Snyman impressed by young Boks

Recalled Springbok back Andre Snyman is in awe at the young talent emerging in South Africa.

Snyman, still in shock after his surprise reinstatement to the Springboks, said he felt the future of Bok rugby was in good hands. He singled out Bulls centre Wynand Olivier and Sharks scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar as extra special talents.

“It’s amazing to watch these guys in action. The commitment and professionalism is incredible, but what struck me the most was the raw talent they have,” the 32-year-old told keo.co.za.

“There is plenty of young talent coming through and guys like Wynand and Ruan are coming on in leaps and bounds,” he said. “It’s an incredible opportunity for them to grow and show their skills.”

Snyman is expected to play on the wing when the Boks run out for the World XV game next weekend and is looking forward to the opportunity to get back to winning ways after playing the last of his 36 Tests at centre against New Zealand in 2003, losing 16-52.

It will be a dream come true after the midfielder turned wing thought his international career was over. “It was such a big surprise (to get the call from White). I didn’t expect to get in because Jake was building a solid unit with youngsters and depth in all positions.”

“While I earned most of my Test caps at centre I have been playing on the wing for two years at Leeds (Tykes) and I feel I can definitely add something to the cause.”

When questioned about the lack of pace, Snyman grinned: “If you look at Australia, New Zealand, England and South Africa you talk of a difference of a fraction of a second in pace. It’s not all about out and out pace, but rather how you use it to get past the opposition.”

The Boks seem to have the midfield covered, but should injury intervene, Snyman would be more than happy to leap at the opportunity. “I’m just thrilled to be here and it’s such a great environment to be in. I’ll play wherever they put me.”

By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

692 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

• 251.katman: Reply to this comment

20 over Bakkies’ IQ? That’s a pretty hot round then. Two tough par 5′s and I’m already there.

• 252.katman: Reply to this comment

Weapons of Mass Seduction, Dawn?

• 253.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shoot? Shot over 20? Over 20 what?

See that terminology is all wrong.

(Leaves to open gun safe).

• 254.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Katman the wheels came off this morning.

Golfis Horribalis! 98 T-time of 6:30 in this blerry cold didn’t help much either.

Went up and down a few times. Head went up. Ball stayed down.

• 255.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

So not a hell of alot said about andre snyman on this post

• 256.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Bakkies het 5 A’s in matriek gehad! Hy het engels gemis… :grin:

• 257.katman: Reply to this comment

I feel your misery, Red. I often have games like that. My problem is that I stand too close to the ball. After I’ve hit it.

• 258.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Supa, was that the day when the dentist battled with the procedure and he had to go AAAAAHH, 5 times?

• 259.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Dawn what you on about

• 260.suparugby: Reply to this comment

“Went up and down a few times. Head went up. Ball stayed down”

Were you having ***? “Ball”? Accident? :lol:

• 261.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Is there a God

• 262.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Bokdiehard, were all gonna find out one day.

• 263.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Been raining on the “Golf Coast” for a week solid and now I have to man the office for the two sunniest days we’ve had in ages.I bet a house my Friday round is rained out big f-ing front on the way from Slaapstadt!!!!

• 264.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

where is every body seemed so full a while ago

• 265.RedCard: Reply to this comment

lol supa. Wish I stayed home. At least there I wouldn’t have wasted the shots.

• 266.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Before anyone jumps on me for foul language by f-ing I really meant freezing,promise. :)

• 267.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Thanx red this post seemed so religous thought maybe i could find some answers Here?

• 268.suparugby: Reply to this comment

lol @ Redcard

The 5 A’s was when he got a hiding from the principal! :) 5 harde houe!

• 269.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Lunchtime Bok. Everybody screws around on the website but boy, when lunchtime arives they’re outa here. Also see how quiet is gets between 16:45 and 16:50?

• 270.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

I think the language on this site is quite exemplary

• 271.katman: Reply to this comment

Rasta, I played Arabella a few weeks ago and it was pissing down and the wind was howling. But I was there and I was adamant that I would play. Shot a kak score, but loved it nonetheless.

Now I’ve done the ligaments in my ankle, which means no golf for a few months.

• 272.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Dont worry Bok.

The dyslexic, insomniac, philosopher lay awake the whole evening wondering if there is a dog.

• 273.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Dawn are you battling with the safe?

• 274.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Tough break Kat
    Hope it heals soon!
    There is no worse thing for me than,than a disruption of my time on the course!!!
    We have a new golf simulator down here and its awesome,no walking just step up and play.It’s like virtual playstation.

• 275.Stormer: Reply to this comment

Lord, please save us from **** threads like these.

• 276.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Lord pleae save us from the rugby the Stormers played this year!!! :roll:

• 277.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bokvrek

I’m on about something which is obviously beyond your limited comprehension.

Mamparra.

• 278.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Katman

At least you didnt pick up a groin injury!

• 279.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

NOW NOW DAWN dont get personal just a question try play nice

• 280.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Dawn, Do you play golf?

• 281.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Golf simulator. Makes the balls jump up and down.

Yeesh. Must be tough being a guy.

Gun safe is open, but am spoilt for choice.

• 282.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Well if you guys are scared of groin injuries please stay away from bloemfontein i hear there is a contagious groin injury pandemic thats highly contagious

• 283.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Go with the 30.06 it such a nice weapon Is ther one in your gun safe/

• 284.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

How long does take you to open a gun safe, who is the mamparra now?

• 285.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Grote.

Now what would a revolutionary like me be doing on a golf course if not lining up the snipers or blowing it up?

• 286.jondood: Reply to this comment

BokDieHard

Ever seen what happens to a Dassie after being shot with an 30.06?

Especially with soft nose bullets.

SPLAT.

• 287.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Grote vok jy’s moeilik.

Takes time to post replies to questions!

• 288.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Dawn, Have you ever heard of the Hustler or Teasers golf day?

• 289.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Sorry Jondood only shot bigger game with my 30.06 but must be quite a sight , actually going this weekend to a farm to go shoot rats in a massive barn should take the 30.06

• 290.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jondood you may be useful after all.

I want a gun. What’s your recommendation?

• 291.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Dawn, tussen die swepe wat klap en die sout wat gemyn word hier probeer ek so vinnig moontlik reply.

• 292.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Dawn what is your revolution all in aid of.

• 293.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

What type of gun you looking for? Hunting or killing, meaning rifle or hand gun?

• 294.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Am i the only one who has to scroll down to the last post every time is there an easier way its so annoying

• 295.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

HI guys Im back

What’s up?

• 296.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

… or not?

• 297.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hand gun, killing.

Bokvrek. F5 key.

• 298.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Hey Bloem… Dawn wants to kill something or someone

• 299.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Julle klink soos n klomp kriminele! Wil iemand n handgun by my koop sonder n lisensie? (If you cant beat them join them) :twisted:

• 300.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

For a lady 38 special

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.