Jake’s hooker horror
24 May 2006
Springbok captain John Smit may miss the World XV match next weekend.
Smit failed to train with his team-mates at Shimla Park on Tuesday and is still struggling with his groin problem. The Bok No 2 had an operation that forced him to miss several Vodacom Super 14 matches and is being monitored by the Bok medical team.
“John has not yet recovered 100% from his groin operation. The medical team has recommended that he must rest,” Springbok coach Jake White said. “He won’t do any lineout throw-ins, because this could have an impact on his groin injury.”
And to add to White’s woes, former Bulls front-rower Danie Coetzee was hobbling around in a foot brace at practice, which leaves just two fit hookers in the entire squad. Hanyani Shimange though was also absent from Tuesday’s afternoon practice, leaving just Gary Botha to throw in at the lineouts.
Botha has more important things on his mind. He fled Bloemfontein late on Tuesday to be with his wife, Anrike, who is expected to give birth to their first child some time today.
While Springbok management are doing their very best to deflect the focus from the mounting injury list and associated disruptions, it is an inescapable reality that unlike their Antipodean counterparts, the Boks are more severely prone to falling foul to niggles.
This news was offset though by the welcome arrival in Bloemfontein of the Bulls which saw the intensity of the training sessions increase dramatically.
“We were playing it easy for the first few days to give the guys some much needed rest,” assistant coach Allister Coetzee told keo.co.za. “Yes, we are still missing some guys, but we will be getting most of them back in the next few weeks.”
While White is taking the World XV match very seriously, it will be nothing more than a festival ocassion – a Baabaas game in disguise. However, defeat at Ellis Park will be a severe blow at the start of a long season.
And Scotland’s recent fine showing in the Six Nations means they can not be taken lightly either in the two-Test series that follows. France at Newlands will be the biggest test ahead of the expanded Vodacom Tri-Nations.
By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

450 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All
24 May 2006, 14:51 pm
Brickwall
Is that guy related to Brad Barrit from the sharks.
I think he is pretty good too.
Vodacom cup Wildebeest fly did well in the first few s14 games. Spedding I think. He didnt have a great game against the Valke though.
24 May 2006, 14:51 pm
Ye Mealamu over Brits probably but there are not many decent hookers around, Jeremy Pual looked good but wheres he now? Nowhere!
24 May 2006, 14:52 pm
Mealamu speared Brian O’driscoll Irelands hope and future he must be shot for that!
24 May 2006, 14:52 pm
Brick
Excuse my ignorance but who exactly is Barret. I’ve been out in the cold (UK) for a while and a bit out of touch with ‘new talent’
A lot of 10′s we used recently can also play other positions: Gaffie, Jaco vdW, Russel…etc. The problem is that they are all better at the other position.
We need a natural specialist fly
24 May 2006, 14:54 pm
offcourse carter is gonna say that.. i would alos choose the kakkest fly-half for the other side to play against…
Tiaan Snyman het ook nie n voet verkeerd gesit die laaste paar games nie…
Keo,
I’m have sighned up for the SA Rugby mag at the begining of the year. Aren’t I supposed too get this month’s copy earlier than it get’s too the stores. Because I didn’t even get it yet.
Barrit is the Sharks new talent. Farkin amazing but very inexerienced defenate future bok
24 May 2006, 14:55 pm
gaffie and jaco shouldnt be in the squad, they both nimkapoops…
Mossel
He is an exiting 19 year old flyhalf with great attacking, kicking and distributing skills. What impress me about him is also his agressive way of defending.
I believe he’ll get there.
tiaan snyman bahahhahahaaaa hhahaha
24 May 2006, 14:57 pm
Jaco has to be there. There is no one else cause of injury as for Gaffie I think he gives good blow jobs
24 May 2006, 14:57 pm
Jaco fills me with dread every time he touches the ball…and I’m a bok supporter!
To have a guy like this at fly does not fit into Jake’s policy of stability etc.
24 May 2006, 14:58 pm
Dink nie dis Carter se styl nie…hy weet niemand kan by hom kers vashou nie
24 May 2006, 14:58 pm
brick barrit is definitely a future bok, either nr 12 or at flyhalf… he kinda reminds me a little of carter, just a bit stronger but maybe not the kicking capabilities yet…
24 May 2006, 14:59 pm
Brick
Did Barrit play for the wildebeeste?
Big G
Grandpa Snyman must retire while he still has some(if not none) good moments before he embarreses himself when he plays for the boks.
he might even have lost those skills bagel, i mean his confidece is so low…
24 May 2006, 15:00 pm
LOLIES
24 May 2006, 15:03 pm
What’s with all teh Sharks players having groin injuries? Too much ***?
24 May 2006, 15:06 pm
Viper
I think only Shalk would take rugby over ***
Jake caught Brent Russel in 2004 with a chick in their Hotel so maybe the Sharks oaks are P.I.M.P’s
Mossel
He actually had a few great games for the Shark’s S14 team.
WORLD 15.
1.Andrew Sheridan
2.Kevin mealamu
3.Richard Bands
4.Bakkies Botha
5.Victor Matfield
6.Yannick Nyanga
7.Richie McCaw
8.Schalk Burger
9.Dwayne Peel
10.Dan Carter
11.Rupeni caucaunibuca
12.Brian O`Driscoll
13.Dries Scholtz
14.Bryan Habanna
15.Chris Latham
24 May 2006, 15:08 pm
Bagel
Ive watched Snyman at practise, and there’s nothing wrong with him. Got pace and strengh, he is in the best shape ever!
24 May 2006, 15:09 pm
Go with my team anytime Min Blog 293. Maybe CaunCaun over rico but Bands and Scholtz?
24 May 2006, 15:10 pm
Bloem :/ Obviously i exagerated but lets be honest he only in there because his experience might rub off on the youngsters
24 May 2006, 15:12 pm
Bagel
I Agree with you. But there aren’t any other players that can play wing and centre that is better than him
24 May 2006, 15:12 pm
brick.. snyman is the man… he is bigger stronger and if reports are to be believed, faster that ever b4… i checked him out at the airport the other day and he was one huge piece of meat, and ripped like a freeken brick, no stonewall…
Barrit played s14 as well and played extremely well!!!
min gepla.. ha ha obviously ha ha, dries scholtz bah ahhhaaahahaha…
24 May 2006, 15:14 pm
Centres:JDV and JF
Wings:Russell and Tonderai(prefebly Ndunganes)
I know Tonderai has played kak this year but hes got potencial and he’ll reel anyone who breaks the line.
24 May 2006, 15:15 pm
Big
I saw Snyman without a shirt the other day. Jean-Claude van Damm Se moer. This guy is big and fast. He’s 6kg heavier than the last time he played for the Boks and faster
24 May 2006, 15:16 pm
WELL, SHimmys gonna play, now JAke HAS TO PLAY HIM ! None of this ducking and diving, I mean its likethe guys only played 10 minutes in 2years as a bok.
Id love to see Shimmy play @ least 60 minutes.. if Jake has the balls to stick to his sellection
24 May 2006, 15:16 pm
Hier is my world politieke backline
9.Silas Nkanunu
10.Louis Luyt
11.Mike Stofile(kwota)
12.Brian van Rooyen
13.Rian Oberholtzer/Johan Prinsloo
14.Stofile se broer
15.Markgraaf
24 May 2006, 15:17 pm
shimmie and danie should never have bn there… period!!!
24 May 2006, 15:18 pm
Lol Suparugby
24 May 2006, 15:18 pm
does anyone think wynand olivier might make a good wing?
24 May 2006, 15:19 pm
Shimmie is big, but is world class material? Hmmm….
24 May 2006, 15:21 pm
Good question Big atleast me know he doesn’t need to pass or kick the ball from there
24 May 2006, 15:23 pm
1. Os du Randt
2. John Smit
3. CJ vd Linde
4. Bakkies Botha
5. Victor Matfield
6. Schalk Burger
7. Juan Smith
8. Jacques Cronje
9. Ruan Pienaar
10. Jaco vd Westhuizen
11. Bryan Habana
12. Jean de Villiers
13. Jacques Fourie
14. Andre Snyman
15. Percy Montgomery
Replacements
1.Guthro Steenkamp
2.Schalk Brits
2.Gary Botha
3.BJ Botha
4.Danie Rossouw
5.Johan Ackerman
6.Jacques Botes
7.AJ Venter
8.Joe van Niekerk
9.Fourie du Preez
10.Brent Russell
11.Akona Ndungane
12.De Wet Barry
13.Ronnie Cooke
14.Ashwell Willemse
15.Conrad Jantjes
Injury Permitting, Thats pretty much a WC winning team.
24 May 2006, 15:27 pm
NO DE WET BARRY and I dont see an Adre Pretorius? Ndungane for Snyman and Wannenberg for Cronje. uptill now i have rated you opinion Jake but Cronje bleh
24 May 2006, 15:29 pm
My SA span
1.Jimmy Abott (lyk soos n stut en ken rugby)
2.Leon Schuster (sal opponente laat lag)
3.Mike Schutte (moer sterk)
4.Freitag (lekker lank)
5.Hestrie Cloete (kan hoog-spring)
6.Zuma (skelm en kan die balle steel)
7.Steve (vir die volkslied vooraf)
8.Eugene Trrblanche (sal n allblack opvo*)
9.Baby Jake
10.Waterkloof 4 (sal vrees by allblacks skep)
11.Oscar Pistorius (bleddie vinnig)
12.Madiba (k) (vir ervaring)
13.Jorrie (enough said)
14.Minki (vir die looks van die span)
15.FW de klerk (vir support)
24 May 2006, 15:29 pm
If only I was Jake White,I would use this as an oppurtunity to try some fresh ideas and test my depth as follows:
1.Sephaka
2.Shimange
3.Andrews
4.Muller
5.Bekker
6.Tiyabilika
7.van Heerden (c)
8.Smith
9.Pienaar
10.Bosman
11.Chavangha
12.Olivier
13.Fourie
14.de Villiers
15.Russell
Not only would this be an exciting team it also provides an oppurtuniy to assess what some newcomers and fringe players can do.As an unofficial match no new caps are earned and a loss would not be the end of the world.The bench could be loaded with experience and these players can be injected if needed to stabilise things:
16.du Randt
17.Botha
18.Matfield
19.Venter
20.du Preez
21.v/d Westhysen
22.du Toit
24 May 2006, 15:30 pm
CANT STOP LAUGHING SUPA but where is MANTO the vegatable
24 May 2006, 15:31 pm
Twinkel Toes (#283) … ” .. been in the walls ..) .. what the?
You have actually seen JS play rugby .. when … where … because if you did you would have noticed old john boy miss way to many tackles .. hang around in midfield or on the wing when the ruck is a little to far to get too .. get dropped like a sack of potatoes in the tackle and provide no go forward … miss his jumpers .. and get broken as a prop against the force … and when he does find his jumpers, he waddels over to the ruck, sticks his head in and adds some weight …. oooohhh wait sorry … his groin was sore … all is forgiven.
Sorry boys .. I’m sure JS is a good guy .. but he his by a long shot not the best hooker in the country .. and I also don’t prescribe to JW overinflated importance of a captain, yes, his important, but not the alpha or omega of the whole team.
Sorry chaps .. just defending myself against that sideswipe from old twinkel … we are all intitled to our own opinions and I really don’t want to open up the whole JS / SB / GB debakel .. I’m sure we are all tired of it by now.
24 May 2006, 15:32 pm
Jake, pretty good side, now what politcal changes would you have to make?
24 May 2006, 15:35 pm
Good Point Paws
24 May 2006, 15:35 pm
Suparugby…. I almost choked on my jelly tots…
crazy mofo.
Agreed, no DWB on current form,
but remember… he is the most feared bok tackler. He is quite capable of causing people to fumble with his presence.. I think give him a chance, he just needs to get that edge back.
I’d throw away Marius Joubert and Shimange though.
24 May 2006, 15:37 pm
Bagel
Dink hoe goeie fetcher sal Zuma wees: Hy kan balle steel en weg kom daarmee…Manto kom op as impakspeler
24 May 2006, 15:38 pm
Guys Shimange is a gift! Think about With JS on the field he will never come on but at the same time counts as a token quota man. We should embrace this gift with open arms. Dont play him but put him in the starting lineup.
24 May 2006, 15:39 pm
LOL SUPA hou jou bek before i have a heart attack
24 May 2006, 15:40 pm
*ON the bench for shime not starting lineup Blog 348 contadicting myself a bit
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All