AJ will lead shock Boks
26 May 2006
The Springbok XV team that will be announced next week for the match against the World XV will contain a number of shock selections.
Keo.co.za has reliably learnt the starting line-up for the unofficial Test at Ellis Park on June 3. It differs greatly from several predictions this past week, but at Friday’s “captain’s runâ€, the thinking in the Bok camp became much clearer. And a source close to the camp confirmed what is an exciting and youthful squad.
Uncapped lock pair Andries Bekker and Johann Muller will combine in the second row, while Ricky Januarie and Meyer Bosman will be the halfback pairing. Also, Bulls inside centre Wynand Olivier is to be switched to the No 13 jersey with De Wet Barry alongside him.
Olivier is considered by many as one of the brightest future Boks and his display in this game will be keenly watched. As expected the wings are experienced duo Gaffie du Toit (left) and Andre Snyman (right). Brent Russell gets his chance at fullback.
But as predicted by this site, AJ Venter, will be asked to captain the team in the absence of John Smit. Venter will be skipper when the Boks play a Free State Shimla side in a warm-up match at Vodacom Park this evening. He is expected to be formally announced as captain only next week though.
He has beaten off the challenge from Wikus van Heerden to lead the team, but the Cats flanker will play in the No 7 jersey alongside Venter who will start at No 8.
Baring injury, it seems coach Jake White and co are using this game to experiment with some youngsters ahead of more important matches later in June. It is unlikely that many of these players will feature against Scotland in Durban on June 10.
The front-row of Deon Carstens, Hanyani Shimange and Lawrence Sephaka will have their work cut out, especially with former Bok strongman Cobus Visagie out to prove a thing or two.
Springbok XV to play the World XV:
15 Brent Russell
14 Andre Snyman
13 Wynand Olivier
12 De Wet Barry
11 Gaffie du Toit
10 Meyer Bosman
9 Ricky Januarie
8 AJ Venter (captain)
7 Wikus van Heerden
6 Joe van Niekerk
5 Johann Muller
4 Andries Bekker
3 Lawrence Sephaka
2 Hanyani Shimange
1 Deon Carstens
Replacements:
16 Gary Botha
17 Jannie du Plessis
18 Albert van den Berg/ Danie Rossouw
19 Juan Smith
20 Ruan Pienaar
21 Jaco van der Westhuyzen
22 Wayne Julies
By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

328 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
26 May 2006, 14:31 pm
15 Brent Russel

14 Andre Snyman
13 Wynand olivier
12 De wett Barry
11 Gaffie
10 meyer Bosman
9 Ricci
8 AJ Venter
7 Wikus
6 Big Joe
5 en 4
3, 2 en 1
Banana – There won’t be coverage
wls,
Just expressed concerns about WO playing out of position. I rate the guy
26 May 2006, 14:32 pm
My A team will be:
15) Percy
14) Snyman/Russel
13) Fourie
12) JDV
11) Habana
10) J VDW
9) Pienaar
8) AJ
7) Joe/Smith
6) Burger
5) Vic
4) Bakkies
3) CJ/ BJ
2) Smit
1) OS/Guthro
If all were fit. I think this is an awsome team!
26 May 2006, 14:33 pm
Provvas
Good question , i hope they will go back because province will need all the help during the CC this year
This world team thingy , is this a new thing? or is it just for a Corne Kriege story that there are a world team this year.
26 May 2006, 14:34 pm
Brickwall – If all the players in the squad are fit and ready we could have a decent A & B team
26 May 2006, 14:34 pm
On Pure form and talent I
Would replace JVDW with Barrit and Percy with Peterson. (In the future of course)
26 May 2006, 14:35 pm
Sad state and an indictment of rugby in SA when Jake has to resort to Gaffie & Snyman as wings. The Ndugane twins are better then those two overrated guys.
Bloem Leeu
We have no reason not to field a good B team. I agree.
What game is on tonight???
26 May 2006, 14:36 pm
Capeflatsboy
As a Boer myself. I agree with you 100%
26 May 2006, 14:37 pm
Capeflatsboy,
especially Odwa.
26 May 2006, 14:37 pm
cfb – Snyman will prove to all the doubtfull one wrong. He had a good season in the UK and he is looking very good here in Bloem
26 May 2006, 14:38 pm
What game is not being televised tonight ????
Brickwall, my comment is based on rugby playing ability alone. Gaffie’s had so many chances in various positions. Why? I would like to know what the reason is for him being afforded all the opportunities. They even find a place for him.
capeflats, gaffie is a bit of a chop but snyman is a good player. they both have a lot of experience as well.
Which game is not being televised tonight ????
deWet Barry is so yesterday and shouldn’t be near this squad.
It seems that Jake will even give the team bus driver a run at openside flank before he looks at a natural fetcher ie. Luke Watson or Tim Dlulane
26 May 2006, 14:39 pm
Dawn – Boks vs Shimlas in practise game tonight
26 May 2006, 14:39 pm
Who’s playing who ????
26 May 2006, 14:40 pm
The boks are playing agains a club team in bloem a warm up game for the world XV game
26 May 2006, 14:41 pm
Game tonight:
Boks v Shimlas at Vodacom Park 6pm kick-off.
Boks will be there from 5.30pm.
Bigg: Shocks include locks, Barry, front-row and it’s very experimental. And none of them will feature v Scots. Maybe Snyman.
26 May 2006, 14:42 pm
Thx Andrew
26 May 2006, 14:43 pm
Like the team except for Barry (he doesn’t have a future with the Boks) and Shimange (he is just not good eneough)!
26 May 2006, 14:44 pm
But I believe it is unfair when wingers like the ndugane twins and even Giscard Peters are overlooked for guys who do not play in the domestic game.
26 May 2006, 14:44 pm
Andrew are those games televised?
26 May 2006, 14:45 pm
After your drivel last week nobody takes your comments seriosuly.
Train – Where is the prove that Shimange is not good enough, he didn’t even get gametime this year
This is not the official team , they think it is but believe me the team to play the world xv next week wil be completely different???
What a **** team … i bought tickets for the game , what a waste …
Wings are a joke , the ndugane twins would have been a better bet if ******* jake white is going to experiment …
There are 7 players in this team that should never be there …
Jake White if the boks get thrashed i hope you will refund me the cash for the tickets .
26 May 2006, 14:46 pm
Bloem Leeu
Maybe there is your answer he did not get any game time…why????
the gaf has more ball talent in his left testicle than the ndungane twins have combined.
Vinnie I don’t care what you guys think. I only use this website to make idiots like you aware of alternative views. I am here to educate a moron like you. You should be grateful for the free lessons.
Bigg I will be covering the practice game live tonight on keo!!
Not sure if it will be a proper 40 mins each half or whatever, but I’ll do my best.
26 May 2006, 14:47 pm
CitizenC
One of my biggest concerns for this team is the non-presence of a true openside flanker, a fetcher. Big Joe is a great player no 8 or even no 7 but not a specialist 6. The Bulls have felt the whipping they were not competitive at the break-downs in the Super14…
26 May 2006, 14:47 pm
Youre the only joke here mate.
26 May 2006, 14:48 pm
To me the shockers are:
Barry
Joubert
Joulies
Gaffie
Shimmie
Solly T
Non played enough or well enough for the past 2 seasons.
Shimlas gaan hulle donner.
Vinnie you also 1 of those okes who started watching rugby since Super 12?
26 May 2006, 14:49 pm
so its not on telly?
and keg i see, i never realised he was out of possie.
BL,
In my humble opinion he didn’t look up to scratch the few times he came on for the Boks last year.
Whilst I trust Jakes judgment, I’m not convinced that there aren’t 2 maybe 3 better hookers in the country than him.
If it’s a quota issue we should talk Dale Santon out of retirement – even he is better than Shimange!
Steyn – When he played for the Cheetahs, he was very good, and then made the mistake to go to WP to go and sit on a bench. I wonder if he knew Scalk Brits was going there aswell, and when he realised that, he should have moved to the Lions, beacause there is **** hookers there. All this doesn’t make him a bad player, give him some credit!
26 May 2006, 14:50 pm
The game tonight – is it on tv??
No CFB,
I was playing rugby since long before that Capeflatsboy.
capeflats,
i agree that the marley twins can feel hard done by, they have both been excellent. i would love to see them in the team.
but (you knew there was one coming, right?)
Snyman at least is as good as either of them. he only adds a bit of bulk, where they may edge him on out and out speed. bottom line is the team is not weakened by Snyman’s inclusion.
Gaffie, i’m not so sure about. both Ndungane’s are more solid under the high ball than him, and their attacking options are also better. His touchkicks may be better than theirs though. i would have rather had them in the team.
26 May 2006, 14:51 pm
It’s actually Shimlas u/21.
One way traffic….
Which way?
26 May 2006, 14:51 pm
Keg and steyn
WO is a good defender (he had one lapse at the beginning of the season, but has been rock solid after copping all the media flak) AT INSIDE CENTRE. But I dont know if he has the speed for defence at outside centre. Remember at 13 you are dealing withmore space for guys to round you on the outside, as well as hitting the line at speed and stepping. Tougher.
Anyway lets see if DWB makes some space for him on attack. If anyting , De Wet’s defence is suspect – his tackling has been **** all season!
Capeflatsboy. I agree that there could at least have been one of the twins placed on wing (and substituted for another at halftime)
I dont know what Snyman has been like, but I suppose Jake must have been keeping tabs on him…
Personally I would have used Gaffie on bench as cover for fullback, flyhalf and wing. He is a much better fullback and joins the line well.
26 May 2006, 14:52 pm
keg and cab,
It’s hard to tell, J Botes of the Sharks out sprinted a number of NZ backs this S14 season.
Albert vd Berg has out sprinted a good few backs in his career, most remembered when he played for the Cats and he run around Cullen to score.
Spies who played wing and Joe who run the dash at school are fast too but will they top the above and if they do by how much.
I personally think it will be tight between all the above.
All you twats complaining about Snyman – have any of you seen ONE SINGLE game of his this season? Or do you just moan because you can? Lekker oppie innernet, nê? Put a ****** sock in it unless you have been following his career overseas and KNOW FOR A FACT that he is playing poor rugby. Bunch of spoilt kids, you are.
This is a pretty damn good team we have here. Specially considering it is just about our second 15. and that’s what we wanted all along – enough depth to put out two decent teams. Now consider that we’ve lost an entire team to injuries. Suddenly this looks like a potent team, given the circumstances.
I personally can’t wait to see Meyer Bosman, Johan Muller, Wickus van Heerden, Wynand Olivier etc strut their stuff to rpove a point. Go Bokke.
You played the game too? Was it to be close to boys?
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All