Loffie’s new Lions
24 May 2006
New Lions coach Eugene Eloff has selected a 37-man pre-Currie Cup training squad.
The 37 hopeful players will join together for the Lions training camp from Monday until Wednesday. Thereafter they will be playing in a warm up game against the Western Force on Saturday, 10 June at Ellis Park. After this match they will be narrowed down and the 2006 Lions Currie Cup team will be announced.
“I’m excited about the group I’ll be working with, as we have a fantastic mix of both youth and more experienced players,” said Eloff.
The group attending the camp is as follows:
Pietman van Niekerk, Willie Wepener, Bertus Smit, Cobus Grobler, Willem Stoltz, Roland Bernard, Trevor Hall, Ernst Joubert, Dave von Hoesslin, Jody Rose, Marius Schoeman, James van der Walt, Daniel Muller, Gerhard Mostert, Gordon Gilfillan, Cobus Grobbelaar, Juan Deysel, Russell Winter, Rory Kockett, Nel Fourie, Dewey Swartbooi, Thabang Molefe, Edrich van Tonder, John Daniels, Mark Harris, Heinrich Kok, Eugene Maqwelana, Derick Minnie, Pietie Ferreira, Doppies la Grange, Warren van Rooyen, Louis Ludik, Jorrie Muller, Grant Esterhuizen, Wylie Human, Earl Rose, JC Janse van Rensburg, James van der Walt.
The final team will be made up of the above players. Injured players are Conrad Jantjes, Nick Eyre and Alten Hulme while Heinke van der Merwe, Jano Vermaak and Schalk van der Merwe are at busy with the Springbok U21 training camp in Wellington.

68 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
24 May 2006, 12:59 pm
Glad to see Jodie Rose involved, hopes he bulks up soon cos he is a good talented player. Roland Bernard also good player…
24 May 2006, 13:00 pm
Does this mean that the Lions site has been updated now?
Nice to see all the star players this franchise has on it’s books, especially jorrie and Grant!
24 May 2006, 13:03 pm
wpw,
Have you plonkers in the Cape not finalised the contract you are going to offer Jorrie yet?
Come on move it along!
24 May 2006, 13:05 pm
Cats to take CC
24 May 2006, 13:07 pm
Eish John Daniels must be getting on in years but he’s still lightening fast.
Hope Roland Bernard gets good game time, I like this boy and look forward to him playing for the Cats in next years S14
24 May 2006, 13:07 pm
Dis dieselfde spul losers van die s14…hoop Loffie is die verskil! Dalk kom Tiaan Snyman nog uit retirement…
24 May 2006, 13:10 pm
Suparugby,
wat dan sal dit die 6de keer wees wat hy ‘n comeback maak en elke comeback is kakker as die vorige een.
24 May 2006, 13:13 pm
Transvaal is lucky they have sacked their coach – we need to sack Fester.
Northern Transvaal should find someone better than Meyer.
Orange Free State should keep Rassie…
24 May 2006, 13:14 pm
as hy weer uit retirement kom kan Danie Gerber ook maar uit retirement kom…hy sal anyway beter vaar as Tiaan Pispot Snyman.
24 May 2006, 13:15 pm
At least im sure loffie will use Heinke VDMerwe , i cant believe that Ludeke allowed the sharks to draft the guy while he was struggling with useless looseheads like Pietman etc.
Redcard
I think if u can get the lions to offer jorrie in swap deal for Gusman im sure wp wouldnt mind talking biz. I actually think that jorrie is a very good wing just dont put the oke in a decision making position like inside centre jusssus he sucks
with grubbers and never passing the ball etc.
24 May 2006, 13:16 pm
Rassie nie so goed as wat jy dink nie…hy lyk belowend maar jy sal sien hierdie jaar gaan ovs swaarder kry…
24 May 2006, 13:17 pm
sa rugby team names translated to dutch.
cats=poe%en, heh heh.
Blue bulls=blou bulle, except bulle also means *** in dutch, therefore it translates to “blue asses”, and people call the stormers ***.
24 May 2006, 13:18 pm
Jorrie “tjippie” Muller moes saam Tiaan retire het…
24 May 2006, 13:19 pm
bigg u smoking the bad ****
Hell Heyneke is the top man. 4 curriecup finals in a row and 2 semi-final super14 in a row. Before heyneke we was in trouble…. now Bulls the best South african team.
Fire all the other province coaches cos we beat them with a one dimensional game plan …. fire **** first cos we chowed his sharkies.
24 May 2006, 13:20 pm
Knersboy
Jy rook te veel pappegaaislaai…
24 May 2006, 13:21 pm
oooo ja die lions gaan weer gatskop!!! check hoe vat hulle wp uit.
24 May 2006, 13:22 pm
oo many hasbeens and journeymen still in that group.
Also, James van der Walt must have really impressed to have been selected twice.
John Daniels must be about 38 or 39 now. Of how much value can he really be at that age?
Can’t wait to see yougsters like Jody Rose and Thabang Molefe in action.
Hope Loffie can turn them (the majority of th abysmal Cats squad) into something more cohesive and exciting.
24 May 2006, 13:22 pm
oo = Too
24 May 2006, 13:23 pm
suparugby, if you had to put up with this weather you would too
24 May 2006, 13:28 pm
Schalk v der merwe? Is his nickname bioplus? Or am I mistaken? Isnt he the guy who regularly plays SA 7′s? Because he must be to old to be in the U 21 squad surely. Great player though. I think Edrich v Tonder could become very good as well
24 May 2006, 13:30 pm
Also, I wish dewey swartbooi could get a good run in the team this season
24 May 2006, 13:31 pm
yoda
wie gese hy is 0/21? Dit is bioplus van die sevens.
24 May 2006, 13:31 pm
yoda
wie gese hy is 0/21? Dit is bioplus van die sevens
24 May 2006, 13:33 pm
Yoda, that might be him. I know he’s still young and I think he played for RAU not too long ago.
24 May 2006, 13:35 pm
I am confident on behalf of the Lions that Loffie will indeed make these chaps a lot more competitive and in a Currie Cup where some of the main unions will be relying on youth some old warhorses will be very handy.Good luck it’s always more satisfying beating a decent Lions lineup!!!:)
24 May 2006, 13:38 pm
suparugby
die berig se hy is besig saam die onder 21′s(laaste paragraaf)
Hy speel moer goed, weetie hoekom hulle hom nie meer kans gee nie
24 May 2006, 13:39 pm
Schalk het vir RAU gespeel (dink hy was in oppirif manshuis) en speel al lank sevens. Het vir die leeus ook al paar keer uitgedraf…
24 May 2006, 13:39 pm
It is Bioplus, he is too old for U/21. He is a good player, the Lions would do well calling him up to the squad.
24 May 2006, 13:40 pm
rastafox
the challenge is not to make them competitive in the currie cup. the **** only strikes the fan come super 12/14
24 May 2006, 13:41 pm
suparugby
hy was in bastion manskoshuis saam doppies en habana
24 May 2006, 13:41 pm
Yoda thanx ek is seker dis n fout! hy is ouer as 21!
24 May 2006, 13:42 pm
Thanks graig goosen. He is probably with the sevens then and not the U 21′s as is said above
24 May 2006, 13:47 pm
Jys reg! Onthou nou! Ek was in Drom.
24 May 2006, 13:59 pm
Domwatdaris
Mofslaan
Spastion
oppiesiffilis
24 May 2006, 14:10 pm
We all know the Lions Have great players. The biggest pool to choose from, has always been that way. Lets see if loffies bite matches his bark.
GO LIONS!!!!!!!!!!
24 May 2006, 14:14 pm
I am sure John Daniels was one of the fastest wings in south africa over the last 5 years. How old is he now ?
24 May 2006, 14:14 pm
Redcard waar was jy? Kanniestoot?
24 May 2006, 14:15 pm
Hy het laas week 39 geword…
24 May 2006, 14:16 pm
Wow this cowboy is to fast
Wonder what Province training squad will look like. Province will end last in the CC this year.
24 May 2006, 14:18 pm
…forever we shall not be moved.
In die skadu van jou koshuis het ek diep ‘spore’ geloop by beeldkone jong dames van Skoonveld.
24 May 2006, 14:23 pm
Think it’s a good move from the new coach , alot of youngsters around. That can only be good for the province.
24 May 2006, 14:31 pm
Redcard
Drom en Skoonveld altyd n spesiale band…In my 2e jaar was daar ook n pragtige blonde blouoog oes by skoongeskeerde skoonveld…my broer (ok in drom) het met n skoonvelder getrou…
24 May 2006, 14:42 pm
suparugby ons Kanniedoders het ‘n paar manne in skeepsgewaad suur gemaak oor “hulle teritory”.
24 May 2006, 14:43 pm
What the heck was Habana doing in Bastion Manskoshuis.
Please verduidelike what happens in the Manskoshuis.
Details please?
24 May 2006, 14:43 pm
Suparugby, this is disturbing. And just a little sick:
“In my 2e jaar was daar ook n pragtige blonde blouoog oes by skoongeskeerde skoonveld…my broer”
Our country has laws against such love.
24 May 2006, 14:46 pm
For those like Bloem Leeu that care, the Lions site shows :
1- H Kok, l Sephaka & Pietman van Niekerk
2- J van der Walt, Schalk Brits & L van Biljon
3- Baksteen Nel & Marius Hurter
4- Kleinjan Tromp, C Grobler & T Hall
5- W. Stoltz, G Gilfillan & J labuschagne
6- C Grobbelaar, Roland Bernard & G Vosloo
7- Wikus van Heerden
8- P.Ferreira, E joubert, R Winter & S. vder Merwe
9- E Januarie, N Eyre & J Vermaak
10- A. Pretorius, N Fourie,T Snyman & Q van Tonder
11- Wylie Human, A Willemse
12- J Muller, D Le Grange, G esterhuzen
13- J. Fourie, W Julies & R Coetzee
14- J Daniels, M. Scoeman
15- C Jantjies, J Booysen & O. Siwundla
Not exactly up to date but then the coaches corner is as blank as the trophy cabinet, management and coaching staff, so why not the site.
24 May 2006, 14:52 pm
en n paar van die skeepsmanne het gereeld die dailies goed gefoeter…Niks so lekker soos n koshuisfight nie! Kanniedood se rugby is darem altyd kompeterend. Bastion sn is useless!
Katman
hou jou fantasiee vir jouself!
24 May 2006, 14:52 pm
Katman explain.
What the hoo happens in Manskoshuis.
I feel a novel coming on.
24 May 2006, 14:54 pm
Bloem Leeu
You’re closer to the action than I, where (positions) are these Loffie boys going to play?
24 May 2006, 14:54 pm
Sarky so the only difference between Lions and WP is that the WP guys still have details (not credentials!!!) in the coaches column.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All