Venter to captain Boks
25 May 2006
Sharks loosie AJ Venter is favourite to be named captain of the Springboks against the World XV at Ellis Park next Saturday.
The Springbok management has yet to decide on who will replace John Smit, but it will definitely come from one of either Venter, Wikus van Heerden or Victor Matfield. A final decision will only be made following the Boks warm-up match against Shimlas on Friday evening.
With John Smit ruled out with a groin strain, speculation has been rife in Bloemfontein as to a possible successor to lead the Boks for the unofficial Test on June 3. Smit may also miss the opening Test against Scotland in Durban, which would mean the man appointed for the World XV game may then become South Africa’s 52nd Test skipper the following weekend.
It is thus a decision that White and co will not take lightly. And only the most deserving of men have been handed the captain’s armband in Springbok Tests.
Several candidates have presented themselves with strong credentials though, but it seems Venter will get the nod. Jake White is a known fan of the leaderhsip abilities of Wikus van Heerden, but it seems the tearaway flanker will not feature in the starting line-up.
Lock Victor Matfield is another with captaincy experience, but he and White are known not to see eye to eye and it is doubtful the Bok coach will elevate Matfield to that position.
Gary Botha is expected to replace Smit in the No 2 jumper, but if Hanyani Shimange starts, then Van Heerden may actually start ahead of Solly Tyibilika and provide him with the opportunity to captain his country.
Cheetahs captain Juan Smith and Stormers duo De Wet Barry and Schalk Burger are not considered strong contenders. The latter two are unlikely to play in Johannesburg anyway.
Possible Springbok XV to play World XV:
15 Percy Montgomery
14 Gaffie du Toit
13 Jaque Fourie
12 Jean de Villiers
11 Andre Snyman
10 Jaco van der Westhuyzen
9 Ruan Pienaar
8 AJ Venter (captain)
7 Juan Smith
6 Solly Tyibilika
5 Victor Matfield
4 Danie Rossouw
3 Jannie du Plessis
2 Gary Botha
1 Eddie Andrews
By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

213 Comments
25 May 2006, 16:24 pm
Victor or Schalk likely to captain Boks
May 25 2006 at 03:13PM
Bloemfontein – With captain John Smit likely to miss the Springbok season opener against the World XV in Johannesburg next week, the task of leading the team will probably fall on the shoulders of Victor Matfield or Schalk Burger.
The match will not count as an official Test, so the captain for the day will not receive official kudos as skipper.
The Springboks ran two sides in training on Thursday, the first clear indication of the starting team to play against the World XV and perhaps some of the combinations coach Jake White will be looking to cement ahead of the Scottish Series and Tri-Nations.
….
With so many injuries the team takes on a greenish look, with Cheetahs prop Jannie du Plessis set to start with Eddie Andrews on the tight-head and Gary Botha at hooker.
There is also a new look at scrumhalf
Matfield did not train on Thursday but he should be fit and he will take his place next to Danie Rossouw with Albert van den Berg on the bench.
The loose trio is also a good indication of the type of game White wants to implement, with the combination of Burger, Juan Smith and Solly Tyabilika presumed to start.
There is also a new look at scrumhalf with the promising Ruan Pienaar set to start and he should be teamed up with Jaco van der Westhuyzen.
At centre, White looks to have a settled combination in Jean de Villiers and Jaque Fourie, while it seems two recycled wingers will turn out in Gaffie du Toit on the left and Andre Snyman on the right.
That leaves fullback and from the training it looks like veteran Percy Montgomery will get a starting run, with Brent Russell likely to be an impact player in the second half.
Russell has looked especially in fine nick at training this week. With the injury cloud settling and seemingly not going away just yet, the Springboks had a settled look and put in a more than decent training effort. – Sapa
25 May 2006, 16:25 pm
I guess they’ll make anyone captain these days.
25 May 2006, 16:27 pm
Some new news, Andy well done. It was along day.
25 May 2006, 16:29 pm
ja start shimmie and make wickus captain!!
25 May 2006, 16:30 pm
Conflicting reports from IOL
25 May 2006, 16:31 pm
I should captain the boks. I have excellent leadership qualities.
25 May 2006, 16:31 pm
AJ Venter is the best choice for Springbok captain. He has got experience and has had a good season with the Sharks this year. Wikus van Heerden also not a bad player, but he’s not in the top 4 loosies in SA and AJ is. Victor Matfield isn’t the best option for captain although his the best lock in SA. I hope AJ Venter is Bok captain.
That “possible” Springbok team of yours aren’t too bad.
Keo, please, I’ve subscribed at SA Rugby mag at the begining of the year and I still haven’t got the newest mag. Aren’t I supposed too get it before it hits the stores?
25 May 2006, 16:32 pm
Frenchy, This is not the SARUGBY complaints line.
25 May 2006, 16:33 pm
It is amazing that now that there will be 2 white wingers there are suddenly 2 black players amongst the forwards…
25 May 2006, 16:34 pm
Absolutely
25 May 2006, 16:34 pm
wpw, Welcome boet. Where were you the hole day?
25 May 2006, 16:35 pm
wpw
In other words if your poepel turns white your mouth will be brown?
25 May 2006, 16:37 pm
Well, I have to agree with AJ taking the honours of captain as he will have the respect of the balance of the team as he has been there awhile and had a blinder of a season. Wickus might not be bad captian but he isnt the best player and I wont accept second best! I like the idea of rotating the hooker and loosie for the “baba`s game” Botha and Tryblika and then Shimange and Burger. Lets ssee if Solly has what it takes after no season at all..
25 May 2006, 16:37 pm
Well, I have to agree with AJ taking the honours of captain as he will have the respect of the balance of the team as he has been there awhile and had a blinder of a season. Wickus might not be bad captain but he isnt the best player and I wont accept second best! I like the idea of rotating the hooker and loosie for the “baba`s game” Botha and Tryblika and then Shimange and Burger. Lets ssee if Solly has what it takes after no season at all..
25 May 2006, 16:38 pm
i’m a big matfield fan , but maybe AJ will be a better captain. he will be better dressed if nothing else.
25 May 2006, 16:38 pm
bluebarb
You mean in his white slacks?
25 May 2006, 16:39 pm
Fabiolous
25 May 2006, 16:40 pm
…and that shows exactly how ridiculous the “transformation system” is. If HS plays, then Wikus plays and captains. If not, then Solly plays and someone else captains. Nausiating stuff indeed
25 May 2006, 16:40 pm
Jake is going to get hammered for the lack of black players in the team.
25 May 2006, 16:41 pm
He should pick the Ndugane’s.
25 May 2006, 16:43 pm
Exactly Skim, bet his regretting his selections now!
25 May 2006, 16:43 pm
What happened to JW comment about “you pick your captain 1st, then the other 14 are the best in their positons around him” !!
Speaking of most deserving….why the hell were Robert Skinstad and Corne Krige given this honour !!!!
25 May 2006, 16:44 pm
I agree, Chivanga is going home so he can replace him with one of the Ndugane’s
25 May 2006, 16:44 pm
Ou Grote
He might get away with it because it is not a proper “test”
but then some would saythat because it is not a test……..there shoukld be as many “previouslies’” as possible.
25 May 2006, 16:45 pm
yebo, first of all they were both good captains, let down by the system at the time.
Secondly, who else?
dont start the political **** now. next thing were all fighting and I’m calling stormer fans ugly names.
this is a strong team , and I’m quite keen to see how they do. expect a lot of substitutions, with a good mix of players of all colours getting game time.
If he picks the best players in their positions why doesn’t he pick Schalk Brits and Luke Watson? What is Solly doing there?
I am sure there will be enough on the bench.
25 May 2006, 16:46 pm
Skim,
This urgument has been done to death mate, get over it.
25 May 2006, 16:46 pm
I hope so for is sake.
25 May 2006, 16:47 pm
is=his
Jondood comment 12 – LMAO
yebo,
he has done exactly that, and now has to wait for injuries to clear up.
25 May 2006, 16:48 pm
Where do you get this hostility from?
25 May 2006, 16:48 pm
I smell big problems:
1. Only two players of colour
2. Only three Free Staters
3. Completely different team to the team we have had for the past few years.
4. No certainty on captain
5. The oldest back three in world rugby
Thank God Jannie dup is there.
25 May 2006, 16:49 pm
Skim,
Do you mean me? I was just saying that no-one understands it but it isn’t going to change.
25 May 2006, 16:50 pm
apparenty AJ is out of the game!
his hairdresser has come down with a mysterious groin injury and Fabio wont come out of his room!
Keo, do you have any info on this?
25 May 2006, 16:51 pm
not bad, backline should be good to watch.
25 May 2006, 16:52 pm
cheetah chump,
its your jocks you’re smelling dude. and you are right, it’s a big problem.
25 May 2006, 16:54 pm
I really like the look of this team, nice balance. with the players that are currently injured, we have fair strength in depth..
Gaffie could add some value with the boot.
Yebo,
judging from your comment, you obviously don’t know much about leadership and the game as a whole. Skinstad and Krige, although many do not like them and both had their fair amount of “negativity”, both of them were outstanding captains in motivating the teams they represented. Most of all, they had the respect of their fellow players and their opponents. Like John smit.
Victor is **** he thinks he is a wing…
25 May 2006, 16:56 pm
Kudu,
I partly agree with you. I don’t think Boby was as well liked as Krige.
How is Andrè Snyman’s kicking?
bunce, Out which tree did you fall?
25 May 2006, 16:57 pm
kudu,
the jury is still out on Krige, as far as I’m concerned.
25 May 2006, 16:57 pm
Ou man,
Is this the new thread? the old one has died, not before I got 590 though.
25 May 2006, 16:58 pm
I got 591
25 May 2006, 16:58 pm
John Smit is a great captain in my eyes. Teichman was a legend.
25 May 2006, 16:59 pm
So much for taking that thread up to 1000
25 May 2006, 16:59 pm
Did you read his book. Yeah he was cut in his prime. What a pitty.
25 May 2006, 17:01 pm
Blue-barbie you moron. You must be supporting the World XV if you like the look of this team. The only established thing about it – is the centre pairing. Nothing else.
Wake up and smell the coffee. Against a Barbarian type side – we will need structure, experience, and a tight togetherness to win.
Cant have that with a team playing together for the first time.
PS – the jocks smell beautfiul thanks
25 May 2006, 17:01 pm
Give the Vice Captaincy to Ruan Pienaar, I know this is an insane call, but hey it is against the World XV and y not blood the young guy, he will be a future bok captain sometime in the near future, maybe 2011 RWC. Im just suggesting.
25 May 2006, 17:03 pm
What is the point? Its his first game for the boks, lets keep the other pressures off him.
25 May 2006, 17:05 pm
Where is everybody, buggering off early?
25 May 2006, 17:07 pm
Oh the blonde hairdo.
25 May 2006, 17:08 pm
CWS the Order of the Monarchs are at the Tudor Hotel and the rest is left up to the night owls like us.
Where are you based.
25 May 2006, 17:09 pm
Skinstad was the most talented loosie we ever produced and we fucked him up with the politics and putting him in ahead of Gary, Krige was and is a ****. But all that aside, of the guys available to lead the team I would pick Juan Smith.
25 May 2006, 17:09 pm
I’m still around for awhile longer.
25 May 2006, 17:10 pm
Does Jaques Fourie dye his hair black?
25 May 2006, 17:11 pm
Did you see Juan in the first S14 game against the Bulls. I think alot of people lost respect for him as captain.
25 May 2006, 17:12 pm
Juan Smith is a dirty little boy but he can sure play rugby.
25 May 2006, 17:13 pm
Dawn,
I live in the UK. I work in Harrow (London).
25 May 2006, 17:14 pm
I’m not saying he can’t, but you can’t act like a spoiled brad when you captain. You need to stay calm
It is till early here 16.15pm
Fuckeeetttt!!!!
Just seen SA Rugby’s Tanya in a clinch with Dan Carter.
Bollocks and more bollocks.
Where did you see it?
25 May 2006, 17:15 pm
Where?
25 May 2006, 17:16 pm
We’re an hour ahead and I honestly don’t know where everyone is.
I’m hearing Twilight Zone music.
Dawn,
Are you smoking something or did you have a bad pie for lunch?
Slow day and it isn’t even Friday. :yawn:
25 May 2006, 17:17 pm
In the SA Rugby mag.
which SA forward isnt a dirty *******? For that matter what world rugby forward isnt? He was probably just getting his own back but if we want to have someone to lead the Boks in the future when Smitty isnt there I sure as hell wouldnt give it do Victor and definitely not to “the lights are on, but nobody’s home” Schalk. AJ isnt going to be there long.
I would have made AJ Captain years ago.
25 May 2006, 17:18 pm
50 cents,
Good point.
25 May 2006, 17:18 pm
We only need AJ for the WC.
25 May 2006, 17:20 pm
I think we should give bobby the bok captaincy if he can meet the bok fitness standards
25 May 2006, 17:21 pm
WTF? Bokbefok
25 May 2006, 17:21 pm
CWS for you I do the special deal one time only, 15 cents!
AJ would never have made captain back in his youth coz he was always off in the sin-bin! I really dont know if we have a decent stand-in captain in whats left of JW’s squad!
25 May 2006, 17:22 pm
If Bobby could play like he did before we fucked him up in 99 then I say amen!
25 May 2006, 17:23 pm
Yeah a bit worrying for the future. at least we will be okay for our first hurdle, this WC.
25 May 2006, 17:23 pm
Don’t think he is getting much gametime over here. His mind does not seem in it these days (pitty).
25 May 2006, 17:26 pm
Guppy,
Does he still play?
25 May 2006, 17:26 pm
I’m glad to see Gary Botha should be getting a start.
25 May 2006, 17:27 pm
wow are things always this quiet at this time of the day
25 May 2006, 17:27 pm
nah he is too busy with all his business ideas, good for him. I am no stormers/WP fan and never will be but he was the biggest loss to SA rugby in a long time. Pure talent like that doesnt come around all the time. But yeah there isnt really anyone sticking up their hands and saying “I am a Bok captain!”
25 May 2006, 17:28 pm
Before we jump to conclusions first ask Mr Hollely where he got his info from.
25 May 2006, 17:29 pm
84. I believe so but for a real 2nd string side. He seems to do a little Tv work for Sky and has some other business on the side.
25 May 2006, 17:30 pm
Does it not piss anyone off that Olivier gets a bok training call up and the man who he replaced “Etienne Botha” never saw a hope of a bok call up in his life time, that is without saying anything about the uselesness that is dewet barry
25 May 2006, 17:31 pm
That is one strong looking BOK team. Hopefully when Butch is back, he can play flyhalf and Jaco can go to fullback, to give Monty a much needed rest.
THe negative comments on this site towards White, get right up my nose. Plus there ludicrous. The Boks are by far the 2nd best team in the world. White propelled the boks from nobodies to tri-nation champs in 1 season. I’ve got the Boks to take this years’ tri-nations
25 May 2006, 17:31 pm
25 May 2006, 17:32 pm
he only called olivier up because he didnt have the balls to give Barritt a shot!Anyways the Boks loss is the U21′s gain. Ettiene was a fine attacking player but he had no defence. Olivier is jsut as useless in defence and a carbon copy of THE WET, crash the ball up and pray you dont lose it.
BDH,
Its the nature of the beast, Maybe EB would have received a call up now to a 45 member training squad.
Bokvrek in your dreams! We’ll be lucky if we make 95.
I’d pick AJ over the other pretenders.
Matfield only impressed me as captain for the Bulls in one game, Wikus’ record with the Cats is a concern, and Schalk is not the answer, not even for WP.
25 May 2006, 17:33 pm
Ettienne was an extremely gifted player- all natural talent but I think Wynand Olivier is a more complete player. He has good hands, good feet, strenght but more importantly – some good defensive work. I fear as good as Ettienne Botha was – and he was one of those natural footballers – his defence still lacked.
25 May 2006, 17:33 pm
I have got the boks to win the WC (14/1)
25 May 2006, 17:34 pm
Please Never make *** boy JACO a full back NEVER the sukiness of his full back play against saders Was awefull. But Yes JW Must Always be given a chance before he is scolded.
no way will we take the tri-nations but we will finish second again. NZ are far too classy and more professional than we are, I mean for F%&%^*& sakes we still dont know what the meaning of support play is, there is no way we will compete with the superior ballfetching skills of the boys in black
And again.
= 100
25 May 2006, 17:35 pm
81. Skinstad is only 29. 99 he played very well. The man is so popular world wide, to have him in the RWC2007 could only be a bonus. Influential on the refs, other teams, his teammates. I can’t believe i saw Andre Snyman and Skinstad on Sky sports together, Snyman called him golden hands, and now Snyman is in the boks and skinstad is piele flegging with sky sports over here
25 May 2006, 17:37 pm
maybe the man just doesnt want to play anymore? He makes more than enough off the field, maybe he was lucky, he doesnt have to go through all the injuries that the modern guys do.we played him injured in 99 and he never came back the same!
25 May 2006, 17:38 pm
I was giving it a go, Dawn i think this is your 1000 post give it time a few racial coments,maybe a religous slur, sexist crack and a luke watson SUX!!! and a thousand posts is well in the sights
25 May 2006, 17:39 pm
He seems to play a lot of charity games.
Following this weeks sucessful match against the Combined Services, Barbarians Honorary Secretary Geoff Windsor-Lewis announced that South African legend Bobby Skinstad is to skipper the Baa Baas team against the RN in Plymouth on 4 April next year. Skinstad, whose face is now a regular sight on Sky’s Rugby Club, is delighted to take on this role and will be looking for another good team performance against a Service team.
25 May 2006, 17:40 pm
Die hele dag lank praat ons kuk, nou kom 50 bucks en begin rugby te praat.
Party pooper.
25 May 2006, 17:40 pm
106 dont forget the “why the F(*&*(& are there so many Bulls players in the squad, they suck!”comments, and where the F are the Sharks in this squad, far too few of them and too many of the also-rans Stormers! 1000 here we come!
25 May 2006, 17:41 pm
So dawn, what do you want to talk about?
fiftybucks SKinstad had a great Tri-Nations 2001 under Harry Viljoen. Under Strauli, when they beat the ozzies 2002, Skinstad was looking like his old self. The man is not called golden hands for nothing. Even the die hard kiwi fans in London rate Skinstad, he is a very unorthodox loosie they say, but at times sublime.
Ek probeer my beste Dawn ou maat!
25 May 2006, 17:42 pm
The Sharks have always been dicriminated against. Just take the sharks, add a few bulls in there is you SA spun
Guppy,
My fok is jy nog hier.
CWS what I want to talk about doesn’t belong on this forum.
I’m already in enough trouble with the Monarchs!
25 May 2006, 17:43 pm
At 29 with 5 years rest he could easily play 8 more years two world cups a come back story worthy of Collin Moss “Number 8″ and hollywood, and i dunno what bussiness he is in but 2 million a year excluding sponsorships and come on bobby was the micheal jordan of SA sponsorships, BOBBY if there is anyway you could see this THINK about it we need a Skinstad at number 8 PLeEEAASSE
25 May 2006, 17:44 pm
Harry who? Please!You get me wrong, Skinstad was the greatest loosie we ever produced but the man was never at his best gain post 99, I dont think he ever played a full 80 minutes after that, all I am saying is that if he has got it in him to come back then nothing could be better for SA rugby.
So why does he not play anymore Leean?
BDH
Joe on form is no idiot
25 May 2006, 17:45 pm
come on At 29 with 5 years rest he could easily play 8 more years two world cups a come back story worthy of Collin Moss “Number 8″ and hollywood, and i dunno what bussiness he is in but 2 million a year excluding sponsorships and come on bobby was the micheal jordan of SA sponsorships, BOBBY if there is anyway you could see this THINK about it we need a Skinstad at number 8 PLeEEAASSE
25 May 2006, 17:46 pm
dawn, why were your knuckles rapped?
25 May 2006, 17:47 pm
Guppy
Don’t get her started
Santa Grotto,
Yeah shows how much work we have to do in the UK? It is still early here.
Sorry i repeated that but subliminal message to bobby, Oh grote where did isay any thing about Big JOe i would never KES boy through and through
Skinstad is gatvol
25 May 2006, 17:49 pm
BDH, Who is our current 8th man?
25 May 2006, 17:49 pm
I took a thread over 1500 posts and crashed server then I lost my temper with Jondood.
25 May 2006, 17:50 pm
new the 1st bit, but did not see anything out of line compared to what everyone else was saying.
Big Joe? so what you saying?
25 May 2006, 17:52 pm
You should have heard Propeller Head Ig that day, he was crying like a baby… Dawn don’t do that..Dawn don’t do this.
25 May 2006, 17:52 pm
:happy
25 May 2006, 17:53 pm
I’m saying when Joe is on form he can be just as good as Bob maybe even better.
:evil
25 May 2006, 17:54 pm
: evil
Have to go. Cheers all. Nag Ou Grote.
: evil come on
25 May 2006, 18:01 pm
Bok,
You are forgetting the : after evil
25 May 2006, 18:02 pm
Dawn,
I went back to the thread. When did you lose it with Jondood and why does IG care? I am new to this site.
25 May 2006, 18:06 pm
CWS everyone will be bored spineless if we go through it again so please supply e-mail.
addy
25 May 2006, 18:06 pm
:confused:
25 May 2006, 18:07 pm
:angry:
25 May 2006, 18:09 pm
:horny:
25 May 2006, 18:09 pm
25 May 2006, 18:10 pm
sean.morris@redmail.com
25 May 2006, 18:11 pm
Give me words that make smiley Faces please :envy: :veryevil:
25 May 2006, 18:13 pm
Mr green
cry
idea
evil
twisted
roll
oops
wink
cool
razz
oops
25 May 2006, 18:13 pm
25 May 2006, 18:14 pm
okes
whos got some news ?
:green:
25 May 2006, 18:15 pm
It is Mr green :Mr Green:
Testing.
:Mr green:

I’m all alone…there’s no one here beside me.
sorry all one work
25 May 2006, 18:16 pm
work = word
25 May 2006, 18:16 pm
andrew
fortune favors the brave pal.
living on the edge ,,,,,, thats what I say
25 May 2006, 18:17 pm
25 May 2006, 18:19 pm
I’m off…
25 May 2006, 18:19 pm
that oops one will cause keoberg to do some load shedding.
by the way ,,, please take note of the electicity overload warnings on sabc tonight. green means go yellow means slow and red means stop ,,,, type of thing
25 May 2006, 18:20 pm
It’s waaay tooo cold in bloem. bloody polar bears walking past my hotel room. It’s wrong.
cws
go for it. have you got beeeeeg plans tonight ?
25 May 2006, 18:21 pm
amazon
25 May 2006, 18:21 pm
Andrew
film it ,,,, then sell the tape to discovery ,,,,,,,
I promise ,,,,, scouts honor,,,, you will never ever have to go to Bloem again
25 May 2006, 18:22 pm
So who has started the petition to ge t bobby back in the green and gold
25 May 2006, 18:22 pm
Andrew
as a last q to you.
does Zola Bud still have a restaurant in bloem ?
25 May 2006, 18:26 pm
Kloooklux
it was a idea suggested by a sadistic cult posing under differnt names.
Keo’s gonna have someone look into it.
As long as you stay indoors and lock the doors youll be ok.
25 May 2006, 18:28 pm
adios Andrew
Enjoy the bloem weather.
my worst hail memory come from there while in the army. A old lady made me run out in my shorts and t shirt with a couple of towels to throw over her car. frozen golf balls oddly dispersed with ostrich eggs were coming down.
25 May 2006, 18:29 pm
Where is everyone
25 May 2006, 18:29 pm
Ive got my finger on the pulse of this thread.
hold on……jip she’s dead.
25 May 2006, 18:30 pm
BOk
i was holding up the one man show.
but am going now too. Here taken this flag and make sure the enemy does not get there hands on it.
Good evening to you
25 May 2006, 18:38 pm
When is this game and what time is the kickoff?
25 May 2006, 18:41 pm
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO dont let her die, Ill say any thing to keep this going SOLLY IS THE GREATEST FLANK WE HAVE
25 May 2006, 19:25 pm
oh great, now we have solly (i can’t even make the wildebeest side) tybilika playing against the worlds best
has white lost his f£$%ing mind??
does form mean nothing??
i will pick a player who is totally out of form and play him because he has always done well before.
stupid!!
25 May 2006, 19:31 pm
I Love gold
25 May 2006, 20:40 pm
leeanthonyw
Wake up man, White is a selective manipulative person using the press to further his ideas. How can half his group be injured and the rest be in such a poor condition that they can’t practice at full pace? They’ve just completed the S14 with no complaints. No, White wants the media and suckers like you to put pressure on the amateurs on the rugby board to withdraw his core group from the CC and also the S14 next year. He can’t win the argument by himself.
26 May 2006, 00:50 am
Strewth!!!!! If Gaffie Du Toit and Andre Snyman are the best wings in South africa heaven help the Springboks. What has happened to all those “diadvantaged” wings,specially the twins, who performed so splendidly during the Super 14? And Edddie Andrew at loose head? You have to be joking. His performence with the Stormers was abysmal, boredering on the absurd.. Ah well win four and lose four is about the sum of the mindset of SARFU at the moment. Finally, if the THAT Springbok team were to play the All Blacks at Christcchurch it would be a most humiliating outcome for South African Rugby!!!! Hamba Kahle
26 May 2006, 02:18 am
Sheez, what a slow day in SA yesterday! I see people tried very hard but to no avail!
Anyway, seeing she is dead but not yet 6 feet under lets see if we can get any more out of her…
Ou Grote #62, the game you refer to was Juan’s very first as captain, based on what followed I think he learned a lot and came out much better towards the end, his end that is!
Having said that I believe AJ will/should be the man, Juan can do it after the WC!
26 May 2006, 04:14 am
UPDATE:
Matfield is out with an ankle injury which leave Wikus as the strongest candidate to captain the “Boks” against the World XV
26 May 2006, 05:51 am
Wikus Vaporub, captain of the Cats, under whose leadership they couldn’t even beat an egg…
Ideal Bok captain material, hey?
And this isn’t even a test match!
26 May 2006, 07:06 am
Tackler I see even the kiwi’s are having a go at your ignorance and stupidity.
26 May 2006, 07:46 am
God help us ….. AJ Venter to captain the boks. **** me are the injurys that bad?
26 May 2006, 07:49 am
Kudu, comment 42.
As many people have stated on the site, Skinstad was a brilliant player, probably in the top 3 in the world at the time. Unfortunately I feel that both he and Krige had the same problem which was not being able to play the same game that they always play as well as the responsibility of captaibcy. Their play was far better without the added pressure.
26 May 2006, 07:50 am
tompig agreed however B
26 May 2006, 07:52 am
has andre snyman got any captaining experience? he sure as hell is experienced enough.
26 May 2006, 07:54 am
I see Du Plessis is playing. Nothing against him, just a question. What happened to Sepaka? JW was bitching about Sepaka’s lack of gametime, why doesn’t JW play him? Why JW doesn’t do things he is demanding from provinsial coaches?
26 May 2006, 07:55 am
can’t play sephaka as he is not fit enough – insufficient game time during the season. may put him on once his fitness levels are up.
26 May 2006, 07:57 am
Fuzzybear
26 May 2006, 07:58 am
Fuzzbear, however B?????
26 May 2006, 07:58 am
Sounds like complete shambles!
26 May 2006, 07:59 am
However Bob’s Guiness contract did him no favours.
26 May 2006, 07:59 am
Fuzzybear
Just for interest sake:
Who would you select as captain from the current injury depleted Bok team?
Don’t think AJ is such a bad option.
Matfield didn’t rise to the occasio in the Super14 and I doubt whether Wikus will make the starting line up.
26 May 2006, 08:00 am
Well, June 3 has no meaning, exibition match, the best opportunity to look at your 2d string players and gime game time to those who hadn’t enough in the s14. Or am I wrong?
26 May 2006, 08:01 am
I DON’T UNDERSTAND THE CATS UNDER WIKUS VAN HEERDEN PERFORMED SO DISMALLY YET NOW HE SHOULD BE BOK CAPTAIN. HOW VERY STUPID THINKING FROM JAKE WHITE AND WIKUS SUPPORTERS. COME ON GUYS THE MAN WHO PERFORMED BETTER THAN WIKUS IN THE SUPER 14 IS AJ. HE HAS MORE ABSOLUTE POWER THAN WIKUS. WIKUS SHOULD BE RELEGATED TO CLUB RUGBY AND FIGHT TO BE PART OF THE LIONS SET-UP AGAIN UNDER ELOFF. WIKUS SIMPLY CANNOT PERFORM. THE CATS FINISHED ALMOST LAST IN THE SUPER 14. GIMME A BREAK GUYS!!!
26 May 2006, 08:01 am
yes, you will probably find him on the bench. phase him in over the next couple of games – barring any injuries i suppose.
26 May 2006, 08:05 am
snot, i agree, i think the leaership potential in the team is spread pretty thin. that is why you would probably turn to your more experienced players – monty, aj, snyman. only thing monty can lead is a procession to the nearest hair salon. snyman is a new inclusion to this squad and may not rally have the respect yet from the players. that really ony leaves aj.
26 May 2006, 08:06 am
agreed DurbanShark,
AJ had bigger impact on his team then Wickus. But I still rate wickus as a very good player. It is just his bad luck that he was playing and captaining bad team with the bad coach. He and Jaque Furie were the only players who were giving their 100% in every game. Actually if Wickus had played for the bulls he would have been everyones first choice blindside flanker as he was a couple of seasons ago when he was drafted to the bulls.
26 May 2006, 08:07 am
For interest sake out of that starting lineup I wouldnt play a few of those players.
Rossow, Venter or DuToit. I think JW is sometimes far to biased towards players he “likes” as to form players.
I would play Bosman against Spencer, he might even come on.
I would play that young chap Pieterson from sharks onwing in place of Gaffie.
I would play Big Joe at 8 and make him captain.
Your probably laughing but Big Joe needs to mature as an individual and that would be defining moment for him.
AJ in my eyes is laughing stock in personality, no real respect, and in play abit of a cart horse and this season has made some basic bad decisions for the sharks in both loose and tight play.
Joe definatly has more flair and vision and guys would pasionate, as he always is about the big event.
I just think AJ is too old school wanna be south coast shick with out a clue.
26 May 2006, 08:10 am
Pale
My thoughts exactly.
Wikus may be rated as a captain and has the “track record” as a Cats/Lions player. However the Test arena is different picture.
AJ is one of the “old hands” in the Bok-camp and captaincy is not new to him. As mentioned earlier, I even rate him him as a better captai than Matfield, even with me being a Bulls supporter!
they say tru leadership abilities are only refleted when times are bad. and to be honest the last couple of years have really been bad for the cats, and has wickus really shown any ability to rally his team to some kind of cause?
The Cats actually had more success without Wikus – AJ did well with the Sharks before John Smit came back.
Anyway Wikus will probably burst into tears if we lose – he came pretty close a few times in the super 14.
26 May 2006, 08:15 am
fuzzy, i think you may be right. always had the feeling jake white was eyeing JvN as leadership potential. the problem is his injuries have made it difficult for him to be a permanent fixture in the side.
26 May 2006, 08:17 am
Fuzzy
Big Joe needs to “mature” or more bluntly..grow up! Yes, he does have more flair and creativity than AJ, but I doubt whether captaincy will help the maturing process. I just can’t see him having the players respect from a captaincy perspective. Maybe from a players respective.
26 May 2006, 08:32 am
I think I watched AJ try about five back flip passes to Britz this year for the sharks and not one worked.
He’s hard player but like his website http://www.ajventer.com abit ******* stupid. Watch the forwards light up the field yawn. Cant wait to watch yawn scrum after scrum after AJ trys to drive from back of scrum in his white boots and bleached hair, **** me Id rather watch paint dry.
26 May 2006, 08:35 am
Whatever Fuz!
Still, couldn’t help to giggle on your 205 comments. The question remains : Who do you make captain if Yawn Venter is not the man? And please someone else besides Big Mama’s Boy Joe!
26 May 2006, 08:36 am
So Fuzzy, if I am right you LIKE Fabio?! Yes!
26 May 2006, 08:38 am
Big Joke , no way bring back Skinstad
26 May 2006, 09:12 am
Either the media are dumb and getting bum information or they are using their platform to influence Bok selections
Gavin Rich says that Wikus is heading for the captain’s spot
He also says that this would break up the 1st choice loosie selection of Schalk Burger, Joe van Niekerk and Juan Smith. No mention of AJ.
Andrew from keo.co.za says it is going to be AJ Venter.
http://www.iol.co.za says it is going to be “Victor or Schalk likely to captain Boks” – Matfield looks out now
So 3 ‘repuatable’ sources are punting 4 different captains.
I could find more.
In some ways I find this good news in that clearly White is not leaking his decision as these guys are clueless.
My guess is that given the relative unimportance of the World XV game and the injuries we are going to see the top side rested.
26 May 2006, 09:16 am
You guys think the game will be on tv ?
26 May 2006, 09:35 am
Viva AJ!
26 May 2006, 09:35 am
Fuzzy,
AJ is ranked 8th best loose forward of the series.
Made 59 passes and 9 offloads of which only 7 were ineffective in 903 minutes (11&3rd out of the 13 games).
He further stole 7 lineout’s and won 47 on own through.
Had a 89% tackle strike rate, etc.
I would say that is what you need from a no 8, making an impact with minimal errors.
26 May 2006, 11:40 am
I would rather play Wikus and make him captain, AJ is a great leader dont get me wrong but I think Wikus deserves a chance???