ll all be a wait and see,wheras we know what we get with JS….relative consistency with some very very solid performances and leadership quite often when we need it.
    So,it is an issue.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.