Snyman impressed by young Boks
25 May 2006
Recalled Springbok back Andre Snyman is in awe at the young talent emerging in South Africa.
Snyman, still in shock after his surprise reinstatement to the Springboks, said he felt the future of Bok rugby was in good hands. He singled out Bulls centre Wynand Olivier and Sharks scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar as extra special talents.
“It’s amazing to watch these guys in action. The commitment and professionalism is incredible, but what struck me the most was the raw talent they have,” the 32-year-old told keo.co.za.
“There is plenty of young talent coming through and guys like Wynand and Ruan are coming on in leaps and bounds,” he said. “It’s an incredible opportunity for them to grow and show their skills.”
Snyman is expected to play on the wing when the Boks run out for the World XV game next weekend and is looking forward to the opportunity to get back to winning ways after playing the last of his 36 Tests at centre against New Zealand in 2003, losing 16-52.
It will be a dream come true after the midfielder turned wing thought his international career was over. “It was such a big surprise (to get the call from White). I didn’t expect to get in because Jake was building a solid unit with youngsters and depth in all positions.”
“While I earned most of my Test caps at centre I have been playing on the wing for two years at Leeds (Tykes) and I feel I can definitely add something to the cause.”
When questioned about the lack of pace, Snyman grinned: “If you look at Australia, New Zealand, England and South Africa you talk of a difference of a fraction of a second in pace. It’s not all about out and out pace, but rather how you use it to get past the opposition.”
The Boks seem to have the midfield covered, but should injury intervene, Snyman would be more than happy to leap at the opportunity. “I’m just thrilled to be here and it’s such a great environment to be in. I’ll play wherever they put me.â€
By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

692 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
25 May 2006, 11:45 am
Vinnie
Eish, ja I missed that.
But Planetrugby posts are monitored 1st so that is not a valid option.
The Silverfen is also monitored as they remove posts they dont like.
Vinnie this is South Africa.
There will always be a brawl. Whatever the topic. It’s what makes the place fun!
Now see what you plonkers have done. Gone and made Ig mad.
vinnie – Its the society we live in. Except it just like we have to except qoutas…
25 May 2006, 11:46 am
“Now go and catch a ******†that’s a line of Gareth Keenan from The Office man chill
25 May 2006, 11:48 am
jonnyd,
They are censored but funny that they mostly remove comments by unfriendly saffas?
bigg, it is not the society that we live in because most of you wankers would be to chicken **** to say the things you say on this site outside of your braai kamer.
25 May 2006, 11:48 am
Dam we urgently need rugby involving Saffers…..
25 May 2006, 11:49 am
Vinnie post 136
Perfectly put. For someone who clearly think he is clever, Katman is extremely one eyed. The way he tells people to **** off…. He puts up a witty post, realise that it was a witty one and then say, ok thanx move along… (I picture him in my mind. His got this, “I am the man” mentality. He is prob some small new age PC nerd)
Do an article on the decent saffa playing overseas.
A profile on them or something – off hand i think of a whole bunch.
Vinnie, I’m not arguing for another “side”. That’s the whole point. I’m not trying to convince anyone that my beliefs are the only ones that matter. I’m merely saying that religion – like vegetarianism, like the deicsion to wear long hair, like choosing a team to support – is a CHOICE. And to assume that everyone should see it your way just because some scripture says so, is very narrow-minded.
But that’s the end of this discussion for me.
25 May 2006, 11:50 am
Brickwall,
You are right but unfortunately you fail to realise that you are also the same, just with the opposite view.
Tloerance mate is all that is required.
25 May 2006, 11:52 am
Ig – agreed, Because Andrew has no news on happenings in Bloem and who cares about the Canes and Saders except for fantasy points
25 May 2006, 11:52 am
katman
I suppose posts like 94 arent supposed to be antagonistic?
25 May 2006, 11:53 am
Stoffel,
It is no use explaining anything to that idiot … the only way he learns is if you jack him in the head after stating the information you want him to remember …
Even then its kinda 50/50 …
25 May 2006, 11:54 am
Stoffel
tongue in cheek my friend.
I am outta here.
25 May 2006, 11:55 am
Silent ****
Sounds like you have a cure.
Care to administer it?
Saffa style nogal.
Gutless wanker.
25 May 2006, 11:55 am
I think when Habanna is ready again, he should team up with Snyman on the other side. That will keep JDV where he belongs. On the inside.
25 May 2006, 11:59 am
Vinnie
Where do you draw the line? I tolerate most things, but blaspheme is where I draw the line. Thats all. I am not trying to force anybody to believe in what I believe in. I just want some respect.
If you believe in human rights and someone rapes a woman. Will you keep quite?
25 May 2006, 12:00 pm
Brickwall, put a sock in it or go for lunch.
25 May 2006, 12:00 pm
Jondood seems to have a problem with anyone with the name Bob.
25 May 2006, 12:01 pm
That is correct ****.
25 May 2006, 12:04 pm
Dag se Ou Grote
Seems to be a lack of rugby related issues at the moment!!!
25 May 2006, 12:06 pm
169 – maybe he has a fobia of palindrome’s
25 May 2006, 12:06 pm
I thought he said he was outta here.
25 May 2006, 12:07 pm
I assume the practice match against the Shimlas will be an open house on Friday night,if so does anybody know what time it transpires??
25 May 2006, 12:08 pm
brickwall, you dont need to tolerate it in your speech or that of your kids. hell probably not even your wife.
Unfortuantely, and thsi may surprise you, you dont control the actiosn of others mate.
Sad but true.
For the record i dont condone it either but know that a religious crusade will not change a thing and in fact you just fan the fires when try to force others into your way of thinking and behaving.
And at the end of the day every person has the freedom to say what they like, irrespective of whether you condone it or not.
25 May 2006, 12:09 pm
rasta – You at the right place if you looking to talk kak.
Ou Grote
Jy se nie vir my gaan weg nie! Gaan jy weg!
Farmer your a big ***. The guy made a phrase and used *****… then you come on and break pretty much every commandment in the Bible Judging everyone on this site, DOOS.
Go to church and pray for the Boks rather than come on here and dictate to everyone… Prick.
25 May 2006, 12:10 pm
Brickwall, go pick a fight with someone else.
25 May 2006, 12:16 pm
Vinnie
Well I’ll then respect your view.
25 May 2006, 12:16 pm
Jy het begin. Wassie ekkie!
25 May 2006, 12:18 pm
Maaaaaa, Ou grote soek met my moeilikheid!
Word groot poepol. Ek het nie n fight probeer pick nie.
25 May 2006, 12:21 pm
Agreed brickwall.
that was a much more sensible debate than the one earlier and defiantely more fruitful.
25 May 2006, 12:23 pm
Vinnie
Jy noem dit wedersydse respek. (My hele argument in een sin)
25 May 2006, 12:26 pm
Brickwall,
practice what you preach and forgive them. immediately. set an example. go on a crusade, do whatever you like but do it elsewhere.
25 May 2006, 12:30 pm
if you leave south africans alone for long enough they will either **** or fight, but usually both. i’m afraid the threads will be like this for a while, cause i dont particularly like agreeing with everybody when the Boks are playing, so i cant wait for the CC. so we can really get abusive again. its just not the same fighting with Provvas about who should be Bok flyhalf, as it is arguing about whether or not all WP players ride the polony pony.
25 May 2006, 12:33 pm
Middag manne
Lyk my die liefde vloei weer vanoggend… of is dit Bloed. Kalmeer mense dis amper naweek. En vir die kerk mense Sondag is om die draai
25 May 2006, 12:34 pm
Too true bluebarb
25 May 2006, 12:36 pm
i like your style blueburb… I love fighting with the bulltjies supporters. Remember that the Bulls are not going to beat WP for ever…
25 May 2006, 12:38 pm
I am outraged.
25 May 2006, 12:39 pm
Express your rage Dawn…
25 May 2006, 12:40 pm
Dawn…you make me yawn
25 May 2006, 12:41 pm
Me too, Dawn.
Someone stole my big black wheelie bin when I put it out on Monday for rubbish collection. So I stole someone else’s. I am outraged that I was forced to do this.
25 May 2006, 12:42 pm
LOL Katman
25 May 2006, 12:42 pm
Sies Katman
You stole someone’s garbage??
25 May 2006, 12:43 pm
Just an comment
When JW was asked as to whether he will adapt the boks gameplan to be something like the bulls’, he said something like this: Hell, that will be the last thing I’ll ever do.
Seems like White is at least not that stupid after all.
25 May 2006, 12:43 pm
Like a number of posters on this site, jondood would rather be wrong than quiet …
Amazing how the quality of debate improves when his 47 IQ points aren’t around.
25 May 2006, 12:44 pm
Brickwall
Who asked him such a stupid question anyway?
25 May 2006, 12:44 pm
Someone scraped my wing mirror and took the rubber off.
Damn I’m outraged.
25 May 2006, 12:46 pm
Kwensi
SASI
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All