No speed bump for Boks

Springbok centre Jaque Fourie has dismissed the accusation that the Springboks lack pace out wide.

Following the loss of Bryan Habana to injury against the Crusaders, the Boks speed stocks have taken a severe battering ahead of the opening match against the World XV at Ellis Park on June 3.

But Fourie, who has played on both wings and fullback before settling into the No 13 jersey, believes the Bok’s chances will not be adversely affected. “I don’t think there is a real worry about pace out wide. Although we are short of out-and-out wings, there are enough of us with plenty of experience to cover if needed,” he said.

It seems Andre Snyman and Gaffie du Toit will fill the No 11 and No 14 jerseys respectively. it is certainly how they ran at practice at Vodacom Park this morning.

Despite the fact that the World XV is expected to play a Barbarians style of rugby in the unofficial Test, the Boks will stick to what is needed for more important fixtures later in the year.

“The World XV might try and spread the ball wide and so on, whatever works for them, but we are going to concentrate on our own game plan. That said they are a world class team and will test us both physically and mentally.”

Fourie added that despite most players coming off a disappointing Vodacom Super 14, the spirit in the squad was good. “It’s been a long and hard Super 14, but we are all enjoying being part of the Boks again. We are just looking forward to play.”

By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

92 Comments

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

Speedy is a dragon

• 2.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Speedy se ma man.

• 3.Spook: Reply to this comment

What about Paulse, he is a wing?

• 4.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Speedy is ‘n f*kken rot.

• 5.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Spook,

Paulse only joining the squad after World XV match.

• 6.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

My team to play the world 15

15) Percy
    14) Snyman
    13) Fourie
    12) JDV
    11) Du Toit
    10) Russel (with Gaffie filling in when we need to kick)
    9) Pienaar
    8) Big Joe7) SMith
    6) Burger
    5) Big Vic
    4) AJ Venter
    3) Steady Eddie
    2) Botha
    1) Sepaka

• 7.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Brick – What about Jaco at No 10?

• 8.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Keo

Listen, the Boks do lack pace out wide but doesn’t really matter if we did have the players to select anyway.

Jake will still pick slow coach Paulse.

• 9.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Brick

I would swop Snyman and JDV and put Jaco in at 10 with Russel on at 11

• 10.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Brickwall

Doesn’t look like you are showing the world 15 much respect.

They will run around,over and through your inside backs.

And you know an oke is a Sharks man when they start selecting AJ at 4……:lol:

• 11.amazon: Reply to this comment

pete

Exactly

we need to use an opportunity like this. Serious opposition will = serious test

if the newer and younger okes make it then we have depth almost overnight.

But currently if we even suggest a guy COULD get injured then the train has to stop at the panic station

• 12.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

…O and the forwards I would put in Carstens over Eddy and Bakkies at 4 with AJ on the bench

• 13.mossel: Reply to this comment

Why not ‘rest’ the A-team to prevent burn-out?

• 14.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Jake mentioned earlier that Paulse will only join the squad late next week, so he won’t have enough time to work with him in preperation for the match againt the World XV…

• 15.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Well guys

Normally I would have picked Jaco and Danie, but they played so kak against the Saders that I also want to punish them. Jaco was super kak.

Russel just have to be close to the action whenever there is a babas kind of game. With him, JDV and Fourie, you won’ t need wings. Ya, they’ll let a few through but they’ll score more.

• 16.amazon: Reply to this comment

Bloem

Why not pic a few few other crocked players to lead the onslaught
    While youre at it.

Interesting first 10 mins

• 17.AJ: Reply to this comment

My Team:
    15.Percy
    14.Breyton
    13.Jaque
    12.Jean
    11.Brent
    10.Jaco
    9.Fourie
    8.Pedrie
    7.Juan
    6.Schalk
    5.Victor
    4.AJ (because Bakkies is injured)
    3.Carstens
    2.Smit
    1.Eddie

Definitly think Pedrie should be there before Joe and Andre Snyman should be on the bench

• 18.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Steady and Solly WILL play. Jake needs two players of colour in starting XV.

• 19.mossel: Reply to this comment

Paulse is over the wall

• 20.AJ: Reply to this comment

If Breytons not ready then change him for Chavanga, like Andrew said, need 2 players of colour.

• 21.Redox: Reply to this comment

On the positive side of if solly does play at least that means that burger gets a rest finally.

• 22.amazon: Reply to this comment

Play solly

That lilly white team always means I have to adjust the brightness and contrast on my TV.

If SA rugby made sure that all games were broadcast in black and white. The shading issue will be eased slightly.

It would be the right thing to do

• 23.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Amazon

Bwahahahhahahhhaa ! :lol:

• 24.amazon: Reply to this comment

See what I mean

When a guy talks sence then even grown men cry.

Rude ,, your comments on Tobias were classic earlier. But he is a good builder you must admit. Tobias Broers inc.

• 25.amazon: Reply to this comment

Rude

How do you get the faces going.

They tell a thousand words.

• 26.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Indeed. Though Ig hates them… :mrgreen:

• 27.amazon: Reply to this comment

Rude you come late

I must go again.

• 28.amazon: Reply to this comment

Each to his own

How do you get them.???????????

• 29.amazon: Reply to this comment

mrgreen

• 30.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Nice try Amazon ! :-)

• 31.amazon: Reply to this comment

• 32.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Good going Amazon ! :shock:

• 33.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

The ball never gets to the wings in bok rugby these days anyway.

The bulls could have played with only 13 men on attack this year and SA rugby is pretty much the same.

• 34.LoveJoy: Reply to this comment

agree with andrew re solly and steady!

eddie is a sure starter.
    if jake wants to rest schalk, then solly will start… else he has to play bolla at 9.

as far as I know he needs 4 players of colour in the match 22… so those 3 will be in the mix.. with shimmy on the bench with either bolla or solly.

once breyton is back, solly will drop out of the 22… Julies will be fit again and him and bolla will jockey for a spot on the bench next to shimmy

• 35.amazon: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

okes can say that and are not even challenged.
    who, that makes a thing said in jest the hard truth.

jis , that is scary

• 36.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Rude – how does you do them smilies. All I can do is ;)

• 37.Andrew: Reply to this comment

:P

• 38.Andrew: Reply to this comment

See it doesn’t work? I’m just dumb journo man. Help me!!

• 39.amazon: Reply to this comment

To all those who know about rugby

We must have two springbok teams

One with no conditions and the 2nd with all the political conditions necessary.

They can both play internationals. but against the appropriate aponents.

1st team can play russian 1st team. The 2nds play the serbians

1st team can play morocan 1st team. The 2nds
    play the Saharawi 15

1st team play sudans finest and the 2nds battle it out with the Janjaweed

and so on and so forth

• 40.amazon: Reply to this comment

Andrew

Youre way behind. let the master commonly known as Rudebud help out
    :shock:

• 41.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Andy,

Hold your cursor over a smiley and type what you see there.

For example – to do the one that amazon has just done type the word shock with an : in front and behind the word.

• 42.suparugby: Reply to this comment

My SA span

1.Jimmy Abott (vet en ken rugby)
    2.Leon Schuster (sal opponente laat lag)
    3.Mike Schutte (moer sterk)
    4.Freitag (is lekker lank)
    5.Hestrie Cloete (kan hoog-spring)
    6.Zuma (skelm, kan balle steel en WEGKOM)
    7.Steve (vir volkslied vooraf)
    8.Eugene Trrblance (sal n all BLACK opvo*)
    9.Baby Jake (klein en rats)
    10.Waterkloof 4(sal vrees by all BLACKS inboesem)
    11.Oscar Pistorius (bleddie vinnig en kan step)
    12.Madiba (k) (vir ervaring)
    13.Jorrie (enough said)
    14.Minki (vir looks van die span)
    15.FW De klerk (vir support)

Coach: Jurie (ons soek “net n bietjie liefde”

• 43.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Andrew

Move your cursor over the smileys posted. You will see what to type.

• 44.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Andrew

Here is a few: :-) :-( :o :cry: :idea: :evil: :mrgreen: :twisted: :roll: :lol: :oops:

• 45.amazon: Reply to this comment

Supa

Wie sal die Doktor wees. en wie sal die water booi wees?

Is daai posiesies nog beskikbaar ?

• 46.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Water booi..mmmmm…chumani booi…nee Ludeke om hom te straf vir al die kak wat hy aanjaag! Doktor sal een van Kuba moet inkry (gaan veral een nodig he as Zuma siek word!)

• 47.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Andrew

Speak to Ig. We need a smiley that pukes. That way we can describe Fester’s coaching techniques :lol:

• 48.AJ: Reply to this comment

These posts are :****:

• 49.AJ: Reply to this comment

or is that :mrshit:

• 50.bigg: Reply to this comment

Rudebud – Please don’t talk like that about Fester! He should coaxh teh Boks then Watson will get a call up :wink:

• 51.bigg: Reply to this comment

My spelling sucks in that last post.

AJ – nobody is asking you to stay

• 52.citizenc: Reply to this comment

Are Snyman and Gaffie really that slow – I think not!

• 53.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

Seems everyone has run out of inspiration on this post :lol:

• 54.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Andrew

I was subjected to several hours of torture last week at Keo headquarters for taking a thread over 1500 posts and for being myself with Jondood.

Please tell: WHAT THE HELL DID YOU DO WRONG THAT THEY STUCK YOU IN BLOEMFONTEIN ?????

• 55.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

I like your style. A woman with some fire in her belly. :twisted:

• 56.Phantom_badger: Reply to this comment

I’m gonna beat a small kitten to death everytime i see a smily on this thread again.

• 57.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

:roll:

• 58.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Dawn, I’m here to visit museums and so on. Also I heard a vicious rumour that Kitty was on the prowl in Bloem and I’m dying for a shag!! :shock:

• 59.Phantom_badger: Reply to this comment

Let it be known that the death of an innocent kitten is on your hands now… what’s the SPCA’s number anyone?

• 60.bigg: Reply to this comment

Phantom – you didn’t know? Andrew stared on Animal Farm with John Holmes.

• 61.Weepee: Reply to this comment

Ouens – some of the rubbish on this thread is unbelieveable. JDV can only play 12 as he’s too loose on defence to play 13 – proven time and again he just doesn’t have the game to play 13. He’s barely capable at 12! SA’s most overrated player! Very well could be! Snyman is good cover for 13 after Fourie! This rubbish about lack of wingers is unbelievable! Okay Bryan and Ashwin are out? What about the Ndungane twins? Blood them? Bring them into the setup and provide coverage moving forward – playing Calamity Gaffie is a complete waste of time! Breyton is still a class player, speed maybe temporary class is permenant!

I’m with the Smith, Burger and Big Joe loose trio but still would have prefferred, Juan at 8 and Luke Watson playing alongside the incredible Schalk!

If we’re going to experiment with Russell at 10 then do so when we’re home and dry against the World XV not from the start!

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

0800 BEAT ANIMALS

Andrew. My boy.

Do you not realise that this is your punishment.

Bloemfontein is shagless. For your sins you are banished to the wilderness by the Order of Monarchs.

• 63.Andrew: Reply to this comment

:twisted:

Yipee!! Bloem is not so boring anymore :kak:

• 64.Andrew: Reply to this comment

(B) hope this works!!

• 65.Andrew: Reply to this comment

:beer:

• 66.rastafox: Reply to this comment

If this doen’t work I am going to scream!!!!!!!

• 67.Andrew: Reply to this comment

oh ****.

• 68.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

WeePee – What’s that about JDV being overrated? Are you senile or something?

• 69.rastafox: Reply to this comment

…..whooaa at last I got one of these little emotional mo-fo majangles to work!!!!

• 70.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Andrew go visit Bloems ****** little waterfront, you are bound to pick up something there.

• 71.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

I still can’t get the smiley’s to work.

• 72.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote,

I’m going to the Mystic Boer!! Last time I was there I was witness to some kinky lesbo action!!

Admittedly I was hanging from a chandelier at the time, so details are a bit sketchy :mrgreen:

• 73.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Grote,

right click on smilie. Click properties at bottom and see what it says alternate text…

Good luck!!

• 74.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Andrew in absence of Kitty Muppits will try to alleviate the pain of banishment.

• 75.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Dawn – I hope you are in Bloem on standby if Andrew needs a hand.

• 76.Weepee: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote, I leave the senilty to those who deserve it! JDV, has an abundance of natural talent, but has been played out of position. He’s going to be best at 12 or 10. 12 affords him the opportunity to be playmaker without the pressure of the Flyhalf role. It’s arguably where he’s best suited to play, then adapt him if need be to a 10 ala Carter and imminently Giteau!

13 is too dangerous a slot for him, his defence is suspect and the additional space a 13 has to cover seems a little too much for him to handle. Look at the tackle statistics for JDV – poorest of the backs in the Stormers, when he plays 13 it’s even worse!

There is no such thing as a utility back, a utility back is a player who displays talent but when asked to preform continously within position they fail – Russell and JDV. If we’d settled these 2 playmakers into a 12 role at Provincial, S12 and then National setup I’d argue that JDV would be mentioned alongside Dan Carter and Matt Giteau vs only getting a mention within SA shores! World Class is World Class – Schalk, Habana, Victor, erm… erm……. struggling now…… are the only Boks currently rated at that level. JDV needs to develop to get there, vs the SA approach of he scored a lekker try or 2 so he must be good!

• 77.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote Andrew wants Kitty and who am I to interfere.

Just wanted to point out that the Order of the Monarchs are subtle in their forms of punishment.

They determined to see him freeze his balls off, stare at the four walls, and visit the silos for entertainment.

• 78.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Sorry Weepee I must have miss interrupted you previous post. I thought you said he is kak all together. I agree that he must play 12 and no where else.

• 79.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

I don’t think Andrew is going to get Kitty tonight in a very cold Bloem.

• 80.rednik: Reply to this comment

Snyman and DuToit on the Wings? And that does not make our Wings a weak point? ******, how **** could we possibly get?

• 81.HOUGAARD SKOP GAT: Reply to this comment

BOK BACKLINE VS WORLD XV:

9.RUAN PIENAAR
    10.MEYER BOSMAN
    11.ANDRE SNYMAN
    12.WYNAND OLIVIER
    13.JAQUE FOURIE
    14.TONDERAI CHAVANGA
    15.PERCY MONTGOMERY

20.RICKY JANUARIE
    21.JACO VD WESTHUYZEN
    22.JEAN DE VILLIERS (GIVE JEAN THE LAST 20MIN)

• 82.wpforever: Reply to this comment

worries me that Gaffie might be used ! i remember being thrashed 27-0 by the All Blacks. gaffie had the lame excuse thatuma an opening batsmen for our Proteas

• 83.wpforever: Reply to this comment

sorry Gaffie had the lame excuse that “nobody ever explained the defensive lines to him”hello sorry at top level you should already be wise enough and know these things…lol its like making Zuma our opening batsmen for Proteas…just not on

• 84.sarky: Reply to this comment

• 85.sarky: Reply to this comment

:afro: Spears
    :2funny: Stormers
    :nta; Cats

• 86.sarky: Reply to this comment

:knubble:

• 87.sarky: Reply to this comment

:afro:

• 88.sarky: Reply to this comment

:afro: :angry: :angel: :blink: :confused: :cry: :evil: :grin: :happy: :lol: :rolleyes: :( :sealedlips: :shocked: :) :tongue: :) :twisted: ;) :2funny: :coolsmiley: :idiot2: :knubble: :knubble: :tickedoff: fishing :nta :clap: :whistle: :shifty: :3some: :angel13:

• 89.sarky: Reply to this comment

:cry: :evil: :grin: :lol: :) :) :twisted: ;)
    :angry4:
    The above have a : immediately in front and behind. You type cry or evil or grin or lol or twisted.
    one of the places you can get s,ileys from is http://www.daimenhutchison.com/silverfern/smf/index.php?action=post;topic=11653.0;num_replies=32

• 90.sarky: Reply to this comment

:evil6: :evil5:

• 91.Mackie: Reply to this comment

Rub of the green boys, rub of the green.

• 92.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Wasnt Snyman once the quickest Bok in the squad?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.