AJ will lead shock Boks
26 May 2006
The Springbok XV team that will be announced next week for the match against the World XV will contain a number of shock selections.
Keo.co.za has reliably learnt the starting line-up for the unofficial Test at Ellis Park on June 3. It differs greatly from several predictions this past week, but at Friday’s “captain’s runâ€, the thinking in the Bok camp became much clearer. And a source close to the camp confirmed what is an exciting and youthful squad.
Uncapped lock pair Andries Bekker and Johann Muller will combine in the second row, while Ricky Januarie and Meyer Bosman will be the halfback pairing. Also, Bulls inside centre Wynand Olivier is to be switched to the No 13 jersey with De Wet Barry alongside him.
Olivier is considered by many as one of the brightest future Boks and his display in this game will be keenly watched. As expected the wings are experienced duo Gaffie du Toit (left) and Andre Snyman (right). Brent Russell gets his chance at fullback.
But as predicted by this site, AJ Venter, will be asked to captain the team in the absence of John Smit. Venter will be skipper when the Boks play a Free State Shimla side in a warm-up match at Vodacom Park this evening. He is expected to be formally announced as captain only next week though.
He has beaten off the challenge from Wikus van Heerden to lead the team, but the Cats flanker will play in the No 7 jersey alongside Venter who will start at No 8.
Baring injury, it seems coach Jake White and co are using this game to experiment with some youngsters ahead of more important matches later in June. It is unlikely that many of these players will feature against Scotland in Durban on June 10.
The front-row of Deon Carstens, Hanyani Shimange and Lawrence Sephaka will have their work cut out, especially with former Bok strongman Cobus Visagie out to prove a thing or two.
Springbok XV to play the World XV:
15 Brent Russell
14 Andre Snyman
13 Wynand Olivier
12 De Wet Barry
11 Gaffie du Toit
10 Meyer Bosman
9 Ricky Januarie
8 AJ Venter (captain)
7 Wikus van Heerden
6 Joe van Niekerk
5 Johann Muller
4 Andries Bekker
3 Lawrence Sephaka
2 Hanyani Shimange
1 Deon Carstens
Replacements:
16 Gary Botha
17 Jannie du Plessis
18 Albert van den Berg/ Danie Rossouw
19 Juan Smith
20 Ruan Pienaar
21 Jaco van der Westhuyzen
22 Wayne Julies
By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

328 Comments
26 May 2006, 14:02 pm
thats good
26 May 2006, 14:04 pm
Sigh…
that is good, front row dodgy tho.
weak looking tight 5
26 May 2006, 14:05 pm
jake still trying to convert van niekerk into fetcher, definitely has the speed, no forward in the game has his speed.
26 May 2006, 14:05 pm
cab,
pierre spies has more speed than all the forwards and most backs
26 May 2006, 14:07 pm
keg, true spies is bladdy fast, but dont underestimate joe, could be a close run thing.
i like the idea of the strong DwB at 12 and WO doing his stuff at 13, similar the powerful snyman at wing allowing the little dance russel in at 15, could be great to see.
26 May 2006, 14:08 pm
Ja boet! So much for Jakes wild statements…
26 May 2006, 14:08 pm
Worrie about our defense with WO
26 May 2006, 14:09 pm
worried
Jake White is a genius!
Whats so shocking about this team Andrew?
26 May 2006, 14:10 pm
Why oh why De Wet Barry why|??????????
26 May 2006, 14:11 pm
Hope they surprise us all by beating a starstudded world ix
26 May 2006, 14:11 pm
Pierre Spies is a bit tall for a fetcher isn’t he?
Last week all the muppits called for White to rest some players/blood the youngsters.
Now he has, and this thread will go to 300 posts with people moaning he has done that.
26 May 2006, 14:12 pm
I thought that Wikus was Jake’s blue eyed boy. The next best thing to John Smit ? After publicly declaring that Wikus was next in line for captaincy, this makes Jake look like a poepol.
Bad move Jake. Now the players will take anything you say to them with a pinch of salt.
26 May 2006, 14:12 pm
Spies and Joe are about the same size. Remember it’s BIG JOE
26 May 2006, 14:13 pm
Just a pitty that the guy who deserves a start more than any other namely Pienaar, won’t get a start.
26 May 2006, 14:14 pm
keg
why are you worried about WO in defence i think the last few games he did really good….and i think he will do better at outside center………lets see what happens
26 May 2006, 14:15 pm
Well I am happy about AJ getting the captiancy but not about the inclusion of Barry.
Pienaar will go on in 2nd 40 and make Marshall eat humble pie
hope this team gets f@*d over. Jake the snake needs a good wake up call…
Brickwall – it looks like a team that won’t get much change during the test. So Pienaar ommission might be indicative to bigger things.
Quinntessential, this is a Bok A side, doffie!!
A very clever selection indeed. Gives all the maybes a chance to show the Bok coach what they can do to get into the BOK side!!!! Only dubious selection is Van Heerden, that should probably be Luke Watson
26 May 2006, 14:16 pm
Rudebud excatly about jw. JW what a ****…
Jake blasted all the provincial coaches about playing players out of their positions. And then he picks Wynand at outside centre !!!
Mooi Jake. Man of your word.
and shimange?
Steyn,
WO is good with defense if they guy runs straight at him. It is a different story when they run angles. Look how De Wet Barry struggled with defense at 13
26 May 2006, 14:17 pm
All you ouens above are dense. This is an experiamental side
26 May 2006, 14:18 pm
this team does not look like a unit…just reads like a bunch of names put together…
26 May 2006, 14:19 pm
very experimental…
i think Barry is going to surprise a few with a good outside center like WO outside him, JW is the man.
I do think our front row is going to get their gatte handed to them against Califano-Ibanez-Visagie.
leeanthonyw
so?
Only combination in this team is Shimange with Bekker for the lineouts
26 May 2006, 14:20 pm
They are gonaa get klapped I suspect..
But I hope they do well and some new guys show their talent…..Really wanna see what WO does in the green jersey…
26 May 2006, 14:21 pm
probably as much as JDV did in a black jersey…
26 May 2006, 14:22 pm
Frontrow are gonaa be the problem…
brent will be explosive…
Who will Kick? Bosman or Gaffie?
Agree cab!
Our depleted front-row is in for a snot-klap.
Think the rest of the side is pretty well balanced with a nice mixture of strong-men like Snyman and more fleetfooted runners like Russel and Olivier.
probable shimange!
26 May 2006, 14:23 pm
Shimmy for captain! LOL
26 May 2006, 14:25 pm
Good looking side , pitty Barry is still in the mix. I personally believe that that man needs a break from rugby. Hope he remembers there’s a guy next to him and i hope his not going to think his the flyhalf for most of the game. Otherwise nice to see the new players getting a run.
26 May 2006, 14:25 pm
Does this mean we will see these players go back to their provinces after the squad is brought down to 30?
26 May 2006, 14:28 pm
Post 28 Keg – De Wet did not struggle with the angles only his biggest problem is that he is so slow most forward can take him on the outside not to talk about backs.
WO should be fine.
This is a good experimental squad. Good choice making AJ captain against the worldXV.
Rude – I think Wickus will get his captaincy chance later in a test when John’s not playing.
Keo – What time does the game start today against Shimlas, I wanna go and watch it.
fabio, stop being so negative… so should JW pick his first 15 then? It will be good to see if there is indeed enough depth in the squad. Team wouldnt do too bad i think. Happy for Russel and WO as well as Muller and Bekker.
26 May 2006, 14:29 pm
Keg not really fair on WO, he had one kak Super14 game, i even said he lost them that match.
since then he has been a rock.
This selection is precicly what JW needed to do.
Seems he even listens to the public.
26 May 2006, 14:29 pm
Gecko
I certainly hope you are right.
26 May 2006, 14:30 pm
Vandalozi,
I hope so cause I’m a big fan of WO.
That boy has talent to burn!!
26 May 2006, 14:30 pm
Is there going to be coverage of the game tonight Keo? anyone?
26 May 2006, 14:31 pm
Keg – I agree with you, but… my only concern is he doesn’t pass the ball
15 Brent Russel

14 Andre Snyman
13 Wynand olivier
12 De wett Barry
11 Gaffie
10 meyer Bosman
9 Ricci
8 AJ Venter
7 Wikus
6 Big Joe
5 en 4
3, 2 en 1
Banana – There won’t be coverage
wls,
Just expressed concerns about WO playing out of position. I rate the guy
26 May 2006, 14:32 pm
My A team will be:
15) Percy
14) Snyman/Russel
13) Fourie
12) JDV
11) Habana
10) J VDW
9) Pienaar
8) AJ
7) Joe/Smith
6) Burger
5) Vic
4) Bakkies
3) CJ/ BJ
2) Smit
1) OS/Guthro
If all were fit. I think this is an awsome team!
26 May 2006, 14:33 pm
Provvas
Good question , i hope they will go back because province will need all the help during the CC this year
This world team thingy , is this a new thing? or is it just for a Corne Kriege story that there are a world team this year.
26 May 2006, 14:34 pm
Brickwall – If all the players in the squad are fit and ready we could have a decent A & B team
26 May 2006, 14:34 pm
On Pure form and talent I
Would replace JVDW with Barrit and Percy with Peterson. (In the future of course)
26 May 2006, 14:35 pm
Sad state and an indictment of rugby in SA when Jake has to resort to Gaffie & Snyman as wings. The Ndugane twins are better then those two overrated guys.
Bloem Leeu
We have no reason not to field a good B team. I agree.
What game is on tonight???
26 May 2006, 14:36 pm
Capeflatsboy
As a Boer myself. I agree with you 100%
26 May 2006, 14:37 pm
Capeflatsboy,
especially Odwa.
26 May 2006, 14:37 pm
cfb – Snyman will prove to all the doubtfull one wrong. He had a good season in the UK and he is looking very good here in Bloem
26 May 2006, 14:38 pm
What game is not being televised tonight ????
Brickwall, my comment is based on rugby playing ability alone. Gaffie’s had so many chances in various positions. Why? I would like to know what the reason is for him being afforded all the opportunities. They even find a place for him.
capeflats, gaffie is a bit of a chop but snyman is a good player. they both have a lot of experience as well.
Which game is not being televised tonight ????
deWet Barry is so yesterday and shouldn’t be near this squad.
It seems that Jake will even give the team bus driver a run at openside flank before he looks at a natural fetcher ie. Luke Watson or Tim Dlulane
26 May 2006, 14:39 pm
Dawn – Boks vs Shimlas in practise game tonight
26 May 2006, 14:39 pm
Who’s playing who ????
26 May 2006, 14:40 pm
The boks are playing agains a club team in bloem a warm up game for the world XV game
26 May 2006, 14:41 pm
Game tonight:
Boks v Shimlas at Vodacom Park 6pm kick-off.
Boks will be there from 5.30pm.
Bigg: Shocks include locks, Barry, front-row and it’s very experimental. And none of them will feature v Scots. Maybe Snyman.
26 May 2006, 14:42 pm
Thx Andrew
26 May 2006, 14:43 pm
Like the team except for Barry (he doesn’t have a future with the Boks) and Shimange (he is just not good eneough)!
26 May 2006, 14:44 pm
But I believe it is unfair when wingers like the ndugane twins and even Giscard Peters are overlooked for guys who do not play in the domestic game.
26 May 2006, 14:44 pm
Andrew are those games televised?
26 May 2006, 14:45 pm
After your drivel last week nobody takes your comments seriosuly.
Train – Where is the prove that Shimange is not good enough, he didn’t even get gametime this year
This is not the official team , they think it is but believe me the team to play the world xv next week wil be completely different???
What a **** team … i bought tickets for the game , what a waste …
Wings are a joke , the ndugane twins would have been a better bet if ******* jake white is going to experiment …
There are 7 players in this team that should never be there …
Jake White if the boks get thrashed i hope you will refund me the cash for the tickets .
26 May 2006, 14:46 pm
Bloem Leeu
Maybe there is your answer he did not get any game time…why????
the gaf has more ball talent in his left testicle than the ndungane twins have combined.
Vinnie I don’t care what you guys think. I only use this website to make idiots like you aware of alternative views. I am here to educate a moron like you. You should be grateful for the free lessons.
Bigg I will be covering the practice game live tonight on keo!!
Not sure if it will be a proper 40 mins each half or whatever, but I’ll do my best.
26 May 2006, 14:47 pm
CitizenC
One of my biggest concerns for this team is the non-presence of a true openside flanker, a fetcher. Big Joe is a great player no 8 or even no 7 but not a specialist 6. The Bulls have felt the whipping they were not competitive at the break-downs in the Super14…
26 May 2006, 14:47 pm
Youre the only joke here mate.
26 May 2006, 14:48 pm
To me the shockers are:
Barry
Joubert
Joulies
Gaffie
Shimmie
Solly T
Non played enough or well enough for the past 2 seasons.
Shimlas gaan hulle donner.
Vinnie you also 1 of those okes who started watching rugby since Super 12?
26 May 2006, 14:49 pm
so its not on telly?
and keg i see, i never realised he was out of possie.
BL,
In my humble opinion he didn’t look up to scratch the few times he came on for the Boks last year.
Whilst I trust Jakes judgment, I’m not convinced that there aren’t 2 maybe 3 better hookers in the country than him.
If it’s a quota issue we should talk Dale Santon out of retirement – even he is better than Shimange!
Steyn – When he played for the Cheetahs, he was very good, and then made the mistake to go to WP to go and sit on a bench. I wonder if he knew Scalk Brits was going there aswell, and when he realised that, he should have moved to the Lions, beacause there is **** hookers there. All this doesn’t make him a bad player, give him some credit!
26 May 2006, 14:50 pm
The game tonight – is it on tv??
No CFB,
I was playing rugby since long before that Capeflatsboy.
capeflats,
i agree that the marley twins can feel hard done by, they have both been excellent. i would love to see them in the team.
but (you knew there was one coming, right?)
Snyman at least is as good as either of them. he only adds a bit of bulk, where they may edge him on out and out speed. bottom line is the team is not weakened by Snyman’s inclusion.
Gaffie, i’m not so sure about. both Ndungane’s are more solid under the high ball than him, and their attacking options are also better. His touchkicks may be better than theirs though. i would have rather had them in the team.
26 May 2006, 14:51 pm
It’s actually Shimlas u/21.
One way traffic….
Which way?
26 May 2006, 14:51 pm
Keg and steyn
WO is a good defender (he had one lapse at the beginning of the season, but has been rock solid after copping all the media flak) AT INSIDE CENTRE. But I dont know if he has the speed for defence at outside centre. Remember at 13 you are dealing withmore space for guys to round you on the outside, as well as hitting the line at speed and stepping. Tougher.
Anyway lets see if DWB makes some space for him on attack. If anyting , De Wet’s defence is suspect – his tackling has been **** all season!
Capeflatsboy. I agree that there could at least have been one of the twins placed on wing (and substituted for another at halftime)
I dont know what Snyman has been like, but I suppose Jake must have been keeping tabs on him…
Personally I would have used Gaffie on bench as cover for fullback, flyhalf and wing. He is a much better fullback and joins the line well.
26 May 2006, 14:52 pm
keg and cab,
It’s hard to tell, J Botes of the Sharks out sprinted a number of NZ backs this S14 season.
Albert vd Berg has out sprinted a good few backs in his career, most remembered when he played for the Cats and he run around Cullen to score.
Spies who played wing and Joe who run the dash at school are fast too but will they top the above and if they do by how much.
I personally think it will be tight between all the above.
All you twats complaining about Snyman – have any of you seen ONE SINGLE game of his this season? Or do you just moan because you can? Lekker oppie innernet, nê? Put a ****** sock in it unless you have been following his career overseas and KNOW FOR A FACT that he is playing poor rugby. Bunch of spoilt kids, you are.
This is a pretty damn good team we have here. Specially considering it is just about our second 15. and that’s what we wanted all along – enough depth to put out two decent teams. Now consider that we’ve lost an entire team to injuries. Suddenly this looks like a potent team, given the circumstances.
I personally can’t wait to see Meyer Bosman, Johan Muller, Wickus van Heerden, Wynand Olivier etc strut their stuff to rpove a point. Go Bokke.
You played the game too? Was it to be close to boys?
26 May 2006, 14:53 pm
the team has no openside flanker , going to get punished …
So Joe “hate a white line” van niekerk is playing as the fetcher , watson or tim dlulane would have been a better option than this …
shocking to say the least …
the ndungane’s are good, but dont write off old talents like the Gaf; big, fast and very very skillfull.
Bloem
Going to diffrent team does not make him a better player if he then gets game time…..my point is where ever he goes there will be a player better then him and then he will be back on the bench….yes the freestate years was good bud he has never looked the same again…..take jorrie he made the bok team and look at him now he get alot of game time but still is not a good player………….he should not be there end of storie
vinnie played rugby when the fields were still dry and yellow in winter, before tear round sprinklers.
26 May 2006, 14:54 pm
Well Said Katman
So not only are you ignorant and homophobic, but a moron too?
Interesting should be good, but why not start off with ruan and why the hell is DVB playing? Much rather see Juan Smith than Grandpa Wikus
Jake picked this “C” team because he`s afraid he wont get more injuries – what a pissy ??
An under 21 team?
Lagbol.
26 May 2006, 14:55 pm
bluebarb, **** those field on the highveld in winter were like concrete, the worst was all the grassburns that kept getting opened up, one and only time you applied vaseline with pride.
No TV, just keo to keep you posted!!
Bagel -
Wikus is no grandpa ???
26 May 2006, 14:56 pm
lol bluebarb,
HAd my fair share of **** fields.
Had to once play on a field in spine road mitchells plain with very large patches of gravel all over. Had virtually no skin left at the end of the game and it ended 0-0.
26 May 2006, 14:56 pm
Blou_Bok who cares about the result of this match Jake is making the right choice. Imagine more injuries against the Scots and French.
26 May 2006, 14:57 pm
CFB and Vinnie
Need a referee?
My point is that in SA quotas is a reality. Whether we like it or not. The idiots at SARU should take the blame for that. The Ndugane twins were two of the better black players during the Super 14. Yet Jake opt not to selct them. Instead he selects a retreaded centre and flyhalf in that position. However he does choose guys like Shimange, Solly and even Wayne Julies who were **** or did not even play in the S14. What sort of message does that give to guys.
Nah its all over Dawn. Think I already won by a TKO.
26 May 2006, 14:58 pm
CFS, fair enough, but JW also has his consistent selection policy, otherwise we end up with the strauli-viljoen eras with hundreds of players capped and the boks getting shafted each week.
26 May 2006, 14:58 pm
Steyn I agree that there are better hookers than him in SA, but he will get back to form once he starts to play regularly.
My top hookers: 1-Scalk (WP)
2-Smit (Sharks)
3-Gary (Bulls)
4-Shimmy (WP, Must go to Lions)
The thing is none of them will let you down. From a provincial piont of view all of them can start for a Province
26 May 2006, 14:59 pm
Quinntessential u were going tequira. I hear ur pain about The Wet, if Butch was fit he would be playing 12.Apart from that i like all the other combos, i would have preferred Ackerman and Boome to be in
Dawn I am a lover not a fighter. I love my man Vinnie.
26 May 2006, 15:00 pm
Bigg you big girl’s blouse.
Come out and fight.
You ask me if I’m girl or boy, then you run!
26 May 2006, 15:00 pm
Did you check that Dawn, when I mentioned my connecies in the plain the man loves me again…
26 May 2006, 15:01 pm
**** ****, Bloem Leeu. Send Shimmie up to Gauteng. He’ll become a legend there. Make the Free State sorry for giving him up and make WP sorry for treating him like a token.
agree bloem at 119.
Bagel –
Yeah , youre right , forget this game. But to think further – what would Jake White do if he gets a number of injuries to key players at next years world cup???? He should use the World xv game and Test Series coming up to build Squad depth and to blood players ??
I placed wing stats on the “Jake vs. the rest” thread (especially since keo claimed it is not available).
Every SA wing that played S14, only named the criteria used in that thread though (Tackle s/r, carries/game, def beaten, passes/game and clean breaks/game)
You will all be surprised at every wing you guys were rooting for on their stats.
As the ausie said in that thread, if you have the ball what do you do with it, well it seems with exception of 1/2 in sa not much.
26 May 2006, 15:02 pm
I think this is an exciting team, BUT Wynand must be at 12.
He is an outstanding playmaker and if Jake wants to see the best Wynand Olivier can offer he must play him at 12.
What can “The Law” Barry contribute anyway?
26 May 2006, 15:03 pm
they took us on tour every year to friggin Warmbaths. the one half of the pitch was covered with “duwweltjies” the other was rock hard. i hated that tour.
we never won either.
BrickWall, Bok A means it’s the Bok second side u wally
Hmmmm, please post those stats again. Also try bokrugby.com. I’m quite interested.
26 May 2006, 15:04 pm
Very scared of the plain Vinnie. There are lots of frustrated rugby players who dont get recognised there.
26 May 2006, 15:04 pm
Attie – WO is a good playmaker but then he doent get the ball out wide. He is the reason Habana never saw the ball in the S14. If he learn to pass he will be a great player.
26 May 2006, 15:05 pm
Attie i agree. JW should have played 12. Wynand and 13. Snyman and brink in one of those fast black wingers. Snyman will be wasted on the wing, u need solid chaps at the centres and speedy wings
Attie, The Law will make space for WO to do his playmaking.
JW is right about center play, there is very little space at 12 as it is, so good to have your faster playmaker at 13. cant wait to see that.
lol capeflatsboy.
Some mean boys there. spine road senior secondary wasnt the most hospitable place either…
Ended up playing a bit of basketball with the “locals” after the game… made sure i didnt win that game…
26 May 2006, 15:06 pm
bloem,
thats the same thing they used to say about Ettienne
Leeantonyw
I will also select Snyman at 12 with Foure 13 and JDV at 14
Agreed Bloem. He needs to work on this, but I heard from some sources that distribution is actually what he was really known for as a junior.
Don’t know why he ain’t utilising this presently.
26 May 2006, 15:07 pm
Yeah Dale Sandton comes from Spine Road High. That should tell you about the kind of players they have.
26 May 2006, 15:08 pm
Attie – I think it’s the Bulls gameplan that got it all wrong. Its the coaching and not the players
26 May 2006, 15:09 pm
leeanthowyw
Sorry. The fact that you picked it up proofs that you know what I mean. So whats the problem?
Dale Sandton!!
I have a mate who played Super 12 (and Bok, I think?) with Dale. He said Dale always looked forward to grinding the White Oaks. But in a good way.
Katman i agree, i can’t wait to this team play. I would have liked to have seen Ackerman or Boome there, just for experience and they’re good players.
26 May 2006, 15:11 pm
we played Langlaagte Tech. one year during a rugby day. i’ve never been beaten like that in my life.
Bloem leeu
110% spot on. The bloody stupidist gameplan ever. The fact that they got to the semis is proof that there is class players. At least a few.
Large patches of gravel with splinkler heads in the field…
And you get changed in a classroom without a roof…
Funny thing was we drew 0-0 when we played there and when we played at home got the snot klapped out of us… only thing was we had exactly the same team and their firsts had a bye.
Great sportsmanship sending men to play against boys. These fuckers had kids next to the side of the field… we were 14…
dale Sandton had talent. However uncle jack and charles got the better of him.
Speaking of kak fields, I remember playing a primary school game in Claremont once – the Jo’burg one, not Cape Town’s leafy suburb. The one side of the field had a rectangular drain cover in the 22, a few metres in from touch. And at the other end, the in-goal area sloped away towards the parking area. Add some gravel patches and very little grass plus a typical Jo’burg winter morning and bare feet…
26 May 2006, 15:12 pm
Bloem Leeu, maybe. I must say I would LOVE to say WO at 12 and your guy, Ronnie Cooke at 13.
Die verdediging sal sukkel teen daai twee.
26 May 2006, 15:12 pm
Dale SANTON. Not Dale Sandton.
26 May 2006, 15:13 pm
Vinnie you spot on. In the Plain they are not playing according to age rather weight my man. So I could be 26 and weigh 40kg. So I will play under 45 against a 13 year old.
Good for AJ and Olivier…De Wet?Ai!
Who cares about spelling? This site is for rugby Jocks!
26 May 2006, 15:15 pm
DIs rof. Ek was 34 kg to speel ek teen 60 tot 80 kilogrammers. Maar soos hulle se. Hoe groter hy is hoe harder val hy.
I remeber getting klapped by Jan De Klerk in 1982. Not a bad field, about as hard as concrete. I remember as we left, crawled away really, these boertjie boys were having a training sesion.
Attie,
Ag sommer go and read it on that thread man.
we played in Springs against Sundra (far east rand-almost oriental) and there was a cement curb on the side of the field on the inside of the athletics track. i fell on it with my hip. crutches for two weeks.
Attie
I agree. I rather scrum than spel.
26 May 2006, 15:16 pm
Attie Im A lions supporter and not cheetahs, but Ronnie is also a prospect for the future
Kak fields: De Aar must be the worst. We played barefoot there when there was snow on the pitch. After a while the snow melted into the mud – there was no grass – and created freezing mud that stuck to everything.
*****!
howya doing?
26 May 2006, 15:17 pm
It’s funny the 2 bok centre combos were probably meant to be :-
12.JDV
13.Joubert
And
12.Julies
13.J Fourie
Bjut it never worked out like that. I think JW is trying to get a partner for Julies and Wynand seems to be the choice.
26 May 2006, 15:17 pm
Jis capeflats,
You skinny hey!
Watched mare rugby than you played I suppose.
26 May 2006, 15:18 pm
capeflatsbpy,
Problem was one of their props had calves thicker than my waist. It was a bloodbath. Absolutely ridiculous and brutal man. It just pissed me off that when we played in their backyard it was equal and a pretty good game at that.
Also played against Collegians which was quite hectic – was a casper and barbed wire next to the field.
I once played against the reformatory boys. They had a guy in their team called Kentucky. The oke was completely burnt. Whenever they had the ball they would pass to that oke. No one was brave enough to go close to the guy. So tackling him was out of the question. They went on to win the league that year. I guess all teams were too scared to go tackle him.
Bluebarb,
In u15 I got a snotklap from an opposition players dad cos i tackled the kak out his kid. Broke my nose. I think I cried.
26 May 2006, 15:19 pm
jake white always starts the season with a wobbly patch, as he did against the wobblies last season. that’s cause he has to undo all the coaching done by the super 14 coaches. like kicking the ball into touch and how the rush defense is really supposed to work.
some of the regular bok benchwarmers like gaffie and dwb (last season) have done well when running on in green and gold.
give the man break. I was embarrased by bok rugby a few years ago, but now, my son who is nearly two can shout BOKKE!!!!!! with the best of them. Actually, it sometimes comes out as “pokkel”, which is not so inappropriate at times… anyway
the side does have a couple of surprises, but nothing “shocking”. BOKKE!!!!!!!
26 May 2006, 15:19 pm
Ja Bloem Leeu, I noticed that right after I posted. A bit slow today!
One of my bests mates is one of your Lion legends. Scored the most tries in a Currie-Cup season once, ran around the awesome Christian Cullen to score one of my favourite Bok tries.
26 May 2006, 15:20 pm
howzit okes? has JW not been saying he wants to do a graham henry and pick a large squad to have a look at our depth? Aai, some idiots posting about quotas and wickus being a grandpa. and Snyman is a class player in my book. I would pick him ahead of any wing playing in SA rugby at the moment. He also has experience of something like 30 odd tests for the Boks. And any oke that was consistently on the winning side vs ENG is a legend in my book.
Anyone remember the try he scored vs ENG in 1998 i think it was? Brilliant player…
26 May 2006, 15:20 pm
Hmmm for your info I am extremely fit and well built. You can find me in Claremont (the leafy Cape suburb) Virgin Active every morning.
I also played rugby for WP. I doubt if you could match that.
26 May 2006, 15:21 pm
lol Andrew!
Might have been my dad! Nah just joking.
Had the same happen to me – I got smashed by some kids dad who was playing linesman. The ******* hit me with the flag caused i takcled his dooughnut son!
And up until that time I thought Somerset West peoiple had a bit of class! Hottentots Holland High School.
26 May 2006, 15:21 pm
What position cfb?
26 May 2006, 15:23 pm
Attie – a site for rugby jocks who can’t even spell the player’s names? How hard can it be.
Bluebarb – I am splendid. Gorgeous.
26 May 2006, 15:23 pm
and ***?
26 May 2006, 15:24 pm
WPW – I will reserve my judgement on Andre Snyman until after the Scotland & France tests…
26 May 2006, 15:24 pm
looseforward
26 May 2006, 15:25 pm
Vinnie
You plank. Pussycat is a woman you moron.
26 May 2006, 15:26 pm
FA Cup final day 1994. And the Cape Penisula was have some of the worst torrential downpours in years. We were playing an away game on the Vergelegen wine estate near Somerset-West. The field sloped downwards from the two touchlines to the middle of field, and following another downpour, a river ran from the one goalline to the other, right down the middle of the field. You couldn’t see your boots so deep was the water.
Game got stopped 10min early due to fear or drowing in the ruck.
26 May 2006, 15:26 pm
You talking to me Vinnie? I have brought tears to men’s eyes. Make of that what you will.
26 May 2006, 15:27 pm
wpw – that Snyman try was in ’97
pussycat…..tell us more
attie,
pieter hendriks or cabous?
26 May 2006, 15:28 pm
jerome p… is that you?
Hey Vinnie, isn’t funny how we remember those stories? Ahhhh, the memories…….
Another time, we went out to the township and there was a game on the field next to ours, between two coloured schools. They ended up having free for all – of course our game stopped – players, coaches, linesman, ref, dads. It was incredible, but I’ll never forget this granny coming around the melee and smashing some 14 year old kid over the kop with her walkin stick.
Amazing. I think she was holding a bottle of meths in the other hand… might explain alot
snyman will prove him self again…he is still a good player watched a few of his games….and he still has it all
26 May 2006, 15:29 pm
Steyn – I’m out of time. His Delicious Gorgeousness awaits. See ya.
26 May 2006, 15:30 pm
capeflats… i dont believe you and if you indeed played you were probably a quota.
This is just a worm up game and this is not an official team. Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein is speculating!!!
There were more then 1 WP in my day. I played for the Green Poin Track WP. Dale Santon played with me. So no. I am not Jerome Paarwater. he was a sellout. He has no credibility in my community.
26 May 2006, 15:31 pm
played for Wp that is…
26 May 2006, 15:31 pm
That team will loose against the Bulls…home and away!
26 May 2006, 15:32 pm
Did Cabous ever play for the Lions? No its not Pieter Hendriks.
Snyman is a superb player. I agree with WPW that 1998 was a beaut!
Official Ruppdogg, injury permitting.
Mark my words.
Tonight’s game is just a glorified training run, but this is the team for next sat.
Wanna bet?
and there she runs with the tail between the legs
26 May 2006, 15:33 pm
Attie – that try was Nov ’07
In ’98 Rossouw scored the only try in a 13-7 loss.
26 May 2006, 15:34 pm
Gecko, Nov ’07???
cfb, i just got here, but it seems you got no credibility in *this* community.
lol just taking the pi$$ mate
200 is mine again!
Right Gecko. Couldn’t remember excactly. Still a beaut though eh?
Andrew, what you have in mind?
26 May 2006, 15:35 pm
scrawl you got it spot on there
why all of the “out of position” picks?
Joe at 6
Wynand at 13
Kabila at 3
WTF???
Steyn
She is of to get something between the legs
what position capeflatsboy?
And when did you move to constantia?
26 May 2006, 15:36 pm
rudebud
that is what i mean yes……..
snyman’s try was againt england in 1997, after we wolloped france and scotland by record margins. think that was the last time we beat england at twickenham
Andrew – sorry, ’97
26 May 2006, 15:37 pm
Rupp,
um, depends where you are in the world?
26 May 2006, 15:38 pm
cfb is Calla Scholtz!
That Nov ’97 game reminds me of Andrew Aitken.
Only ever stared two Bok tests – a win at Twickers, and the next year, a win over NZ in NZ.
Pierre
My point indeed. Jake was getting all his knickers in a knott about the Super 14 coaches playing players out of positions. Blasted Heyneke for daring to play Habana on the other wing, etc. Argued that he cannot evaluate players if they are out of position andsoforth.
However, he does exactly the same the very first chance he gets ! Has the man got no shame ???
26 May 2006, 15:39 pm
jannie van de walt? chester?
wpw you can only dream of WP colours.
Well I have mine as well as SA schools and SACOS colours in cricket.
That is what this lovely country of ours was like before. I was classified under a certain race group and could only play my sport within that clssified group.
However before 1992 no sporting team selected could claim to be the strongest in a region. Not all players in that region were eligible to play for that region.
My WP and SA colours to me is worth just as much as those issued by the bodies based at Newlands.
So mate please chew on that.
Ja Scrawl. Too freak’n right. And I’ve been at Twickenham every time since then only to see us lose.
This year though…
god truely hates capetonians. good weather for most of the week, and now it is pi??ing again.
No chance this is the team for next saturday! will be atleast 4 changes by then
Aitken one of the most undrrated 8th men, great player, as was Robbie Brink, quite similar.
26 May 2006, 15:40 pm
snyman, never played for TVL?
26 May 2006, 15:41 pm
212 should read Aitken starTed only 2 tests.
snyman played for the buls and the sharks and then he left
I’m in Brasil, will be going to Europe in a few weeks. I’ll bet you a bottel of Cashasa. It’s the real deal baby.
26 May 2006, 15:42 pm
Vinnie how do you know I’m in Constantia mate.
I played on the flank.
26 May 2006, 15:43 pm
Ahh now thta is the question!
26 May 2006, 15:44 pm
Robbie Brink was the luckiest player ever !
After 1995 all the bok players signed contracts with the then SARVU (R 60 000 per month for 3 years) not to go and play in Kerry Packer’s rebel rugby league. However, Brink was never chosen again to play for the Boks. Just collected the money. Lucky man indeed.
26 May 2006, 15:44 pm
Clever man!
26 May 2006, 15:45 pm
I wish packers super league had gotten off the gorund – would have been sooooo much better than s14.
26 May 2006, 15:45 pm
fok, i’ve drawn a blank, who were the wings in 97, pieter rossouw, hendriks, chester?
26 May 2006, 15:46 pm
Indeed. Brink bought a beautiful place on Llandudo beach.
26 May 2006, 15:47 pm
Brink would have made a great modern fetcher, tho Rob Louw and Ruben Kruger werent too shabby.
26 May 2006, 15:47 pm
gecko, help please? 97 try?
26 May 2006, 15:48 pm
Andrew – I’m in Brasil, how about a bottle of Cashasa? Will be going to Europe soon.
26 May 2006, 15:48 pm
cab – ’97 started with Andre Snyman on one wing, and Small on the other. Then Small & Rossouw, then Small & Snyman, and ended with Small & Rossouw.
26 May 2006, 15:49 pm
bladdy hell, james small of course.
I was lucky. My dad was a mean oke. Much meaner then any rugby player I ever came across. Got me to sit with books rather then girls. So I went to UCT, got a degree and a nice job. Now I have my own company. But I still try to help my community. Will never forget my roots mate. Hence my name “Capeflatsboy”.
Thats where I’m from. People there are my family.
james small?
26 May 2006, 15:50 pm
wasn’t **** muir at 12?
Hendricks last played test rugby in ’96
CFB.
I really do empathise with you. I too grew up on the Flats. But the political history and social deprivation is so 1984.
Please man as one gam to another stop throwing it in these guys faces. No-one really gives a toss anymore, it’s for everyone to deal with and move on.
Although Jake might pick a kuk team with no Ndunganes … he’ll fall hard on his face or as my grandmother used to say Hy sal sy gat sien.
So asseblief. Lighten it up!
Nothing wrong with beeing from the Cape Flats
So when is the news gonna break on KEO that bobby was on a “self imposed sabatical from rugby” sabaticals end , playing for the WP 15 Bobby will lead the bokke to 2011 RWC in New zealand.
26 May 2006, 15:51 pm
pale_toe
The man who smoked up the leaves….and he did Why…….it made everything so slow that is why…then he knew who to takle
Capeflats
So you got your own drug distribution company ?
Capeflats – good on you for never forgetting your roots
Impressive
26 May 2006, 15:52 pm
’97 Squad that klapped the Aussies:
Loose-head Prop Os du Rand
Hooker James Dalton Lions
Tight-head Prop Marius Hurter
Lock Hannes Strydom
Lock Mark Andrews
Flank Warren Brosnihan
Flank Rassie Erasmus
Eigthman (C) Gary Teichman
Scrumhalf Joost van der Westhuizen
Flyhalf Jannie de Beer
Left Wing André Snyman
Inside Centre Henry Honiball
Outside Centre Percy Montgomery
Right Wing James Small
Full Back André Joubert
Reserve Pieter Rossouw
Reserve Werner Swanepoel
Reserve Braam Els
Reserve Schutte Bekker
26 May 2006, 15:52 pm
CFB, you got a MacDonalds franchise?
26 May 2006, 15:53 pm
scrawl – yes, **** Muir played 12 on the end of year tour in 1997. Capped long overdue – after Natal let him go end of ’96 – and he then lead WP to the CC title in ’97.
two guys still playing from that team!
pale toe, helluva side, Erasmus was another lengend.
26 May 2006, 15:54 pm
pale_toe – Bekker & Els’ only ever test caps that
26 May 2006, 15:55 pm
all those who know what “gam” is, raise their hands!
26 May 2006, 15:56 pm
what a day that was…
26 May 2006, 15:57 pm
now let’s all chant… juba, juba, juba
26 May 2006, 15:57 pm
**** muir was once called “the slowest centre ever to play fo the boks”
26 May 2006, 15:58 pm
Wasn’t Bobby also on the bench?
bluebard – no, that was Victor Matfield in his first few tests.
percy scored two tries, even james dalton scored one.
bluebarb, slow but clever.
Sorry to dissapoint you. But I am a Chartered Accountant and have my own Finance Consulting business. You guys on this site actually is my break away from that rap. I just love you okes.
Dawn. I am educating my friends here on the site. The problem in our country is, we do not know enough about each other’s history. Not a guilt trip my sister. Just doing my duty. We are a beautiful nation with so much potential. But we not reaching out to each other. Daar is te veel agterdog. Come on Sister chill.
26 May 2006, 15:59 pm
3 guys apparently still playing. percy, snyman and os
CFB, congrats on all your achievements and wanting to still look after your community and remember your humble beginnings.
By explaining it to all and sundry, who do you want to impress? Stay humble.
Bokdiehard – no, Bob only started end of year tour ’97
Some of my best friends are white.
forget Victor, did you see Bakkies cutting the line for the Bulls in the S14 and streaking down the wing against the frogs.
26 May 2006, 16:00 pm
Last guy that called me sister is still recovering in Groote Schuur.
26 May 2006, 16:01 pm
cab – did you see Bakkies throw away a clear overlap vs Ireland ’04 in Dublin as he tried to go himself – and threw away a certain try.
26 May 2006, 16:01 pm
bdh, skinstad only started playing in Nov. 1997
26 May 2006, 16:02 pm
Dawn is your surname Izard
Redcard my identity is a mystery. So I am humble my mate. I just wanted to make a point to my sister Dawn
Now thats a horrible tight 5. I would love to see Sephaka playing loosehead against Visagie as it is hes prefered position so that everybody could see how kak Sephaka is, Sephaka and Eddy Andrews are both equally kak
26 May 2006, 16:03 pm
Dawn, you sound like a hardegat of note, you must scare the living bejesus into the boys, oh well perhaps its a test, apparantly woman do that. perhaps jonnyD is up for the challenge, he is not easily intimidated.
26 May 2006, 16:03 pm
Ja King – I’m sure Pieter de Villiers thought the same thing before 2nd test vs France last year.
26 May 2006, 16:04 pm
lol gecko at 267, did i see it, yes briefly, just before my foot slipped thru the TV screen, actually i cant forgive Bakkies for losing us that one, horendous vision.
26 May 2006, 16:05 pm
the king, are they **** in your books cos they are black?
Sephaka scrummed the **** out of Pieter De Villiers last year and is a good player. Not the best lossehead in SA but one of the top 5 at least.
26 May 2006, 16:05 pm
RuppDogg -
It’s a bet!! I’m in the UK in November for end of year tour probably, so you can give it to me then?
26 May 2006, 16:07 pm
dawn, you got mail.
26 May 2006, 16:07 pm
Really like the look of this team. Has combined youth with experience at the right places. Backline definately can getr things going. A Good solid front row. Untested second row, but glad they get a chance. Loosies are ok and can be great if they can work as a unit. I particularly like the look of the back three. The experience, calm amd explosiveness could prove to be ingenious.
26 May 2006, 16:08 pm
Anyone going to the Mystic Boer tonight?
26 May 2006, 16:08 pm
Dam Andrew you seem to have a fantastic job covering the Boks and going all over the world to cover them – lucky bugger
26 May 2006, 16:09 pm
actually Jake White set the irish up beautifully, i think he has a wicked sense of hunour, he had them foaming at the mouth with his pre-match comments, only for bakkies to stuff it all right at the end.
26 May 2006, 16:09 pm
Bigg,
Best job in the world for sure!! And keo’s the best boss ever
26 May 2006, 16:10 pm
andrew, gatkruiping is not appreciated, tell us what you really think.
26 May 2006, 16:11 pm
it’s 2010 and Ellis Park is packed to the rafters for the World Cup Final
!!!
It is just before the Bafana Bafana v Brazil match. Ronaldinho goes into
the Brazilian changing room to find all his teammates looking a bit
glum.
“What’s up?” he asks.
“Well, we’re having trouble getting motivated for this game. We know
it’s
important but it’s only S.A.. They’re sh*t and we can’t be bothered.”
Ronaldinho looks at them and says, “Well, I reckon I can beat them by
myself-you lads go down to a pub in Soweto.”
So Ronaldinho goes out to play Bafana Bafana by himself and the rest of
the
Brazilian team go off for a few jars.
After a few pints they wonder how the game is going, so they get the
landlord to put the teletext on. A big cheer goes up as the screen reads
“Brazil 1 – Bafana Bafana 0 (Ronaldinho 10 minutes)”. He is beating
Bafana
Bafana all by himself!
Anyway, a few pints later and the game is forgotten until someone
remembers, “It must be full time now, let’s see how he got on.” They put
the teletext on.
“Result from the Stadium ‘Brazil 1 (Ronaldinho 10 minutes) – Bafana
Bafana
1 (Nomvete 89 minutes).”
They can’t believe it; he has single-handedly got a draw against Bafana
Bafana!!
They rush back to the Ellis Park Stadium to congratulate Ronaldinho.
They
find him in the dressing room, still in his gear, sitting with his head
in
his hands.
He refuses to look at them. “I’ve let you down, I’ve let you down.”
“Don’t be daft, you got a draw against Bafana Bafana, all by yourself.
And
they only scored at the very, very end!”
“No, no, I have, I’ve let you down…I got sent off after 12 minutes
26 May 2006, 16:11 pm
Andrew
Bwahahahahhhhaaahahaha !!!! Ja right….
26 May 2006, 16:12 pm
Game on Andrew. What do I get when you lose?
26 May 2006, 16:13 pm
Has anyone seen this post on news24? http://www.news24.com/News24/Sport/Rugby/0,,2-9-838_1940250,00.html
26 May 2006, 16:14 pm
Cab it’s a label I’m trying to shake.
I’m really a marshmallow, all squishy inside.
Maar vok sometimes I get seriously outraged.
26 May 2006, 16:16 pm
Have seem it RP – but is doesn’t specify if it’s just players, or getting coaches involved as well etc.
26 May 2006, 16:16 pm
its ok, there are many blokes that like a woman that takes charge…its especially useful when you’re walking through a dodgy neigbourhood.
26 May 2006, 16:17 pm
Rupp,
A bottle of klipdrift gold?
Rude – you ok?
26 May 2006, 16:19 pm
I’m sure that Snyman scored his Twickers try as a centre.
26 May 2006, 16:19 pm
What game did he break his leg?
26 May 2006, 16:20 pm
Andrew, ok. You can mail me at lexicon1111@yahoo.com we can meet at the test or we can meet in the city.
26 May 2006, 16:20 pm
think snyman broke his leg twice. the second time when slappes dived on him after he scored
26 May 2006, 16:21 pm
How thankful am I that slaptjips retired… geez he cost we so many remote controls.
26 May 2006, 16:22 pm
Slaptjips is a legend
26 May 2006, 16:22 pm
dawn, stop shaking your squishy bits on this site
26 May 2006, 16:23 pm
that Cullen could move well in heavy taffic though hey? Robinson was a poor man’s Cullen.
26 May 2006, 16:23 pm
300 mine as usual…
26 May 2006, 16:24 pm
why is it that only JDV and slappes move so fast when their legs move so slowly?
26 May 2006, 16:24 pm
Too many damn accoutnants on this site…
26 May 2006, 16:25 pm
Andrew
Jip, im fine ! Just that part bout Keo had me howling like a rabies wolf.
Scrawl
Snyman broke his other ankle in a club game in Natal. It was sort of his comeback game after his lenghty rehabilitation process after breaking his other leg. Andre took the saying “Break a leg” way too seriously.
26 May 2006, 16:28 pm
wpw where is the mail
26 May 2006, 16:29 pm
How late is the game between Shimlas and the boks?
26 May 2006, 16:31 pm
26 May 2006, 16:32 pm
Klipdrift.
Say no more!
26 May 2006, 16:32 pm
i hear a bottle of red wine calling my name.
cheers chaps!
make it a good one.
26 May 2006, 16:36 pm
Sounds like fun.
Cheers boys.
26 May 2006, 16:44 pm
26 May 2006, 16:47 pm
I’m off to Vodacom Park.
See you guys on the other thred in about 30 mins…
It’s gonna be a draw 3-3.
26 May 2006, 17:33 pm
gecko 15 – you called it; spot on, over 300 in no time
Andrew, killer job
26 May 2006, 17:35 pm
capie 172,
Well built but light.
What do they say in Afrikaans : Nie ‘enough’ murgh in jou pype.
If you played for wp and are that light that means you are Zahier Ryland, does not look that well built to me!?!
How can you live in the capeflats play for wp, support the Lions as a province and nz as a country, you’re your own type of weirdo.
26 May 2006, 17:38 pm
26 May 2006, 17:39 pm
capie 260,
So your Tiaan Snyman?!?
26 May 2006, 17:41 pm
that team has no wings. lucky they are playing a scratch side
26 May 2006, 17:50 pm
Tiaan, you’re back!!
Give us the lowdown on Frans Ludicrous’ gameplan
26 May 2006, 17:55 pm
Would have preferred:
Pienaar at 9
Watson at 7
Du Plessis at 3
Russell at 14
JP Pieterson at 15
Julies at sea
26 May 2006, 18:44 pm
Worst bok side
locks no one mentioned in the whole s14
front row hehehe
half backs a joke
midfield even funnier
for side splitting humour (if u can take it) see the wings
Is it April 1?
26 May 2006, 19:35 pm
It is a fish and chips match so who cares. By picking Barry and Gaffie Jake has proved his lack of vision.
27 May 2006, 00:15 am
Pretty kak team, thank goodness its a non-cap game
27 May 2006, 04:02 am
Jake White the new Eddie Jones
27 May 2006, 07:40 am
The only real shock here is that he’s managed to round up enough lads to play!!!!
This is a total non-entity game,so who really cares who plays anyway.It should be good entertainment and a chance for a few of these chaps to get a feel for the Bok setup and players they haven’t played with before.
27 May 2006, 08:19 am
I’ve never come across so many stupid idiots as the pessimistic comments posted above! Thank **** none of you are the national coach!
27 May 2006, 08:39 am
antifickle jake white isnt a coach.he wouldnt cut it in the npc.I say this out of knowing not ignorance.
27 May 2006, 09:49 am
On Tues Jake is moaning to Kobus W (salute!) on K-Net Rugga show about coaches playing blokes outta position and then he goes & picks Gaffie& WO outta posy.
27 May 2006, 13:52 pm
Jake White just proved what an idiot he was when he announced that Wikus would be captain in the event Smit got injured.
27 May 2006, 13:59 pm
Way too few Sharks players for my comfort level. We’re gonna kak in the forward exchanges as a result. Sephaka is going to be the one major major weak spot which the French will exploit like there’s no tomorrow. He’s also one less player that will get to the point of breakdown to have any affect whatsoever on contesting the ball . As for the backline….expect the usual penalty count against us because of old dimwit De Wet Barry. Thank the Lord Burger is not there to further out penalty pain.